Rent Mercury: Meltdown Revolution for Wii
view large frontback

Mercury: Meltdown Revolution

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.5

909 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Marble Madness on Steroids

posted by ryanizzo (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If anyone loved Marble Madness, then this game is for you. Great concept of being glob of Mercury that needs to navigate unique levels and perform different tasks. There is a timer, but it is not necessary to finish the level in a certain amount of time except for more points. Your glob of mercury can be melted or hardened for certain tasks such as rolling down a rail of sliding through tight places. Very fun game for anyone who likes to solve puzzles and it's accurate use of the Wii controller makes this game that much more interactive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You Have to give it a chance

posted by nytwolf (KANSAS CITY, KS) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a game that if you turn away because you get frustrated with the first level, then you're missing out on a great game.

This game is one of the most addicting puzzlers in recent memory.

Take your time and give it a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

puzzle and realtime skill

posted by allyourbas (WESTERLY, RI) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is alot like korinpa marble mania. tilt the wiimote and the whole world tilts to mimic your movements exactly. great idea. great game. lots of interesting levels with all sorts of diffrent devices that will do diffrent things. master them all and try getting a perfect on every level. lots of hidden stuff to find and features to unlock, including minigames you can play with your friends. this is a game that makes you think and also requires a little skill at times to do things before the clock runs out. korinpa was a skill game but this does everything and more with a puzzle game mixed in.

P.S. its way better than the mercury for PSP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Innovative yet intuitive

posted by Yarcod (MISSION, KS) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A creative twist on those simple marble madness games. If you like those games, you'll probably like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun little distraction...

posted by tth123 (BRIDGEVILLE, PA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an innovative game play with a new take on the classic marble maze game. You know, the one where you turn the knobs to tilt the table and guide your marble around the maze. This is similar except you are using your wii controller to guide a blob of mercury and there are alot more obstacles, traps and doors.

The controls are smooth and easy to learn. Learning curve is short. The levels grow progressively harder (of course) and always feature another twist on the mercury blob concept.

As with the classic marble maze the replay value is limited and you soon start to look over at your collection of other wii games. Definitely a rental, all be it a fun one to play.

Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Oozing with fun

posted by Fignutz78 (HIGHLAND PARK, NJ) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mercury Meltdown Revolution is a great example of a budget game that not only delivers big, but keeps you coming back for more. What started out as a PSP game has transitioned well to the Wii, and it feels right at home on the system.

The simple tilt controls work well as you navigate your mercury blob through simple to complex levels. There are some clever puzzles along the way. The graphics are simple but crisp and colorful so it gets the job done. The controls are spot on and there is plenty of content to unlock. If you enjoyed Super Monkey Ball but want a deeper experience, I definitely recommend this. The game runs in 480p but not in wide screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Requires Too Much Precision and Patience

posted by kcgreg (KANSAS CITY, MO) Oct 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of that classic "Marble in the Labryinth" game where you had to tilt the labryinth around to get the marble through a maze without letting the marble fall into hole traps. This game is that on steroids!

The concept of the Mercury is very cool. Instead of rolling around a solid marble object, the liquid Mercury gives the game a interesting twist. You can run the Mercury into walls or object causing it to split apart into two seperate Mercuries. This also makes parts of the game VERY difficult when goals of the maze require you to split the Mercury apart to do different simultaneous things. For example, splitting the Mercury into 3 different pieces, making each one a different color, and then fusing them back together to form a combined "white" color.

It's a challenging game that makes me curse alot playing because it's take alot of timing, precision, and patience to complete the maze tasks.

The only LARGE disappointment was not having an immediate multiplayer available. I'm tired of running into Wii games that force you to play single player mode to unlock multiplayer games. When I have friends over waiting to play, I hate making them wait while I play to unlock stuff.

So unless the multiplayer if alot of fun, the single player mode gets exhausting quick. I recommend renting this or if "Marble Madness" types games are your favorite then the sale price on this game is very low compared to the average Wii game selling price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The 21st Century Version of Tetris

posted by Kaptainyui (NORWALK, CA) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a very simple yet fun game. Its the 21st Century version of Tetris. if you like Puzzles this is a great game to play. specially fun with friends, competition gets tough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not like Marble Mania

posted by mrackers (FRISCO, TX) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I thought this game would be like an updated Marble Mania... It's not. I enjoyed Marble Mania because it was very touchy and required skill to balance the marble and sometimes turn the board upside down. This game is nothing than problem solving with gadgets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Should Have Melted Away!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 20, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Where is the revolution in this game; as the title indicates. The tutorial is good but cant get past the first level. The audio is not much. The camera concept and the art style is why I gave it a 5. I returned it today after 15min. Dont waste your Q slot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's Not Kororinpa!

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is a generous 5. Where I was immediately drawn to the gameplay of Marble Mania:Kororinpa, this particular title was seemingly too complicated to enjoy. Simplicity goes a long way, and this title doesn't go far. I was really looking forward to this but was dissapointed. I sent it back right away....
Game-off!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stupid

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

It's a cheap slow knockoff of marble mania. Even my wife, who likes simple games, didn't want to touch this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mercury meltdown revolution

posted by brooks (VENICE, CA) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

this game is very similar to super monkey ball,and sometimes frustrating. but although the frustrating parts are the most fun,and you will congratulate yourself when you finish them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

interestingly boring

posted by itsamia (PORT ORCHARD, WA) May 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

Do you remeber that old labyrinth board game you used to play as a kid, you know get to point A from point B without having the marble fall into the holes. Well Mercury Meltdown Revolution is very much like that. If your looking for a quick 10 minute game than this is the game for you.

The level difficulty tends to be fairly difficult from the get go, unless you pay really close attention to the tuturial. But as soon as you figure it out, it becomes highly repetitive and you find yourself almost bored with it. They do mix the level design up a little, i.e. one level will have ice floors and another will have no walls. But as soon as you figure out your balance it is easy. The graphics are shoddy, but what do you expect for a Wii game. The disco music can be easily ignored but it is a tedious soundtrack. No multiplayer either, so thats a bummer.

You don't see any of the rewards you get, save for once you finish the game. If you collect all the pieces then you get a couple of skins at the end to decorate your ball, but you probably won't play this game a second time around.

The reason why I give it a 5 is because it has an interesting gameplay mechanic. You play as a liquid ball basically, so that means you can be easily seperated. This is good and bad. If you get to close to an edge a piece of you drops. But if your really stressed for time you can use the smaller version and explore the level that way. Also the idea of having to mix colors to create another is kinda fun but annoying all the same...took me forever to figure that out on the first level.

Overall, if your looking for a fun all day game this is not the one. But if your looking for a quick 5 minute game go ahead and rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mercury Meltdown

posted by HarleyQuin (TULSA, OK) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This could have been a good game had it not been so scratched it wouldn't stay playing for more than 5 min at a time. Make sure you do the tutorial.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by lrb610 (MONTEVALLO, AL) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

I love puzzle games and I had high hopes for this game but I found it to be very boring in the early stages. Nothing about the game was really compelling me to continue to play after a few levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Eye-Hand Coordination & Problem Solving Skills

posted by IndyMom (PLAINFIELD, IN) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game is easy to learn and play at low to medium levels. The higher levels add enough challenge to make it interesting for not only myself, but my 8 year old as well. The game also teaches multi-step planning and foresight as many of the challenges require creative problem solving to get so much mercury to a given place as a given color.

My only complaint is that it is only 1 player; however, due to the nature of the game, this is unavoidable since you tip and turn the world with the Wii remore to move the mercury.

Bottom line: A fun way to learn problem solving and strategy and develop eye-hand coordination without realizing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A new twist on a proven concept

posted by ding42 (CASSELBERRY, FL) Dec 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

Mercury Meltdown is in many ways similar in concept to marble madness, a very old game. However in this new release the marble is flexible, moldable, even capable of being split into many pieces. It is a combination of speed and puzzle solving in a 3-D space while avoiding enemies and collecting prizes.

The controls use the wiimote to rotate the board similar to a wooden labyrinth. This can be quite touch and you may need fresh batteries in the controller because if it lags it can spell trouble.

Also there are a good number of mini games to unlock including a race track and tetris like game. Each mini game has several unlockable levels giving this game a lot to encourage you to complete everything 100%.

The only thing that holds it back from a perfect 10 is its learning curve. The jump from the tutorial to the first board is dramatic, and the jump from one level to the next can be as well. If you don't like dieing several times before you understand what you are supposed to do this one may be a bit frustrating. Remember it is a puzzle game too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great globs of Mercury

posted by DJTomEGun (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game is pretty clever. I had never played any of the Mercury Meltdown series before, but I got into this game rather easily.

When I say clever, I refer of course, to the very intelligent use of the Wiimote. The tilting action felt very accurate and was not extremely difficult to learn (however, very difficult to MASTER!)

The soundtrack, graphics and gameplay should all score highly with any gamer, and will appeal to the young and the old, novice gamers or professional.

The premise of this game is simple. Tilt the levels to control your blob(s) of mercury, and complete level-based puzzles to reach the goal(s). Why are these pluralized? Because various objects and obstacles throughout the levels allow you to split your blobs an almost virtually unlimited number of times in order to get through the level. Split, merge, and change the color of your blob(s) to conquer the puzzles, and every one of the god knows how many levels throws a new, totally different challenge in your way. But be careful, you can lose parts of your blobs too, lose enough mercury, and you lose the level and have to restart!

I put a lot of hours into this game. I felt kindof sad when I decided it was finally time to send this game back to gamefly (I think I kept it for over a month!) All I can really tell everyone here is that I'm curiously awaiting the next game in this series. Anyone who enjoys puzzlers should find a unique, time consuming, very enjoyable game in Mercury Meltdown Revolution.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A PC-style game makes a worthy Wii appearance

posted by Mster24 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I've played Hamster Ball (PC). I've played Super Monkey Ball Adventure (Wii). But I've never played a bally-marbley-stage tilty game quite like Mercury Meltdown Revolution. I think this game originally appeared on PlayStation2, and while I've never played it, I can see why they reincarnated it on Wii. The motion controls are excellent (but too bad this was before Wii MotionPlus), with bright colors and prettyful lights. Speaking of which, the game's graphics. The graphics... hm. Well, they're very unique, and I mean that in a good way. I just don't know how to describe them. Anyway, this game doesn't involve merely working your way towards the finish line while avoiding enemies. Actually, there's only really one enemy in the game (not counting the things that, in one stage, slice 'n dice you). You have to actually, well, think. There's paint shops, which change the color of your blob to get through certain doors or trigger certain switches, and there's heaters that make your blob move faster and break up easier, coolers that make your blob move slower but harder to break up, and one machine that even turns your blob into a marble. These machines add variety and puzzle to the game, as well as Stan, the brick that moves, and his cousin, whose name escapes me. Although, this game doesn't pose too much of a challenge because you don't need to finish one level to get to the next, so, in a way, this poses entertainment more to the casual gamer. However, this game is an excellent addition to anyone's Wii library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tough, Innovative, and Fun

posted by Bedbug (CORVALLIS, OR) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

People compare this to Marble Madness, and it is similar. There is a lot more innovative stuff here, such as the ability to change the color of your mercury, harden it, heat it, and even split into multiple blobs (trust me this is as difficult to control as it sounds). All those are plusses and made the game and the puzzles very interesting. Getting the best score means not losing any mercury and still being fast.

Unfortunately I do have to say that controlling my blob was more difficult than controlling the marbles in Marble Madness. This was the reason I quit the game about 3/4 of the way through. However, it's definitely worth renting and I still gained many hours of enjoyment despite the control difficulties.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

LAME! by king kool

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Aug 4, 2008

Member since May 2008

First of i know the title has the word revolution in it, but this is not a dancing game. Second this game was the pits! You have to hold the wii remote in a strange fashion. It is so freaken hard to maneuver! In stead of moving the control stick on the nunchuk, you have to tilt the wii remote in the direction you want to go. Take my advice, and don't rent this game. It's a waist of money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game!

posted by GameDrop (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game is a lot of fun. This started out on the PS2, but the motion controls breathed new life into the game (I never did really like Sony's analog sticks). We really enjoy the play mechanic that has you splitting the mercury ball into smaller pieces and coloring them, then merging them back together to make a secondary color to activate switches. Oh, and my wife says the tutorial is deceptively easy. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG! Awful

posted by KitCatWII (CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Game was impossible due to poor remote control. Also boring. It's like the blob meets paint shop with really bad disco tech music. And the courses were simplistic yet really tough to worm your way through. If your looking for a fun and simple yet challenging arcade game try Marble Mania.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Total meltdown

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jul 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Mercury Meltdown Revolution is an interesting but pretty frustrating and easily forgettable action puzzle game. You get a blob of mercury which you can roll around levels filled with pitfalls and puzzles so you can get to the end. Now, in many ways, you could draw parallels to Super Monkey Ball, which didn't fair very well on the Wii either. Unfortunately, Mercury Meltdown has an annoying gameplay trait: the mercury can split. Sometimes this is interesting for puzzles where you can combine two or three colors of mercury to get through a certain door. More likely, it will be very difficult to keep your mercury will continually swindle through the hazards presented to you, leaving you with a tiny blob of goo and a suitably tiny score. The physics get changed up quite frequently and there are some enemies looking to make your day even less enjoyable.
At first, this game will seem enjoyable and it can be. But the difficulty ramps up too quickly. And once you've gotten the gist of the game, you'll probably lose interest anyway.
So, you can probably skip this one completely. The game is just not addictive like a good puzzle game should be and the concept is as frustrating as it is creative.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse