Rent Metal Gear Solid HD Collection for PS3
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.3

1839 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST have for any MGS fan!

posted by nfelix (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Jun 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The game includes MGS 2, 3, and Peace walker in HD, 3 in one Metal gears ..... my god .....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game.

posted by SomeGuy2013 (FAIRFIELD, PA) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Metal gear solid is one of the best game series ever made, And this just makes it even better. A good way to catch up on the metal gear series before you play metal gear solid 4 for ps3, the final game of the series.

It's just fantastic. If you love shooting,sneaking,and a great story, You should love this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever

posted by DevilDog3001 (CHILHOWIE, VA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I have always been a huge fan of these games and this remastered edition takes the cake. It is as awesome as it gets. If your a fan of the series, this is a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal gear solid remasterd

posted by videoGameCritic (WHEATLAND, CA) May 14, 2012

Member since May 2012

The famous MGS series are back better than ever now for the Xbox 360 and PS3 systems so don't waist your time for the oringinal discs but settle for the 3 games in one disc instead for MGS 2,3, and peacewalker from the playstation portable system. i recomend geting this for playstation 3 because the first and fourth game is avalible only on playstation 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How I missed you

posted by Besarius (SAGINAW, MI) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This brought back sweet o' memories of the PS3 versions, and Peace walker was fun for a PSP port even though the Ops versus(peace walker's MP) kinda felt rushed/buggy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

choking enemy

posted by s6938507 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

l lies it alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal Gear Solid Trilogy

posted by sovereignslink (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I haven't even played the hd version yet but cannot wait to get my hands on it. I beat every game of metal gear solid on hard and cannot get enough of the rich story and gameplay alike. This game has made me emotional due to the thriller and suspense of every moment playing this game. I see no flaws with the game and have had no issues with anything because what I wanted to do next was in the next game. If you never played metal gear solid before, I suggest that today be your lucky day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Ninjakat101111 (PANHANDLE, TX) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CLASSIC

posted by mrjones1982 (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

LOVE THE CLASSICS I WISH THEY MADE METAL GEAR SOLID 1 REMAKE BECAUSE THAT WAS THE BEST METAL GEAR EVER IT HAD THE BEST STORY AND VILLIANS. BUT OVERALL A GOOD RENTAL ONCE AGAIN FOR GAMEFLY. I KNOW THESE ARE OLD GRAPHICS BUT THESE GAMES TO ME STILL LOOK GOOD AND WERE GOOD ON THE PS2 DAYS. IM A TRUE METAL GEAR SOLID FAN. CONTROLS ARE SIMPLE ON THE PS3 VERSION CAUSE IM USE TO PLAYING METAL GEAR GAMES ON THE PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MGS HD>>WOW

posted by fazman (DEARBORN HEIGHTS, MI) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

three of the best video games ever made onto one disk (PS3). Do I need to say more?

YES! these games upconverted to HD so they may play on your 46 or 56 inch screen to look phenomenal. The games visuals aren't changed, but the truth is they're able to sustain their beauty due to the fact, that they were craftly built in the first place.

Gameplay is amazing, enemy AI is the best I've seen in a stealth adventure game.

Story is very touching and dramatic. MGS is one of the very few series in video game history were you not only connect with the charcters of the games, but it makes you want to know the people behind each character.

BUY IT! (or rent lol)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAMES

posted by L6324827 (CANOGA PARK, CA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

SICKASS GAMES NICE HD CLEAN!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Solid Snake Fix!!

posted by TopShotta1 (DENVER, CO) Nov 16, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played Metal Gear as A kid and Snake was always my favorite. playing these takes me way back. For the nostalgia, and for the plot and action in all these games. I've never played peace walker, that will be completely new to me! Metal Gear Solid three was a stealth classic and MGS 2.....was also classic. I always liked this game the most in the genre of stealth camo and sneaking. A must have if you want the best sneaking games ever from PS2 on your HDTV with update graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

metal gear sold hd

posted by dragonlord4 (MORRISTOWN, TN) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it ok i like the metal gear sold better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAMES HOT

posted by bigboy145 (HILLSBOROUGH, NC) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i never played any other mgs game expect mgs 4 and mgs 1 but 2 3 and peace walker took me on a overboard adventure that puzzles and exites you i beaten mgs 1 and 2 but not peace walker and snake eater but all are good but i really dislike snake eater because it takes away alot of new tech cause ur in cold war times and where 2 go and directions suck horribly in snake eater i prefer sons of liberty where u play as snake and radien its long hard and actions good but snake eater does have a better story cause it tells of snake having 2 kill his mentor big boss thats the only reason why im pressing onward with snake eater i really dislike snake eater but i just gotta now what happens if you never played the mgs series pass 1 like me mgs collection is a must have controls are excatly the same as the ps2 mgs so no worrys there but they added new missions in mgs 2 that fill in gaps of the mgs 2 story sll in alll they all need 2 be played and beaten

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

At long last

posted by LazyJ (RIPLEY, WV) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Finally my all time favorite game series redone and it is beautiful. Absolutely nothing lost if you've played the previous versions you will notice the difference. Stunning, the story line is enough to make this game more than worth while but add in the upgraded graphics and its one of best games of all time. A must TRY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YES

posted by kijin678 (ASHVILLE, OH) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have always loved the Metal Gear Solid Series, but when I got a 360 back in the day, I coulddn't play Metal Gear Solid anymore, Now I can finally play them again. Now we just need Guns of the Patriots for the 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal Gear Soild HD Collection

posted by Roxas (AKRON, OH) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Best remasters I've seen.
I love how they didn't change the story-line or anything.
It would be very confusing for many gamers.
But I'm kinda of sad that they didn't remaster Twin Snake.
That would of been awesome.
None the less, its the best remaster of any game in the decade of remasters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A perfect Christmas for MGS fans and newbies alike

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

27 out of 30 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

When I had bought the playstation one back when I was fifteen years old, the first game that I had for it was Metal Gear Solid 2: Solid Snake, I have been a fan of gaming and the series ever since.

Metal Gear was what Splinter Cell was to the original Xbox, a game changer in its many times at bat. The gameplay was unlike anything I had ever seen right on up to Guns of the Patriots and Peace Walkers (which I have never been able to experience until now). The premise of the series snuffed your logical thinking right out, and replaced it with one of the most satisfying Role Playing/Stealth Action experiences ever made. The characters are some of the most memorable, whether you love or hate them, in gaming history.

As a veteran to the series, the extra add-ons are more than enough for many play-through's again for me. Widescreen HD 60 frames per second. Trophies enabled. PS3 to PSP transfer and remastered audio for Peace Walker. 500 VR and Alternative Missions. 3D camera in Snake Eater. Massive Graphical Updates. Improvements all around!

The Collection consists of HD remakes of Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, and Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker (originally PSP exclusive), and the first two Metal Gears (The MSX version of the first (new experience again), and the PSone version of the MGS2 without HD.)

This is an excellent choice for a gift if your loved one is a fan. The new generation of gamers may find it out dated and controls may not suit them either. The Metal Gear Solid HD collection, rent or buy, will be a wonderful nostalgic journey, with a new twist here and there for many, and a stellar new gaming experience for the new avid young gamer as I and many once were!

So many wondeful memories, its good to be human sometimes. Hail Kojima

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome but problems

posted by John6124 (RAVENNA, OH) May 26, 2013

Member since May 2013

I love the metal gear games a lot i've played almost all of them so when i found the HD collection i was excited but anyways. This game is obviously a good game and everything (if you've ever played metal gear) Because of the funny things awesome gameplay and exciting story is really interesting ,but when i played PEACE WALKER and SONS OF LIBERTY did not work because i clicked on the games and clicked NEW GAME it just popped up a black screen so i waited, and, waited and, waited and just didn't work, but other than that its an awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

METALGEAR HD!!

posted by amoudi1982 (PORT JEFFERSON STATION, NY) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

for all you hardcore metal gear fans ,this is the game set for you,metalgear 2 sons of liberty..metalgear 3 snake eater..and of course metalgear peacewalker. i highly recommend this game collection if you love detailed story line following a 40+ years in the making you seriously need to try this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ONE OF THE BEST!!!

posted by sh4dow (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

To start off, I'm a huge Metal Gear Solid (MGS) fan but I wont let influence my review TOO much :)
If you're a MGS fan you know what i'm talking about; if you're new to the series, even these senior titles will get you addicted!
The fact that you can choose stealth and/or assault doesn't mean this is an easy title, (see how long you last on the hardest difficulty)
this just showed the PS2's TRUE potential (it was one of the first games to come out for it)
The story (in all games) are very deep and sophisticated, the gameplay is very versatile in terms of your approach to individual enemies and the game as a whole. The music (when played) always sets the right tune for the moment. I can keep going without a single negative to come up. The ONLY reason I didnt give this a 10 is due to the absence of the original MGS1 (it came with the Japanese release in lieu of peace walker)
To SUM UP, get this game for the fun and addicting gameplay, the fascinating story, the thrilling infamous music, and the nostalgia!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

walk down memory lane

posted by RiseResist (ROCHESTER, NY) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Great HD collection. I had a blast replaying some of the best games I have ever played Snake Eater is by far one of the best games I have ever played and with the HD graphics it just gets better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Incredible Value, Just Buy It

posted by HYRUL3 (NASHUA, NH) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I had never played a MGS game before. I decided to give the HD Collection a shot, starting with MGS3: Snake Eater. The controls and systems take a little getting used to, but the games are incredible.

Three 3D games are included, plus some of the old 2D games. I wish that the original Metal Gear Solid was on here, but that's alright.

For the amount of content, and how much fun the games are, I am clicking the "Keep" button. Something I have not done before. Get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MGS-HD Awsome Collection

posted by Gamer2413 (OWENSBORO, KY) Sep 1, 2012

Member since May 2012

I find this game to be awsome, here's my opinion on the three games.

MGS 3
This game is a true survival, having to hunt , kill , and of course .. STEALTH
The graphics are good , but the controls for shooting are difficult and annoying, if you can see past the shooting problem then you will see a fun and interesting game, the story is very odd though.

MGS Peace Walker
My favorite of the HD Collection , this game has low quality graphics because it was originally on PSP , but the weapons and items are fun, not much to say but AWSOME

MGS 2
I can't give this a review since I haven't played it much .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game

posted by zechs210 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

If you ever played the originals and like them(You will love them), or never had a chance to play these classics. Give them a shot they all have good stories to them. Great stealth play, with action moments. You really have to think before you do alot of things in this series.
One warning to any new players to series it does have alot of videos going through the story some can last upto 10 minutes, nothing like metal gear 4 with the monkey scene. (Somewhere around 20 minutes.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse