Rent Merv Griffin's Crosswords for Wii
view large frontback

Merv Griffin's Crosswords

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.4

90 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stick to the Sunday Paper

posted by scootdag (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Stay away from this one. Wow, within the first five minutes of turning on my Wii I was falling asleep with pure boredom. Horrible graphics and stale animations are only the tip of this horrible gaming experience.
Being a fan of the actual show I was looking forward to playing this game. The main part of the game is pretty true to the tv show. However, once you are pushed into the "spoiler" spot it is hard to get out as the computer usually can buzz in before you even finish reading the clues. The graphics are also sub-par, Every character looks basically the same, and there is hardly any animation in the entire game.
The control is pretty basic and works well enough. However, using the remote to input every letter gets tedious quickly. Is it just me or is everyone else getting tired of using the highly intuitive wii remote to do things better suited for a traditional controller.
On the up side the puzzles are pretty good, for the most part. However, within ten minutes of playing I had already put the game back in the sleve and dropped it in the mail box. Not worth a rent, but especially stay away from purchasing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great for People Who Love Crosswords

posted by allisean05 (SOMERVILLE, MA) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was ok for my wife and I. We both love word games, however some of the clues were really har to figure out. It plays just like the gameshow spoilers and all.
I would totaly recommend this game to anyone who loves the Newspapers Crosswords.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Merv Griffin's cCrosswords

posted by travelboy1 (BRANDAMORE, PA) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was To hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by Tenn036 (ERIN, TN) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I found this game to be boring and not what the description described. Thank God I didn't purchase it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you like crosswords.

posted by schwarztot (WEBSTER, FL) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

For the person who loves crossword puzzles this is not a bad game. I had my wife sit down and play it because she is a crossword fanatic. After playing, her only criticism was that the game won't let you fill in an answer wrong which takes part of the fun out of doing a crossword puzzle. You can't go back and say "oh wait, that word I put there doesn't actually work." My criticism like so many other wii titles is the lack of using miis and a clunky profile system. For the crossword lover, this is a buy game and not a rent because of the replay-ability and different game modes. Overall, not exciting, but true to it's title. "Crosswords"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not fun to play if you don't do crossword puzzles

posted by gavnone (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I rented this game thinking that it would be fun to play - needless to say, I was mistaken. Since I don't do crossword puzzles, I found this game to be extremely difficult even on the "easy" setting. While I'm sure that people who do crossword puzzles will find this a wonderful game, people who are not used to those types of puzzles will probably find this game quite frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good if you like the show or crosswords

posted by tim05753 (EAST MIDDLEBURY, VT) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The main game is true to the show, but you also have the option to play head to head without spoilers. You can set the difficulty level. There is also a mode to just do regular crossword puzzles. It's not terribly exciting, but neither are pen and paper crosswords.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »