Rent Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

Rent

Keep for: $8.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $8.99

Also on:PS4, Xbox One, PS3
GF Rating
5.1

405 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

If you haven't figured it out yet....

posted by Naragov (BOONVILLE, IN) Apr 24, 2014

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is not a full length game. It serves as more of an appetizer for Phantom Pain. There are two main story "missions". If you run through them, you could finish them both in half an hour. I suggest you don't do that. Beating the main story mode unlocks additional side missions. All of these things are to show you what the next game is capable of doing and what it will feel like. There's a lot of replayability in the missions because it is so open ended. That being said, don't expect to spend more than two hours playing the story unless you scour every inch of the map and do it in complete stealth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you like the old, you'll hate the new!!!!!

posted by ace5287 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I played the old MGS games for the original Playstation and loved the story line and the game sequence, however, with this new game there isn't really a story line or sequence of events. It's single missions that comprise the "story". Unless I have been playing it in the wrong mode I would DEFINITELY (if I could underline and bold that, I would) not recommend it to an original MGS fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Metal Gear Solid 5= 1 level

posted by 240towles (FRENCHBURG, KY) Jul 7, 2014

Member since May 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I seriously thought it was a joke....... 1 Freaking level. The credits took longer than the level. Kiefer southerland must have recorded his voice for about three minutes. Kind of a joke. Not worth your time. I am a huge Metal gear fan, but this was in poor taste. Also the camera angles are wonky. Aiming is poor. Enemy AI is very high, response time is high, and there are unlimited enemies, which no one likes anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not What I thought at all

posted by Brick_House_42 (MARSHALL, TX) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I don't know if it was me or what But the weapons was not cool at all..when close to wall or edge you can't shoot. at least I couldn't. Not to much more can I say as I didn't get a chance to play, but I found it view and movement control so out of the normal of set up. so not what I remember. use to be my fav game on Xbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Experience

posted by marlynbrando69 (ELGIN, SC) Mar 20, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

It seems much of the internet hates on this game because of the length, but with a small amount of reading comprehension the length should come at no surprise. The game is advertised as the "prologue" to metal gear solid: The Phantom Pain, which of course means it is not a full game. With the $30 physical price tag ($20 digital) , if you expected a full game then that is simply an error in basic cognitive ability. That being said, I have already invested more time into this game than many "full priced" games. Yes, there is only one level to explore, yes you can beat the "campaign" in less than 2 hours, however, yes this is an awesome interactive sandbox and yes this is a must own for any metal gear fan. Those new to metal gear should most likely not start with this game, It is a continuation of peace walker and has hours worth of snip-it recordings and references to PEACE WALKER.
In summation:
-Pros: -Hours of fun metal gear game-play packed into an affordable prologue
-Continuation of peace walker's story
- Prepares you emotionally, psychologically, and physically for the experience that will be The Phantom pain
- Tight game play mechanics and reactive/responsive A.I
- Open world...
Cons: -Some minor graphical hiccups for those who find that sort of thing appealing (I do not care about those details, so this is not reflected in my score)
- Having to wait a year or so for Phantom Pain
- Having to wait a year or so for Phantom Pain
- This is not the phantom pain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hypes you up for The Phantom Pain

posted by DevenWarlord (FRISCO, TX) Mar 25, 2014

Member since May 2013

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off, sgt077 has no idea what he's talking about. Metal Gear is decades older than splinter cell. Big boss has also been a playable character in MGS3, and PW, so no, he's not a ripoff of Sam Fisher. Now that the problem is out of the way, I can tell the positives of this game. First, this is a great showing of kojima's new graphics engine, FOX engine.This is also a great representation of MGS going free roam and of what's to come in The Phantom Pain. Although it is short, I've put at least 10+ hrs into this game and I'm still not finished. If you're hating this game because of the length or sgt077, shame on you. You should judge this game based on quality over quantity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One Mission??

posted by eddmir (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It has only one mission and then the game is over. I finished the game in a few hours. Definitely not worth it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

metal gear solid ground zero

posted by flgators12 (FORT SMITH, AR) Jun 23, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is not a game to rent. Only one Mission on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE REQUIRES HARD DRIVE

posted by ericscott (MERCED, CA) May 5, 2014

Member since May 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I couldn't even play this game as it had to be downloaded to hard drive and you can't play off a memory card. Waste of rent and mail service time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excited

posted by godshammer (SYRACUSE, NY) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This was an extreme teaser for me. Makes me very excited for Phantom Pain. If this is just a taste of what that game will be like then the anticipation will kill me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do Not Waste Your Time

posted by sgt077 (BRANDON, FL) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

A cheap poor ripoff attempt of splinter cell. The graphics and movement controls are clunky, weapon sighting is extremely poor, and the game controls are totally misplaced.

As I said, I started playing the game and it was immediately obvious they were trying to do a Sam Fisher impersonation and it looked like PeeWee Herman impersonating the Rock. Pathetic. Go ahead and toss this one into the bargain bin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sad, but true

posted by Shadowbear (VALLEY CENTER, CA) Nov 13, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

The game had potential, but dropped the ball. Every mission takes place on the same small island. It became very repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A slice of what's to come

posted by Heisenburg (WILDOMAR, CA) Sep 12, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

First I highly recommend that if you're already interested in Ground Zeroes to go rent it now or if you can find it for like $10 tops to just buy it. Ground Zeroes is the prologue to The Phantom Pain which is the next installment in the Metal Gear Solid franchise. This was originally going to just be in The Phantom Pain, but because of the continued unknown of a released date for the game Konami decided to release this sliver to show everyone of what's to come. Now to the actually review. Ground Zeroes is a very high quality stealth game with some of the best gameplay of the series being highly polished. The controls are nice & familiar making gameplay all so smooth. The only thing sorta clunky is the cover system which has already been confirmed to be improved in The Phantom Pain. The story is a nice introduction of what's to come in the full release, and has a darker tone then previous titles while also exploring much darker subject matter. The quirkiness that the series is partly known for is mostly gone in this addition only appearing in extra non-canonical side missions. The visuals are top notch, making it even more apparent that it's total bs MGS4 isn't on Xbox 360, albeit there is some noticeable pop-in especially in the day time levels. Lighting is some of the best I've seen while character model have very high detail. My only real complaint is the lack of content for the price tag which is why I say rent or buy it for very cheap. Ground Zeroes is priced at $30 new on disc or $20 as a download with its main mission only taking at most 60 minutes to complete. There are extra missions called "Side Ops," but they take around 10-30 minutes to finish which doesn't add too much extra content especially since they all take place in the same level. So in short Ground Zeroes is a great induction to The Phantom Pain with a dark story, great gameplay, and fantastic visuals while the lack of content makes it really only a rent unless you can find it for a low price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not good

posted by hatman48 (PLAINS, KS) Jul 28, 2014

Member since May 2010

was very difficult for me to navigate and find objectives I do not recommend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Meh

posted by FunIsMyFunction (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Jul 20, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

All the other reviews are right, this game can be beaten in pretty much 1 hour. If you're a hardcore gamer yea there's possibly replay value in doing the missions differently... but if you just play games casually then steer clear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An amazing game for what it is

posted by ajrgamefly (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

We all know its short, but that doesn't change the fact that it is a great game, i'm happy to have spent my money on this, why? because this isn't suppose to be a full game, it's suppose to be a taste, and the money will go to making Phantom Pain even better, i loved the new mechanics, smooth combat, vehicles, and all the new stuff, and it makes me excited for Phantom Pain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

extends the story a little bit...

posted by Jmforever (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Jun 6, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

While playing this game I noticed a few element's that affect the game play. The first thing I like to touch on is the absence of rations in place of recovering/regenerating health, so in my opinion this makes the game too easy. In addition, I found myself getting caught allot in this game and when I try to run away from the guards I would end up sticking to the wall and as a result, i get killed and finally they removed the codec screen, rations, and the element of surprise by getting caught by a guard.
Some reviewers say that this game was made for fans, on one hand I can see where they are coming from and on the other I believe it is not entirely built for fans when they totally dropped the ball on most of the elements in this game that fans care deeply about.
Now that I got the negatives out of the way it is evident that the developers were going with a main stream approach towards its audience to appeal to the masses. Like I said story is probably the games biggest strength but what sets this apart from other stealth games is that had unique and great game play but they stripped away the game play aspect from. Now it acts as a of a modern military shooter with some stealth elements there just for the story. However there are things that are presentable, for example; the graphics... Thats it!!! It is my opinion that this game is not worth even renting but if you are persistent at wanting to try it out, you might be disappointed with it especially if you are a long time mgs player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just a teaser, but still fun

posted by jonfosho (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 22, 2014

Member since May 2014

Beware that this game does lack depth of storyline that previous full MGS games had, although any true fans of the genre will appreciate the epilogue to MGS3. The characters in the game aren't very deep and are pretty contrived, however the setting is pretty cool.

All that being said, the game mechanics are AMAZING (xbox360). Everything was so fluid, after playing just 15 minutes I was controlling Snake like a pro. The enemy AI was great, sharp and responsive but not ridiculously so. It was so fun just messing around on the levels, blowing up various things with C4, and finding inventive new ways to take out the objectives.

I'm a big fan of Kojima, and don't think people should unfairly criticize this game just because it doesn't have the same 5 star story that the others did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Was much better first time as Splinter Cell

posted by Darkmag (SAINT LOUIS, MO) May 15, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

Found this game to have poor control layout, lamest weapons (suppressor burns out after little over ONE mag), after 30 minutes sealed it up and mailed it back. Like another reviewer said, it's a poor quality rip off of Splinter Cell.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Flexible Annd Thrilling Game

posted by merc591 (WATERLOO, IA) Apr 30, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This game quite pleasantly surprised me, I had not been a hardcore fan of the previous metal gear solid games. The difference between this title and the other metal gear solid games to me anyway is the gameplay feels much more flexible, you don't feel forced to be stealthy and the story line is very captivating compared to the others, all in all 10/10 on my list definitely worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zero

posted by mrqiqqlesworth (HERNDON, VA) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

This is my first time writing a game review so apologies to the hardcore reviewers out there. I know that many people have been complaining about the length of the game; it is very short. There is a sense of hype when you refer this game to be continued by the future phantom pain game coming out next year of so. Anyways, my overall impression of the length is that I do not believe that this title should be a game in which someone needs to purchase. Instead, I think that this could have easily been relayed through a beta or demo type of platform and would have achieved the same effect. Seems like a way to make a quick dollar.

The basically one level offered in the campaign was well put together; especially considering the open world feel to it. The lighting seemed a little bright unless black scale was way up. Snake actually looked slightly different than other titles in this series which took getting used to.

I actually did not believe that the mechanics of the game were as sound as other titles in this series as well. The gun snaps very fast and trying to manipulate snake behind cover and the "peeking out" function was difficult for the casual gamer. Also, I know that each game has it's own unit control scheme which is great sometimes, but I didn't care for the right bumper, sniper aim feature.

Overall though, the game did look cosmetically sound, the music was a nice feature consisting of your own unique style/track and the action sequences (with buttons) were fairly quick and nicely done.

Can't wait for Phantom Pain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »