Rent Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance for Xbox
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.6

528 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Snake? Snake? Can you hear me now, Snake?

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jan 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance takes Sons of Liberty, adds some stuff and slaps it on the Xbox. That might be over-simplified, but it's also true.
It's a shame that in translating Sons of Liberty to the Xbox, the team at Konami didn't improve the controls and interface. Sure, the game is graphically profuse, has great presentation value and cutscenes that (while incredibly long) are really cool. But, when you get to the gameplay, so much of it seems counter-intuitive. For instance, let's say you want to shoot in first-person perspective. First, you pull down a list of weapons and select your gun, then you run to a position where you can fire, click the control stick to enter first-person mode, aim and fire. Of course, some weapons automatically enter first-person and have to be unequipped in order for you to move. Your aiming controls are very sensitive, so setting up shots in time to hit your enemy becomes harder than the enemy himself. The inability to move and fire at the same time is a little detail that causes big problems.
Or how about movement, move close to a wall and you hug it. You can circle your analog stick to get a view, but placing it back at neutral immediately takes you off the wall, becoming a liability for stealth tactics.
One other design decision that frustrated many the first time around, you'll play Snake for the relatively short Tanker mission, but the main Plant mission forces you to play as Raiden. So, if you're not a fan of the metro sexual ninja, you'll feel deflated quickly.
Substance doesn't skimp on content though. In addition to the entire Sons of Liberty game, you get alternate and VR missions so numerous that it's almost another game.
Many players will enjoy the story and series. But as far as gameplay goes, I found the stealth and action elements in the SplinterCell series far more enjoyable. The gameplay in Substance is extensive but too rough by modern standards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

almost perfect

posted by guitarman (COLWICH, KS) May 31, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this whole serious has to be one of the best VG's have to offer. supurb voice acting from everyone(especialy david hayter(snake)cam clarke(liquid) and phil la mar(vamp) ). the whole serious basicly reminds me of tom clancey meets the matrix. everything about this game is great, although the ending left me a little confused

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

does it work on 360

posted by Chris0 (HEMET, CA) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very fun

posted by whity130 (FOREST CITY, PA) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

this game is very fun i love the metal gear solid games good chalenge

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect rental game, my first Metal Gear!

posted by fa7kon (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I really loved this game, it's a great game to rent. This is actually the first Metal Gear game i've ever played, and I really enjoyed it. It is definitely a rental, though because even though it's highly entertaining and has numerous extras (mission modes, compete for the best time on a given mission, etc), the meat of the game is the main story, and that is over very quickly (at least on normal/easy difficulty).
I know many people knock this game for the camera (it's fixed depending on the scene), but I thought the "theatrical" camera in this game is a refreshing change from the standard "user-controlled" camera.
For a more detailed review, of course you can go to IGN or gamespot or whatever, but basically my opinion is that if you've never played a Metal Gear game before, you owe it to yourself as a gamer to at least try this one. I am not going to go buy a PS2 or PS3 anytime soon, so i'm really hoping Metal Gear Solid 4 shifts from a PS3 exclusive to a game that's on the 360 as well, i'll definitely rent that one too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Game for Smart People

posted by killer7 (COLUMBIA, PA) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

This game was great, the story was interesting and being able to play from a different standpoint (that of Snake instead of Riaden) was very unique. I didn't give the game a 10 because this game, compared to other Metal Gear Solids, wasn't that good at all. It wasn't long enough and I can understand how the ending was confusing for some. The only reason that I understand it is because I have beaten the first and second metal gear 7 times each. If you haven't played MGS1 then this game is great, but if you have then you should just get MGS3. You can skip this game and still understand the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amzing storyline

posted by ahmedhomie (LIVERPOOL, NY) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

I have loved every single meatal gear game iv playes all of them and this is far most the exciting metal gear game ever the the cut scences are inbelviable there liek a movie and were do i strat with the stroy line but wut i didnt like is wen konami swtiched form snake to raidan and bleive me threr coming out with MGS4 for PS3 if u havnt played it get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most influential game ever created

posted by jorgan (WOONSOCKET, RI) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

If you have not already following the metal gear saga, It is a great tactical game with lots of action and espionage. Playing this game will definitely heighten your sences and give you a better view of the world of spying. Most of the games tactics are border line revolutionary. I would recommend to any 18 or older as a right of passage into manhood

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »