Rent Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

328 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Get this game right now.

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Feb 18, 2012

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you have a 3DS, get this game. Rather then bea shooting killing game, this is a stealth game. It is unnerving to see an enemy wlak right up to you while you cleverly conceal yourself.
If you're not sure, play the demo from the eshop, and you will know just how awesome this games is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 is a strech, but not by much.

posted by Syco1316 (ANNISTON, AL) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Solid 3 is kind of the perfect Metal Gear game to get started with, it is a prequel and helps ease people into Kojima's wild world. Much Tamer than 1,2 or 4 as far a story is concerned, this is still the best video game story on the 3DS to date (tied with ocarina of Time 3D) Characters seem very real and are very likeable. Gameplay is great, with the exception of certain camera angles that get jacked up while trying to stay with your line of sight. PLAY THIS WITH CIRCLE PAD PRO. That's all I'm going to say, played a few days without it, and then i got it. And its way easier to control now. The 3D is helpful to an extent, sometimes it helps determine how far an enemy actually is from you, which in a stealth game is key. The few instances of using the gyroscope are neat as well. Basically if you don't have anything to play on your 3DS put this (And Resident Evil: Revelations) in your Que! or go buy them! tons of gameplay, I am buying it today. It's a truly SOLID port! :)

P.S. the camera camoflauge is like a game in itself, take tons of pictures of what you think would be jungle designs for many different areas! My best success is actually from a picture I took of a Majora Mask my friend made me for christmas, it gets me 85% stealth! So Awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its one of the best games i ever played

posted by setherrs (HOLLAND, MI) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

its so fun and awsome the best is when you are disguised as raikov because you can punch people in the face and knock them out and aslo when you destroy the shagohod

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good

posted by cap99 (ROCKVILLE, MD) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Great cinema scenes and very exciting gameplay, although it is difficult to maneuver the camera.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simply. Epic.

posted by shyguy978 (CORONA, CA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have the full game, and, I gotta say, it is AMAZING! Not only is it a remake of one of the most best MGS games, but it really fits with the gyroscope, and the graphics are amazing. The main difference is that you need to rely on stealth than rather beating up anything that moves, otherwise it may end up in some horrible results. This game uses precise movement and strategic gameplay as Snake sneaks his way around some of the most toughest enemies he may ever encounter throughout the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why so difficult?!?

posted by Kangsam (CHANTILLY, VA) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is an example of poor porting from Playstation to DS platform. The beginning cinematics are fantastic, but I couldn't even climb a freaking tree in the beginning of the game without getting frustrated and almost breaking my DS! The controls of the game is terrible. Whoever thought that giving the right side (YXBA) buttons to control camera angles is a great idea, while the up button does a million things is a genius (not). Anyway, bottom line, good looking game but make sure you configure the controls otherwise, don't bother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still as Good as Ever

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

T'was a very good game back when it released on the PS2, it's still good now. What makes it good is the addition of taking photos from your SD card and recycling them as new camouflage , which is surprisingly effective if you're smart about what you use to make the camouflage. Anyway, I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game for 3ds by far

posted by allmightyawesom (NEW BRAUNFELS, TX) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Great game.Compelling story line which takes you from a little red cabin to a secret warehouse.Great graphics for a portable,its even going into the realm of console.Over all the best port for 3ds now.the end might bring you to tears.Great buy and rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Way Way WAY too much dialogue

posted by bjanego (KETCHUM, ID) Oct 16, 2012

Member since May 2011

I feel like I don't even get to play the game because its all dialogue and cut scenes. Cut scenes are nice tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alright port

posted by donomanx (LAWRENCE, MA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I gotta say I really wish Konami made a Peace Walker port for the 3ds instead. If you've played Metal Gear 3 on ps2 then you're really not gonna see much new in this game.

The 3d makes things slightly interesting but given that this game is so old its not going to blow your mind to see low res plants appear in 3d as you crawl through grass.

I'm a huge Metal Gear fan so I felt the need to play through this game and I'm glad I did because its a classic. If you're not a huge fan of metal gear and played this on ps2 don't bother. If you are a huge fan or never played this before then rent it for sure. People who never played this game will be in for a treat to play it like this for the first time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Shootoff

posted by sonic200 (ESCALON, CA) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I love the game soooo much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

a must have

posted by muttmax (SHEPHERD, MI) Jun 1, 2012

Member since May 2012

even though this game dosnt have multiplayer online like resident evil revolations. the campain was unbolevable. the best part are the parts of the cutseens. some games just got boring but his is lagit!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Good Re-release For A First-Timer

posted by PKMN37 (TERRE HAUTE, IN) May 22, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The only other time I've played Snake was in Super Smash Bros Brawl. I must say that this is a fun game. Stealth games are not very common so it's nice to see one that does it well. The controls are fluent, the gameplay is fun if not slightly repetitive, the graphics are good and so is the 3D. So why an 8/10? I think it's because I believe the cutscenes to be a little too long. I do like cutscenes but several of them seemed to go on for 10-12 minutes before I could continue to play. I can assume all of the cutscenes came from the original? I liked a lot of the bad guys. I didn't like Ocelot, though. He just wasn't all that interesting and his gun tricks got annoying and boring fast. Regardless though, it is a good game and I recommend it to anyone curious enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Would have been an 8

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) May 12, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2011

This game could easily have been an 8. The only issue I ran into was that the controls were not very well designed. Using the four keys to the right of the screen for the vertical and horizontal pan/scan did not work in high-intensity cover/shoot situations.

Beyond that, the game was great in the typical Metal Gear standard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rigor Mortis

posted by Fyren (WEST SPRINGFIELD, MA) May 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The rather limited size of the handheld seriously cramps your sneaking ability for the PS2 hit MGS:SE.

If you've played the original, you can see how the PTA camera control has you being spotted almost immediately while you put on your best form.

A solid 7, because they were actually able to get MGS:SE on a handheld.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not worth the bother

posted by Cheezr (LANTANA, FL) Apr 9, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2008

Although I love my 3DS and enjoy MGS games on other platforms. This particular game just did not port well to the 3DS. The small low res screen blurs subtle detail (like soldiers in the distance) and makes the game an exercise in frustration. definitely a rental but not a keeper.
I am hoping the PS Vita port will be more playable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok

posted by cayd2000 (SHIPPENSBURG, PA) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

its OK but hard i have always used to watch my dad play it looked great but its OK to me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »