Rent Metal Gear Solid HD Collection for PS3
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.3

1856 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metal Gear Solid Correction

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Dec 1, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the perfect edition of this series.

The only reason I didn't give this a 10 was because I wish it had the original MGS, or even Twin Snakes (despite the common consensus that it was bad)

Seriously, this is awesome. I had my doubts and reservations about it. I was concerned about the graphics and controls being dated. The graphics are fine, if not better than most HD Remakes and the controls are fine too. It took all of 5 minutes to get used to. And I'm totally loving the game.
There simply is no substitute for MGS Stealth nowadays. I actually found this game refreshingly relaxing believe it or not.
So, not only is it MGS 2, with all the bells and whistles, but Snake Eater may be the best game on the PS2. PLUS Peace Walker? Come on man! That game was phenomenal! People were wishing it was a PS3 game, and now it is! Complete with fantastic Co-Op and all!
Oh, and you even get Metal Gear and Metal Gear II, just because.
This is a fantastic collection, better and more complete than most, and getting it from GameFly is a steal as it's certainly worth the 40$ for a purchase.

I highly recommend this to anyone who's played these before, missed out on them in the past or is looking for a GOOD STEALTH GAME. They're few and far between and this is unquestionably the best one out there.

Don't miss out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A perfect Christmas for MGS fans and newbies alike

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

27 out of 30 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

When I had bought the playstation one back when I was fifteen years old, the first game that I had for it was Metal Gear Solid 2: Solid Snake, I have been a fan of gaming and the series ever since.

Metal Gear was what Splinter Cell was to the original Xbox, a game changer in its many times at bat. The gameplay was unlike anything I had ever seen right on up to Guns of the Patriots and Peace Walkers (which I have never been able to experience until now). The premise of the series snuffed your logical thinking right out, and replaced it with one of the most satisfying Role Playing/Stealth Action experiences ever made. The characters are some of the most memorable, whether you love or hate them, in gaming history.

As a veteran to the series, the extra add-ons are more than enough for many play-through's again for me. Widescreen HD 60 frames per second. Trophies enabled. PS3 to PSP transfer and remastered audio for Peace Walker. 500 VR and Alternative Missions. 3D camera in Snake Eater. Massive Graphical Updates. Improvements all around!

The Collection consists of HD remakes of Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, and Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker (originally PSP exclusive), and the first two Metal Gears (The MSX version of the first (new experience again), and the PSone version of the MGS2 without HD.)

This is an excellent choice for a gift if your loved one is a fan. The new generation of gamers may find it out dated and controls may not suit them either. The Metal Gear Solid HD collection, rent or buy, will be a wonderful nostalgic journey, with a new twist here and there for many, and a stellar new gaming experience for the new avid young gamer as I and many once were!

So many wondeful memories, its good to be human sometimes. Hail Kojima

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MGS HD>>WOW

posted by fazman (DEARBORN HEIGHTS, MI) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

three of the best video games ever made onto one disk (PS3). Do I need to say more?

YES! these games upconverted to HD so they may play on your 46 or 56 inch screen to look phenomenal. The games visuals aren't changed, but the truth is they're able to sustain their beauty due to the fact, that they were craftly built in the first place.

Gameplay is amazing, enemy AI is the best I've seen in a stealth adventure game.

Story is very touching and dramatic. MGS is one of the very few series in video game history were you not only connect with the charcters of the games, but it makes you want to know the people behind each character.

BUY IT! (or rent lol)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How I missed you

posted by Besarius (SAGINAW, MI) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This brought back sweet o' memories of the PS3 versions, and Peace walker was fun for a PSP port even though the Ops versus(peace walker's MP) kinda felt rushed/buggy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Solid Snake Fix!!

posted by TopShotta1 (DENVER, CO) Nov 16, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played Metal Gear as A kid and Snake was always my favorite. playing these takes me way back. For the nostalgia, and for the plot and action in all these games. I've never played peace walker, that will be completely new to me! Metal Gear Solid three was a stealth classic and MGS 2.....was also classic. I always liked this game the most in the genre of stealth camo and sneaking. A must have if you want the best sneaking games ever from PS2 on your HDTV with update graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

At long last

posted by LazyJ (RIPLEY, WV) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Finally my all time favorite game series redone and it is beautiful. Absolutely nothing lost if you've played the previous versions you will notice the difference. Stunning, the story line is enough to make this game more than worth while but add in the upgraded graphics and its one of best games of all time. A must TRY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Review....

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you were into the Metal Gear Solid Games in the past make sure you don't pass this game up. They have rebooted the second, third, and Peace Walker games and remastered all of them in 1080p full High Definition Blu-ray. This is a great way to spend some time on having fun with something you once loved and have forgotten and you just want to regress; that's okay! I rented this game and it is just plain blu-ray fun. It is so much clearer than it was back on the ps2 and psp.

I should warn you though, if this were to be your first time playing Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater just so you know you will feel terrified at the beginning of playing it because an hour into the campaign there are literally snakes everywhere on the ground and some even in the trees, but you do grow past that fear in two hours or so. You just basically get used to the snakes but I just wanted to warn squeamish people. It is a fun game with some nice realism in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal Gear Solid Trilogy

posted by sovereignslink (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I haven't even played the hd version yet but cannot wait to get my hands on it. I beat every game of metal gear solid on hard and cannot get enough of the rich story and gameplay alike. This game has made me emotional due to the thriller and suspense of every moment playing this game. I see no flaws with the game and have had no issues with anything because what I wanted to do next was in the next game. If you never played metal gear solid before, I suggest that today be your lucky day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal Gear Soild HD Collection

posted by Roxas (AKRON, OH) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Best remasters I've seen.
I love how they didn't change the story-line or anything.
It would be very confusing for many gamers.
But I'm kinda of sad that they didn't remaster Twin Snake.
That would of been awesome.
None the less, its the best remaster of any game in the decade of remasters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CLASSIC

posted by mrjones1982 (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

LOVE THE CLASSICS I WISH THEY MADE METAL GEAR SOLID 1 REMAKE BECAUSE THAT WAS THE BEST METAL GEAR EVER IT HAD THE BEST STORY AND VILLIANS. BUT OVERALL A GOOD RENTAL ONCE AGAIN FOR GAMEFLY. I KNOW THESE ARE OLD GRAPHICS BUT THESE GAMES TO ME STILL LOOK GOOD AND WERE GOOD ON THE PS2 DAYS. IM A TRUE METAL GEAR SOLID FAN. CONTROLS ARE SIMPLE ON THE PS3 VERSION CAUSE IM USE TO PLAYING METAL GEAR GAMES ON THE PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

choking enemy

posted by s6938507 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

l lies it alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Ninjakat101111 (PANHANDLE, TX) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

First time playing the series.

posted by bob226 (GREENSBORO, NC) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly this may not be fair I played each game for 30 minutes. I WAS JUST EXTREMELY BORED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAMES

posted by L6324827 (CANOGA PARK, CA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

SICKASS GAMES NICE HD CLEAN!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAMES HOT

posted by bigboy145 (HILLSBOROUGH, NC) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i never played any other mgs game expect mgs 4 and mgs 1 but 2 3 and peace walker took me on a overboard adventure that puzzles and exites you i beaten mgs 1 and 2 but not peace walker and snake eater but all are good but i really dislike snake eater because it takes away alot of new tech cause ur in cold war times and where 2 go and directions suck horribly in snake eater i prefer sons of liberty where u play as snake and radien its long hard and actions good but snake eater does have a better story cause it tells of snake having 2 kill his mentor big boss thats the only reason why im pressing onward with snake eater i really dislike snake eater but i just gotta now what happens if you never played the mgs series pass 1 like me mgs collection is a must have controls are excatly the same as the ps2 mgs so no worrys there but they added new missions in mgs 2 that fill in gaps of the mgs 2 story sll in alll they all need 2 be played and beaten

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good collection

posted by the_wizard (COLLINSVILLE, CT) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's always nice to get releases of revamped old titles, especially when they come and release not just one, but three old titles in HD.

For people who don't have a PS3, the Peace Walker is a good added bonus.

These games are not the same quality as other titles graphically. They are in their old form in terms of graphics, only formatted so they can work with HD, so don't get upset when you decide to rent or buy the HD Collection just to find out none of these games are graphically up to date.

Peace Walker is the title I will be focusing on, simply because it's new to the platform of consoles. It's definitely fun, but is a lot different than other Metal Gear games.

Peace Walker, unlike the series, doesn't use cutscenes. It uses animated sketches of Metal Gear artwork. Sounds weird? It is.

The game also throws a new concept into Metal Gear, as one of the focuses is managing a base of soldiers. You can do quite a bit - you can assign soldiers jobs, send them in "battles" which are computer simulated. You can also put together a Metal Gear and send on these battles too.

The gameplay is sub par. A lot of the missions you do in Peace Walker are repetitive. The missions are also very short, and are just a filter before you get to the boss battles, which can be fun. The game itself is also a lot easier than other games from the series.

MGS2 and Snake Eater are good additions, and play exactly as their old counter parts, focusing on the mix of stealth gameplay and action, while relying heavily on cut scenes to tell a story.

It's a solid purchase and rental, and definitely worth the price if you want to buy the collection if you never played one of the games. But, if you only want to get it just to play Peace Walker, you might be better off just sticking to a rental. My rating of a 7 justifies that it's good. It isn't bad, or excellent, but good because it is simply a re-release of Metal Gear classic titles with the bonus of Peace Walker.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

metal gear sold hd

posted by dragonlord4 (MORRISTOWN, TN) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it ok i like the metal gear sold better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YES

posted by kijin678 (ASHVILLE, OH) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have always loved the Metal Gear Solid Series, but when I got a 360 back in the day, I coulddn't play Metal Gear Solid anymore, Now I can finally play them again. Now we just need Guns of the Patriots for the 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT, BUY, OR WATCH SOMEONE PLAY THIS!!

posted by roncollinsii (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

this game was the worst ever. playing this game hurt me more than when a 45 lb weight dropped on my toe. this game made drinking cyanide seem like a good idea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Recommend??? ... no

posted by Warrior138 (DAVIE, FL) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I could only handle part of the first mission in 2&3, didn't even dare the other one... Camera angles are all messed up and you can't change them, the cut scenes that are SUPPOSED to explain the mission take at least 15 minutes until you can actually play the game (took like 30-45 minutes in 3) and they tend to talk about things that have no relevance towards the mission for some reason, no such thing as tutorial-basically throw you in and say good luck, you follow the mission directives and you always get caught one way or another... I mean they had the right direction with these games (reason why it's a 2 and not a 1) but they messed up somewhere. So this is either a bad game series or just not for me (and don't think: oh this guy's just not stealthy, no I'm a ghost in other games) I guess try it out for yourself, but I would HIGHLY not recommend...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

only for nostalgia

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 15, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 27 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
I'm sure this a good game for those that loved the originals. For anyone else though these are dated games in terms of graphics and controls. Rent if you are a MGS fan and skip for everyone else.

Pros
===================
1) stealth style game (ala Splinter Cell)
2) HD upgrade do create decent visuals for old games

Cons
===================
1) controls were dated
2) graphics are dated compared to new games
3) had to quit out of game to switch between games
4) the cut scenes & voice acting are fairly poor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointing on several levels

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) Aug 16, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

I love Metal Gear and had high hopes for this game. It could have been awesome, but glitches and poor controls ruined it for me. Konami could have easy fixed these items, but chose to keep them. Boss battles seem next to impossible when enemies can shoot fire through walls and around corners. I cannot describe the frustration of repeating levels because the character did something stupid as a result of a poor patrol scheme. If you are a die hard Metal Gear fan then check it out otherwise find another shooter with less glitches and better controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A look back on how terrible it used to be.

posted by PANdemon47 (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Jul 10, 2014

Member since May 2013

The game was better when it was still a memory. Not sure how they did it, but Konami somehow made these relics worse than the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST have for any MGS fan!

posted by nfelix (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Jun 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The game includes MGS 2, 3, and Peace walker in HD, 3 in one Metal gears ..... my god .....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome but problems

posted by John6124 (RAVENNA, OH) May 26, 2013

Member since May 2013

I love the metal gear games a lot i've played almost all of them so when i found the HD collection i was excited but anyways. This game is obviously a good game and everything (if you've ever played metal gear) Because of the funny things awesome gameplay and exciting story is really interesting ,but when i played PEACE WALKER and SONS OF LIBERTY did not work because i clicked on the games and clicked NEW GAME it just popped up a black screen so i waited, and, waited and, waited and just didn't work, but other than that its an awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse