Rent Mercenaries 2: World in Flames for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Mercenaries 2: World in Flames

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.9

13466 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Grand theft auto\ the military version

posted by Vertigo (PATCHOGUE, NY) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

27 out of 29 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

If you like GTA you should like this game. It has the same premise of drive around shoot stuff and run missions. If you played the first mercenaries and liked it you will definitely see the improvements to this game. In this game the world is your oyster, so go ahead and blow up everything. I specifically liked the ability to call in a bunch of different air strikes. Nothing like nuking the bad guys. :) The missions also seem to be endless, the creators definitely didnt leave you hanging in this regard. You can pick sides with different factions or play as a complete free for all. Guaranteed to enjoy the game. I know I did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blowing Stuff Up

posted by sterling556 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mercinaries 2 World In Flames is certainly not the most perfect game in the world, sure it has flaws glitches and bugs but they all add to the experince of you blowing everything up. Mercinaires 2 knows what it is and succeds at it. If you want a game that you can totally destroy everthing then pick this one up and you will have a blast literally!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better With the New Patch!

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Mar 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is better than GTA4 if you want to run around, blowing stuff up and need mindless fun. Air strikes are always fun. Enemies are always too dumb to kill you. I recommend it for any one into "sandbox games" or any weapon nerds. Co-op is kinda limited, but still fun with a good buddy. You could joke about how bad the in game jokes are- don't expect game of the year honors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good game doesn't work

posted by jman032195 (ALBANY, NY) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i know this is a great game but when you try it 3 times and keep on freezing on the title screen there's a problem. I tried cleaning it and that doesn't even work i am really disappointed about this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Coming to a Bargain Bin Near You!!!

posted by MasterCyps (CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH) Sep 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

64 out of 84 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

This game has some good features and is fun overall, but the more you play it the more frustrated you get with it's incompetence. The game is basically in the GTA style with Missions, you go around doing contracts and having side missions that aren't nessescary to the storyline.

The Good:
Pretty much everything in the game is destructible. Blowing up a building with a tank or a helicopter is pretty awesome the first time you do it. Exploding the fuel tanks is pretty awesome and devastating. Weapons and money are plentiful so wasting ammo and going on killing sprees is always fun to do. Having tanks, weapons, and helicopters instantly delivered to you is also a plus.

The Bad:
GLITCHES galore. Sometimes achievements don't unlock, sometimes you get stuck in walls or fall through the map, sometimes HTV's(people you are supposed to capture) get stuck on things and you are forced to kill them just to complete the mission.

Repetitive missions. Basically the missions for every faction are the same. You capture outposts for them. You are required to go to an outpost, clear out any resistance and then call in the factions covert ops team to capture the outpost. You do this about four times for each faction, and there are five factions. This gets really old after a while. Each faction also has High Value Targets(basically bounties) for you to capture, and various targets to destroy. Do all these gets really repetitive after a while, and I mean really repetitive.

Controls can be awkward at times, trying to call an air strike during the middle of the battle is really hard and can sometimes get you killed. You can't crouch or duck, so frantically running away is your only defense.

It's easy to tell that this game was rushed into production to meet a deadline. With so many good games coming out this fall (GOW2 and COD5 just to name a few) this game wouldn't stand a chance. It's defiantly worth a rental or a buy when it goes down in price, which will be soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Okay

posted by Exile78 (Columbus, OH) Oct 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

23 out of 30 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I very much enjoyed the first Mercenaries game several years ago. The gameplay at the time was fairly innovative and engaging. Unfortunately, Mercenaries 2 delivers essentially the same game with better graphics. Alright, to be fair, MUCH better graphics.

On the surface, this is a very enjoyable game; shoot some cool guns, drive a tank or two, and drop some sweet air strikes on unsuspecting tools. But there are nagging problems that erode these basic mechanics. First and foremost, I voice my primary concern with the entire game: the bullet spread is absolutely egregious. I consider myself a fairly skilled and experienced player of video games, so when I aim directly at the head of an enemy standing across the street and fire, I expect him to fall over like my uncle at an open bar wedding. But because of the insane bullet spread, it may take upwards of half a clip to actually kill a soldier, even at relatively short range. This degrades firefights into a spray and pray sort of affair where players are not rewarded for aiming properly.

Many of the game play mechanics also seem to have been designed to aggravate the player. Die? You lose your weapons. Want an air strike? You'll have to drive to a store and buy one. Don't like timed racing/gopher missions? Sucks for you, the game's full of them. Friendly AI is terrible, so don't expect those friendlies standing around to actually defend anything. Stealing anything bigger than a jeep requires a little button-mash mini game, which is only amusing the first 3 times. The characters all spout awful jokes that are, like stealing vehicles, funny only once or twice. Too bad you'll be hearing them several hundred.

On the positive, I can say that the explosions are absolutely gorgeous. Leveling a city block with a rain of high explosives is easily the most fun you can have in the game.

So bottom line, if you like casual games and explosions, get this. If you like playing quality games, there are certainly better options.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre

posted by Hobosogo (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is O.K. The idea of blowing things up with endless amounts of equipment and tons of weapons seems extremely entertaining at first. But it goes down hill from there. The missions get very repetitive and turn it from game to chore, and you will be constantly retrying missions due to bugs and other flaws in the game. It does have its golden moments but overall its pretty much an average game that they slap 60 bucks on. It is worth renting but if its up there on your list i suggest knocking it down a few pegs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mercenaries 2 World in flames

posted by GamePwner (WATERTOWN, NY) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Merc. 2 is a very epic game. If you like games where you can pretty much do whatever you want, this is your kind of game (that, or GTA.) Merc. 2 is like the lower aged version of GTA. Its the same concept you can steal cars, shoot people, and do missions for people. The only different thing is that there for some reason is no police coming after you. Mercenaries 2 is a game where you want revenge. You must go through a whole load of stuff to get it though. I personally love it. Its just addicting even when i was really mad i still went back when i was still mad. I like the zing of excitement of when u buy, for example, 25 helicopters and throw down your smoke signal and there it is, or tanks or whatever. You can get it with anything you buy. In the game you get 3 choices of people. One has the best speed, one can hold the most ammo and one heals the fastest. I like Mattias (fast healer) because i can go wild out on the battlefield and then find a nice cozy bush to heal quickly and then go back out. I love it, and anyone who is like me will love it too. Its fun and challenging and exciting and i recommend it a lot. Its very addicting and occupying and i give it a perfect 10 and i bet my life MOST of you will love it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good try... but not quite there

posted by Dredly (SAYLORSBURG, PA) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

25 out of 35 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Mercs 2 is your fairly standard "sandbox" type game. Complete with racing parts, running missions, open ended destruction, and the rest of the world watching you in awe.

Overall game play was fun, however there are a LOT of bugs / glitches in the game that can be vary frustrating, for example getting stuck in areas of the map, enemies getting stuck in the map or floating off the ground, enemies killing your HVT (high value target), enemies surviving explosions, getting stuck in "almost dead" mode, weapon issues, guns not working (stop firing randomly for no reason), annoying sequences to take over vehicles that don't always work correctly... etc

The longevity and replay is really where I had to take a lot of points away from Mercs 2. The game is extremely repetitive, with 4 different factions that you work with almost all the missions are identical and then 1 or possibly 2 "unique" missions, followed by a "story" mission.

The "sayings" get insanely annoying after a while as well, from your team mate telling you to check in if you are lost to saying stupid things like "Hey you on the .50 cal how would you like an airstrike" every time you get shot.

Overall Mercs 2 was a fun game to play for a while, its definitely not a game I would suggest purchasing, the replay is going to be nonexistent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Surprisingly bad

posted by RFitzmor (RIVERSIDE, RI) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed Mercenaries 1 on the Xbox. I was looking forward to playing this one under the assumption it would be an improved version of that game.

The main problem with this game is that it feels like a port of a last generation game. Animations are stiff, the polygon count is low, its missing the feel of a top tier game like COD 4, GTA, or Halo. Enemies just feel like card board cut outs on a shooting range. We're talking about a game that feels like a launch title except that we are almost three years into the 360's life cycle.

This game is not worth your time. If you want to go on a rampage in vehicles rent GTA 4 or Saints Row. Don't waste your time on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mercs 2 - Waited so long for this???

posted by Rambet39 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

After waiting for almost a year for the "final" version to be released I was very excited to get this game. While the graphics are awesome, for a game of this type, it can be glitchy at times. Getting stuck in a corner or in Co-Op when your partner is in a helo that you can't even see can add to the frustration that is compounded by a large map that takes forever to get around in if you don't have landing zones or going for HVT's in remote locations. I found the fact that you lose all your weapons and supplies if you have to Medivac very annoying. I felt that the missions were either super easy or super hard, and having to do challenges to meet other factions was just another feature that I could have done without. I am at the point where it takes to long to travel so the game is as good as over for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mercenaries 2 way above GTA IV

posted by esteemkam (BRONX, NY) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Loved this game from the moment I pressed start on controller.. The mature side of GTA IV without the pushing and shoving of people and all the childish antics that GTA IV allowed.. Graphics are genius.. Great open world.. Loved it that much I'm gonna purchase it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What game is everyone playing?

posted by swtpntsbnr (RICHMOND, VA) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Before this game arrived for me, this game was rated 9.5 and I was reading a few reviews that put it above Halo and GTAIV so naturally I was excited. At this point in time, I'm confused. Now, I realize I'm hard to please but at the same time, if games like GTAIV and Assassin's Creed (which I didn't enjoy mind you) can set the bar super high as far as immersion, gameplay, and graphics, every other big budget game has no excuse.

As for the specific:
Those that reviewed the game at ultra low scores have good points, but it's not THAT bad. Yes, the graphics are 1st gen xbox level. Whoever argues against that is way too stubborn. Ok, ok there are trade offs with processing and disk space when you have an open ended world with "crazy" explosions, but that brings me to the other obvious point: everything being destructible is way overrated. That does not make a game good, it's merely a neat sidekick to the story. Bad Company was the same way and people didn't flip their wigs over that. The gameplay mechanics irk me off the most. No crouching? No cover system? You are a hired gun, all you do is shoot things and you have the worst aim ever. Might as well give me the Klobb from Goldeneye. With no fluid transitions between running, changing directions, and finding cover the game looks, well...like Goldeneye: ridged, clunky, SIMPLE gameplay. I won't get into the driving system but it's almost as bad.
Hypocritically (I know), I'm not far into the game so I cannot speak for the story itself but so far I have no complaints, I'm not enthralled, but no complaints.
As a whole, I just don't understand why everyone is going crazy over this game. I theorize that it's because nothing good has come out in almost 2 months and people are starved. But I think I've been spoiled from the all-in-one awesomeness of GTAIV and when I play this, I'm sent back 10 years ago to N64.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

5 Q 4 U

posted by Dancomp (DAVENPORT, IA) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

20 out of 39 gamers (51%) found this review helpful

Did you enjoy ‘Crackdown’?

Did you enjoy Mercenaries 1?

Are you ok with below par graphics?

Is controlling multiple vehicle and types of vehicles, like the coolest thing ever?

Do you enjoy destruction?

If you answered YES to three or more, odds are you will enjoy M2.

My .10cents =
This is how GTAIV should have been.

IMO =
M2 is just plan fun.

Hope this helps.
Thanks for Reading,
Dancomp

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mercenaries 2: Official Review

posted by Dmega007 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

36 out of 74 gamers (49%) found this review helpful

The game mercenaries puts you on a battle field where you fight for different factions for money. Its a 3rd person shooter that feels very smooth and at the same time looks amazing. The takes place in South America where you play as a merc who is trying to get paid. With this money you can call in Airstrikes, Vehicles, and Tactical Nuclear Weapons. You can destroy ANYTHING in this world which makes it a threat to the sandbox game GTA IV. This game has a massive envoirment which allows you to move freely without the hassle of invisible walls.

The game has your basic weapons that range from M16's to AK's. All vehicles besides Fighters and Naval are in this game. Tanks, BMP's, APC's, Attack helicopters ect ect..... The ability to call in anything you want is also back. This ranges from sports cars to tanks and even airstrikes. You can also call in a Nuclear strike when ever you feel you need to.

The game does offer online 2 player co-op which makes the experiece that much better.

In the End Mercs 2 gets a well deserved 10 from me. It fun, fast, and its a fresh feeling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not good

posted by adam2300 (HARMON, IL) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

guns have terrible accuracy missions are boring tries to hard to be gta4 and is nowhere near close dropping smoke evrywhere is a stupid idea overall thought it was one of the worst games ive played recently

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible Sequel

posted by rwilli80 (MAHANOY CITY, PA) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I actually enjoy a lot of the aspects to this game, but one think I have a huge problem are some of the missions. I got to the very first mission with the pirates and I gave up. The game is about shooting things and blowing stuff up. But I have to run a timed course on a jet ski, all while getting shot at by ships and heavy weapons and mines? That is just ridiculous. I like the graphics and enjoy most of the game play. Voice overs also leave a lot to desire. It just not next gen worthy, in my opinion it belongs back on the PS 2 and Xbox with the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Thought it was better

posted by BOOSBOOS (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 2, 2008

Member since May 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was much better than it actually is. Driving is terrible so is the shooting. Destructive environment is not all it was cracked up to be. For example if you hit a long bush on one side the whole thing collapses, but other things are really fun to destroy, like statues and buildings. Do not buy this game but its worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great sequel to the first one

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Sep 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

37 out of 83 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

If you played the first Mercenaries then you know how good this game should be. And this game is a very good well thought out sequel to the first one. The graphics are very good. The story line is very good and believable. I think the vehicle controls are very weird and they take a while to get used to. The Live for it isnt amazing but it gets the job done. But you can play coop for the campaign making it more fun and easier for the hard parts. I think its a decent game to try out at least and an excellent buy for Mercenaries lovers like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Messinaries is what it should be

posted by Scarab893 (TAMPA, FL) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I personally think this game could have been a lot better than what it actually was. I mean Im playing 45 mins in and already Im getting major clipping and at one point I actually rolled off the map and went for an infinite fall. I basically couldnt do anything...I had to restart the game and when I went to quit, it froze on the loading screen.

This game is fun, if you can handle bad graphics and sub par driving and shooting. If you want to play something similar to this but done much better, might as well dust off your GTA 4 and play online or something. Mercenaries offers nothing new and with shotty controls you wont be playing long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Weak game

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

22 out of 54 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

The people on here never cease to amaze me. What won't you give high ratings to? This game wouldn't have been that impressive in 2005, it just doesn't hold up to anything in 2008.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mercenaries 2: World in Flames

posted by GaMerDuDes (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game is stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WARNING!!!! READ BEFORE GETTING GAME!!!!!!

posted by BIGJOE9152 (WILLOWICK, OH) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

12 out of 29 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

Ok everyone thats reading this needs to know the TRUTH! there are some many glitches in this game it will make ur blood BOIL! i almost had a heart attack when i spent $64 on this game. Everything is really cool UNTIL u get your house! Then everything goes wrong! You walk out the back door and you drop through the MAP! then the front door is good until everything starts to look bad graphics wise. when that happens watch out! u go through anything.Buildings,ground Evrything. of course u go under the map and cant do anything until u restart the xbox. Then other things will be missing aka they went under the map too. i am so mad at this game. Please dont waist ur time until they come out with a patch!and if you dont belive me go to the mercenaries website. They shut it down cause they are getting some many compliants. Please just dont even waste ur time till they fix it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks!

posted by Symbiote (MONTEREY, CA) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

11 out of 27 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible, I don't know why anyone would like it. The enemies are as stupid as can be, throwing themselves at you relentlessly, standing out in the open with a rifle while you're killing everything with a tank. The voice-overs begin to repeat themselves almost immediately, the voice acting itself is pretty much garbage, and the graphical quality of simply shooting up a person looks so rediculous! Is this really next-gen technology? The destructability of the environment is impressive, but that is not enough to make up for how much this game sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game is HORRIBLE!!!

posted by Threatend (ROUSES POINT, NY) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The first game was very good, so I was anxious to play this one, especially with all the great advances other games have taken on. Well, the surprise was on me - This game blows! What a major disappointment!!! The graphics are junk. The game play is horrible. It's like taking a step backwards. I'm beyond frustrated at how bad this game is. I rarely leave written reviews, but I am compelled to voice my opinion on this one. What a waste of time this half-baked piece of $#%& game is. ARGH!!! Pandemic - get a clue and see what COD4 and TC Vegas 2 have to offer. Put it together with your wide-open terrain, and you just may have something. As of now, you've got nothing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse