Rent Mercenaries: Playground of Destruction for Xbox
view large frontback

Mercenaries: Playground of Destruction

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
8.1

3490 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply Awesome

posted by Bostonfan (TUCSON, AZ) May 24, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Mercenaries is my number two on my list of best games. C4 to Rocket launchers you have it all. Its long game but it is really fun i had a blast. and you don't have to do a mission all the time you can just walk around kill people and blow stuff up. highly recommend this game to buy and rent this game was just awesome. -bostonfan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game...

posted by PyroPred (MERIDEN, KS) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun and interesting to play. The whole charge in shooting strategy is good in the first fourth of cards, but after that you need to start using strategy. There are ways to complete the game without having someone hate you, besides the North Koreans, they always hate you.

The weapons are great, the graphics are very good for a 3rd person shooter. The terrain is a lot of the same but thats what you expect when you are fighting in the same area in a single country.

A little tip, when doing a mission that involves allied factions, try to snipe from a distance and don't let anyone see you. Its very, very hard but possible. As long as your good enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like GTA

posted by Ecoli13 (GRAFTON, WI) May 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is very much like the Grand theft Auto Series. Only you have a better excuse to be violent, because the story is set in a war zone. This "sandbox game play" lets you take on a variety of tasks for warring factions while looking for key members of a fallen regime. Although the main advertisements called for blowing everything up, that isn't always the best idea. You could snipe, gun down, or run over any of your targets, but it is always best to capture them, as twice the amount of money is awarded. I have rented this game on multiple occasions and it has never left me with a feeling of disappointment. Choosing between 3 mercenaries (all of them speak a secondary language, besides english and with different special abilities) and hundreds of weapons and vehicles, this game will offer hours upon ours of enjoyment to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun

posted by Daniel (HEMET, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is one of those free-form games that lets you do whatever you want until you feel like either getting a mission or looking for one of the 'Deck of 52,' the bad guys in the Korean war. What makes it so fun? For one, you can blow up cars, take out military installations and get money for anything you do to bring peace in Korea. While you're roaming or are in a mission, you can call in a supply ship to give you weapons or ammo or even vehicles. Personally, I like to have a heavy weapons package and whistle 'Tip toe through the tulips' while blowing the living heck out of any enemy I see, without damaging my reputation with another faction, so I can do my mercenary job.

I give this game a 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this is the best T rated GTA alternative

posted by matthewsea (FUQUAY VARINA, NC) Oct 30, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

now if you've benn depirved of GTA mercenaries should hold you off. devolped by lucas arts. (famous for star wars games)it brings a good al around package. The game foucuses on explosions. the background of the box art says it all. the game is free romeming offering you side missions in between story missions. to earn money are preety good. They don't really foucus on action so there more personile favors to people. or the basic task of driving from point A to point B in less then 2 MIN. the story missons are for 4 differnt factions it is up to you to decide what factions you're going to be nice to, and the factions that consider you hostile who will be more interside in killing you then offering you a mission. after each misson you will recive a email. On a PDA. that tells you where a certin # card (big targets) are. theres a deck of 52 you have to kill or capture. All 52 captureing gives you twice the money. you will foucus on one group of cards them after you kill 12 you go to a of map ace mission the ace misson are 2 to 3 times longer then avarge missions. the game takes about 18-25 hours of single player. But theres a lot to do after the first play through. like
play as 2 other chracters.
compleate side missions.
find blueprints and nationl trasures which are around the map.
and the big thing is after killing the ace of spades. you get to play the game over with new wapons and air stirkes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great 3rd pearson shooter

posted by gamerboy23 (MC LEAN, VA) Jan 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well i got this game cause it sewmmed pritty cool then i played it and it was my favorite xbox game Why the missons are fun , great amount of weopons ,fun how your a merc , and you can do anything you want to withouty getting killed till you get past2 ace this game is great rent or buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the beats game ever.

posted by truman10 (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The funest gun game ever to be made.Has a lot of fight shooting and has a lot of fun.Here is a cheat code for god mode up down up down left right left right at the end of your pta.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Idea but Lack of Execution

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Oct 18, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Before I begin my review I have to say that no matter what you've heard, this is not a GTA clone. Actually its far far from that. But the game is still good. You start off as one of three characters, all from different backgrounds and all have different skills. During the game you do missions for the Allies, South Koreans, Russians, or Chinese. The tricky part about this is that you will always have someone hating you. The gameplay is good and bad. The vehicle control feels clunky and moving around on foot is annoyingly painstaking. The graphics are OK but the environment all looks the same. The sound effects obviously weren't a main priority because the gunfire sounds awfully lame and there's no music for when you're in a fire fight. This game made an emphasis on how "awesome" it is to blow up anything in the environment, but the effects and visuals of it really aren't that good. The missions don't have much variety and there's really not much replay value. Overall it was a mediocre game with some good and some bad but you should go ahead and check it out. I give it a 6, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Well my brother made a review for the PS2 one.

posted by dontbehatn (TURTLE LAKE, WI) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

Well it is a really good game. but there should be more missions if i tried (with cheats) i chould beat it in 10 hours. It is really fun game becuse of it is so real like, but if you shoot a NK with a sniper in the leg he dies. It has really good grafics for how old it is. Oh i think that Miui is fast but has low heath, Nelson is not fast but not slow he has median heath, Chris, is slow but has high heath. My favorite in Nelson becuse he speaks RUSSIAN!!!!! Overall one of my favorite games.

~ ~
1 1
1
(___)
1_1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best

posted by dsach00 (DULUTH, GA) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This is one of the best third person shooters ive ever played
-Missions didn't feel thrown together
-Lots of weapons and vehicles to mess around with
-Characters were great
This game feels a lot like Just Cause to me. It is a hybrid of sandbox gaming and a war game. Just as the title says, you're a mercenary which means you work for whoever you want and you attack the game in any order you want much like Just Cause or GTA
To be short, if you enjoyed Just Cause or GTA then you'll enjoy this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Thahash (YOUNGSVILLE, NC) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

I love this game!. Its has a great replay value,endless possibilites of fun and to top it off a pretty good story line. This is a great sandbox and can be enjoyed by anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mercenaries(rent not own)

posted by sachmo (LAKE STATION, IN) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game was very entertaining but after awhile it seemed as though i was doing the same thing over and over. Especially when trying to locate the faces on the cards. From having to go all around the map to look for one person to trying to find the blueprints. Though I did enjoy the different weapons in the game. I would have to say this is a game that i would only recommend that you rent this game instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10

posted by Peanut29 (CENTRAL ISLIP, NY) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This game is completely awesome. I have always loved this game, then I heard about a second coming out. Mercenaries is so fun. graphics aren't really good for the Xbox. I like all 3 of the characters and the options of actually being hostile or friendly towards the people you work for makes the feeling of a mercenary all the more better. It is also good how you all have one common enemy also. It's very similar to Grand Theft Auto which is awesome. Love the fact that the missions and story doesn't take the fun out of completely blowing up everything!!! There are times you will get frustrated trying to capture all the cards because you don't want to kill them. You get less money if you do, and if you capture ALL of them you get a nice gift in the end ;] Love the fact that you can buy cool bombs, vehicles, and more with the money you earn. I actually have this game and i recommend buying it, although the second one is coming out (which I also might buy) Overall, awesome game and great idea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best game so far!!

posted by tat2loozer (SUNLAND, CA) Jun 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This is by far tmy most favorite game ever! There is nothing like comming home from a bad day at work and dropin a fuel-air bomb and watching the rubble fall. Not to mention it's a really effctive rage release to position your caracter on a hill and just snipe away. Yup,.......can't wait for the next one!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, Open Ended Havoc!

posted by Unpuzzled (OAKLAND GARDENS, NY) Aug 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Synopsis: Your one of three mercenaries who has been chosen to help capture the 52 most wanted North Koreans in the world.

Good: You can blow up anything and steal anything that moves! A true open ended game. It's a great way to be patriotic. Who doesn't want to kill terrorists. Great variety of weapons and vehicles and good take down animations.

Bad: The environments aren't very detailed and rather bland and vague. The members of each faction all look the same. For example: all the soldiers in the North Korean army all look exactly alike.

Closer: Mercenaries is a great open ended explosive and chaotic game even though the NPCs and environments are bland.

9/10
Unpuzzled

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

near perfect

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

GAMEPLAY: 10
GRAPHICS: 9

This game gave us what we wanted in a game. To literally destroy a town. Unprecedented gameplay and great graphics put this game above the rest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun Game

posted by SoldierlyE (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jun 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

This game is a must have for all open-based third-person shooter gamers, it is very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect

posted by Spud777 (Kaysville, UT) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

Mercenaries... wow finally a game not based on a book or movie and they pulled it off with excellence. Mercenaries is in Korea its a long game which is good big weapon choice as well! It's like Grand Theft Auto except instead of stealing a car you can have the Mafiya drop off a tank! then you can buy a carpet bomb and go layout some serious damage on any moron willing to go outside where you can see them... Excellent game one or two flaws I cant even think of...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by kruetz57 (ROCKFORD, IL) Mar 25, 2007

Member since May 2006

ok this game is heaven i wanted to get gta but i not old enuf embaressing so i got this game because it wus the closest to gta i would ever get and i think its bettr than gta sorry to all those gta fans out there but i like it its awsome but the graphics could be a little bettr but i geuss you cant blame it for being a pretty old game from like 2003 or somtin like that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Badass!!

posted by scout4882 (WILMINGTON, NC) Mar 6, 2007

Member since May 2006

This is one of the best games of this style out for the first generation Xbox. Most older Xbox games were great... when 360 did not exist. I actually moved my 360 so I could get to my xbox to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game Specs

posted by Ddashmatt (CALABASAS, CA) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game is a violent game that is easy, or hard at different points in the game. The main purpose is to cause distruction and maham as you try to liberate the country of South Korea. Lastly, it is a very good idea not to take this game seriously, it is a fantasy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It's really bad.

posted by Bobriver (COLLEYVILLE, TX) Nov 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

The game is very fun at first but after awhile it gets realy hard and boring. The ideas r good but the way it works is horribble! The alies u get r hard to keep after the first ace and they all hate each other. How r u going to keep all the groups from attacking you when you r trying to complete the mission u r doing. I realy think this game stinks. The auto aiming is cool but it doaes all the work it takes all the fun of amig at your oppent's vital spots (the snipper rifle is the only gun you can aim at a person's head) that's just boring. But for the most part like I said the idea was good but the way they did it reeks (sory if some of the words r insaltive to u). they say anything will blow up in the game but it is way to hard to blow up any thing but a truck! To keep my self awake i had 14 cups of black cofee!!!! This game is one of the worst games i have played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by bobobob (BURLINGTON, MA) Oct 28, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

its a good game if u like rpgs and shoters if the game doesnt seem fun at first try using cheat codes they make the game even better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rent it man

posted by ilikedit (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 3, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

This game is about as fun as a game of this type can be. Graphics are good. Story is good. Hours and hours of game play. Lots of guns and lots of explosions. This game isn't missing much of anything. Fun Fun Fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

things go boooooooooooooooooooooooo- oom!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Cellalien (CORVALLIS, OR) Jul 28, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

lets start of with the grafics,awesome,and wut i mean by awesome is so life like,you can see jacobs eyes from under hiz glasses.this game is at its best when you put on cheat codes.and if you get bored,get out c4,attach it to a building,get far away and............BOOOOM!!!!! i also liked that lucasarts decided to mix grand theft auto and halo together.this is the best game i have ever played and if this isnt your thing,look at my review of halo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse