Rent Metal Gear Solid HD Collection for PS Vita
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
8.0

249 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

good HD collection

posted by mrkennyschafer (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ever since owning a playstation as a kid i played Twisted Metal all the way to crash bandicoot, the few exclusives i never got to play however was the Metal Gear Solid series. the first game on the card(the 2nd in the series) was not bad but very hard to get used to. The camera was odd and the controls were rough, understanding of course that is just a port from the original with redefined graphics. the 2nd game on the card(snake eater) was incredible! i remember hearing so much about this game at the time and finally getting to play it, i wish more games could follow it! this is a good buy but if you remember Solid Snake as a blockbuster you might be disappointed. just my own opinions of course :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by XtReMeFlames777 (HIALEAH, FL) Jun 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a really good game for the vita but its worth purchasing not renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best way to play the old Metal Gear games.

posted by mrbentley (MURFREESBORO, TN) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've tried to play Metal Gear 2 several times and it wasn't until I tried it on the Vita that I actually enjoyed the game. I would recommend purchasing this game, no doubt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

outdated...only for MGS memories

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
I never played the original MGS games. My first experience with MGS was 4. So I didn't play with the old control schemes. All I can say is they control horribly in my opinion.

The games and stories are good enough. However, to play with outdated control schemes of the past you'd have to be looking to relive the experience of the past. These games just don't stand the test of time from a control standpoint.

So if you are a huge MGS fan with fond memories go ahead and rent or purchase (my review won't apply). For anyone else I found the controls annoying and gave up pretty quickly. I'd suggest a skip.

Pros
==================
1) MGS has story (rare for action games)
2) for the fans of the past they can relive

Cons
==================
1) the controls are bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game

posted by coolbeans2009 (MODESTO, CA) Jul 24, 2013

Member since May 2011

lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very unimpressed

posted by buckyballs (SMITHTOWN, NY) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

The absolute worst controls for any game I have ever played. Unimpressed by the graphics and dreary colors. Please explain why I can't aim my gun at at enemy while I'm walking around. I played it for about 1 hour and back in the envelop. I don't know who is hyping up this game but it blows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nostalgia At It's Best!

posted by Bobaganoosh (PLAQUEMINE, LA) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Don't let what other people say about the controls turn you away from this. There's really nothing wrong with them. It's 3'rd person for the most part. You have the option of going 1'st person at times though. But, this game is absolutely amazing. It comes with two of the BEST Metal Gear games ever made to date, Sons of Liberty and Snake Eater. Snake Eater takes place sometime around the Cold War and revolves around the first Metal Gear so to say and what not, while Sons of Liberty takes place in 2009 with a great story as well. These games are stealth action, so you can literally complete these games without killing anyone. Literally. The way you do this is going throgh the entire game only using a tranq gun, knocking people out. Even the boss battles, you can kill them with the tranq gun. The graphics are perfectly great in my opinion. Keep in mind though that these games were made back in early 2000's. Even so, they're still amazing.

Overall, if you're a Metal Gear fan or even wanting to get into the series, I strongly suggest buying this game. You get two of the best Metal Gear games all in one package. If you're iffy about it, rent it. I promise you'll enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Two of the best games of all time.

posted by RenoTurkXIV (FLORENCE, AL) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Here are two of the absolutely best games of all time in one package. I would suggest you start with MGS3 first then play MGS2 next as that is the correct time line. These games are beyond classics in the gaming world, the are legendary. The storyline is one that is emotionally involving and very relevant in our troubling times these days. Both Solid Snake and his father Big Boss are hero's for the ages, men that hold true the values that many of us have forgotten.

Anyway, looking beyond the amazing and deep storylines these games contain, you'll find some of the, no... THE best stealth action gameplay out there. MGS series is responsible for the stealth gameplay that many games try to replicate. Aiming on the vita is a little wonky but once you get used to it this will be a void problem. Along with the great story and gameplay is the music. Harry Gregson Williams (protege of Hans Zimmer) scored both of these games and the music is in a class of it's own, legendary, just like the games themselves. For people like me who played these games on release date, we can't hear these themes without a slight tear forming in our eyes. Yes, IT'S THAT GOOD!

Where would great games and characters like these get with terrible voice acting? Not all that far... thankfully the voice actors for these games are the best of the best. David Hayter in particular brings Snake and Big Boss to life with the chilling emotion of a world weary, war torn man pushed to the edge.

Bottom line: Two of the best games of all time in one package... like I already said. Don't listen to the one review here complaining about controls... take the time to master the controls like any real gamer would and you'll find that these games are the reason why we are gamers. This is the stuff of legend in the gaming world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal gear solid on the psvita?

posted by soap248 (OLATHE, KS) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

this game blew my mind when i played it i like all metal gear solid im a huge fan when they port metal gear to vita i had to have it when metal gear game come out im waiting in line to get the game but enough about that the game plays well no lag control are good but the aiming may have a problem i had at first but some of you may have problems with it at first but your settle into it and i think this game is one of the best tittles out there and everyone who want to be a writer should play this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Playstatoin classic

posted by intermaniax1 (WEST ORANGE, NJ) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I was about to give away my ps vita until my friend told me that this game was about to be released on it.

One of the greatest game ever. i loved this game on ps2. i remember playing this game non-stop. i still can't believe this little thing has two games in it.

If you haven't played the MGS series, now is your chance. go buy your PS Vita.

I'm gonna try uncharted next. It looks like a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BUY IT! DONT RENT IT!

posted by critoris (GLENDALE, CA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

I remember playing this game back in PS2 days and i remember lots of it, but its always fun to play it again after like 10 years later, and now on a portable device. If you hav'nt played metal gear solid series please give it a try. The one that came for PS3 is also phenominal (believe it's Metal Gear Solid: Sons of Patriots)...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »