Rent Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence for PS2
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

2143 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by edptruck (PORT JEFFERSON STATION, NY) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

this game is really good. there is hardly nothing bad about this game.there is one little thing that i didnt like though and it is that some times the characters never stop talking and I would start paying attention to other stuff then get mad becuase now i missed part of the story. but other then that its perfect.

Graphics:9
gameplay:10
replay value:10
storyline:10
overall score:10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolute Must Play, If Not Have

posted by NRGundlah (SHINGLE SPRINGS, CA) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Graphics: One of the finest looking games I have ever seen on any system. This truly shows off the power the PS2 has, even as it has aged. Another excellent feature is how cut scenes are done with the engine of the game, and not a separate entity. Excellent in every aspect, and don't create a great amount of lag online despite the many particles and other objects appearing.

Sound, Music and Voiceovers: The sound is handled very well. Everything from bullets ricocheting off walls to ambient animal sounds in the jungle environment, all aspects of the sound is spot on. The music is also very well-done, and is just another element that makes tense situations even more so. The voiceovers are, for the most part, very good. Unfortunately, the acting seems a bit awkward or even downright bad in parts, but it's not that big of a miss at all.

Control & Camera: In an absolute and fully welcome rebirth of the Metal Gear franchise, the overhead camera has been replaced with an incredibly well-handled and implemented third-person, player controlled camera. It really makes the experience much more enjoyable and manageable. The controls in general are very fluid and intuitive, and work quite well considering all the actions you can perform in the game. No complaints here, on either the single- or multi- player sides.

Gameplay and Presentation: The gameplay is a bit less spectacular as all other parts of the game, but by no means unenjoyable. The only major flaw of the game is all the menus that you have to through to eat food, heal wounds and change camouflage in single player. It really interrupts the flow of the game, but it works just fine. I don't want to ruin the story, but I will say that it does take up a lot of time in the start and end, but 90% of it is incredibly well done and created some of the best moments I have ever experienced in videogames. Occasionally though, it doesn't seem to take itself seriously, and that really kills the drama.

Play. This. Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, Bad labeling

posted by Madnoir (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Easily the best out of the series. It's a bit slow at first, but really catches up as it goes on and has an ending that will leave you crying manly tears. Must play for fans (if you haven't already, or just play it again).

The only problem was Gamefly has it listed as "Subsistence" and the copy I received was the re-release from the MGS1-3 pack that does not include the extra disc from "Subsistence". Do not rent this if you are only interested in Metal Gear 1 and 2 as those are not included.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favorite MGS game! So awesome!

posted by vigilcat (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you're not familiar with the Metal Gear Solid series, well this is a wonderful place to start (this is the game that details the beginnings of MGS's notoriously complicated and interwoven storyline.)

Consider renting MGS 1, MGS 2, MGS 4 after this one. You'll be hooked!
The premise of the game is summarized as "tactical espionage action" (it's right on the game title too). You are black ops soldier (codenamed) Naked Snake, trained by the legendary "Boss." You are sent into cold-war era Russia to (eventually) save the world from the evils of the power-hungry Volgin & his secret weapon; Metal Gear.

Enough on the story- the best part about Metal Gear games is the tactical action! You have so many different choices when trying to accomplish an objective. You can: A) Kill all opposing forces- quietly; B) Kill all opposing forces- (with the loudest, biggest guns, grenades, c-4 etc) C) Use non-lethal force (choke-hold, tranquilizer darts, knock-out). Different actions like pointing a gun at an enemy's back will make them surrender their weapon! The enemy AI is smart though so be careful!

--Option C will usually get you killed or overwhelmed by enemy soldiers. You learn, stealth & omitting conflict is often the answer to progress-- Throughout the game you will have to rely on hiding, either by hanging from railings, in lockers, under things, or blending into the environment via selecting suitable camo- it feels great to sneak up on an enemy!

This is the updated version of Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, featuring some wonderful additions; notably! you can now switch out of the fixed camera angle and use the right control stick to move the camera. This simple fix over the original makes a world of difference- so far (I have yet to play MGS4) this is the only game in the MGS series that has a controllable camera.

I have to emphasize this because it just makes the game more fun- you can peak around corners better, see enemies coming, and act accordingly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MGS 3 Has All The Action, Hands Down!! (almost)

posted by PlayerOne (OAKLAND, CA) May 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have to be honest with you, I never even played any of the extras or the online game play to have fully enjoyed this game.

But I can say this: Even though this version is a little tough to play than the first 2, this time you actually get a chance to take out the guards before they can call for help.

If you remember the first 2 MSGs the 1st on if you got seen by a guard that was it.

3 seconds later everyone killed you.

In the second one, if you didn't shoot the radio 3 seconds later everyone killed you.

Even if you killed or knocked every guard up to the point.

But this time, if you take out the guards food supply, weapons storage, and every guard (even if they see you)except one, and you can practically make the last guard summit.

He'll even get a call from HQ saying that there's no one left to help and he's on his own.

I thought that was funny.

One thing I discovered I didn't like was the fact that Snake can't run for ????.

If you try to run from anyone (even if you don't have a weapon equipped) they will always catch up to you no matter what.

Which makes stealth in this game so much more important.

Not to mention that sometimes you CQC moves might not work exactly the way you want them to.

I restarted the game 10 times trying to interrogate a scientist and accidentally slit his throat every time I tried it with the exception of the last.

But those things still did bother me as much as not being able to achieve a 100% camo index.

Even in the cave stage where you can't see anything and wearing all black with black face paint you still were only 95% hidden from enemies.

I didn't think that made much sense other than to tell you there's no such thing as 100% hidden from enemies.

The story was good (a little weird at some points) and far from being confusing like MGS2.

I gave an 8 only because I have very high expectations.

Lets hope MGS 4 is just as good if not better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect

posted by fatman54 (DANVILLE, CA) Jul 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

interesting twisting plot.........check
cool weapons..................- ....check
fixed camera...................- ...check
online play.....................- ..check
cool unlockables..............- ....check
challenging gameplay..............check
MGS,1,2,&3...............- .........check
perfection...............- .........check

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow!!

posted by chewy4 (STAFFORD, VA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I thought a game couldn't be perfect, but then I played MGS3:subsistence. The camera angles are much improved from snake eater. These are some of the best graphics on the PS2. The gameplay is pretty good. The story will keep you hooked. I may say, Snake is one of the coolest characters ever. This game is a must buy. Get it now. NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

metal gear 3 subsistence

posted by flalotto (PORT CHARLOTTE, FL) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the greatest game ever,i got laid off and had plenty of time to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game for ps2

posted by metalgear (CARY, NC) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is the best game you will ever play if you liked this rent other metal gear games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence BEST GAME EVER

posted by Katara (MADISON LAKE, MN) Jul 18, 2006

Member since May 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS THE BOMB
The story line is excellent the characters ROCK
I've been playing games for about 5 years now and this is the BEST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever for the PS2? Read on!

posted by Nysguy (DETROIT, MI) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm just gonna start right off and say it: Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence is the best game I have ever played in my life. And I don't say that easy, because there are alot of great games out there. But none like this. Some games have great graphics, others great game play, but few have a great, compelling story. That's where this game shines. The story of MGS3 is so deep and emotional, it could be a movie all by itself. You become more involved with Snake than ever before as you battle enemies you now know because each enemy has a story. But that's just one side of it. The game play is much more revamped than MGS2. If you've never played Snake Eater, than rest assured, this is the same game, just revamped and much better. The NEW 3rd person camera is a Godsend! The camera is more like Splinter Cell, which is a good thing. That overhead angle can be murder when you can't see your enemy 10 feet in front of you. But for those of you that actually like the original camera don't fret, you can change the camera at will with the R3 button. Lots of different weapons which make this game a blast! Do I shoot the guy, point my gun at him and scare him into giving up, or do I simply knock him out? Your choice. That's what makes this game so interactive. The Graphics also have to be mentioned. This game is Gorgeous! Amazing detail. Animals run about, bugs in your face, and if you have surround sound, you'll think your in the middle of nature! lol

This game is amazing, and I have to go to the story once again. Movies make you cry. Books make you cry. Never in my life has a game made me cry (except Men in Black II but that's for a whole other reason). MGS3: Subsistence brought me close to tears and you'll see why when you beat the game. Metal gear fans, you will not be disappointed by the game, I guarantee it! Rent this game now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MAsterPiece

posted by SolidSnake (LANGHORNE, PA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Note : I ve never played a MEtal Gear game before this.

Graphic : I am very suprized at what this game does espaially with the PS2. This is one of the 5 best looking PS2 Ive seen. The only down side is that is doesnt upgrade to 480p . But the game does look good with hardly any frame-rate slowdown.

Gameplay: This is a werid gameplay but I really love it. You play through most of the game in the 3rd person and when you need to shoot somone u hold in R1 hit square and you can see in 1st person.

Story-Crazy as hell but I LOVE IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. If I tell you I will ruin it but it takes place after the Cuban Missell crisis.

Multi-player: I dont find it fun all the time sometime because I suck. But there is no lag at all really and most people will enjoy it.

Now go get it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Also great soundtrack

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER MADE!

posted by dan4071 (CHARLESTON, WV) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

jesus this game is freaking sweet! lots of gun play. and its accurate. this game has everything! a great story. romance. action. drama. suspense. and TONS AND TONS OF EASTER EGGS! and good ones! FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND GET THIS FREAKIN GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal gear solid 3 subsistence

posted by killer7 (COLUMBIA, PA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Graphics: the graphics in this game are surprisingly good. Better then some xbox games.

Gameplay: This game has great gameplay. It is a third person action adventure. The whole game is based around survival.

Online: The online mode is also quite enjoyable.
It may be hard to pick up at first but after the first 5 or 6 games it's a lot of fun.

I would reccomend this game to anyone who likes games such as Winback or Siphon Filter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsitence

posted by AFriend (PASCAGOULA, MS) May 4, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first played Metal gear solid 3 I was only disappointed by the frustrating camera. But MGS3: Subsistence brings everything to the table and more.

The story line is the same thing as it was in MGS3, but that is why it says MGS3....duh!

Anyway this game is sports the new 360 degree camera that is one of the biggest improvements to the game. If you don’t like the camera and like it the way it was in the original game simply hit the R3 button and it will return to the original camera settings.

Another exceptional feature is the online multiplayer mode. This mode pits you against other MGS fans in an array of entertaining game modes including: deathmatch, team deathmatch, Capture (a rubber ducky), rescue (a rubber ducky), and Snake vs. 7 other players (don’t worry it’s not unfair).

The only downside to the online modes is that playing it can get repetitive over the course of a couple of weeks (not too bad if I do say so myself).

The graphics are exceptional and online lag is to a minimum.

I would recommend buying this game if you don’t already have MGS3.

Over all I would give this game a 9.5 and is one of the greatest games I have ever played.

- A Friend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

can't let go of the control

posted by edrock (WORCESTER, MA) May 3, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is tight,is it me or is this game one of the most adicting game yet.when i first played it,it was on a weekend and i stood up to 4 o clock am playing it."WARNING" first time players,make sure you don't have to work or go to school in the morning.This is the best online game yet.So why didn't i give this a 10? well,because there's a few things they could've done for a perfect game.When hosting a game we should be able to choose to play with a special character.I find myself resetting the game until i become the sp ch.We also should be able to set the amount of times a player can respawn in sneaking mode.I know snake is tough but you still got 4 players after you and its very hard to get a win when they keep comming back to life over and over again.A larger arsenal selection would be good to(socom gots them on that one).But other than that,this game is the shiznit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST OF THE BEST

posted by vikingsfan (ALTOONA, IA) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Solid has always been a game about stealth with some action and a ton of story, dialogue and high presentation values. This is definitely the case with MGS 3: S. There are also a bunch of memorable boss fights and plenty of secrets to find to keep you coming back for more in this lengthy adventure. Plus since this is a director's cut there are a ton of additional features with the original japan PSX games, new 3rd person camera, cinema theater mode, boss duel mode, online mode and more.

PROS:

• lengthy quest (20+ hours)
• added 3rd person camera
• excellent story
• excellent voice acting
• memorable characters
• memorable boss fights
• final 5 hours is some of the best gaming ever
• added boss duel mode
• added MGS 1 and 2 from Japan PSX
• numerous ways to approach each situation
• top notch graphics
• multiple difficulties
• loads of secrets to find after finishing the game
• excellent pacing between action/cinemas/exploring/- hunting/boss battles/dialogue/ect.

CONS:
• some may not like the long cinemas and dialogue chats (I however enjoy them and feel they really add to the story)

FINAL VERDICT: 10 out of 10

This is truly one of the best overall games ever made not only for the Playstation 2, but EVER. It deserves a 10 in every way, shape and form. From the excellent, lengthy story to the memorable characters and boss fights to the excellent variety in play to the excellently directed and look of the cinemas to the top notch graphics to all of the extras thrown in on this director's cut to the secrets to uncover to all of the over the top humor. This game has it all and is definitely a 10. Heck I didn't even play the online mode and that is suppose to be one of the best features of this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the Same...

posted by rbadshaw (IRON STATION, NC) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is the same as Substance was to MGS2. If you've played Snake Eater, the only reason to get this is if you want the online version, which is very good, or you want the original games. They offer a good sense of nostalgia, that's about it.
A great rental but not a great buy. Not worth 30 bucks at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Plenty of Drama, camera and game play have issues

posted by cdoggown (SAMMAMISH, WA) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First, I want to point out that Konami certainly knows how to make a great game. Through semi-deep characters, awesome bosses, good dialogue, and sexual undertones, Metal Gear Solid 3 is a joy to play, even taking in the few not-so-awesome qualities of the game.

The camera system is flawed. Not enough to ruin the game, but perhaps enough to make the game harder than it has to be at times. I had been caught by a patrolman on more than one occasion because I simply couldn't see him using the camera to position myself.

The other problem is there is no way to quickly aim your gun at a chosen target short of running at them and frantically hitting square to get off shots before he can. I really wish Konami would have implemented a lock-on button for times where your in close quarters combat and an elegant head shot is not needed, not to mention impossible to get.

Lastly, I may just stink at the game, but the sneaking up and grabbing the enemy from behind mechanic seems to be broken. I can get within 4 or 5 feet with my knife but as soon as I am ready to hit circle one of two things happens:

1. The enemy opens the eyes on the back of his head and sees me, warning all his buddies.
2. Instead of grabbing the enemy I punch him, after that see #1.

All in all a good game with a few frustrating issues, highly recommended for the fun storytelling and action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG...ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER JUST GOT BETTER!

posted by REDCLOUD (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) May 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater consumed me into another world. It tells a story so good,this games story is better that most movies. I loved watching the cutscenes one after another, that is what makes the game so great. It's cinematic and deep. By the end of the game I actually cared about these characters. It was actually sad to see what these people went though. Not for one second did I remember: "hey, this is just a video game." like i do for most games.

And that's just Snake Eater. This is Substinance. The guys at Konami packed this game with SO much extra content it had to go on an extra disc. This game is worth every pennie. from the new 3rd person camera angle to Snake vs. Monkey, you'll never get bored playing this over and over just to find all of the easter eggs. the graphics are top-notch for a PS2 game and contributes to the cinematic feel of the game. And did i mention Online Gameplay, just check it out for yourself. you will not be sorry, trust me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

TOO FRIGIN HARD!!!

posted by Charlie (LYNNWOOD, WA) May 3, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 23 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

What the heck is going on?! I have been a loyal MGS gamer since the NES days and I have always found the games hard but do-able with a little dedication. But this game, I couldn't even get past the first couple of levels!! I see that everyone loves this game and I know my skillz are still up there but GEEZ! Good luck to anyone playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Metal Gear fails to impress

posted by boogie9231 (EL CAJON, CA) Jun 23, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 19 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

I might like this game....IF I WAS A BLUEBERRY MUFFIN PLAYING THE GUITAR. first the stealth was horrible second the controls are wacky third the aiming and shooting stink like old fish from last years family reunion and on top of it all the boss fights feel like chores, so lame. just ugh with a side of ugh i wouldn't recommend this game to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by sroyii (PHILLIPS, ME) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game exceeds metal gear 2 snake eater. the mini games are fun to play. I going to buy this game to add to my games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

people i will subsist for u

posted by ravensnake (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

hey most of these people are good people but some are weird any ways i will go straight to the meat of the game the game play has been imporved alittle u can toggle with the original snake eater camera to a 3rd person camera people longed for also this is self explanditory but the online mode is the best on the ps2 for me since its a first for me but anyways the online does suffer lag but go to a lobby with less players so theres less lag the gameplay is solid new commers don't have to play through the first two titles to play this since its a prequel and all the story is easy to understand the graphics are pre-next gen and secret theater where u get to see all the mgs characters be embarresed in a couple of films and it includes the 2 original metal gear titles from the msx new snake vs monkey levals 2 disc game which rocks and the demo theater is wounderful for those who don't have the existence disc the third disc of the game which was hard for me to watch ut the game has come from a long way so i say for newcommers rent the game i say for metal gear vetrans to buy this game i realy think this game needs a browse the online modes rock so please rent or buy this game there might not be a game like this til mgs4 for the ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty cool game Maaaaaaaaaan!

posted by payom51 (FRESNO, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

dude this game is so cool. buy it now or else snake will kill you! so the story is pretty crazy and very complicated but you get really into it after a while. i like it because you can go crazy and not be stealthy some times.the gameplay was really fun but a little to many cut scenes, I JUST WAN'T TO PLAY THE GAME!OVERALL IT WAS GREAT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse