Rent Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance for PS3
view large frontback

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

2292 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Who needs "stealth" when you've got

posted by Nemy009 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What to say about MGSR? Well, it's got some cool ideas here and there; and I like the Konami decided to make a spin-off for the little "full blown action" episode of Tourette's that many game developing companies appear to be falling victim to these days, instead of ruining the "tactical stealth espionage" persona that the primary Metal Gear game series created and maintained all these years; Solid Snake just wouldn't look right in a game like this.

The graphic are extremely clean looking (especially during cut scenes), but not too far removed from what you may have seen in MGS4. The game will also trigger a sense deja vu if you've played any of the other games in this genre like God of War, Ninja Gaiden, or Devil May Cry; especially the final boss fight that reminded of the final boss fight from Ninja Gaiden 2.

My biggest gripe with this game is that it just doesn't do what it tries to do very well. The targeting is lackluster at best, and the parry system (which is your only defensive maneuver) would have been better replaced with a dedicated block button. The game tries to be Ninja Gaiden more-so than anything else, but it lacks the polish and solid gameplay the NG series is known for.

All in all, MGSR is an interesting spin-off that pulls off some neat tricks here and there, but won't wow you too far beyond that. If you're a MGS purest, know that this game is NOT for you. This game is a full blown action game that gives you the option to play stealthy, but prefers you cut everything you see IN HALF!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by Korgan91 (WICHITA, KS) Apr 22, 2013

Member since May 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After playing and beating the game I give it a 7 out of 10. The story was good (if a bit short), the combat was fluid and stylized, and the graphics were great. It is a break away from the usual stealth game that we all know and love but none the less it was worth my time. Any DECENT gamer can have the game beat in as little as three and a half to four hours, and any DECENT gamer shouldn't have to much trouble with the controls. I've heard many complaints about the latter. Suck it up fellas. Don't blame the game for your lack of skill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by jsmooth2010 (PALESTINE, TX) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played the old metal gear games and Yes, this is totally different. This is not about stealth, this is all about action. This game is amazing, it's fast paced, has insane boss fights, and the music pumps you up. The story is also well written and the cut scenes keep you interested. The only reason this is not a 10/10 for me is because it is a bit on the short side, and the big reason is that there is no dedicated blocking button, instead there is the parrying system, and even that would be ok, but the fact that to parry, you have to aim at the enemy and attack? when there are free buttons? lol But you get used to it. Great Game!!! But probably a rental because of the length.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game

posted by Jetkaniver (VALRICO, FL) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Ok everyone is complaining about how this isn't a stealth game and it's all about action and guess what it works. Raiden and Snake are two totally different characters and need different types of games. This game would of been lame sneaking around half the time especially after seeing what Raiden was capable of in MGS4.

If you are expecting to play like Snake then don't pick up this game but if you are ready to kick butt, listen to some amazing game music and just watch jaw dropping moments of awesomeness on your screen then this game is for you. I hope everyone enjoined it as much as i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metal Gear Rising Revengeance - A Gamers Review

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is its own game with a refurbished title. It is about the death of Raiden and the birth (beginning) of the new Raiden fueled with vengeance.

Presentation - Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is true to the theme of "Revengeance." Raiden is an agent who protects the president until "Jetstream Sam" shows Raiden his true colors and basically kills him. Then, Raiden comes back for everything with all new gear.

Gameplay - The gameplay for Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is the complete opposite from the previous Metal Gear Solid games. Instead of spy stealth gameplay, Revengeance is built on the violence. Raiden just goes to the next destination, kills everyone and everything, then proceeds to the next mission. Surpisingly, though, for a button masher it is very addictive and the only thing that gets in its own way is the bad camera at times but isn't that in all Metal Gear games?

The Verdict - Metal Gear Rising Revengeance doesn't have the great story that Metal Gear Solid was famed for but it has a great story nonetheless and great gameplay with the exception of button mashing and bad camera at times. But besides the negatives it still achieves its ultimate purpose; to have a wild ride fun time while playing it. I give Metal Gear Rising Revengeance 9.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Break in New Ground

posted by RichardF87 (SAN JOSE, CA) May 8, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I know everyone is getting all freaked out because stealth is very optional in Metal gear Rising. But after 8 games (Metal Gear 1-2, Metal Gear Solid 1-4, Portible Ops, And Peacewalker) They had 1 game that has solid action delivering useable moves that match cut scene fights (Something ALL previous games in the series failed to deliver). It makes me wait for them to remake the first two metal gear for a next console with a combo of Stealth for the normal play and This Fast pace QTE combo fighting found In Rising. That would be Perfection as far as gameplay balance.

The game Is similar to Devil May cry. But again This game delivers on the moves seen in the cut scenes. Being able to pinpoint a limb and cripple an enemy by cutting him to pieces. And if your clever in combat taking down enemies in a way that would make Grey Fox proud. The game is short not having the famous long hideo kojima cut scenes. You can tell that other companies had a say in how the game turned out.

Overall the game played out for me in 5 1/2 hours. Objectives were marked and no level or area overlap. Some peole say Metal Gear "pureists" will hate it . But this game stays true to Original metal gear pretty well in terms of plot, boss names and persona, and overall message. All metal gears have a message represented by main characters struggles.

RATING:8 The game is not perfect technically, but compare it to the game market as a whole its above most when you consider the overall package. Most people low ball it because its different from the last 8 but who cares. New players will find it fun, balanced and exciting. Fans of the series who are true fans of "the spirit of the thing" and not just solid snake will accept it and understand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hmmm......

posted by Hopkins86 (WEST CHESTER, PA) May 5, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So I am not amazed but not disappointed in this installment for Kojima and Metal Gear. Yea it drifts away from the espionage and tactical responses we normally see but it is a more well put together Hack & Slash. I thought the display of graphics (which kojima is always good at) were top notch but the camera.... my goodness the camera lol. All in All it was short and a little out of control but the story was ok, it had too many things going on when there didn't need to be and the story for each villain was a little choppy. Minus that and the fact you got to see a special character toward the end (made me very happy) it became a better game and the bosses after learning how to fight them were fun. Id replay this a few times and therefore it gets an 8 out of 10. It scores high for me because I own all of the games involved in this franchise, but for others thats up too you. HOPKINS86

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazingly Addictive (9/10)

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I own all the previous Metal Gear Games from every console. I was expecting a stealth ninja game and it was a bit more hack & slash. Which isn't a bad thing. This game does A LOT of things right. The only bad part was the camera (at times) would mess me up. Other than that this game is a SOLID 9 and a great run off of the Metal Gear Franchise. Graphics are very well polished. Gameplay is extremely addictive and VERY easy to grasp. Hard Mode is challenging but not too challenging. Story was superb. I pre-ordered this one and picked it up at the midnight release & I don't regret it one bit. Solid game. A must rent and for any Metal Gear Fan it's a must buy to add to the collection. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's not the Metalgear you know

posted by cid2042 (Seattle, WA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After playing this game for a two days I have come up and while I was upset over all this is a good game. Forget the slow moving sneak idea. That's pretty much gone. You're left with this hack in slash ninja game that doesn't do a great job of explaining how to attack properly.

This game a solid rent but give it a couple days before you return it. Figure out all the combine skills and forget it's a Metalgear game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Insane

posted by willmcwill (PASADENA, TX) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I had so much fun with this. As long as you except it for what it is, it's great. Blood and swords, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kind of fun. Frustrating? Definitely.

posted by McPhaddie (OMAHA, NE) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game really doesn't need to be filed under the name Metal Gear. The stealth parts of the game, just feel tacked on. I'm glad for that. I didn't rent it for the stealth. I rented it for the action. There is plenty of that. I started off on the normal setting, but reached the cat that would whoop my butt over, and over, and over again. So I got fed up and switched to easy. Still lots of fun, but blocking actually seemed to work.
Graphics: Pretty good to kind of weak. Cut scenes were enjoyable to laughable.
Game Play: Action, Action, Action. Followed by a delay after each letting you know your score. This is lame, as it stops you from advancing to the next fun as you wait for the score. Cheap deaths will happen in boss fights. Boss fights are some what cool, and some are just terrible. Using the sword is fun and makes for some good times.
The Bad: The Camera can be brutal. You will be going after a bad guy and the camera will just switch and you run the wrong way, or get hit while you try to get the camera back on line. Other times it will not focus on an important situation, and you might just die for no good reason.
Verdict. Up in the air on it. Play it on easy to enjoy the game. It is a fun game for the most part. Just accept it as action, not stealth, and enjoy the ride.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good as a "Rental".

posted by Zenuza (BALTIMORE, MD) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Beat almost all Metal gear games and every platinum game since mad world and love the two companies - MGR didn't do it for me. i'm personally glad I only rented it, but everyone should form their own opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustrating

posted by Vhunter73 (GOSHEN, IN) May 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not only does this game not teach you how to fight it is very annoying. One minute you will be cruising along with little problems then some battles are extremely frustrating. No consistency between fights. I feel like smacking myself with a fly swatter for renting this dumb game. Dumbest metal gear game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

sub par

posted by chuckd3 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is fun at first. After a hour u get tired of the same thing over and over. The story does not make you want to keep playing to find out what happens. The controls aren't polished. And the game camera sucks in fights. Really wanted to finish it but didnt feel like putting up with it anymore. Some may like the game, some may not. Only way to find out if u like it is to play it. But make sure to rent first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Game, Unintuitive Control Scheme Not Taught

posted by SnowOkami (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This is an amazing game except for two small problems. The boss battles and the unintutive controls that the game does nothing to teach you about. You can start off in the tutorial modes (there are two to begin with) which are suppose to teach you the basics of the game - problem is they do not. Sure they teach you how to move and attack, but they don't teach you the fundamentals of the game. What is even worse, they don't even test that you know CRUCIAL elements of the game such as parrying. I passed 2 later tutorials gotten from VR missions completely doing the objective wrong. It didn't check or force me to keep retrying until it made sure I knew it and had it down pat, it just let me go on my merry way. Normally I wouldn't complain about such a matter, but the skill is CRUCIAL to this game and if you don't learn it or understand it, you wont be able to advance past the Blade Wolf boss encounter.

CRUCIAL THINGS NOT LEARNED:

How to Parry properly
You can lock on to targets using R2 (this helps aid the horrible camera)
You can semi-dodge (sidestep) by buying a power-up and using direction +x+a
Scanner mode (detect chests, enemies) is activated with up on D-Pad
You can call courtney to save your game at any time from the codec
Equipping and pressing down on the D-Pad allows you to use your health refills manually
You can customize your character with the BP you get (not told to you until AFTER first boss fight, when it would have been very useful before hand)

There is no way to actively dodge is this game or block, the only way to avoid attacks is by using parrying, in which you have to flick the directional arrow in a direction towards whereever the enemy is coming from, and then hit the attack button. You will be destroyed if you miss just ONE parry as enemies will stunlock you.

I got to the sundowner boss and finally quit playing the game after struggling with him. I wish I could have beaten the game, but its not worth the trouble and frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is a disgrace to the name Metal Gear.

posted by augustisburning (CARROLLTOWN, PA) May 23, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Obviously Konami just wanted to release a new game under the Metal Gear franchise; however, this game doesn't come close to a game with Solid Snake in it.

I actually liked Sons of liberty, so I figured that playing with Raiden would be fun once more but this game reminds me of Prototype, only with bad controls and a thin plot.

I played this game for about ten minutes before I turned it off in disgust. There's ten minutes of my life I'll never get back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ten minutes and back in the mail

posted by crunchyedg (MOUNTAIN HOME, AR) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

They turned a great franchise into a button mashing piece of junk. I gave it a 1 because it zero isn't an option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst Metal Gear Ever

posted by harthansen (LIVERPOOL, NY) Mar 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It was bad enough they got rid of Solid Snake.
They make Raiden look like a techno-Drag Queen, with feminine high heels and long fingernails, and not the cool Wolverine kind. The kind your girlfriend might get done, at the mall while you are checking out what's new at gamestop.
Then they get rid of sneaking mode which is the coolest part of the Metal Gear franchise. Being able to sneak past guards, or sneaking up to them and killing them from behind with your knife. This game has lost all of it's heart. Really it's almost just one boss fight after another, using a poorly though out sword mode. The controls are all in the wrong places.
Overall this game is just a big fail. Konami go back to your roots and bring back Snake, any Snake, even a new Snake clone. One that preferably doesn't do drag on the weekends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beyond expectations... Just to short

posted by audyrankin (ROGERS, AR) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

All said no more needed, i suggest you rent this game, its not a waste of a rental but just try it before you buy it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Run away, and don't look back!

posted by parlatoc (GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst games I have had the misfortune of playing. The gameplay is lackluster, the controls are bad and the camera angles are frustrating. The game has no real strategy (aside from mashing buttons) and was not enjoyable. I had high expectations but was let down with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not impressed

posted by pagefan13 (BURLINGTON, VT) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 22 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

i might be alone here but why would u change the game so much. i got bored about 20 mins in but kept going for like an hour and a half . i know they said they were going in a different direction but come on call it a different title cause this is so far rom MG its not even funny its more like ninja gaiden. glad i did not buy this it will prob go right back in the mail box

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

IS THIS A JOKE!!!!!

posted by cesar88 (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I cant understand why they make such legendary games into something like this .....this is not M.G im very disappointed game after game they keep screwing it up i should just sell my ps3 if they keep coming out with games like this .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what a P.O.S.

posted by fatjoey (WILMINGTON, DE) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Shame,shame,shame,to put the metal gear name on this hack and slash button mashing P.O.S.,can you rate this a zero? to bad! have to give it a 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

totally different

posted by fbgod05 (WARREN, MI) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

THis is nothing like the other games, it is a cheap ninja game with bad graphics and cheesy story lines

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a Metal Gear game

posted by LurkerLito (NEW HYDE PARK, NY) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This is NOT a Metal Gear game. This is some kind of action game that takes place in the Metal Gear universe. But it's more Devil May Cry than Metal Gear. Combos and Quicktime button pressing, and lots of violence. Not the masterpiece of Metal Gear Solid, where you need stealth and it matters that you use it. This does have some stealth in it, but it is nothing at all like the previous metal gear games where you are looking for ways around people, putting them to sleep dragging them off and putting them in a locker. If you are looking for a action game like Ninja Gaiden or Devil May Cry with just a touch of stealth (meaning you can run behind some of the enemies and stab them through the back) and only mediocre controls then this is that game. If you were looking for a Metal Gear game, go elsewhere cause this is NOT it.

It's a 5 for me. I like action games but because it's so far away from what this series is suppose to be a stealth game, I deducted 5 points. I guess Konami is out to ruin the franchise like Ubisoft did with Splinter Cell. I can understand them wanting to reboot the franchise for a new main character, but to completely alter the underlying game mechanics has disaster written all over it. Rental material at best. Don't buy it especially if you like the older Metal Gear games.

Konami basically lied though technically maybe not. Yes there is a way to not kill people, but since everyone you face is a cyborg, and not human, you kill basically everyone, but they are not human people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse