Rent Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater for PS2
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

3443 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Work of Art

posted by leopard680 (NORTH CHILI, NY) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll get it out of the way now, this game is incredible. The graphics are great, and the story is incredibly touching. You play the game as Naked Snake, who's mission is simple: Rescue a Russian scientist from the hands of the Soviets. The game takes a more convoluted turn as you find out that Snake's mentor has defected to the Soviet Union, along with her WW2 COBRA unit.

The boss battles are incredible. Each fight is more and more unique, and makes you think about the best way to kill them. Should you just run in, guns ablaze, or make the bosses stamina run out by using your tranquilizer gun?

Also, each and every encounter with a soldier is another mental process. Should you sneak up behind him and slit his throat? Or should you run in and blow his brains out with a shotgun, and hide when the others come running?

This game is beautiful. There is no way around it, you HAVE TO PLAY IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What an awsome game this is!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Mar 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So i probably didnt play the MGS series like most fans have (in order), I was never really into MGS untill MGS4, which is the first I played. Then I was all into MGS and I decided to play the rest. So I beat MGS1 over at a friends house in like 2 days. Then about a week ago I rented MGS3 from GameFly. So I just want you to know from what prespective i'm playing. Now, MGS3 is an excellent excellent game. I'd have to say it's on par with MGS4 in terms of the story and gameplay. After you get over the sort of awkward controls with MGS3, the game will be a blast. There are many fun and unique boss fights where there is always a new strategy to killing them. The story is amazing and is what you'd expect from the MGS series. I loved the jungle environment alot too. I'd almost have rather played all of MGS4 in a jungle-like setting because you feel so "BadAs.s." while playing MGS3. There may not be as many weapons available in MGS3 as in MGS4, but they all feel very different and all help in a different way, which cant be said for all weapons in MGS4. I really wish I could have kept the game longer than I had but I wanted to return it to rent Killzone 2. But when I beat K2, im definitely gonna rent MGS3 again soon!( I still have to beat MGS2 though)
GAMEPLAY:9.8/10
GRAPHICS:9/10
STORY:10/10
DESIGN:9/10
CONTROLS:8.5/10
OVERALL:10/10
A great game, dont miss out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Injured (Saint Petersburg, FL) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best game i've played. Ever. Like BioShock and SanAndreas, you have the freedom to chose how to complete your objectives. You have the choice of busting down the door and shooting everyone in the face, sneaking in and knocking everyone out, and just running past everything. Changing camouflage keeps you on your toes, and the CQC is amazing. CQC stands for close quarters combat. It's just a series of chokes, throws, and stick-ups you can use to own your enemies. This game is long, but it keeps you interested. The replay is actually more fun than playing it the first time. If you need something to do for the next month, and you only have twenty dollars, buy this game. If your next month is totally booked up and you have no time whatsoever to play a game, but this game. You will find time to play it. I swear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i love it

posted by dannygames (MIAMI, FL) Jan 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game so cool i rent it twice cause i love it so cool whoooooooooo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best mgs so far...

posted by corbino (LONE TREE, CO) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is the best mgs by far, the story is dumbed down and the gameplay is revamped to control in the middle of a jungle in russia. This is a must have for the ps2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Among the best game ever, ever made...

posted by deedoo (San Francisco, CA) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the third time i am playing the game, and every time is different from the other.
I, now, own all of the metal gear games from PS one to the 3rd, and i thing i will still be playing those games when i am old, like the end !!
Hopefully they will shoot a movie !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Uniqe and Interactive Gaming Experience

posted by un4given97 (SLIDELL, LA) Aug 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Have you ever wanted to control the outcome of a movie? If so, then MGS3 is your chance to play the lead role in an amazing interactive cinematic experience. You assume the role of Solid Snake and guide him through the incredibly detailed and realistic universe that has become the staple of the Metal Gear series. Innovative camoflague techniques and a unique healing mechanism make this game certainly one-of-a-kind.

It seemlessly incorporates its storyline with the real world events of the 1960s. More importantly, you will have a genuine concern for the characters and an interest in where they came from as well as where they are going. This is the hallmark of any great story.

The Metal Gear series has always prided itself on giving its story elements a level of believability. The best part of this game is that despite the fantastic and other-worldly characteristics of the level bosses, we can still believe in their existence. Only a story executed this well can make you actually believe that a man could control hornets and use them as weapons.

The Good: Everything from the storyline to the dramatic musical score and voicework and the character movement is executed to perfection. MGS 3 pushes the PS2 to its limit and proves that a capable storyteller and dedicated game developers can immerse us completely in another world.

The Bad: The cutscenes can run a tad long - sometimes 10 minutes or more - but this adds to the overall cinematic feel of the entire experience. It truely makes you feel as if you are not just watching a movie, but controlling the pace as well.

The Ugly: The ending will make you choke up a little, so be prepared.

Folks, this is by far the best video game for the PS2 and quite possibly the best video game of all time. It incorporates everything that we have come to love and expect from a quality gaming experience. You will become completely immersed in this story and it will stay with you long after you turn off the power switch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!!

posted by AdamMiller (PHOENIX, AZ) May 8, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i've followed this game since the first one and they've progressed this game so far. i mean like 2 had another character that was a little unconventional but a very interesting twist and was quite fun to have snake on support. and with Snake Eater, this game has been brought to an entirely new level!! this game is unbelievable. the scenery and the survivalism facter is so exilerating! Tactical Espionage has gone to new heights. the boss fights and the storyline just are breathtaking. the new camouflage system is all the more exciting. and at the end of the game, seeing your rating and to see how well you act in tight situations and to see the results of your actions is just so much more of a push making you want to play it over and over again getting better, sneakier, and deadlier. overall this game will be hard to top by any other Espionage game. Splinter Cell pails in comparison to this game. and with Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns Of The Patriots coming out for the PlayStation 3, this Saga will go down in history as one of the best Video Games ever. Hideo and his team already have to best video game of the year award. they're well on they're way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!

posted by Brian92 (UNION DALE, PA) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is intense. This game keeps you in suspense the whole time. I would really suggest you buying this game and also the strategy guide. It helps alot. Another hint which will help in later stages is to mostly use your tranquilizer, you really want to avoid killing people. Stealth is your friend. Stealth is your friend. Very unique and orignal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cheers for Hideo Kojima!

posted by rpggamer (RICHMOND, ME) Sep 4, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

O.K. Metal Gear Solid is one of the things I am obsessed with.I have played every game,and love them all.Metal Gear Solid:Snake Eater is no exception.MGS 3 brings many knew elements to the original Tactical Espinoige [or however you speell it]gameplay.In this version,you discover Snakes past,as well as one of his arch rivals.A note of warning:pleasedont play this game if you are not familiar with the series.You wont fully enjoy the game.
The Good:Excellent gameplay,graphics,storyli- ne,voice acting,and everything else.David Hayter is the voice of Snake,and does a perfect performance and wide array of feelings and emotion.New elements to familiar gameplay such as camoflauge,having to eat the local wildlife to keep your stamina up so you can shoot steadier,be more stealthy,and anything else physical,and on occasion,desguise.And it retainsits other elements that made it a game close to my heart:hillairious easter eggs,or realistic happenings[exsample:In MGS 2,look in the sky and a bird may poo on you,and the poo will slide down the screen.As Hideo Kojima,the main man himself put it,A+B=C].
The Bad:Nothing about the game itself is bad,except that you''ll not really understand or appreciate anything without having played the previous titles.

Ooverall,this is a must play for gamers anywhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spectacular

posted by Batman327 (SEABROOK, TX) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

MGS 3 has one of the best story line that I have played in a game for a long time. Also the action is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 17, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is almost a ten on my score. This one outdoes the second metal gear. The gameplay is still the same a little bit, i like how you can heal yourself up, and eat, from the jungle. I like how you are fighting the russians in the jungle. This game is more violent, bloody, and brutal than the other ones. It all leads to col. vulgan, he is very sadistic, he is the most evil bad guy in the whole series. Pretty much all he likes to do, is hurt, and torture people. The cutscenes are very entertaining, and action packed, someone is always being killed, or beaten to death. The thing thats different, it doesent have a complex storyline, it really lets death, and dangerous situation get in the way. It has a very good relationship between snake and eva. The ending is sad.

This is one of the greatest games i ever played. PS2 wise, it is better than the second metal gear. The first metal gear, is good for what it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for me

posted by cutter13 (PALM HARBOR, FL) May 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

ok....for me, this game sucked. The interface is so different from all other games it is hard to remember controls long enough to stay alive.....frustrating. Also, the info/storyline takes forever to get through....blah,blah,blah- ...shut up already, and let me play. Now the graphics are good, but that doesnt make up for awkward movement, weak weapons, and overall bad game play. I am a hardcore gamer.....have been playing all types of video games since I owned a pong, and I just didnt like this game....I played for 20 mins before putting back in the return envelope. Maybe there are those out there that liked this game, but I am not one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

snake eater

posted by welltallx (LANHAM, MD) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I had high expectations for this game. I am a huge MGS fan. I have played and beaten all of the titles in this series. I just couldn't get in to this one tho.I liked the first person view while shooting. It made killing alot easier but Therese alot of wandering with no clear destination. The fact that your not suppose to kill annoyed me as well. I recommend you dont rent this title if your a fan of the series. It will ruin MGS for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

very bad game i thought it was gonna be good game

posted by embuster47 (ANDERSON, SC) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

i rented this game because i saw the review on this and they said its was so fun to play but im gonna choose what i think of a game from now on this is a waste of time renting dont have this in your game q if you do you making a big mistake but im gonna leave the choice to you we rent games for a reason to see if we like before we buy this game is for rental but if you love mgs series i cant change your mind i dont be too harsh on games but this one i have to be on sorry mgs fans this series is not for me the controls are confuseing and it forces me to play another game i know the story is good but i rather look it up on youtube then trying to enjoy playing but im a gamer for life and a gameflyer for life a.k.a gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nostalgia Eater

posted by CaptMagnifico (THORNTON, CO) May 25, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

Hi everybody! I finally got around to playing Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater and I have to say this had become my favorite Metal Gear game pretty quick. Take a survival game and mix it with Metal Gear and the creation you get is this wonderful game.

The story is the origins of Big Boss or Snake or Jack or John. The man of a million names. You get to see him get beaten,shot,thrown off cliffs, and burned. This was Murphy's law in good affect, whatever horrible thing could happen to him did. The game has you tracking down a scientist who is the Monopoly man, but a completely annoying version of him. While doing that you must take down a Russian Colonel and your old mentor The Boss. The story gets a little weird I am not going to lie but the story between The Boss and Snake is one of the best Protagonist, Antagonist back and forths even to games in this day an age. The ending does drag on a bit which after you beat this game you just don't want them to explain everything that they had 12 hours to do.

The gameplay is going to be hard for new comers to get into. I know I say I just got around to playing this one which is true. I did however play the first two Metal Gears so I was used to the way the game plays. This is a stealth game folks so be stealthy or be sorry there is no run and gun. The shooting controls will be awkward for newcomers but you all fine folks should pick it up pretty quick.

In the end of it all this is a fine game that in my opinion can still hold up today. It is a PS2 classic that I can recommend to all. So rent the HD pack it is amazingly fun for all. This game is something you can use to buff up your gamer cred immensely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MGS at its finest.

posted by JWIZZLE (RICHLANDS, NC) Aug 8, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

This is without a doubt one of the if not the greatest MGS game of all time. MGS 3 makes you think about every move you make from killing for food to killing your enemies. The boss battles are phenomenal graphics are excellent, story-line is great, if you've never played this game SHAME ON YOU!! This is not just a must rent, but a MUST OWN!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Metal Gear 3: Snake Eaters

posted by stevekh (BOISE, ID) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

As with Metal Gear 2: Sons of Liberty, I would click on the start button and then click new game and the game would revert back to "click on the start button". I could never get it to load.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not the best

posted by chadd8 (WINDSOR, VA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

when i saw that they sent me this game i was very very very exited to play. i thought it was going to be the best game ever.WRONG.people say this is a fun game ,i don't so. the view is weird it is in this weird up top view u cant even move the camera.(technically u can but it just goes around then right back.) your only in first person view when aiming. o there isn't even cross hairs to aim so u have to tack a wield guess. and the guns big guns fave lots of recoil(like shotguns and automatics) other then that it has good graphics and story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good but annoying

posted by cate9140 (TOLLHOUSE, CA) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

fun but its too LONG boss this boss that, KNOW WHAT I THINK THE BOSS IS A OLD JERK.She throws you of a bridge! A BRIDGE!I went to school told my freinds and you know what?He almost died!But know what anoyed me most of all...... WHAT WAS THAT NOISE SNAKE no snakeSNAAAAAAAAAAKE.........SNAKE IS DEAD.Anoying right? try repeting that 50000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 TIMES! UGhhhhhhhhhhhhh my rampage is done mgs fans im one too you know but this just killed me.But the reson im giving it a nine is the song snake eater I just love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mgs 3 is a masterpeice

posted by RevolverOcelot5 (BRONX, NY) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game is amazing from the boss battles to the chosing wheather you sneak up on gurards or not this became my favorite MGS in the series but the only down side is i found it to be short beat it rather quickly ..... but thats because i was addicted even the sound track is amazing its definetly a good game to add to your collection LOVED IT i bet others love it too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

snake eater

posted by kratos0101 (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

one of the best games i have ever played get this if you are a fan of the series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

gaming perspective

posted by rfrost81 (WEST MONROE, LA) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

excellent game play, controls, and graphics. no complaints at all on ANY OF THE METAL GEAR SOLID GAMES. ALL ARE MORE AWESOME THAN THE NEXT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

metal gear solid 3

posted by zmonster (MOUNTAIN TOP, PA) Jun 12, 2009

Member since May 2008

this game will blow. it is one of the best games ever.to some people it may be boring at first but then if you play it for a while it gets real fun.so rent it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overated by Tanya

posted by Overated (EDINBURG, TX) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

Ok i've played many great shooters and i'm sorry for you MGS fans but... It just didn't cut it for me first of all yea great intro but half of the game was all movie scenes hardly any great action gameplay. (nothing like resident evil 4) Then controls were complicated the view was hard to adjust. It did have some cool things like being your own doctor and changing diguises that was purdy neat but other than that kinda stuff this game had many flaws and was highly "overated". Hope the next ones better but try it out anyways, its ok when your bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse