Rent Metal Gear Solid HD Collection for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, PS3
GF Rating
7.0

2772 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Snake.....SNAAAAAKKKKEEE!

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Nov 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

79 out of 85 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Im going start off by saying that this is THE best HD remake for ANY series, even God Of War. I was amazed that Kojima and Konami actually did this for 360 and did it with perfection.

Here's my Verdict:

The Good:

Value, the fact that your getting 3 gigantic games and 2 classic games that will last you for months is nothing short of pure bang for your buck.

Graphics, MGS2 and 3 look better than ever with spots that looked very spotty on PS2 that now look much smoother.(Peace Walker details on MEH)

Voice acting, sheer perfection, David Hayter(voice of Snake and Big Boss)is a VO master along with Lori Alan as The Boss.

The Stories, Hideo Kojima is some kind of storytelling genius...he just makes the most epic and crazy plots in any video game series ever. See: the ending MGS2.

The back to main menu function,(other HD remake ideas listen up) its nice to be able to go back to the main menu from any game instead of restarting the console every time you wanna play a different game!

The Meh:

Graphics, While MGS2-3 look better than ever, Peace Walker wasn't made for the PS2 but for the PSP they couldn't do too much but make the textures more High-res, which is a shame because it looks very bleak and boring in some areas.

Controls, if you are completely new to the series(first off congrats on switching to the best stealth based third person shooter)the controls might be a bit daunting and switching from a PS2 controller to a 360 controller is feels very different, but its not a turn off, just takes getting used to.

The BAD, ok Konami, whats the point of having an MGS collection WITHOUT MGS1!!! I mean new people will be confused playing MGS2! Please if you want to delve into this universe, play MGS1 before playing these.

Overall, this doesn't deserve to be rented, just the sheer amount of time you will put into this will make you want to buy it. Please BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool HD remake on some classics

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Didn't realize at first this was a remake of some of the older games. Was cool to see them in a new look. If you like Metal Gear games, or Splinter cell type sneaking around trying to hide from enimies, I recommend trying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best collection

posted by AxcelKyo (YONKERS, NY) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this collection represents the true potential that is the stealth genre. These games are what we all wondered how the helll do i beat this when they first released but in overall the mechanics change in each game so just get used to it. The controls for peace walkers are superb and i have played peace walker for the psp and it seemed arthiritis would come from each mission as i had to cup my hands to shoot and run. Also this collection has a total of 100 achievements for all you achievement junkie's. If you still are not persuaded get caught by a soldier in either meatal gear solid 2 or 3 and you will understand why millions of player find the frantic noise of getting caught stressful and entertaining at the same time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metal Gear Never Looked Better

posted by ElSancho (EVERETT, WA) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great. Graphics are incredibly sharp for being a remake. Controls are still a bit clunky but I think it handles better than the originals. Only downside is no MGS1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2 Blasts from the past and a new entry.

posted by Emisary (LAFAYETTE, IN) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I own all of them and I've got to say having them put on 360 is like being a kid again waking up on christmas morning.
Great stories memorable characters and locations.

Also having peace walker with it is an added bonus, mission style mgs chapters, playing as big boss himself [after the snakeater game], and playing as other characters like kaz and random msf soldiers [msf -your own military resistance soldiers in peacewalker-].

The only way to make it any better is to bring back the original MGS for PS, and MGS Ac!d for psp. Remaster them and put them on the marketplace

Oh well I can dream.....

But still this series is a must play for all generations, even those that never played one before.
HAVE FUN!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

always a fan

posted by lilfro91 (COLUMBUS, OH) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

MGS1 was the very first video game i ever owned. and i played it into teh ground. i mastered it. my dad got it for me the year it came out(also got my first console the ps1 at the same time.). i was like 7 and i instantl fell in love with this game. i have played every single Metal Gear to come out except MGS4. i never owned a ps3. some people wrote that this series needed the first one incuded and i more than agree. i would buy it without hesitation if that was with it. even if they HD'ed mgs1 and sold it seperately on the xbox i would get it. The metal Gear Series id the ONLY thing i miss about the playstation and now i have nothing to miss. THANK YOU KOJIMA!!!! The games are great on 360, it is a bit tricky mastering the controls on an xbox controller though but you get used to it fairly quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SNAKE! SNAAAAAAAKEEEE?!!

posted by xreiverx (LA VERNE, CA) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Seeing Sons of liberty and Snake eater redone with HD graphics is pretty amazing. This collection is worth it just to relive those game experiences alone. I would have much preferred to see a x360 version of Twin snakes (the original mgs1) instead of a port of the half cocked hand held game Peace walker. I gave this review a 9 rather than a 10, even being a big MGS fan, merely because peace walker's gameplay just feels so out of place. It really feels like Konami jumped the shark with that one, I would've much preferred to see a 1, 2 ,3 punch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MGS FINALLY

posted by mathhisas (DES MOINES, IA) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ive played all the MGS and i got to say that im really excited that its finally on 360. ive been waiting for this for years. and the HD puts the cherry on the top of it all. cant wait for the new game to launch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Snake? What's going on? Snake? Answer me! Snaa

posted by burning_inside (NEWHALL, CA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

There's realistic military simulators/shooters, then there's the Metal Gear series. Pure escapist fantasy. Solid/Naked Snake/Big Boss is James Bond, Rambo, John Matrix, and G.I. Joe all rolled into one. He makes Chuck Norris seem like a wimp. In other words he's the ultimate action hero, and his adventures changed gaming forever. They made me feel like i was playing an interactive movie, and the stories were wildly implausible in a fun James Bond kind of way (walking robots that shoot nukes, psycho mantis, the whole snake big boss cloning thing) and very epic. And of course the gameplay, always top of the line. You get 5 Metal Gear games on this set, truly epic. I would have gave it a 10, but for some odd reason they left Metal Gear Solid off so it lost a point.
This collection is too epic for just a rental. Definitley a keep/buy, even if you own some of these games already and have beaten them multiple times like me. sure we beat em but now theres achievements! plus it's just cool playing metal gear on the 360. plus you get Peace Walker which non PSP owners like me never played. Awesome game. Can't wait for Metal Gear Rising.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"Loud and clear, Snake."

posted by nackaone (MEXICO BEACH, FL) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I was a child, the only game I played was Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, great game, I beat it many times, and then my Play Station 2 broke, I was sad, not sad it broke, sad I couldnt play Metal Gear Solid.
A couple years later I had finally saved enough money to buy Metal Gear Solid The Twin Snakes with a Nintendo GameCube, I was stoked, I once again, played for hours, beat it many times, then my sister sold my GameCube for a laptop, I was mad, very mad, but sad that I, once again, couldnt play Metal Gear Solid anymore.
And now I have a 360 but there was no Metal Gear Solid games out for the Xbox 360, so I got a couple games and enjoyed them, but I still missed having Metal Gear Solid games. I never had enough money to get a PSP and get Peace Walker.
And now this came out, I was so happy. Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, all on Xbox 360, all remastered beatifly in HD, is just amazing.
Getting this game was like being 6 years old again, opening presents, one had a PlayStation 2 with Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, then playing it for days, learning the controls, best fighting style and hiding places.
And if your new to this game, Congratulations for playing the best stealth, sneaking, lighting bolt action game ever.
I hope you enjoy this game as much as I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Series

posted by gburk1185 (NEWPORT, RI) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Loved being able to play peace walker on something other than a PSP. Would've been better if it included the first Metal Gear Solid and included the Second and the Fourth in a second release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NO MGS1

posted by deadR2 (GILBERTSVILLE, PA) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i been a huge MGS Fan since the first 1 MGS has never looked better in HD it come's with MGS2 MGS3 and peace walker MGS on the xbox feels great easy 2 get use 2 the controls the 2 things i hate about this game is no MGS1 and they should of use MGS3 for online play not peace walker but it's still worth ur time it's a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweet

posted by themagicma (MORRISTOWN, TN) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a must buy for any fan of this series!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Garbage unless you are already a fan

posted by ElRhino (SPOKANE, WA) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've never been into the Metal Gear series. I had a roommate who played the early ones, and I watched him play a few times and was alyways interested in them.

I rented the HD collection so I could finally play the games.

Wow, they are terrible. I am sure much of my furstration is simply because the games are so old. There doesn't seem to be anything HD or Remade about these games except it outputs to my HD tv.

Gameplay is bad, voice acting is laughable (but not so bad its good), and graphic are plain ugly.

If you have never played the original, skip this because you will not like it. The only people who like this game are people who already love the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Snake is to old for this S--t

posted by Lowkey77 (EUREKA SPRINGS, AR) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have loved every entry in the MGS series but this collection did not age well. The controls alone are game breaking, perhaps on the PS3 they are better but the 360 just doesn't cut it. I foolishly bought this title out of blind devotion and have come out a changed fan. Rent if you must but don't say I didn't warn you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by Chakan (SPRING CITY, PA) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me be clear before I start, I haven't played this title yet, but I have long since played the games included in this collection. Gamefly has just shipped this game to me, but I know before even experiencing this pack I'm going to be impressed and very happy.

Although I've seen videos on YouTube in supposed HD, I don't see much of that. It looks the same as it always did, which is good for some people and bad for others. I personally don't care whether there is true HD graphics or not, or if it's just a cheap upscale without much texture or model improvement. These games still look good.

Maybe they don't match up to today's standards, but they still work great. MGS2 is an all time favorite of mine. I played it over 8 years ago, but going back and playing it feels brand new. It's that quality that Kojima and Konami put into it that made it a cult classic.

The same goes for Snake Eater. Although I never quite understood the jungle setting, I see that it worked and MGS fans everywhere just fell in love with it.

Peace walker is a great bonus, I would have just been satisfied with MGS2 and Snake Eater. Although I played Peace Walker, I couldn't get into it, it didn't feel right playing it on that small PSP screen.

All in all, Kojima/Konami really surprised me by packing all these titles together for modern consoles and especially for releasing it on the 360. I never would have thought another Metal Gear game would ever come to a Microsoft platform again. I'm not complaining.

It's not just my love for the MGS series. For any of you who missed out on any of these titles in this collection, now is your chance to pick up on it. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal Gear Awesome...ly Frustrating

posted by MetalGears (CRYSTAL LAKE, IL) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ah Metal Gear Solid, 5 titles (yes, 5, dont let the 3 games fool you there are 5 games here) and I will tell you about all 5

Metal Gear Solid 3 - Very nicely polished. All the extras from Subsistance with the exception of Snake vs Monkey are here. The controls handle like a dream, the acting is fantastic, much as you would expect from a game by Kojima.

Metal Gear MSX - A port of the MSX of Metal Gear everyone got on the MGS 3 Subsistance discs. Enjoyable and fun for everyone =)

Metal Gear 2 Solid Snake MSX - Same as Above

Metal Gear Peace Walker - A port of the PSP game of the same name, and while it lacks the transfer ability from the PS3 version its still 100% enjoyable playing online with your friends.
(Note: Transfer refers to being able to take your saved game from the PS3 version and uploading it to your PSP where you can take the PSP version and continue progress on the road and Transfer back unlocking any trophies you got while on the PSP)

Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance - This is where my frustration kicked in. I loved the main game, I loved the snake tales, and I was prepped to get 1000 gamer points in this game as well, however I hit a brick wall on the final achivement when I unlocked MGS 1 snake's VR missions - Only the best of the best will finish these and they stopped me from getting 3000 gamer points in all the games. They are next to impossible!

Overall, FANTASTIC collection, Fantastic addition to any MGS fan's archives. Rent it, Love it, then go out and buy it. You will not regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best series

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

best series ever made love the story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MGS HD

posted by shogon (DU BOIS, PA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

3 great great games in hd perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrendous Controls

posted by DrunkDave89 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

There is no reason for a stealth action game to have controls as clunky as this. I played the first two hours of peace walker, and the first 45 minutes of MGS2, not including the additional 30 or so minutes of overwrought cutscenes. I find the game mostly unplayable, especially when other games in the genre (splinter cell, chief among them) have much tighter controls. Even in Peace walker, which allowed me to move the camera, Half the time I couldn't see what I was doing. I played MGS 3 back on ps2, and I don't remember disliking it as strongly as I do now, but lets chalk that up to a lack of games to compare it against. My one concession towards this game is that I liked the style of the cutscenes in Peace Walker. They're a sort of motion comic. I encountered a couple of QTEs within them, which was a surprise, but otherwise they're not too awful. Although, in classic MGS fashion, they're too long and too frequent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what i was expecting

posted by Jcavatar (FRUITPORT, MI) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have fond memories of the PS1 version of Metal Gear. Was a great game, unfortunately the games here feel clunky and just dont mesh with the 360. And the Story just seemed forced, making an already difficult game experience less exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good intentions, bad execution.

posted by Casious (ENCINITAS, CA) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

no one was more exited than me to play this collection. MGS has always been one of my favorite games. For some reason the controls while playing the game feel really out dated and slow. i wanted so badly to have MGS achievements gracing my gamer tag. that saying "you can never go home again" is true for this game, it was fun when it came out but doesn't translate well to the fast paced and responsive controls of today's games. Hopefully the future MGS Titles will feel like what it is, a fantastic game franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I remember 2 being really good... 3 is AWFUL

posted by JohnH (MISSOULA, MT) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have a 360 so was left in the cold when Snake Eater came out. I had a bad disc from gamefly, but after the Install to HDD trick got it running...

I played for one hour, and really really did try and like it.

- Insanely long dialogs that might be interesting if they weren't so slow
- Terrible graphics and textures
- horrible camera angles and blind corners
- a basically scripted path you must follow to get anywere
- really bad dialog right at the start of the game
- impossible to sneak up on enemies
- insanely slow action

Basically, I remember loving 2, but could not force myself to even sort of get into 3. Still have hope for the new one, but had to return this. It was really very bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not for me.

posted by CrazyKelv (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you never played medal gear before like myself then don't waste your time on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not meant for 360 controller

posted by synce (CUMBERLAND, MD) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you've never played these games and don't have a PS3, by all means try the collection. Otherwise I recommend you play on PS3 instead. To pull off a headshot on the 360 controller you have to press 3-4 buttons including the thumbstick and bumper, compared to just 2 on the pressure sensitive PS3 controller. There's no way to adjust the controls, which is a big minus.

The games themselves are fantastic. MGS3 looks especially amazing in HD. The framerate got bumped up to 60fps, which is a double edged sword. Gameplay feels smoother but cutscenes have lost the cinematic quality you only get at 23fps. Basically it looks more like a soap opera than a movie now. Also the widescreen in MGS2 isn't "true" widescreen. They just cropped the top off the original source instead of expanding the sides.

Peace Walker isn't a good game in my opinion, but the HD conversion is well done. Here the boost to 60fps is more appreciated since the original was locked to 20fps even in gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse