Rent Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker for PSP Games
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

1063 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Need more PSP games like this!

posted by Saxfacts (FREDONIA, NY) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This is one of the very few games that seems to transcend the clumsiness of the psp and give people reason to purchase the system. The story is as excellent as every other MGS game -- more simplified than other entries in the series but just as engaging. While the controls and camera angle can get clunky at times, they do not hinder the gameplay as they did in MGS Portable Ops. In fact, the few flaws in the game are entirely outweighed by the phenomenal presentation overall. No other psp game sounds or looks as good. The cut-scenes artistically presented in a comic-book style are awesome and refreshing, and the building of your own soldier nation becomes addicting and will have you playing Extra Ops missions for hours after the campaign has ended. All in all, I consider this game the most essential part of anyone's psp collection and strongly recommend that everybody plays it, be it rent or purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Outstanding MGS Game!

posted by ssjgoku80 (POMPTON LAKES, NJ) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Presentation - 9
Game has tons of options and the animated cut scenes are marvelous.
Graphics - 9
There are parts when you’ll be playing that you’ll completely forget you’re playing on the PSP.
Sound - 10
It really sounds like you're in the jungle. Toss in creepily singing bosses and tunes for crescendo moments, and I was floored.
Gameplay - 9
you can do anything from holding people up to building your army to creating your own Metal Gear. I wish co-op didn’t’ feel mandatory at times, but it’s not a deal breaker.
Lasting Appeal - 9
There’s so much to do here in Extra Ops, Outer Ops, and playing with friends. Must have for any Metal Gear fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unbelievable!

posted by Chikage (COVINA, CA) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The reason I'm giving this game a 9 is because it's finally the REAL game from Hideo Kojima and the sequel to Snake Eater.

Pros:
Unbelievable graphics
Voice-overs are that freaking good!!!
The menu system to access your weapons and items are clever and easy to switch in the middle of battle
The story is enticing and doesn't let you down.
The whole base idea with recruiting members via the Fulton Recovery System is interesting.

Cons:
WHYYYYY can't I move while crawiling???????
You can only equip two guns at a time plus 4 other weapons like grenades and so on.
The aiming system is still not the best because it's on a PSP system (no second analog stick to help with the aiming, but rather, using the X, O, Triangle, and Square buttons to aim).

IMO, get this game. It's not a great game. It's the best PSP game to date (other than Crisis Core and Dissidia to me).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker

posted by hideokojim (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

MGS:PW is by far the bet game you'll get on the PSP. The sound is amazing, making you feel as if your in the jungle. The graphics are smooth but rough at the same time making it have the MGS feel to it. The gameplay is great, playing with friends really pushes the game all the way to. Download Adhoc party to play online and meet some new friends to!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than MGS4

posted by dizeeStL (FENTON, MO) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

MGS3 is my favorite game in the series so naturally I was looking forward to this but this game has exceeded my expectations. I was letdown by Portable Ops due to the horrible controls and camera but Peace Walker does a MUCH better job at addressing it (it is still not perfect).

The story is another great addition to the MGS saga and I enjoyed it alot.

The gameplay is what makes this game great though. The addition of coop is awesome and even though it is AdHoc only, you can still play it online via AdHoc Party on the PS3. Although a few gameplay moves are missing due to lack of a controller (crawling, moving along walls etc.) they really are not missed. You can do 2 player coop for the majority of the game with 4 players allowed for Boss fights.

Sound/Voices/Music is all top notch as with all MGS games.

The worst things about this game is its boss battles by far. Major letdown compared to other boss battles in the series. Controls are alot better than Portable Ops and are hard to learn but you get use to them.

TONS OF REPLAY VALUE!!!

I have only bought one other PSP game...Crisis Core FF7. Peace Walker is the 2nd game I have now and it is fantastic.

Forget renting, this is a BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Atomsphere

posted by Tagard (HADDON HEIGHTS, NJ) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the Cold War aspect, since this is a sequel to Snake Eater. Im not a MGS fan, but MGS3: Subsistence and Peace Walker are my favorite of the series. I recommend this. There is a Co-Op feature but its local, so meet your friends at the same coffee shop if you plan to fight together. The missions are fun and broken up so they don't get long and frustrating. The home base management is fun for micro-managers and perfect to break up the game-play between missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best PSP Game to DATE

posted by DarkRedN (FORT COLLINS, CO) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I bought this game and I beat the single player, but thier is still so muich to do! I would give this a 10 but due to the lack of online co-op or any online, makes this a 9. but still a GREAT game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Clunky controls ruin what should be a great game!!

posted by hi122neo (SPRINGTOWN, TX) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

I know, I know; he's giving it a FIVE?! It's got awesome graphics, and a slightly more than mediocre storyline! While it DOES have nice graphics for the PSP, and it's storyline was enough to keep me interested, the controls killed it for me. I spent way to much time trying to figure out how to aim properly, and it just didn't work. There IS an "autoaim" feature, but I found it to be pretty useless.

If your used to playing FPS games on the PSP, using the face buttons to set your crosshair's position, then get this. If not, give it a try... If your anything like me, then you'll get frustrated and regret BUYING it.

Don't get me wrong. I'm a HUGE Metal Gear fan. It's one of my favorite game series outside of Kingdom Hearts, the Chrono Series, and Halo. I loved the parts of this game where you got to sneak around because they actually WORKED. The parts of the game that involved shooting frustrated the heck out of me due to the poorly laid out control scheme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a AMAZING RENT

posted by popokata (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

hey i have never played a mgs game before but anyway im great with .if your new to the series so what! youll get the hang of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun Game Great

posted by cromostone (UNIONTOWN, OH) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

7 out of 22 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

This game is great perfect it kept me playing till the end and i replayed it again. Never Gets Old

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker IS A SORRY GAME!!!

posted by germaine98 (WHITEVILLE, NC) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I thought the game would be more exciting with more co-op action, but as it turns out I was wrong this game just made me wanna barf on it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Snake's biggest challenge yet...

posted by Nohman (SOUTH JORDAN, UT) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

.. is the miserable control scheme on the PSP. This is obviously an amazing game, full of the usual Kojima and company high production values and top notch game design... I think. My hesitation comes from the fact, that just like virtually every other "console" style experience on the PSP, "Peace Walker" is virtually unplayable. I never managed a play session longer than 15-20 minutes before giving up and playing something else (on a home console), and I am a HUGE MGS fan.

What a shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love metal gear

posted by cript13 (COLEMAN, MI) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

best game on psp besides i cant find any one line line in any rooms and there is 20 rooms so if any one can help me out reply on here please and thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome with codes lame withought

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

if you had an action replay this game lasted a long time and it stayed fun the whole time. withought an action replay it was boring and tedius not to mention frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by 1520JR (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this game is great but i just can't buy it if i could but i will rent it as many times as i want thanks though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

i like this game

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 7, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

it fun i really like this game it not to easy and it not to hard it a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome!

posted by xfirez (BREWSTER, NY) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

This game is awesome! But it would be better if it was rated M so maybe it would have more violence in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games i've evered played!

posted by Danny156 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game is awesome the actions are great we need more games like this i will love to have this game.I gave it a ten because it super mega awesome you should try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

really sucked

posted by gilbert1 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Could they make the controls any harder and the story really really sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Lybygenes (MARION, IA) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

THis game is very similar to MGS4 but it has more stuff to unlock. The story line is very good. This game is very challeging too if you are trying to unlock stuff some items require you to get an "S" ranking on some of the hardest tank or helicopter battle or sneaking through an area without being seen. Doing these can get you some pretty cool items like a bandana that give you infinite ammo or an invisibilty suit. The controls are a little bit hard to get used too but when you do your gonna have a blast with this game. All in all a very good game to rent and is good for all gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

so you havent bought this game yet? r u stupid?

posted by andyj88 (FLINT, MI) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

buy this game thats all that needs to be said, dont look at other reviews dont even look at what you can do in the game, at the price gamefly is selling this at right now, 22.49 with 10 percent off on my account, if u have a psp and dont have this game u should check into a mental institution

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh is was ok

posted by Anitec21 (MESQUITE, TX) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

i enjoy playing MGS games but this one wasnt great the storyline was lame controls sucked mostly the game was boring but to the fans only rent if your a huge fan buy im looking forward To MG Rising : )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best PSP game ever made.

posted by isBrody (RAEFORD, NC) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Finally, a great game on Sony's portable system. Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker is amazing. Now let's get to the review.

Gameplay: You will not find a better stealth based game on the PSP. There are some difficulty spikes and a few bad boss battles, but everything else in this game is very good. (10/10 Masterful)

Story: The story won't mean much to you if your not an avid MGS fan, but it's told in an interesting way and has a very interesting art style.
I'm not sure about the 16 year old girl being half naked in a some cutscenes, but hey it's Japan. You should expect some crazy stuff every once in a while. (8/10) Impressive)

Value: This game takes about 17-20 hours to beat, and there is a a lot to do after your done with the story, including: Very fun mini games, Building up your Army, and Playing co-op. (10/10 Masterful)

Summery: I wouldn't just rent this game, I would buy it. This is not only an excellent PSP game; this is a great game in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Would be excellent if not for the controls

posted by Vulcan (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

I really tried to enjoy this game, but the controls ruined the game for me. If you get along with the controls then this is a game worth playing.

They should have used the control scheme that Resistance Retribution used.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Peace Walker was great until...

posted by Razmataz (WASHINGTONVILLE, NY) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

My 1st generation psp started red and blue screening all the time. I dont know if it was because of the game or just because its old and broke down. Other than that the game was great and this is coming from a Metal Gear fan. The only way it could have been better is if it was on the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse