Rent Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance for PS2
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
8.5

603 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not the best MGS, but still great!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Mar 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is probably the MGS with the most history in terms of the series' story as a whole. This is where we meet the third and perfect clone of Big Boss, we learn of the Patriots, meet Raiden, meet Liquid Ocelt and the list goes on and on. On another note, I did not play the game in order like most. I played MGS4 first, MGS1 2nd, MGS3 3rd, and MGS2 second so in comparison to the rest, MGS2 is probably the least fun after MGS1. This is mainly due in part to its trial and error gameplay and also Raiden. I couldnt stand Raiden in MGS2. He acts so gullible and innocent like a kid. Its like c'mon, your so Bad A S, S in MGS4! Really if u played mGS3, MGS2 is not much diff, other than the radar which is more similar to MGS1. Really MGS2 is still a sneaking game in essence, but in MGS3 and MGS4, the sneaking is much more realistic. Not based on the glowing lights emmited from an enemy on the radar. Somtimes you can be standing just outside of an enemies range and they wont see you, but in reality you'd be spotted in a second. ALso the gunplay feels a bit sloppy and moves very odd. This is due to an autolock feature that seems to take hold at the worst of times. Especially during a sniping part toward the end of the game. The story is still fantastic, the Animation and graphics are smooth. For any MGS fan out there, this is still a great game. If I'd recommend any of the MGS titles, MGS2 would be right behind 3 and 4.
GAMEPLAY:8/10
GRAPHICS:9/10
DESIGN:8.5/10
STORY:10/10
CONTROLS:8.7/10
OVERALL:9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classics never die

posted by TrulyGr8 (SEAFORD, DE) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have a PS3 and I was looking for some good PS2 titles to replay on the PS3. I love the fact that the PS3 has a smoothing feature that makes the games look even better then the PS2 verison. This game is a classic and will always be a great because of the story, game play, and graphics. The characters are so interesting and the story keeps you guessing. Stealh, and tactics is what the Metal Gear series is all about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Snake=Great, Raiden=Loser

posted by theJman (ATHENS, GA) May 11, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Solid 2 substance has the entire metal gear solid 2 game in it with extras. If you want my review on the normal part of the game please read it under Sons of Liberty, but here I'm going to review the extras of substance.

I didn't play the normal part of substance because I already beat this game on the normal version that came out first, but here that are more secrets and glitches in this version of the normal game.

The best part of substance is it has VR missions. I've always thought Vr mission were fun. This game has alot of them, they are all challenging and alot of fun. The only VR mission I didn't like were the ones where they make Raiden naked. Why did they put that in? No guy wants to see another naked man's butt, holding his area, running around. But those are the only bad VR missions.

The skateboarding is kinda weird and a little lame. I mean you wouldn't expect to see Solid Snake on a skateboard, but it is still fun.

You should definitely rent this and not Sons of Liberty. This has the full Sons of liberty game( which has great game play but cheesy story and a loser new main character)and all the extras.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse