Rent Metal Gear Solid: Twin Snakes for GC
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid: Twin Snakes

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.5

1218 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best of the old, best of the new.

posted by Odinez (ANAHEIM, CA) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"Snake! Did you like my sunglasses?" If you understood that reference then you can stop reading after this paragraph The Gamecube remake looks head and shoulders better than the 32 bit stylings of the original. There's a few game play tweaks imported from Sons of Liberty; first-person shooting, leaning around corners and bandages. The best new stuff is the completely redone cut scenes, specifically the cyborg ninja stuff... ridiculous! If you've got fond memories of the original and don't have it anymore this is great. I say that because the voice acting doesn't come off as well as everything else. The entire script was re-recorded for this game. Most of the actors reprise their roles but some of the most memorable characters were replaced. I couldn't believe that the entire codec trio; Nastasha, Mei Ling and Naomi all lost their distinctive accents.

For the rest of you...

The Twin Snakes is a remake of the classic game Metal Gear Solid that was released on the PlayStation in 1998. You play as Solid Snake, a special operations soldier in the vein of James Bond, who is sent to a privately owned island where terrorists have taken hostages and are threatening a nuclear strike. As with any Metal Gear game the story gets far more complicated. The game's cut scenes have been redone for this version. They look great and have been made suitably over-the-top for our post Matrix world. The lengthy codec conversations still exist to test you patience (just use the skip button).
Most of the game is still played in a top down 3D view relying heavily on the radar to remain undetected by the patrolling enemies. Metal Gear's innovative mini-menu system makes switching weapons and items easy.

With a great cast of characters and a great story this game is still a fun experience. Check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

outstanding!

posted by liukangx (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

oh my god this game really shows you the gamecube isn't a joke. just like resident evil 4 this game brings out the gamecubes true graphic capabilities. I don't think i have ever seen metal gear look so beautiful on a game, you will be playing this game over and over to see what you can do, it has some of the features metal gear solid 2 had, and just like the ps1 version when you complete the game on certain ways you unlock the stealth or the bandanna, but if you beat the game and earn both of them you get tuxedo snake, and you will have fun with the stealth because while wearing it no guards can see you, sadly the bosses can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal Gear Awesome!

posted by Maurx13 (GLENDALE, CA) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I played this game on Gamecube a few years back but I just had to replay it again on my Wii and I was glad I did. This game is a MUST PLAY for Metal Gear fans or for anyone that wants to witness a masterpiece. The story may be confusing at first, but the main points are very easily understood. The graphics, controls, and voice acting are superb as well. This game is awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MGS: Twin Snakes

posted by Tw1st3ds1x (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 22, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game is awesome... the game play and the cut scenes had me cracking up... I love the MGS series... I was acutally hoping they's make another for the GC...oh well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just what the Gamecube needed

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

When this game first came out for the Playstation it revolutionized gaming as we knew it. this version, however, is way better. firsthand, the graphics got a major upgrade. secondly, you can now aim in first-person mode. the levels and other gameplay are the same as the old version but the controls feel smoother. the game has a good story if you haven't played the first one. overall this is one of the few games that's keeping the Gamecube alive. I give it an 8, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Even better than the original!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Solid originally came out for the Playstation 1. I still think it's one of, if not, the best stealth game out. Although the PS1 version is really good, I still think this one might be a bit better.

Graphics
The graphics are pretty cool. I kind of like the look of the characters and everything else. They're nothing huge, or special, but they're nice.

Sound
The music is okay, but some songs are kind of "technoey" and they took out the best stealth song that happens when you get caught by a guard. The sound effects are cool. No annoying voice-overs or anything.

Gameplay
I love playing this game. I play it a lot of times and rarely get bored with it. It's especially fun when you have the stealth camoflauge (invisibility). Sneaking around, killing guards. That's my idea of a fun game. Though, many games screw that up. Not Metal Gear Solid.

Replay Value
This game has pretty good replay value. Even after you beat it, you kind of feel like playing again. Plus, you can play on a harder mode the next time. Or you unlock the stealth camoflauge making the gameplay kind of different and funner, and you can get all the dogtags, or take pictures of ghosts and other stuff. One of the funnest extra things to do is taking pictures. If you find the camera hidden somewhere in the game, you can take up to as many pictures as your memory card can hold. I believe one picture is like 2, or 3 blocks. I'm not too sure. But it's fun setting up something in the game and taking a picture of it :)

Difficulty
This game could be pretty hard, especially if you suck at games. Playing on the hardest mode is pretty difficult as well. But they made this version easier than the PS1 version. Such as you start with full life, or you can hold more rations at once.

This game is totally worth buying. Renting it is good too, if you're one of those who just want to beat the game, or play it a few times and thats it. This game is really fun and totally worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The battle of the brothers

posted by thekeeper (MARYSVILLE, OH) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It amazes me how konami could take such a great game and make it even better. If you haven't played through the mgs games yet do so immediately. just don't talk smack about raiden he's sensitive.

AE signing out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i have my own COPY of this Game

posted by VideoGames (RAMONA, CA) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

and for any MGS Fans that have played any games of the series DO NOT NEED A REVIEW but to newcomers that are curious and need some info, this game had it all GOOD GAMEPLAY, GRAPHICS, REPLAYABILITY, and just plain FUN 9/10!!!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metal gear

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Feb 20, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This one is better then the ps1 version but the good and the bad

Good: 1st person,wepoens,shooting,hot babes, hanging off walls the Nintendo rumer you will know once you'll play it

Bad: did not have the training like the first one did and the music on the first one the ps1 version had better music

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What the games of today should be!

posted by Lunarhippy (FLUSHING, NY) Nov 29, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ever played a game that truly captured your attention story wise?...there aren't a lot out there...Metal Gear Solid is probably the best and most captivating game out there...the story is mesmorizing and the graphics are beautiful...the gameplay is better than MGS 2 ironically...(well this came out after...ironically) and the voice over acting is great (David Hayter is so dreamy)...really it ends faster than you can say this game ends fast but that's just maybe because you're so into this game you'll plya for 8 hours a day...this IS a remake and people were mad about that but keep in mind that this game opened up the MGS doors for a lot of people who didn't buy the ps1 version (me) and i thank Kojima and Miyamoto for that...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST!!!

posted by venom241 (CHINO, CA) Jul 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok this game is amazing, its like the PS1 version except 20x BETTER!!! I highly recommened it TO ANYONE who is into stealth games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good upgrade

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jun 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

This GameCube upgrade of the classic PlayStation game is superior in just about every respect. The graphics and cutscenes are much better, of course, and it's nice to have the added ability to aim your gun in first-person mode. Certain points in the adventure can be annoying, but you'll likely feel sufficiently motivated to persevere until you've made it through. As ever, the story is somewhat preachy and heavy-handed with its anti-war, anti-nuke moralizing. And it does get old listening to Snake growl on and on about the eternal agony of the archetypal soldier. ("I have no name. There are no names on the battlefield. A battlefield is no place for names. Or friends. I have no friends because I've lived my whole life on a battlefield.") Still, "Metal Gear Solid" is a fun stealth/espionage game with interesting characters and a rich, intriguing story, and this GameCube update has only served to strengthen its longevity. If you've never played it before, you should play it now. If you have played it before, you should play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

the game good

posted by richmen19 (ORANGE, TX) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

i beat it i did not get

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Metal Gear Solid: Twin Snakes

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

To fully appreciate Metal Gear Solid 4, I've decided to play through all four of the games and read up on the older ones.

The production value on this game especially for the time is fantastic. It tells a great story.

The controls and gameplay were a little wonky for me. I was prepared for the long dialog but it was really too much. There's too many pauses between sentences.

Top view camera is hard to work with. This game really breaks into the 4th dimension, don't want to spoil anything, but it does things no other game has ever done, like having to plug controllers into other ports and using resources not actually in the game to solve.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If only there were a Gas Snake...

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jul 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Hideo Kojima created a great franchise for Sony's Playstation in Metal Gear Solid. Becoming one of the finer selling points of the PS1 and PS2, MGS follows the covert ops of Solid Snake as he fights to protect basically everything from utter destruction. Now, the original Metal Gear Solid gets a remake for the Gamecube in The Twin Snakes. Silicon Knights did a good job bringing this game over to a new console. They improved on the cinematics and updated gameplay to mesh better with later installments in the series. However, this still feels like a game that came out six years prior, which is Twin Snakes' biggest problem. The story is still there: Snake infiltrates an ArmsTech installation taken over by terrorists led by his brother Liquid Snake and several other members of FOXHOUND, who have apparently gotten tired of playing by the rules and now want to make them. Along the way, betrayal, plot twists and revelations abound as Snake uncovers the truth behind ArmsTech's new military project. All of this seems fine, except that there are so many cutscenes and intercom conversations and that they last so long you'll think it's a movie instead of a game. Some of the same old control issues are present as well. Contact sensitive walls can end up being more confusing than useful. The first-person mode is nice, but just a bit to use, as your aim gets thrown wildly when you get hit with a single bullet and you cannot walk while aiming. The game isn't particularly long, although unlockable extras help. Graphics and sound probably look less impressive today than they did originally. And the biggest problem is that I've played games like SplinterCell now, which seemed to revolutionize stealth action above and beyond MGS. There are some surprising twists in the gameplay and it's fun for the six or seven hours it lasts, but this is not the best of the best. Definitely more worthwhile if you never played the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

M.G.S the twin remakes

posted by ravensnake (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Jun 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

metal gear solid makes its appearance on the gamecube for the first time but this time its a remake of 1999's ps1 classic MGS so the controls are ok but seems not fit on the gamecube as the button arrangement doesnt seem right this game really should have stayed on the ps one or remade on the ps2 the graphics arent great and the difficulty is disappointing to veterans of the series the voice acting is average as david hayter, cam clarke, and pat zimmermen are the only good voice actors everyone else is eh. the good in this game is that if u r just starting to get into the series this is a great chance to catch up otherwise to those who own the old mgs this wont warrent anything so i place on to u to RENT this game before purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't take my word for it...

posted by antonahill (BOISE, ID) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

The only reason I rented this game was because one of my all-time favorite GC games is Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem. I wanted to check out more of Silicon Knights' work. Espionage shooters just aren't for me. I didn't even get past the first tutorial level because I was so uninterested. The graphics are lovely, the voice acting is great, but if you're not really into the whole pretending-to-be-in-the- armed- forces thing, don't bother with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »