Rent Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes for PS3
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

363 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

This is a demo for MGS 5 Phantom Pain

posted by AlwaysTumbling (DOW CITY, IA) Mar 23, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Anyone renting this game should be aware that this is not a complete game. It's one single 45 minute-1 hour+ long mission demoing the gameplay and story of the real MGS5.

I personally feel I would have enjoyed this more having known with 100% certainty that it was only 1 mission with unlockable bonus objectives.

That being said I did enjoy myself during the mission despite having no clue who barely anyone but Big Boss was, having only played the main series (MGS1,2,3,4) before this demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

For Metal Gear Solid fans ONLY

posted by waxton (LEXINGTON, SC) May 19, 2014

Member since May 2014

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you haven't played any of the other games, you will almost undoubtedly not appreciate this title. The target audience is console gamers that have been waiting six years for a new Metal Gear Solid (not counting Metal Gear Rising). The game is misunderstood by most: why would you want to play a game that only has one level? I'll tell you why:

•_•)
( •_•)>¬¦-¦
(¬¦_¦)

Because it's a Metal Gear Solid level that I have not played.

I really, REALLY enjoyed this title.

Konami accomplished their goal: to showcase the new Fox Engine and give the fans a preview of what's to come. The gameplay is loaded with variety; while the goal is, as always, to sneak in and out without being seen, Ground Zeroes offers a plethora of tactics to carry out your mission. Once the mission is complete, you are offered a variety of other missions that take place on the same map, which is the drawback of the game. However, the game redeems itself slowly. With each easter egg providing a giggle here and there, and the various side ops to keep you challenged, constantly forcing you to learn new and awesome aspects of the game, Ground Zeroes ends up being a really fun game.

The only reason it doesn't get a ten is because I kept accidentally hugging the wall, which gets annoying. Hopefully they'll work that bug out in the upcoming and MUCH more expansive part 2: The Phantom Pain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun game even if its short.

posted by ramrod3 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 5, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

So I agree it's a little weird they came out with a 3 hour prequel to the real game. However this game is plenty of fun still. And the side missions are also fun. I enjoyed playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short main mission, lots of additional content

posted by FLashM (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 24, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Pros:
- gameplay is really good, to my taste it's much better than in previous MGS games
- surprisingly enough there is lots of content there

Cons:
- extremely short main missing
- same location for all missions

Conclusion:
You're on gamefly, rent it! You can spend many hours in this game and in the worst case you just finish main mission and return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Biggest disapointment

posted by jeryst (FALLS CREEK, PA) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

I've always been a Metal Gear Solid fan, and I have been waiting six years for a new title. Unfortunately, I have never been so disappointed. I know its only a single mission teaser for a coming game, but I still did not like it at all. Where are all the gadgets, like the chamo suit that blends in with your surroundings? The weapons are pitiful, the silencers break, you cant shoot out most of the lights, the AI is blatantly stupid. If this is what the coming game is going to be like, I wont miss it at all. Too bad, so sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

kiefer sutherland is not Big Boss

posted by SmilinMask (EVERETT, WA) Jun 16, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

He didn't even try to sound like Big Boss at all. Totally different intonation, tone and pacing. At least Robert Doyal managed to have these aspects right when he voiced Big Boss in MGS4. I'm not looking forward to having to listen to this lifeless voice work from Sutherland for all of MGS5.

The game is a short demo with some side missions. Think the tanker mission from MGS2 plus the extra missions from peace walker. it controls fine but the new hud makes sneaking a bit harder. it takes some practice to get used to marking guards with the binoculars before moving through the area. Losing the codex conversations removes some of the fun of watching the characters get to know each other.

Overall the technical presentation Fox engine is very good but some of the game design choices poorer then in previous MGS games. And Bosses voice is painful to listen to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Metal Garbage

posted by hititalday (TRENTON, NJ) Jun 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2010

This has to be the worst and shortest game I have ever gotten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

dissatisfaction

posted by mobboy1477 (HAWTHORNE, CA) May 30, 2014

Member since May 2014

the game was too short but its the nex part to phantoms pain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Metal Gear Solid 5 Ground Zeroes

posted by GAMESRAWESOME (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) May 25, 2014

Member since May 2014

The Game is pretty good, Controls may take a while to get use to, but still a good game, but I also thought the game was to short, I literally beat the main mission of the game in 1 hour 38 minutes and that's not counting side missions (Depending on your skills you can pretty much beat them in a half hour each or less).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing

posted by Blanzygirl (SEARS, MI) May 13, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

Definitely not the same as previous MGS games. Controls are different and I found them to be frustrating. The game starts out exceptionally challenging which wasn't enjoyable for a casual gamer like myself. I kept dying and out of frustration just quit playing it. Very disappointed and just sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time

posted by steveb0024 (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 12, 2014

Member since May 2014

Did not like at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

metal gear solid v

posted by prettydre (COLUMBUS, OH) Apr 21, 2014

Member since May 2013

terrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Who Cares How Short This Demo Is... It's Boring

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Apr 14, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

And that's the real problem. We all know who Snake is and how the world is manipulated... who cares, what we want is some tactical sneaking, getting scuba gear so we can get to that secret door we passed 8 hours ago, and finding a cardboard box to hide in.

Instead we have a game that is slowly melding into everything else like it. Long boring cut scenes, long boring walks around a boring base, and the only "tactics" are sneaking behind people to choke them. You've seen it in every military game starting from 2010 up.

Metal Gear used to be an adventure game where you collected gear to use at a later location. It was military Zelda. Now it's "objective-based" tasks... or military Assassin's Creed.. which is boring. If I wanted this, I'd play Splinter Cell.

I hope I'm wrong, and that the real game has more... game. Because this is boring and done better by other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

another console rip off

posted by gamflyntwrthmny (ANCHORAGE, AK) Apr 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I thought the credits were cool when I believed that they were scrolling through at the 5%-mark of the game play... I've rented 20 Japanese games and sent 19 of them back un-played because 95% of them were junk. And, by the way, I'll be cancelling my subscription to GameFly soon because there are no more games to play! I can't believe that recently the game industry made more money than the movie industry and yet there are no games available in my queue because no one can be bothered to make a playable worthwhile game. And, by the way, I'll never buy another Sony product. It's like playing a mystery puzzle solver game to figure out why the (darned) thing won't work this time, the next time, and the time after that! Try calling their 'help' line. It's like a puzzle too! Twenty levels of telephone tree!... Oh, and how about the diminished level of service from GameFly? Want to know about the control keys? The (double hockey sticks) with ya! No simple one page explanation of the controls. Go online and find out for yourself! Why are they renting movies that I could get at a better price from my (supreme movie renting option) subscription? Because they can't find any new games to rent me! PS3 magazine went down the tubes and GameFly won't be far behind. And, I'm sorry for that. I'm a fan of renting. I'd continue to rent but not at this cost and not for so little in return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Boring

posted by Aldhd21 (DEERFIELD BEACH, FL) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Best is Yet to Come

posted by kwonstein (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2008

The game has always been marketed as a prologue to MGSV Phantom Pain - akin to the Tanker chapter of MGS2 or Virtuous Mission of MGS3 - and that's as honest as marketing can get. People will debate whether or not this should have been released as a game in this manner, but beyond that controversy what's here is an incredibly immersive tactical action experience that's highly replayable. Think of open world gameplay not through the lens of scope and size but in regards to what's possible in a sandbox environment and what can be different every time you play, and with that mindset, Ground Zeroes can be argued to be more open world than most so-called open-world games like Assassin's Creed. There's probably not enough story cutscenes here to satiate the tastes of Metal Gear fans but Kojima Productions doesn't disappoint with the audio tapes you can listen to in this game, and some that you obtain throughout your playthrough will be sure to be darkly harrowing and controversial in nature.

If you love Metal Gear Solid and can't wait until 2015-17 for the next awesome iteration in the franchise, I don't think you can go wrong at least renting Ground Zeroes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not enough game

posted by CRUSHKILLE (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

The credits are about 1/4 of the game. Finished entire game in 2 1/2 hours.
Glad I am with gamefly or I would totally feel ripped off if I would have purchased this game. Also,having to listen to tapes to get clues is really lame. Overall,a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful Game

posted by spazz21 (METHUEN, MA) Mar 20, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

knowing what comes out of the Metal Gear Solid series has only made this game More disappointing. for the first hour or so all you do maybe 10 minutes ofactual plane in about 50 minutes of watching cutscenes. compared to the last several Metal Gear Solid not including the one that did not include snake this game was garbage. It absolutely ruined the whole franchise for me. I strongly suggest not playing this game if you are a true fan of Metal Gear Solid. there is no more story line you just pick from missions that are already pre made and frankly suck. No more hiding under cardboard boxes Or knocking on walls.......I'm not sure what joke they are trying to pull but you literally play one mission and the game is over took me all of about 11 minutes....after is when you get the pic these cheesy missions. Not worth 1 dollar don't even bother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »