Rent Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance for PS2
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
8.5

601 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not the best MGS, but still great!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Mar 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is probably the MGS with the most history in terms of the series' story as a whole. This is where we meet the third and perfect clone of Big Boss, we learn of the Patriots, meet Raiden, meet Liquid Ocelt and the list goes on and on. On another note, I did not play the game in order like most. I played MGS4 first, MGS1 2nd, MGS3 3rd, and MGS2 second so in comparison to the rest, MGS2 is probably the least fun after MGS1. This is mainly due in part to its trial and error gameplay and also Raiden. I couldnt stand Raiden in MGS2. He acts so gullible and innocent like a kid. Its like c'mon, your so Bad A S, S in MGS4! Really if u played mGS3, MGS2 is not much diff, other than the radar which is more similar to MGS1. Really MGS2 is still a sneaking game in essence, but in MGS3 and MGS4, the sneaking is much more realistic. Not based on the glowing lights emmited from an enemy on the radar. Somtimes you can be standing just outside of an enemies range and they wont see you, but in reality you'd be spotted in a second. ALso the gunplay feels a bit sloppy and moves very odd. This is due to an autolock feature that seems to take hold at the worst of times. Especially during a sniping part toward the end of the game. The story is still fantastic, the Animation and graphics are smooth. For any MGS fan out there, this is still a great game. If I'd recommend any of the MGS titles, MGS2 would be right behind 3 and 4.
GAMEPLAY:8/10
GRAPHICS:9/10
DESIGN:8.5/10
STORY:10/10
CONTROLS:8.7/10
OVERALL:9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classics never die

posted by TrulyGr8 (SEAFORD, DE) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have a PS3 and I was looking for some good PS2 titles to replay on the PS3. I love the fact that the PS3 has a smoothing feature that makes the games look even better then the PS2 verison. This game is a classic and will always be a great because of the story, game play, and graphics. The characters are so interesting and the story keeps you guessing. Stealh, and tactics is what the Metal Gear series is all about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Snake=Great, Raiden=Loser

posted by theJman (ATHENS, GA) May 11, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Solid 2 substance has the entire metal gear solid 2 game in it with extras. If you want my review on the normal part of the game please read it under Sons of Liberty, but here I'm going to review the extras of substance.

I didn't play the normal part of substance because I already beat this game on the normal version that came out first, but here that are more secrets and glitches in this version of the normal game.

The best part of substance is it has VR missions. I've always thought Vr mission were fun. This game has alot of them, they are all challenging and alot of fun. The only VR mission I didn't like were the ones where they make Raiden naked. Why did they put that in? No guy wants to see another naked man's butt, holding his area, running around. But those are the only bad VR missions.

The skateboarding is kinda weird and a little lame. I mean you wouldn't expect to see Solid Snake on a skateboard, but it is still fun.

You should definitely rent this and not Sons of Liberty. This has the full Sons of liberty game( which has great game play but cheesy story and a loser new main character)and all the extras.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

gaming perspective

posted by rfrost81 (WEST MONROE, LA) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

a little more to this game that MGS 2, but not as good, should have been one big game all together in my opinion, which is not good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metal Gear Solid 2:Substance- My thoughts

posted by StingRay (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

MGS 2 was a great game no doubt about it! The game is basically a bigger version of the original Metal Gear Solid 2:Sons Of Liberty. There is a funny skateboarding minigame in it you can try if your a X-treme Sports game fan.Instead of Metal Gear REX, from the first game, You get Metal Gear RAY. The one thing i thought was disappointing about this game, was the main character was'nt Solid Snake, even so, you only get 2 Guns. A Beretta M9 LaserSight Tranquilizer, And a USP LaserSight Pistol.The Main character is a man codenamed Raiden. I rate this game a 9/10. If it was'nt for that one problem, MGS 2 would have been a solid 10/10 title.If anyone is a fan of Action/Adventure titles, Metal Gear Solid 2:Substance is a absoulute one you should try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This was THE game of all stealth games...for PS2

posted by DonTry2Hrd (EL MONTE, CA) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

Ah, the glory days of playing Metal Gear Solid on PSX. What's PSX? Well kiddies, before there was 3 and 2, there was the original PS1...the gray box that so many of us enjoyed pouring hours of our mis-spent ...i mean well spent youth into.

Metal Gear 2 on PS2 has more or less to the same stealth action its predecessor had, but with many graphical, audio, and gameplay tweaks. These improvements could've made an awesome game. But when a game has the balls to gracefully utilize rendered cutscenes every other minute in the game, you'd think the story, good albeit tongue-in-cheek would grab on and give you a memorable ride. The sheer ridiculousness of the story, combined with bad translation created a first ever gaming faux pax, or game pax (read game-paw).

At certain points like describing the main villain of the game "the big boss" I could only shake my head in dismay. Cheesy and not in the good Troll 2 way. If you haven't seen the cult classic, you must!

This game tried to get all soap opera on me and I had to hit the power button, jam the DVD into the Gamefly enveleope as fast as I can, and throw the darn thing in the mail.

But I do have to admit, the gameplay is good, although the controls were at times very, very awkward and counter-intuitive. The camera has pros and cons in its "movie-esque" display. Sometimes it helps you see what the audience would see, but it also made it hard to pinpoint enemies (without going first person, which has slower aim and POV motion).

Overall, great graphics (for its time), terrific soundtrack, but mediocre controls, BAD voice acting and plot development. The story is pretty much best caught up through wikipedia. Skip to part 4 on current gen consoles, that's my rec.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PS2 Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance

posted by Fuuton (YAKIMA, WA) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This game is GREAT!!!

The characters, the storyline, and the game play are all awesome. Cool weapons too. The camera is a little weird though. The controls are kinda different from many action games.

9.5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HUH!?

posted by DKZ1OCK (SELINSGROVE, PA) May 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

THIS SUBSTANCE GAME SUCKS BUT THE SONS OF LIBERTY IS THE BEST. 2 ME THE SUBSTANCE GAME R A WAST OF GAME MAKING & TIME.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »