Rent Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots for PS3
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

18733 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Konami's Masterpiece

posted by DenseDeathblow (RIO RANCHO, NM) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

21 out of 21 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would like to point I am a long time fan of the MGS saga.

MGS4 is at the top in all aspects. Story, gameplay, graphics, and sound. Also MGS4 is the only PS3 game to fully use all 50 gigabytes on the blueray disc. Just goes to show how much time and effort Konami put into the game. Now we all know Snake the awesome protagonist since Link. You take on Snake's last major mission and go out with a bang.

The story is elaborate and long. A huge amount of references going back to the first MGS. So if this is your first time playing Metal Gear Solid be pepared to be lost. Whether it is a flashback or a funny joke the references are there. The scenes give everything to a game's story. If you don't care for story the game will be short. The cutscences can be really long so pull out the popcorn.

As for gameplay it has something for everyone. Run 'n Gun, slow and quiet, and speedy 'n needy. Guns lots of it. Tactics basic to complex. A pro to the game is inheritance what you have at the end is what you have when you start a new game. If you like lone wolfing it; you got it. Like AI buddies; got that too. The maps are detailed. It's not a narrow hallway with the damisel at the end. Left, right; your call. The maps are not small, but not massive. You still have a place to be, but how you get there is your move. The AI is very life like: patrols, sight, sound, accuracy, and combat abilities. The enemy loves numbers. So don't expect the AI to be Rambo with the terminator's indestructibility.

MGS4 is a must have for MGS fans. A great game that has something for everyone. A game that's going to be a classic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game introduced to the ps3

posted by Namazio (ALBANY, NY) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played everyone game in the Metal Gear series , and I've loved everyone of them. When i first got my PS3 system, i bought this game right away. I played the game for about an hour and i couldn't stop! it has changed so much, i swear the enemies have minds of there own. The game is very hard, and has an amazing story line. Sometimes i wish it could be a movie. The graphics are perfect, best graphics I've seen on PS3. One of the greatest thing about the game is that u can sneak up behind enemies and threaten them with a gun and they will put there hands up and you can make them drop there weapon, then check them for anything else they have on them and take it, then put a bullet through there chests ending there lives. One exciting feature is u can take sides with the Melita. The game is just very fun. I've played it 5 times, and have beaten it 5 times, that's how fun it is. I've played many games for PS3 and i am a level 11 on trophies, and this game is still my favorite, second favorite is the Assassins Creed series, which i also highly recommend you all play, but The Metal Gear series is the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Let's Rate it a 1! for; I'm a biased ID10T!

posted by Lyniaer (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

78 out of 89 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

It definitely saddens me on the critical reviews this game gets from some of it's first-time players. Unlike many of the franchises out there, this game has it's niche and that niche is 'not' gameplay. Devil May Cry focuses on button-mashing action, Resident Evil touts resourcefulness, Silent Hill preys on the lesser intelligent and Call of Duty tries your patience and your ISP.
Metal Gear Solid has 'always' been about the story. In a sense, an interactive movie. It is also heavy with political strife and mental warfare. The game is meant to be played without ever being spotted by the enemy and sometimes that can take hours of sitting and waiting, watching enemy patrol movements and deciding on the best time to slip by unnoticed.
When you pull out your favorite machine gun and mow your way from one cut scene to the next, then, yes; it may come off as relatively short and unappealing. That's just a poor way to play this game.
Metal Gear has the run mature gamers through the gambit of emotion, question governmental control and the power of the tradecraft in espionage.
Just because this game doesn't appeal to your appetite for mind-numbing redundant death and grenade-flailing tactless destruction does not mean the game is bad and those that rate it low for these reasons should not be making ratings in the first place.

It's called Un-Biased Opinion.

Konami has unerringly stuck to the roots they started out with and rolled a storyline out from what was once nothing; bringing to a conclusion a long chain of events that began in the early 80's. It takes some dedication to turn a whole lot of old into a whole lot of new without really changing anything at all.

If this was your first Metal Gear experience...and you rated it a 1: Stop. Leaving. Ratings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its MGS4... NOT COD!!

posted by Philemon (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Metal Gear franchise, even back from its days on MSX2 days has been about originality, not aping its contemporaries for popularity. Its a storytelling device, told through a medium much more interactive and powerful than film. In my opinion, its very fun to play and experience in many different ways. The octocamo was a brilliant touch to the stealth portions of the game in particular.
So yes, if you are looking to mow down fools without discretion, then COD is a great experience. (and there is nothing wrong with that in of itself) But do not play MGS4 thinking it will be a variation of any FPS you're familiar with. MGS takes time and patience. Its hilarious the amount of poor reviews this game received, simply because renters expected something else and were disappointed. This is an admonition that this is a finesse game with a lot of depth and substance, but not in the places normally attributed to the action genre.
In short, don't buy a prize-winning purebred clydesdale and expect it to fetch a ball for you. This is a game of integrity and strength more than a short thrill ride-- though the thrills never come up short, simply in a different way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a Movie, A Masterpiece

posted by Fiend_Opinion (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start by first saying this game is not for everyone. I would MGS4 to say the film The Big Lebowski by which I mean its an acquired taste that some people just don't get.

Important Note: ALERT Stealth Espionage is not for Everyone ALERT

The closest game I could relate to this would be from the Socom series but MGS4 really is so far away from that. I don't recall which specific Socom game it was or if it was even for the ps3 system but to me at least it doesn't really matter as I've always found not only this game but the entire MGS4 franchise to be different from Socom franchise. I just mean these 2 loosely fit under the same hood of the stealth espionage genre. I understand not kicking down the door immediately whuppin' tushy (not that that isn't awesome) is going to be found by some to be boring but to not recognize the innovation and brillant way Konami managed to create such a detailed game is ignorant.

I own this game because it's amazing and if you're the type to appreciate the well made unorthodox like say Heavy Rain then give this game a shot. Not that an interactive drama like Heavy Rain is anything like MGS4 other than being a great game a fair cross section of ps3 users who don't seem to give a different kind of game it's due. Well this game is a masterpiece and something a little bit more open minded ps3 user will enjoy. So rent it is pretty much what that statement equals. Or don't, keep playing your cookie cutter FPSs more availability for others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games of this generation.

posted by LordAdam (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MGS4 is a masterpiece. It's pretty clear that konami put a lot of time and effort into this game. A must play for anyone who owns a ps3. The only real downside is that the story will be hard to follow if you haven't played the previous mgs games, but other than that this game is legendary!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nanomachines

posted by jeffreyras (LORAIN, OH) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if i had to describe this game with one word. it would be Nanomachines. Very exellent gameplay and very important story to the mgs franchise. i wish the online mode was enabled again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must play for PS3

posted by Niles (BRYAN, TX) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Best game on PS3 by far. Looks better than most games that came out in 2012. Wish more developers would spend the time and detail that was spent in MGS4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MGS4

posted by JayDiggle (bountiful, UT) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

75 out of 90 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

First, let me state for the record, that I, JayDiggle, From Tooele, UT, did enjoy playing MGS4. Actually, I really enjoyed it. For me, it started out a bit...boring. I was trying too hard to stick to the being stealthy which in all honesty, is not my style. I would rather figure out creative ways in which to eliminate my foes. After playing through the first few levels, I decided that I would in fact, just start killing people. To my surprise, MGS4 lets you do this without failing you. Granted, if you stick to the stealth route and spare peoples lives, you will get more "money" to use to upgrade your weapons. I personally was fine with the amount of Drebin points (money) that I had, killing people was fine.
Ok, now that that long winded intro is out of the way...
Graphics, as stated in dang near every other review, are top notch. I hardly and I mean hardly noticed anything that was off, or jagged. I actually enjoyed watching the cut scenes. They did a wonderful job of actually showing some emotion in the faces of the characters.
Sound/music. All I can say is that at times, it felt as though I was watching a tense movie. As the action picked up, the music fit the mood. I really enjoyed all the ambient sounds as well as the sounds of the weapons.

All in all, I think that a majority of people will really enjoy playing through this game. Yes, some of the cut scenes are reaaaallly long. But if you enjoy a good story then you shouldnt even notice the length. If you don't want to watch them, just skip them. I would advise against it, because you will be missing out on a very gripping story of possibly the greatest game of the year. But, the choice is yours, which makes this game so great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The reason to own a PS3

posted by Tekyuinaja (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

39 out of 47 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The first and foremost reason I bought a PS3. The Metal Gear Solid series has been pillar of hybridization meshing stealth action, full on combat and powerful story driven cinematics. This game is all that and more, the downside being that there's a little too much in the way of cinemas and there's several points where stealth simply stops being a factor and it comes down to survival against guys specifically outfitted to take Snake down. Granted, all this makes sense story-wise, but it hampers the gameplay. Kojima makes every effort to tie up every single loose thread in the MGS saga and to be fair that is a little overwhelming in a game setting and if you aren't already reeled in to the MGS story then you're going to be sorely frustrated with the character references and constant flashbacks when the story at present is already involving enough. As an admitted addict to Kojima's stuff, I live for this kind of game and I was hooked for every second of it, so it took a lot of effort to step back and examine it for flaws, but despite my disappointment with the flaws I found I still emphatically recommend this game along with its predecessors. Superb presentation, dynamic execution and the best game franchise finale I have ever seen make this a game I will forever cherish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever Made...Still

posted by toMsonsLLC (BERWYN, IL) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

It's just the full package. Only game that comes close is another PS3 exclusive that is Uncharted 2. Metal Gear Solid is a story based game that is super fun when you play. They do a AWESOME job to sell you that you're in the game. The graphics are top notch, and still might be the best on a console (close again with Uncharted 2). But the story to this game is by far the best in any game, the voice acting is magnificent and you will not want to put this game down. If you hate long no playing periods, 1 or 2 times a hour in length than this might not be your cup of tea. The cut-scenes are sweet in my opinion, I love it. This is an interactive movie that you never want to stop. And once you're done, you want to get back on!

Brilliant, play this game with an open mind. I own a PS3 and 360, and this is as good as it gets in story telling. Knowing the MGS franchise helps, but isn't a have to have. Just if you feel lost, don't think the story sucks or is confusing. Some things will fly by your head, like past characters making a come back and so forth. After you play this game, get Uncharted 2 and you will play the two best console games to ever be produced. Please stop thinking anyone cares about console wars, a great game is a great game. Sony hit the jackpot with their exclusives, they took some gambles and they paid off. I am telling you, if you're like me and you just like video games, you don't care about the systems name, TRY this game out. I remember when I played it first, I thought it was a POS cause I was lost in the controls for the first 30-60 minutes. The story got me hooked, I just was mad I couldn't do things right. After a small time of getting your learning curb up, you wont put this game down.

Trust me, 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great ending to a great series

posted by focker (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Amazing graphics, excellent voice acting, great stealth gameplay (when it does happen) and great story. The only thing I would warn against is that if you don't like to watch cut scenes that sometimes extend the length of a feature movie, then this game may not be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Reason #1 to own a PS3

posted by Redsock76 (BUFFALO, NY) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I was not a follower of the Metal Gear saga before buying this game, that being said, this became one of my top three games of all time. There were so many jaw dropping moments, I came away floored.
Must own, must play. Will not disappoint even if not a fan of the Metal Gear series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game on PS3 period

posted by halghastia (KINGSVILLE, MO) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This is the reason to buy a PS3. This game has so much content, that it has to install for each of the five acts(plus two bonus cutscene acts) and there are loads of different guns in the game. you can also put Old Snake in different outfits, such as Altair, when you get medals; some of which can be earned even if you completely suck at this game. Not to mention if you stuck all the cutscenes in the game together, you'd have a full length movie. there were no problems with the AI that i experienced. the new octocamo is geat; no more going into the menus to change camoflauge. yaaaayy! not to mention you can pause the game any time you want and buy ammo, and you automatically sell extra guns for points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Metal Gear Ever. Best PS3 game to date.

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

101 out of 135 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First off let me get this out of my system, . Holy F. cow, this game is awsome!!!! I bought this game with extremely high expectations, and this game exceeded my highest hopes. This game has without a doubt the most detailed grahics I have ever scene on a console. The game play is true to the Metal Gear Solid legacy, but with a few much welcomed additions. The Solid Eye being one of those additions.

It is your full range multipersonal vision tool, what make it unique to all other video games period is that its performance is dependent on Snakes metal state. I #4 Old Snake has a metal conditioning meter. If he is calm and relaxed his accuracy and spacial awarness are sharpened, objects in the Solid Eye become more focused and easier to spot. If he's fatigued or stressed objects at distance are nearly invisible, enemies taking cover are lost/ no longer show on map. Its a completly unique system that greatly changes the battlefield for the better.

Speaking of Battlefields, the level designs are better than any other game I've seen, incredible detail and shear vastness of levels are mind boggling. I dont' want to reveal any major secrets but lets just say you get to return to were MGS all started, every detail is inditical to the PS1 title but with truely Nex-Gen graphics.

Lets just say that all games every created will have a much higher standard to acheive, if they wish to be mentioned in the same breath as MGS 4. The video game world has been slit into two timelines from now on. As of June 12, 2008 the game world will be refered to as BMGS4 & AMGS4, (Before Metal Gear Solid 4 and After Metal Gear Solid). BC & AD have become absolute.

Graphics 10
Sound 10
Gameplay 10
Got2havit 10
Replay 10
Multiplayer 9

Easily the best Game ever made for the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hideo Kojima is a god

posted by natharia (NEW MILFORD, CT) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I own this game I have owned it since it came out, I have played through this game over 25 times, I have watched each cut scene many times over, I have both stealth and bandana, I have all the weapons, items, and plenty of Drebin Points (Money) to spare. Let me start of by saying that this is one of the most well thought out and put together game I have ever played.

Graphics were excellent; Hideo Kojima defiantly used the PS3 to its all time full potential with this game! He would have put more in but the PS3 and the game it self could not handle it, but none the less this game is fantastic.

Game play, in this game you can choose to sneak with the help of Octo Camo which blends into the environment or you can assist various rebel groups or the PMC (Private Military Companies) the Game play is top notch you have many weapons to choose from the aiming/sites were fantastic!

Weapons - Over 70 Weapons if you include Explosives and the Playboys and Magazines and Empty Clips.

Cut scenes, this story is raping up the MGS Series for Solid Snake. I am sure all of you have heard of Metal Gear Solid Rising, Well This game is not about solid snake but about Riden, and you can expect the graphics and story to be stupid since they are giving it to Xbox-360 (Hideo Lost some of my respect there) but any ways the story was well put together and very interesting! I love it!

So I give this game 10 out of 10! I highly recommend this game to anyone! So Enjoy! Have Fun! And Good Luck!

Natharia.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Love The Smell of Napalm in the Morning.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Jun 12, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

39 out of 53 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Solid 4 is a cornerstone in gaming history. The cinematic prowess presented within is jaw dropping. Each cut scene, battlefield, and flashback is improved even more so with an exquisite selection of booming sound effects, perfect voice acting, and a moving score. Every game prior and previous to this title has an even higher benchmark to traverse in the quest for realism within a virtual world.

That being said, the game introduces several new tools in Snakes repertoire including the Solid Eye, Psych Gauge, Dreben the arms dealer, and the returning Octo Camo. The Solid Eye allows Snake to view vital stats (health, rank) of enemies at a glance, as well as a timed night vision mode. It is a very useful tool at times. The Psycho Gauge measures mental fatigue of the aging protagonist and affects everything from aiming to stealth movement. Dreben and his hairless monkey companion (literally a monkey that provides bits of slapstick) allow Snake to purchase sights, scopes, custom upgrades, and super weapons on the fly. Octo Camo is a returning element that provides a way to escape pursuers by hiding in the shadows. All are nice additions and allow each person to experience the game differently.

Metal Gear Solid 4's gameplay has been adjusted to allow for stealth players and those seeking a third person shoot-em-up to be satisfied. The inclusion of mortars and turret guns at certain locations with the addition of Dreben give the option of simply clearing a path through enemy territory. It's truly up to you how you play the game.

The only problem with Snake's opus is the story and its lack of accessibility to the five people unfamiliar with the previous titles (and even those familiar with it.) There are obvious stretches in dialogue and plot to connect points. Somewhat disappointing, but the game is beautiful and fun enough to make this more of an afterthought.

MGS4 will certainly contend for game of the year. It is a must rent and probable buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Attention to all fake metal gear fans

posted by onemic (Stroudsburg, PA) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

27 out of 38 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

To be precise the few people who rated this game a 6 or below saying you love snake or this series but don't understand whats going on here. Well as we know this is the grand finale of the series,for the record in metal gear 3 you played as big boss (aka,naked snake) and as for the aging of solid snake it is explained beautifully in this game.The cut scenes too long? come on, if you played any metal gear games at all you know what to expect especially from the ending of a twenty year long series! As for the review if your a fan and been with the series from the beginning(congrats) your in for the best gaming experience you could ever imagine. The graphics are cutting edge nothing out now or coming later compares, the music score is at it's finest but what did you expect we are talking about hideo kojima. The man is a genius, but if your not a fan don't worry the same applies, as any true gamer can and most likely will appreciate what has been done here. I will not give to much away as it would do an injustice to the player, what I will say is that everything done here from gameplay mechanics to the environments down to the last wrinkle on snakes face is done with pinpoint precision. One very big change and one of my favorites is the weapon customization it is so detailed from grenade launchers to the laser sites it's all in there, To not appreciate at least the heart and soul that you know was put into this game you cant call yourself a gamer.I know that is a bold statement but what I mean is that from a gaming standpoint and nothing else, you cant not see the dedication and attention to detail,the love for gamers who love hardcore games and a well put together story. And to be quite frank you must look at it for what it is, an ending to a twenty year plus long series, with a lot of fan fare and history. The bottom line is this game marks the ending of a gaming legend, not to many games can compare with the history and innovation that this series is know for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Current-Generation Title

posted by jleack (MURRIETA, CA) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Solid 4 is my second favorite game of all time, and my favorite game this generation. The graphics, animations and audio still stand the test of time 2 years later. The story is a remarkably emotional ending to an outstanding series. I recommend this game at the highest level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A perfect bookend to the series

posted by nescedral (MISSION, KS) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game nails the MGS formula. It's brimming items that give the gameplay a sandbox feel, over-the-top action and drama, nebulous story twists, and jokes that take a hammer to the fourth wall.

For some, the cut scenes can be a detriment to the game. They're full of nebulous plot twists, copious references to previous games, philosophical ramblings on war, and watching an old guy wallow in pain. The pacing is extremely slow, and the scenes are long.

Still, this game is a gem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Story Ever Told.

posted by ABrosado (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Jun 14, 2008

Member since May 2007

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

If you have never played a Metal Gear or like me played them all dating back to 1987 (i can't be that old) this is that one to play.
You wont find a better story in any videogame. not even Final Fantasy will move you as much as this story will. This is also the best looking and controlling game around. I know most of you are playing GTA4 (how ign gave that a 10 i'll never know) but this game is 10 times better.
If you have a Playstaion 3 don't rent BUY this game. If you don't have a PS3 stop reading right now and go get one along with this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

simply amazing!!!!!!!!

posted by alltruth12 (GROVE CITY, OH) Sep 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I am a huge 360 fan and i have to admit that i thought the ps3 was a waste of money.But then i got metal gear and i was shocked. I heard it was good but this was amazing!!! The graphics are incredible the gameplay is extremely smooth and the sound effects make you feel like your in the war. The game has stealth, large scale battles and a lot of humor, what more can you ask for. They also went a step further and added weapon customization and the auto camo just to show off. Right from the beginning the high tech weapons make you say wow and then you get sucked in and you never want to stop playing. The cutscenes make it feel like a blockbuster movie and the only complaint that i have about the whole game is that some are just a little long. This game is simply amazing and i would recommend buying a ps3 just for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best game ever made

posted by MIMAS19 (MIAMI, FL) Apr 4, 2009

Member since May 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Oh my god this one of the best game i have ever played in life it is better then call of duty world at war it belong the game of the year award the graphic were perfect the storytline was perfect everything about it is perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Solid. Almost Flawless epic adventure.

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It is really easy to love MGS4 for anyone whether you played all in the series or this is your first shot at Metal Gear.

Many people who have played through the whole series all the way back from the NES breakthrough to MGS4 will tell you it is the best franchise ever. That is debatable I suppose but it can be agreed that this installment is at least the best so far, and in great shape to be considered game of the year, maybe best to date ever.

Kojima provides an epic story centered around the accelerated aging of gaming most known hero Solid Snake. Intermingled between brilliant combat action with freedom to sneak, or run and gun are some of the most impressive (however excessively long at times) cut scenes that work to combine some of the most dramatic, entertaining story telling in the history of video games. Thankfully you have the option to skip anything that may threaten to put you to sleep. But overall you should at least watch all the cut scenes your first run through to get the most of this interactive movie, as well as in some cases you can move around during some and find hidden treats from batteries, to extra MP3's.

The graphical representation artistically are without competition. Everything is meticulously detailed and rendered in amazing brilliance that will easily show off your PS3's power and make even the cheapest HD TV look stunning. There are more weapons than you could hope for, and they are customizable to suit your desires.

All audio including the heartfelt musical score of both old familiar songs and new ones are crystal. Guns all have a unique sound with great realism. Footsteps, breathing, groans and all have been paid great attention to and won't ever leave you feeling out of sync.

There are many surprises, and reunions with old characters from series past. In some cases quite funny tie ins to previous MGS memories. "Time to change the Disc Snake...oh wait this is a PS3" being one laughable break. MGS4 simply must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

p

posted by SweetGame (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

sweet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse