Rent Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes for PS4
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

1394 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AMAZING, But don't buy it

posted by Joel23 (FRANKLIN, OH) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Dec 2009

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THERE IS ONLY ONE MISSION THAT LASTS AT MOST AN HOUR. Don't pay for 1/2 of a full game ($30) for 1/50 of what the full game will be.

Everyone needs to realize this. As for me I had no idea it would be this short. Now that covers all of the bad.

Now I'll just list the good: Controls are by far the best in any Metal Gear game. There is a button, stick, or trigger for anything you could possibly want to do.

They are also the best of all games that I have played. Graphics are best of all console games I've played so far. Movements are so incredibly realistic there is nothing videogamey about them.

Cut scenes are intense.

Level design, for the first time ever, allows for TRUE tactical freedom. I've played through the one mission multiple times and I found a totally different way to do the mission each time.

Gameflyers, go ahead and rent this because it's essentially free for us. Everyone else... go watch a play-through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Over before it starts

posted by TheFilth (WATERTOWN, NY) May 4, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alright I'm going to split this into parts, there really isn't that much to say though really. The game is over before it even gets a chance to get going. The main mission is literally over in about an hour. Then you unlock sub missions which are just not enough to make this game good on any level.

I'll start out with what the game has going for it.

- Decent stealth gameplay.
- Variety of options in completing the mission. (theres only one aside from unlockable side missions)
- Graphics are up to speed for this title, for the most part.
- You can use vehicles, though the feel of them is far from anything spectacular, but it's fair.
- You can interrogate enemies to get additional information out of them.
- The storyline comes out strong and is very compelling... And then it's instantly over.
- The interfaces are good, and the collectibles interesting, too bad you don't even have enough time to play the game to even use them hardly at all.

Now that that's out of the way.

- The crosshair definitely isn't the greatest at all.
- The gunplay definitely isn't on level with what I believe it could be.
- The game is way too short, how are you even going to release something like this?
- Millers voice actor has forced emotion in the helicopter, and it doesn't feel real at all.
- You can't get a feel for the story because it's over before it starts.

Seriously - Never buy this game, might be worth a rent. I wouldn't pay $5 for 1 hour gameplay, no matter what. - Extremely glad it was rented, despite the disc having fingerprints all over it when it arrived.
- How can you justify one hour of gameplay for the main story? 2-3 tops if you really take your time. Possibly less than one if you don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Demo

posted by nakwide (LA PLACE, LA) May 3, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is nothing more than a demo. 1 hour of play if you take your time. Love the graphics and gameplay. Can't wait until official game is released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This isn't a game, it's a DEMO

posted by Darwin67 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Apr 21, 2014

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I knew it was going to be short, but really?? An hour's worth of game play! DO NOT BUY THIS GAME....how they could even charge 30.00 is beyond me... should have been a 5.00 download demo. What a joke. As for the graphics, game-play, lighting, AI, etc. All superb and genuinely gives you a glimpse of what is possible for the next gen games, but how dare Konami try and pass this off as an actual game. The 4 bar rating is based on how impressive the game looks and plays.....but I am dinging this game/company for such a poor business decision to not release it as a demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Amazing but so short it feels like a demo

posted by despinato (SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI) Mar 27, 2014

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing and gives a nice distraction while we wait for phantom pain. The problem is the main mission can be completed in five minutes. there are other side missions but not enough to justify buying it. Honestly its over so quick and stands well on its own that it feels like this is the demo they were going to release and decided to do a cash grab asking almost full price initially for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A nice look at what to expect in the future

posted by Opedia (SEATAC, WA) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is pretty much a short demo of The Phantom Pain which has yet to have its release date announced, the entire game takes place in one area (Camp Xray). The game length varies on how you decide to navigate the area and play the game. If you are a fan of stealth games you'll enjoy this, if you are expecting a lengthy action game then you'll be disappointed.

pros:
-looks great on the PS4, lighting in particular is gorgeous
-nice stealth gameplay, you can steal enemy vehicles and attempt to blend in and make your way deeper into the camp undetected
-the AI is smart, soldiers will inspect damaged cameras and lights, gunshots and other noises, or any unattended vehicles that are on the road
-there are 5-6 'sideops' available, these are unique missions that all take place within Camp Xray that have different objectives and times of day

cons:
-the game is short, this is not a full 60 dollar game, which is why its priced at $29.99. Again this is just a sample of what we'll get in Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
-I'm not a fan of graphic gory cutscenes, I won't describe it because of spoilers. To those of you wondering if you should let your child or younger sibling play this keep in mind that the game is M-rated for a reason.

Personally I don't mind the length of the game, I really enjoy stealth games like this which is why I bought it. But its also a good game to rent if you just need something to play while you're waiting for Infamous: Second Son to come out in the next few days

Overall I would say buy it if you're a fan of stealth games, the AI is really fun to toy with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad.

posted by TheRealReview (STOCKTON, CA) May 31, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you are a platinum trophy hunter then ignore this game.
13 - Bronze, 1 - Silver, 1 Gold.
If you are like to explore, find stuff, strategy, long store, good action then ignore this game.
This game about 1 hour gameplay and had only 1 mission.
So don't buy it, rent it if you don't have any game to play.
If you buy it you are totally ripped off by KONAMI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Glad I rented it

posted by Czar_of_Kings (ARCATA, CA) May 17, 2014

Member since May 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Cons:
This "game", or intro. is very short with only 2 main objectives, and they are the same objectives. It does really tell you where to go or what to do, and if you haven't played a MGS game in a while, you will be wondering what the heck to do, the "sub-missions/objectives" are not mentioned once during gameplay, you must figure them out on your own.

Pros:
The "demo" itself is very beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Suck

posted by T800202981 (PEARL, MS) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game 20 minutes to play story mode and your done and i'm a big metal gear fan and this not worthy of the name

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Short

posted by collin9199 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Apr 23, 2014

Member since May 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are going to play this, rent it, borrow it, whatever you do, don't buy it. I am not very good at metal gear games, and it took me less than an hour to beat the story mission, yes THE story mission, singular, one. There are extra missions you can play but the intro and outro cinematics take longer than the game-play. Don't get me wrong I am buying phantom pain when it comes out, the FOX engine is great and game-play is fun, but this game as it is, is nothing more than a demo that they want $30 for. To tell the truth, I've played longer demos than this. The God of War III demo had much more content than this game does. Whatever you do, don't pay for this. It shouldn't be for sale, and it shouldn't be a stand alone game. Gamefly is the best way to play this, but it even feels almost like a waste of a slot for the amount of time it takes to get it and ship it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

short

posted by mmpp15 (BRONX, NY) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is not worth its money, few missions and all on same map......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh..

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Jun 16, 2014

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've never been a big fan of the series and only rented it to see how it looks on the PS4. It is not a bad game for those who enjoyed the others, but I just didn't feel anything when I played it. AI was bad, too many button combos for too few things...
I played it for about 3 hours and got bored enought to have had enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unbelievable

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As many others have said, rent this game because you are only going to get an hour to two hours of gameplay on the main mission. This game is so short they should have put a warning label on it that said it was a demo and not a full game. I'm really disappointed in Konami for passing this off as a full game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth a rent.

posted by yomama12 (CHINO HILLS, CA) May 25, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are astounding, and really show what the PS4 can do. The gameplay is very hard and cluttered. I found myself trying to love this game so much, but I just couldent. There is no marker on where to go, and if you like roaming around trying to figure out what to do next than this game is for you. I am not a Metal Gear Solid fan, and I guess I never will be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rental only

posted by doldMan (GRAHAM, NC) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is not a game! It's a rental only demo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What's there is fun

posted by homicidalfuu (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Essentially this is a 30 dollar demo game. It's definitely fun, but overall there is less than an hour of gameplay there. If you mess around a lot maybe 2 hours. The game itself has some merit, and stealth games are always high on my list to play. If this were more than an advertisement for MGS V I would definitely give it a 9 or 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just Terrible

posted by Vonstevenstien (NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX) Jul 5, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Worst game I've played in years. The whole game is one level! The opening cut scene was longer than the game and even that was terrible and confusing. While the graphics and terrain are really great, the gameplay is overbearing. The controls are touchy at best, almost seemed out of sync with the camera controls. hard to sneak around as it was like the enemies had a 6th sense and would find you no matter where you hid. I'd advise to skip this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Are you kidding me!!!!

posted by archge (PARKER, CO) Jun 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

One campaign? Seriously? A few short of hours of game play? This thing is the biggest ripoff in years! Not even worth renting much less buying. You can at least walk out in the middle of a bad movie and get your money back. This piece of junk you're stuck with. My only saving grace is I rented it and had to donate loosing a week waiting for this piece of garbage. Now I'm ticked off I have to wait at least another week to get something (hopefully) that's worth playing and can spend some quality time on. Greedy game designers are running rampant between losers like this, Battlefield and who knows how many others are coming for PS4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

garbage

posted by marylou1 (WARRIOR RUN, PA) Apr 13, 2014

Member since May 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I wasted my time playing this game. you guys can't do what splinter cell did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible Japanese Game

posted by Roadracer289 (LOS ALAMITOS, CA) Jul 11, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Worst game ever,it took ten minutes of bad game movie to even be able to start playing, and when I played I noticed the weapon control was awful. Basically it was unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MGS Sandbox Adventure

posted by 3rd_St_Saint (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 19, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

Let's be honest - the only reason this game got such a low score is because people thought that it was a full-fledged title. That's not the case. If you go into this game knowing that it's only to prepare you for the Phantom Pain later on next year, you can really enjoy this. This game has slick visuals, a new crouch position, and improved enemy AI that will keep this one-level sandbox game interesting through each of its 5 missions. You might not do so well at first, but if you hang in there, you will realize how easy Ground Zeroes' main mission is, compared to some of the other side missions. Being that we're renting the game, this is definitely worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Was expected

posted by moc804 (RICHMOND, VA) Dec 10, 2014

Member since May 2014

For what was expected, a short , tutorial for the phantom pain it was ok. If your not a MGS fan this is probably not for you. I gave it a 7 based on it told a great story in a really brief amount of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Good Game

posted by Kenshin20 (MINE HILL, NJ) Dec 8, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

this game is so good but very short not worth 10-20dls just rent it beat it and wait for the full version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game not worth renting

posted by zach4ps4 (PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL) Dec 1, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

I want to start out by saying I have never played a single Metal Gear Solid game.. ever. I wasn't sure what to expect but after starting the game all I saw was a long movie with non-stop credits. The game was so short that I completed it in 1-2 hours?! What the heck's up with this?? Am I missing something? How could they only make what seemed like one level?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kojima did it again!

posted by GamerXYA (LAWTON, OK) Nov 20, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

The Pros:
1. Amazing graphics.
The Metal Gear games all have good graphics, but this one blows them all away.
2. Good voice acting.
I was skeptical about Kiefer Sutherland voicing Snake(Big Boss) but he did an amazing job, he even surpassed David Hayter In my opinion.
3. Realistic gameplay.
This is the first Metal Gear that actually felt real when it comes to the gameplay.
4. Amazing characters.
It's no secret that Kojima can present some of the best characters in video games, and this game is no exception.
5.High replay value.
This is a game that I honestly wanted to play over and over again(I've beaten it twelve times).
6.Decent open world.
Metal Gear has never had an open world until this game.

Now The Cons:
1.The story is too short.
Now I know this is supposed to be an opening for The Phantom Pain, but the story is literally a half hour long at best so it feels kind of like a cash grab.
2. The Deja Vu mission.
Only good thing about the Deja Vu mission is the nostalgia and the costumes you earn after the quiz, other than that it's really boring.
3. The soundtrack.
Metal Gear has always had an amazing soundtrack, that's not the case for this one, Ground Zeroes has a boring and forgettable soundtrack(with the exception of "Here's To You").

Overall an amazing game that got me hyped for Metal Gear Solid V The Phantom Pain. It is worth a rent or buying it for $10 though because of how short it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse