Rent Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater for PS2
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

3444 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Work of Art

posted by leopard680 (NORTH CHILI, NY) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll get it out of the way now, this game is incredible. The graphics are great, and the story is incredibly touching. You play the game as Naked Snake, who's mission is simple: Rescue a Russian scientist from the hands of the Soviets. The game takes a more convoluted turn as you find out that Snake's mentor has defected to the Soviet Union, along with her WW2 COBRA unit.

The boss battles are incredible. Each fight is more and more unique, and makes you think about the best way to kill them. Should you just run in, guns ablaze, or make the bosses stamina run out by using your tranquilizer gun?

Also, each and every encounter with a soldier is another mental process. Should you sneak up behind him and slit his throat? Or should you run in and blow his brains out with a shotgun, and hide when the others come running?

This game is beautiful. There is no way around it, you HAVE TO PLAY IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What an awsome game this is!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Mar 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So i probably didnt play the MGS series like most fans have (in order), I was never really into MGS untill MGS4, which is the first I played. Then I was all into MGS and I decided to play the rest. So I beat MGS1 over at a friends house in like 2 days. Then about a week ago I rented MGS3 from GameFly. So I just want you to know from what prespective i'm playing. Now, MGS3 is an excellent excellent game. I'd have to say it's on par with MGS4 in terms of the story and gameplay. After you get over the sort of awkward controls with MGS3, the game will be a blast. There are many fun and unique boss fights where there is always a new strategy to killing them. The story is amazing and is what you'd expect from the MGS series. I loved the jungle environment alot too. I'd almost have rather played all of MGS4 in a jungle-like setting because you feel so "BadAs.s." while playing MGS3. There may not be as many weapons available in MGS3 as in MGS4, but they all feel very different and all help in a different way, which cant be said for all weapons in MGS4. I really wish I could have kept the game longer than I had but I wanted to return it to rent Killzone 2. But when I beat K2, im definitely gonna rent MGS3 again soon!( I still have to beat MGS2 though)
GAMEPLAY:9.8/10
GRAPHICS:9/10
STORY:10/10
DESIGN:9/10
CONTROLS:8.5/10
OVERALL:10/10
A great game, dont miss out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Injured (Saint Petersburg, FL) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best game i've played. Ever. Like BioShock and SanAndreas, you have the freedom to chose how to complete your objectives. You have the choice of busting down the door and shooting everyone in the face, sneaking in and knocking everyone out, and just running past everything. Changing camouflage keeps you on your toes, and the CQC is amazing. CQC stands for close quarters combat. It's just a series of chokes, throws, and stick-ups you can use to own your enemies. This game is long, but it keeps you interested. The replay is actually more fun than playing it the first time. If you need something to do for the next month, and you only have twenty dollars, buy this game. If your next month is totally booked up and you have no time whatsoever to play a game, but this game. You will find time to play it. I swear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse