Rent Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty for PS2
view large frontback

Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

1061 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games ever!!

posted by bigboss (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok for anyone thinking about renting this....do it!!!! this is one of the best metal gear solid games! if your new to metal gear solid i would say to start with metal gear solid 3 snake eater because it is a prequel! then go to mgs 1! only on ps1 and kinda hard to find! maybe on ebay you can buy it though and play it on your ps2! then finally go to this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Snake rocks

posted by Bloos1RP (FOOTHILL RANCH, CA) May 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear solid 2 is an awsome game. It's my first metal Gear game but it's great.

The good:
graphics were great for the time
game play is pretty neat.
Story is great
voice acting amazing
music is great
This game story and game play keeps you on your toes
Lots of cool weapons.

the bad:
The controls and camera can be untight at time
You only play as Snake during the begining
Cliffhanger ending

Overall Metal Gear Solid 2 is awsome. I hope Metal Gear solid 4 will be such as great or better

Gameplay:A-
Story:A
Sound:A+
graphics:A-
overall:A-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great titles got their ideas from this...

posted by Ganjimasta (RICHMOND, VA) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Solid 2 Sons of Liberty really did live up to its name with this title. Kanomi went for nothing less than perfection with this game using some of the same elements that were on the first title and then took it a bit farther.
The stealth cammo and bandanna for one as well as a moderately new arsenal of weapons that really do add to the replay value of this game.
They have also upgraded some of the more simple elements of the game to add more challenge such as flying surveillance cameras and gun turrets.
If you liked the first game this is a must, but if you are new to the series I see no real reason why not to pick up here and then move on to the 3rd installment of the series Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater.
So basically my advise is to play this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Snake rules over Raiden

posted by MrChaos (SUMNER, WA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only downfall in this game was the addition with Raiden. I did not like the character at all and felt I was ripped off by having to play as him. Snake was the main reason I wanted this game. The gameplay was fun and the missions as well. It takes awhile to get through. One of the endings was the saddest ever, so play this game and see what I'm talking about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but . . .

posted by MikLitorus (NEW ALBANY, IN) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found a lot of things to like about this game, but my favorite was the concentration on stealth missions. Where this game fails, however, is in the incredible amount of dialogue one has to wade through in order to get any actual playing time. Raiden's whinny girlfriend made me want to shoot my TV set, and the malfunctioning Colonel was about the most annoying thing I've ever encountered in a video game. Konami could've spent half the time they used on vapid dialogue and cutscenes to create more chapters for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unprecedented

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I passed up The one on the PS1, but I did play the first one on the NES. This game blew me away, the awesome graphics and top notch game play set it apart from other spy style games to be the best in it's class.

-1 point for switching characters half through the game. Snake only please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game...but why switch characters midway..???

posted by killerkiss (NEWARK, NJ) Apr 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I never gave the Metal Gear series a try. I also heard of it but always passed it until I popped in this game and was taken away. The graphics are top notch and the story is deep. The controls are great but I do have a complaint..why switch characters midway. That is the only downfall of the game. Also, I thought the gameplay would be longer but it felt quite short. I still recommend it to everyone and am looking forward to trying out MGS III.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Where's Snake?

posted by monoxide (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

MGS2 was in it's own right a masterpiece. There was plenty of action and a hard driven story. Expanding from the popularity of the original psOne, Hideo Kojima brought Snake over beautifully to the ps2. But my biggest turn-off of the game is Raiden. For those of you who haven't play MSG2 please understand that the main character is not Solid Snake. You play as snake for about the first hour or so. Then the world is introduced to little, whiny, blond headed wimp Raiden. Alot of people were thrown off by this but don't fret. MSG2 still has everthing you've come to expect from the series and is truly one of the must play games of ps2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

gaming perspective

posted by rfrost81 (WEST MONROE, LA) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

adds additional characters to the MGS SAGA, which makes it even better, and the gaming is even better than MGS. I AM A BIG MGS FAN AND HAVE NOT HARDLY BEEN DISAPPOINTED YET.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Metal Gear 2 Sons of Liberty

posted by stevekh (BOISE, ID) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

Game would not start!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game, by Konami

posted by 147422 (FRISCO, TX) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This was a really great game. I had lots of fun playing it. The sneaks were pretty hard, but the shoot wasn't that difficult. I wasn't even able to beat the normal difficulty. It was a really great game, and it was great for its time, too. (2001)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game did not work

posted by peanutandamy (CARNESVILLE, GA) Aug 29, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This game never worked, we went and got a new memory card thinking that was the problem but no, my kid's are very upset!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Deconstructed

posted by Kalysren (GREEN BAY, WI) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Game Info

Developer: Konami

Platform: PS2

Genre(s): Action

Players: 1

ESRB Rating: M (Mature)

Release Date: November 13, 2001

Intro:

The opening credits is accompanied by a montage of soldier scenes amongst names and chemical symbols. It looks very much like the opening credits of a movie. Following the opening credits, the story begins with Snake on a bridge over the Hudson River. Without spoiling the scene, all I can say is that the graphics are indeed breathtaking, especially for a 2001 game.

Getting Going:

Twenty minutes after sliding the disc into the console, the player finally takes control of Snake. There is a brief mini-tutorial regarding the menus and then the player is on his own with the one main caveat: this is a stealth mission.

Fun:

By now, the major twist in this story isn't a spoiler anymore. For the majority of the game, you don't play as Snake; you play as Raiden. The conversations between Raiden and Rose were annoying. Gameplay is similar to Metal Gear Solid, although the graphics are a giant leap forward from that. Exploring with the new graphics was more interesting and I jumped every time I got caught. Metal Gear 2 has a way of getting under your skin and creating that "fight or flight" reflex.

Visuals:

Konami made a giant leap in visuals between Metal Gear Solid and Metal Gear Solid 2, most likely associated in the upgrade of systems from Playstation to Playstation 2. The CG's are amazing with realistic rain effects coupled with invisibility and even smoking. The physics are accurate and very noticeable in character movements. Facial characteristics come into sharper focus, as well.

Sound:

Voice acting is a huge part of the Metal Gear franchise and is done extremely well in Metal Gear Solid 2. The story is absorbing even though, as a

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

I'm playing through all these games for the first time to fully appreciate Metal Gear Solid 4.

I burned through this game in 10 hours (one day) because I was so hooked on the story. Like the first game, the production value is fantastic.

The story is great, but they still have too much dialog in between sessions. One cut scene was close to 30 minutes. What if I want to save? There's also unrealistic pauses between speakers.

Top down camera angle is still difficult to work with. Beginning missions are a little tedious, go here, go there, go ALL the way back, but the second half of the game has much more variety and makes up for it.

The story gets really confusing in this one, so pay attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Metal Gear for the initiated!

posted by Swordchuck (OXFORD, NC) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

I say that because this game really doesn't make much sense if you haven't played MGS1. I didn't, and I spent alot of the time confused as 'heck' (No language, eh, gamefly?). I've played MGS1 now, so I'm pretty up to speed, but I wish I'd known it'd be that bad.

Don't get me wrong, the gameplay is great. You get the cardboard box and everything. But you seriously have no idea who any of these people are. Ocelot, you're not helping. And then there's Liquid's severed arm. Don't even get me started on Liquid's severed arm.

But plot aside, I really enjoyed this game. There's a great feeling I get when I acquire a new gadget, the same one I get in Zelda or Metroid. The boss fights are pretty cool, (anything where you use stinger missiles and swords are, by their very nature, awesome. And I want Fortune's gun.) and there's at least some character depth. It's Otacon, but at least it's there.

So grab a box, set your radio frequency, and light a pack of cigs (for trip wires. Konami in no way condones Snake's wicked awesome smoking habits). But remember. This is MGS 2. Play the other one first. If you don't like it, I wouldn't suggest this one. If you do, more power to you, I like giant robots, too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kojima has done it again!

posted by parrell134 (HAZLETON, PA) May 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This game is simply amazing. The graphics are awesome. The story is very gripping. I still don't see how the itroducing of Raiden was such a turnoff for some fans. Anyway, this game is very fun and addicting. I first got hooked on Metal Gear when I watched my stepbrother play it and I've loved it ever since. I played through this game twice and I'm working on my third file. I hope MGS4 is as good as this one was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why do I give this a 10?

posted by TatsuJin (SAN MARCOS, CA) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

This is a game to remember. The graphics are great for a PS2 to run it. Hideo Kojima, the director/producer/creator of this game and his staff did an awesome job at this game. The story continues and you play not just Solid Snake but you also get to play as Raiden. I was speculative at first but I grew tired of complaining about the Raiden character and grew to like him a little. A lot of weapons and items to use and the gameplay has improved so much. The storyline is breath-taking. It answered my questions but I'm left with more questions after beating the game.

PRO: Surprisingly awesome storyline. Gameplay is nice. Graphics are compelling. Solid Snake is kooler than Raiden. A lot of new weapons you can use like the AK-74u, M4, USP, and other weapons.

CONS: No 360 degree camera mode. You can only play Solid Snake for the Tanker Chapter. Where's Meryl? I need scissors! 61!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely Terrible!

posted by jimmy68 (EASTSOUND, WA) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Wow, I have never played a game this bad before. Flat out the story cutscenes take up 99% of the gameplay. Geez, I guess if you bought this looking for a cgi cutscene fest, by all means rent this game.

The gameplay itself is pretty bad. You are only given three guns in the whole game, and the only one worth using is the silenced pistol. Ammo is scarce, and the voice acting is awful!

Dont waste mail service on this trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great

posted by XgNfMj (GUILDERLAND, NY) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game will only appeal to fans of MGS 1 (which in my opinion is the greatest game ever made) no real review is needed because fans of the series already know what to expect, the one downfall to this game is that they didn't link the story close enough to MGS 1, but still a good game in a great series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Skip the Cinematics and Just Play the Game

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

I'm a big fan of the first MGS game (on PS1), and I loved the combination of gameplay and cinematics in that game. But this game shows that too much story can kill a game's momentum. There's been a lot of talk in the industry lately about renewing focus on narrative in games. As Metal Gear Solid 2 shows, you should never sacrifice good gaming for the sake of story.

We already have plenty of relevant storytelling media (film, novels, comics, tv); what makes games so compelling and unique is the sense of immersion, problem-solving, strategy, control, interaction, and so on. Over half of your time spent "playing" this game is spent watching FMV sequences. That fact aside, if they were well written and well acted sequences, I wouldn't mind so much; however, the bad Japanese-to-English translation leads to awkward phrasing and logic, and the voice acting pales in comparison to many similar-generation games (ca. 2001).

What gameplay there is, is excellent. At this point in the series, the controls are still very stiff and often awkward (like pre-RE4 res. evil games), but they ultimately work for what the game asks you to do. I prefer the espionage gameplay style of the Splinter Cell series and of the first two Thief games, but the MGS series works for what it is.

The boss fights are among the best in gaming (approaching Shadow of Colossus), and the American militaristic-paranoid setting for the game is loads of fun. If you're anything like me, you'll do yourself a favor and hit X to skip through the FMV sequences whenever possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best stealth action games around.

posted by chipyg (SALEM, CT) Sep 2, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of liberty mainly focuses around the new character Raiden. Although many fans of the series were disappointed, a lot of them were excited to witness what this game had to offer. In the beginning you play as Solid snake. you are on a barge in New York trying to take pictures of the newly developed version of metal gear. Later on in the game you are raiden on a containment facility called Big shell which is supposed to contain a oil spill.
What i love about this is the way you can go at it in 2 different ways. You can either go in guns blazing killing everybody you see or go in with a stealthy point of view which you can go in trying not to get caught or not giving away your position. I also love all the different weapons you can get. there is a wide variety of weapons that you can get.
The storyline with Raiden was very interesting. Warning all people who doesn't want to see a naked man holding himself then don't buy this game unless your a bad gamer. Also i would have liked to use Solid snake more than i did but it was fun to play anyway.
Also i heard that many people thought this game was was hard to understand but it set the standard for MGS 4.
overall this game is good but a little bit on the difficult side but i was able to beat it and it was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Snake=Great. Raiden=Loser

posted by theJman (ATHENS, GA) May 2, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

The first part of this game, when you playing as Solid Snake on the tanker is great, but when they switch characters to the loser Raiden it all goes down hill. There are too many long cut scenes, too many unbelievable, lame charcters,and a way too confusing plot line. The overall game play was ok, but too many cut scenes and they should have let you play as Solid Snake through the whole game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but not caring

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 17, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

When i first played, i really liked it, i played it all the time. But now, it is just a very confusing game, and too much talk, and some cutscenes arent very good. I just dont like the ridiculous, futuristic stuff. And the japanese anime routine they pulled in it. The action can be cool at times, but slow. The gameplay isnt that great. There is too much physiylogical talk in it.

The game is still good, but there is some things in the game that are too long and not all that amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »