Rent Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

2187 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

"I am lightning, the rain transformed."

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Feb 19, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

26 out of 29 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Raiden, we had fun in MGS 2 but we didn't get to utilize your incredible cyborg transformation...until now. Now for newcomers, this is purely an incredibly fun action game, as for us fans of MGS its a little something to hold us over till Ground Zeroes comes out. Which can be a bit disappointing if you're craving that MGS gameplay, but storywise? Absolutely. Here's Raiden's first(full) game, and here's my verdict:

The Good:

Bloody good show chaps- The action, alone, steals the show in this game, it doesn't let up, even when the cut scenes hit, you need to be ready to spring into action. Nonstop fun.

Blade mode- At first feeling like you are an unstoppable beast, later turns into the only way to defeat enemies efficiently. Blade mode basically switches the game into slo-mo and then you use the right stick to slice your enemy any way you like, if you think it sounds cool, just wait till you start slicing watermelons and trees.

Story- If you aren't familiar with the MGS plot, don't worry, you can skip the story entirely and have a great time, but if you are a fan, pay attention. Just like MGS, the story is insane, you gotta keep up with it to understand whats going on. If you blink, you miss everything.

The MEH-

DmC clone?- No, just wanted to make that clear. But it takes some of what makes DmC great and puts them in nicely, but its not Metal Gear that we know and love, which might turn some fans off.

The BAD-

A little short- Took me the whole night to beat the Campaign, while wanting to play it again and again, i wanted a broader game like MGS.

So overall, its an incredibly fun but short experience that doesn't necessarily cater only to Metal Gear fans, everyone should have fun with Raiden and Blade Mode, its a RENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Raiden is a boss

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Rising is an innovative entry into the longstanding series, where Raiden, the hack and slashing alternative to Snake, fights for what he believes in no matter what the cost. The combat is addicting, once you start to understand the parrying mechanics. The story is also intriguing, but where the game falls short is its lack of variety throughout the game. The enemies don't change, and the bosses get recycled multiple times. That being said, it is a fun game, but not anything we haven't seen before.

6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Metal gear rising

posted by myxbox360 (CANTON, MS) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Sep 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I loved the game.although it took me awhile to finshed it.kinda enjoyed it.raiden got his mini time to shine.got hard rock music,bosses,gameplay was awsome.you can hack&slash yet about anything you want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Such Jaded Fanboys on gamefly!

posted by OBGLivinLegend (CLEVELAND, OH) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Everyone complains about this being too easy or "not a true Metal Gear"... For one it's not METAL GEAR SOLID, so their expectations were screwed from the start. Two, they obviously didn't START the game on HARD. Granted, it's not the most difficult as far as regular fighting, but the bosses are increasingly insane, ESPECIALLY the last one. Another complaint i see is "just mash X".... They obviously didn't look at the combo screen to see how many variations there are. Sure, mash X if you want to rob yourself of great animations and dizzying combos, but you're selling yourself short. For a hack and slasher, this game was fantastic. I've never cared about systematically dismembering enemies, i.e. Dead Space. But Blade Mode makes it all the more fun. YOU'RE A CYBORG FOR CHRISTS SAKE! Don't let the jaded, crybabies on Gamefly dissuade you from trying this game. It's worth the FREE PLAY you get, You've already paid for your GF subscription, why not enjoy a fresh take on the Metal Gear universe?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mediocre Gameplay - great hack n' slash

posted by Jdkon (GILBERT, AZ) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Here is the conclusion I came to, after completing this game.

Gameplay & Controls - 6 of 10:
Although the actual fight sequences are very fun to play, they are repetitive and non-creative. You essentially have have a light slice and then a strong slice and no consequences for using either, so get ready to hold down R2 and hit X the entire game.

Not to mention the block function is the same as the attack so it makes it very easy to block attacks by continuously tapping the left stick and attack. At this point, nothing will get by a block and your character wont stop attacking.

Also, Don't expect a game that allows you to make decisions as part of the gameplay. In a sequence in the beginning of the game, your character is tasked to find the "Left hand" of one of the villains to gain their access key. I instead killed all of the "bad guys" and then was told just to cut through the door I recently needed a key pass to. BOOM I'm through. If that was an option previously, why make me go through trying to "steathly" take this pass?

Storyline - 2 of 10:
This story is a something we've all seen before. You're the good guy, and you fight a bad guy who just wants to cause chaos. That's all. There is a deeper lining to the story, but it's only there to fill in the gaps where the story lays flat. There's not much more to say about this.

Graphics - 7 of 10:
The graphics are decent and nothing much to gawk at. The landscapes and buildings blend together and there's not much more in element to this game. The FMV's are obviously better than actual gameplay, but not by much.

Final Note:
One thing I also need to mention, is the amount of cut-scenes in this game. You'll find youself saying "Just let me play already" because the FMVs completely outway the actual gameplay, so just be prepared for that.

In conclusion this game is a good hack n' slash that peaks interest about 90 mins into the game. Dont buy this game, rent it for fun but not more than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Extremely Fast Pace Action Title

posted by Fobmuska (TUSTIN, CA) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Metallll Gearrrr?!

Rising is obviously a huge departure from your traditional sneak and peak metal gear game play.

With that said be prepared for a fast pace hack and slash game. You really need to be prepared to REACT quickly to situations around you especially during combat or else you will pay the price.

The learning curb can be steep for some, it also may turn away a lot of casual players who enjoy God of War type hack and slashes. This is not a game where you can just jump in swing your sword everywhere and expect to progress. It takes quick reactions, smart movements, careful planning and execution.

You will not REGENERATE HEALTH!! In order to gain health you have to perform Zandatsus which is basically a precise execution of your enemy using blade mode. Some enemies may drop health after combat but don't really on it to save you.

YOU ARE WARNED! take the time to LEARN and PERFECT the combat system or else you may not enjoy the game. Don't let the learning curb deter you! This game is fantastic once you understand the game mechanics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Playing this game makes you feel like a BA

posted by DragonDan2453 (CHANNAHON, IL) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ACTION. This game has it and it delievers it perfectly. Not since Bayonetta have I had so much fun. Though the story is only 4 hours long, it is totally worth playing. The last boss was a pansy, but once you figured out his attack pattern, it wasn't that bad. Played this game on easy and still found it challenging. I would definatly play this game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome

posted by shmill (CONCORD, CA) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i that it was fun gory but fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome swordplay game

posted by dante_flames (DALEVILLE, AL) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

well you play as raiden from mgs2 but it feel completely different than mgs2 acctually to me it feels close to ninja giaden cause of the brilliant level of swordmanship, skill,and speed of the game im just glad you dont have to block as much lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MGS RE-VENGEANCE

posted by CandGoodCam (IRMO, SC) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

one of the best hack n slash action games i've ever played, its to bad the story was lacking that great mgs feel. i think if hideo kojima was working more on this game instead of his team the story and length would have been greatly improved. anyway its worth a rent just for the cool animations of the fighting and challenging bosses (even if they were lame they were hard)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RULES OF NATURE, JACK

posted by NukeDukem (WALLA WALLA, WA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The first boss - like ten minutes in - is a Metal Gear.
Why aren't you playing this right now?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

metalgear Rising

posted by omega024 (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 14, 2013

Member since May 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

upon receiving this game I knew that it was a Ninja Gaiden type style of play. but after 10 mins into the game. I couldn't handle playing with the wacky cameras Lame storyline even cheesier Dialog. The controls suck as well. Once you are in a button mashing mode its every hard to stop and change attacks or even foes. MGR focuses on parrying so I had trouble blocking incoming attacks. I couldn't bare to play it anymore so i sent it back after playing 15mins in to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short but good

posted by Errot18 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

really short game but good I beat it in a few hours and still did a little play back after I beat it really good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its awesome

posted by Gregory1991343 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

you have to play this game if you haven't you are missing out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent but short

posted by damoncjones1980 (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A diferent take on the series, and good to finally see one on the Xbox...now Sony, give us the rest of them on the PC or the Xbox, please...you know, real game systems...anyway, the game is a decent, but short ride. It's fun, has unlockable content, but it is really only for casual players of the series. Stealth game this ain't. Fun, though. Beat it in a weekend, and back into the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

5

posted by kevlarken (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game is not good the old metal gear is better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Retro GaMing New Metel Gear

posted by DaGr8est (MUSKEGON, MI) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I really don't like the play control! Don't get me wrong the game looks beautiful, but it handles a little sloppy. Its good to rent but not a keeper,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game but

posted by wingingthunder (SUN PRAIRIE, WI) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

its not like any other metal gear i have played there is very little stealth that is enjoyed with snake but over all a good game with a lot of close quarters fighting to be expected but raiden gets stunned wayy to easy and always being knocked down makes combat hard with a bery intense final boss that made my heart race

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a Bad Game

posted by HallelooQurL (BEAVERCREEK, OH) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

But not a fantastic one either. Can't say I really enjoyed it all too much, which is a shame because I like Raiden

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome MGS! fresh take!

posted by geezy69 (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

great game, stayed true to MGS in some respects, however was a fresh take and a great one at that
i really liked this game however it may be me, but i swear the dialogue in this game in particular was extra corny. that being said im no button mashing love rbut this game i truly did love. it had just the right amount of button mashing to not be overly intense and had great action. Raiden is a bad %$#! however the final boss was insane.... it took me way too many tries then i would have liked until i realized what i had to do
all in all great game and i hope there is a sequel to raidens story!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

metalgearrisingrevengeance

posted by brianti (SCIO, OR) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Good graphics and gameplay, short game though.
The stripper shoes and girly-face are gahay, but that's the Japanese for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Metal Gear that should be long forgotten.

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 1, 2013

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

This was a game I was looking forward to for a while because I really liked Raiden in MGS2. When I finally got in from gamefly I came to relized this game is a pile of trash. I haven't played a game more pointless in my entire life. The gameplay is terrible for one. The block mechanic is a joke and works about 50% of the time. Other than that you run around mashing one button til a guy dies and run to next area and repeat. The story is awful and makes little to no sense. Everything about this game is bad and it is a sad day when even MGS sells out and puts garbage like this out. It's like when Sqaure made Final Fantasy 12. Just like FF12 this game will be long forgotten and hopefully game creators will come to their senses soon because games are getting worse and worse as the years go on....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by aC3Lame (MOLALLA, OR) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

disappointed, decent enough graphix, but camera angles, and over all gameplay was very undesireable for gaming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

=}

posted by deadysin (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Hack N Slash I have ever played

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Mar 9, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun. The graphics are average, though sometimes they are really good. The slicing everything up is what is fun about this game. Sometimes you can slice and dice things up into 1000 pieces. Non stop action throughout the whole game. Great pacing. It also has humor in various ways so it does not take itself seriously. It is perfect for a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse