Rent Mercenaries 2: World in Flames for PS3
view large frontback

Mercenaries 2: World in Flames

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.7

5783 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pleasantly Suprised

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

71 out of 82 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

As I played the first level, my heart sank because I thought this game was going to be better than I was seeing. At first, it looked like a simple point A to point B shooter with average graphics to boot. However, after the pre-game level, I was very surprised to find out it was a huge sandbox game. Thank God I didn't pull the game out of my console early, because this game rocks! It's a very open world game with military factions, mercenary corporations, and underground guerilla factions all controlling different sectors of the city. It's your job to complete contracts for all of them, while walking the thin line between friend or foe.

Pros: Large Sandbox style game similar to GTA. Lots of weapons and vehicles (including helicopters and assault vehicles) and the large arsenal of Jet dropped bombs are amazing. Easy to make cash. Everything can be destroyed and they weren't joking - even a building that looks fixed can go down with the right bomb.

Cons: Graphics aren't perfect, but neither are GTA's, but the gameplay makes up for it. Vehicle physics could be better. Co-op online is nice, but split screen co-op should be first and as great as this world is, it's too bad no multiplayer made it on the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice Game

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) May 22, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

When I first rented this game I thought it would be some lame FirstPersonShooter game where you would have to complete repeditive objectives. Then I played it and actually enjoyed how open-world it is. Loved the different jobs and various factions in the open-world enviroment of Venezuala during a what seems like world war over oil.

Usually I would complain that it's not in first person but where it lacks in weapon variety it improves in storyline, vehicle variety, and open-world destruction. When it seems impossible to finish a certain objective, visit one of the faction's shops and buy an artillery strike or a commando squad!

Like I said, has greta vehicle variety that range from defensive gun trucks to heavy tanks to cool looking and deadly choppers to vast gunboats to kill your enemy with! All of which can be stolen from a faction or bought. Also whats cool is if I "accidentely" end of blowing up an American Oil rig for some guerilla in the jungle, I can return to my base and pay a small fee to get the americans back on my side.

Another cool thing is the job variety. They can range from protecting a buisness man while he's deleting critical files so they don't fall into the wrong hands to capturing High Valued Targets for factions. HTV missions can be fun because once you knock them out you can have a chopper come in to give you and your prisoner an evac back to a safe place. Then you can get on the allied chopper or hijack it and take it for yourself! The possibilities are almost endless.

Definitely rent and if you enjoy it, buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Comercial, Fun game

posted by Prime1cast (SILVER SPRING, MD) Dec 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First off lets not take this game on a serious level because if you do that than the scores would be a lot lower. What this game is, is a lot of fun just blowing up almost anything you want and moving around and immensive world. The story line is fair, nothing too new but it is a pretty long game something which not too many games now adays offer.
You are, yes a mercenary in Venezuela and you go around looking for loot. You get it by accepting contracts some of which can be fustruating and other plain fun because you can blow almost anything up. At times you seem to do the same mission over again but with some differences. You get to drive lots of vehicles and can even go online to play with a buddy.
Over all this is a good fun game that you should play, I don't think its a buy though as their are other games worth those hard earned dollars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bugs? Yes. Loads of fun? OH YEAH!!

posted by Destructus (NORTH BEND, WA) Sep 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

It's true that this game has a large number of bugs. And the graphics, while looking fantastic...could also be a lot better.

But once you get past those downsides...you realize that this is actually a REALLY entertaining game...if you like blowing things up. And I LOVE blowing things up. The fact you can now do it co-op just adds the sugary whip cream on top of an already tastey dish.

You won't find much more here than killing enemies, escort missions and defence missions...but if you're into a GTA type experience with less plot and more action...this is a game you need to check out.

I've gotten a lot of enjoyment out of the game and even left my server open so random people can jump in at anytime....a lot of those times they even saved my life! They just happen to jump in as I was taking on a horde of enemies.

It's a great game, well worth the rent. Don't listen to all the bashing, try it for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Answer to road rage

posted by Mikeylikes (SHELBYVILLE, TN) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If anyone ever ticked you off on the road, play this game to unleash your frustration. You can shoot, run of the road, crash into, or simply blow the heck out of anything you want. Where else can you unleash an atomic bomb whenever you want, and survive. If only real life was the same. Loved the variety of different modes of transportation, and firepower. I only wish Hugo Chavez would of been a character in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was so so

posted by viper12434 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I mean the graphics were good and the gameplay wasnt so bad its just that it was pretty much just like the other one i mean of course. It just some of the gameplay was sort of difficult unless you have the right equipment. i would recomend it it was a fun action killing blowing up stuff and besides the graphics were good. I say play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing

posted by KraZgamer1 (TOWNSEND, DE) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I absolutely love open sandbox games and this is by far the best. The graphics... Pretty decent. But then the game play is amazing. You can blow up everything in the world. I played the first mercs and I almost wet myself when I heard there was mercs 2 and I'm still blown away at how much detail has been put into this three year project the guys at ea have outdone themselves with the explosion detail. It it the closest thing to shooting an actual RPG. I love the boat feature and the way that the factions all fit together in the story I mercs really puts everything together. Not that mindless and endless explosions wouldn't be enough fun. I would tell ya more about how wonderful this game is but right now I'm gonna go blow up some oil rigs! Peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

waste of stamps for Gamefly

posted by oldegamer (ATLANTA, GA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game. The "start new game screen" froze up. the music even skipped like a broken record. I sent it back and got a new copy same thing. I was not about to unplug my $300 PS3 Hi def for some 3 colored wire component. I buy hi def that hoe better play hi def. Besides from the reviews I've read it was a blessing it didn't load.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A World of Awesome

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jul 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Mercs 2 is an amazing experience. The graphics are so cool, the random destruction, and very cool missions. You have three awesome characters, awesome transportation, and the most far out hideout ever. WHAT MORE CAN YOU ASK FOR?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

whoa 10s 9s W T F?!!?

posted by Ndru000 (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

9 out of 22 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

i think people are getting to over-excited about destructable environments. There are way to many glitches and flaws in this game... Feels like playing a demo or a beta.

Pros. Sandbox, Cool Vehicles, Destructable Environment, Online Co-op, Servers Work, Not Complex, hijacking vehicles.

Cons. Radias between your partner, vehicles can blow up without even hitting anything, missions are repetitive, graphics are par at best, aiming system is off, on coop the second player if joining again meaning not one sit through he/she starts back at 0 airstrikes supplies vehicles it only keeps their money, you can fall out of an chopper from the clouds and not die just have 1 health, hijacking gets old each vehicle has its own routine, sometomes when getting in a car you will be tossed in mid air spontanesouly, driving mechanics, no cover system, grenades are uselss, cant throw anything farther then a foot, no real story, killing pedestrians cost money, fiona is annoying as (three paragraphs censored she is annoying) ...

i can go on forever and ever basically this game is worth a rent at best but to many flaws for a purchase, you may think many of my cons are picking on the game but i assure you im not, as i havent mentioned a lot that playing this game you will notice and it gets annoying when you get into a car and it blows up going over a curb at 1mph, on the other side it can be fun calling in a chopper to drop of a motorcycle tank so it goes both ways, but 10s and 9s even 8s, that is the reason why games dont live up to hype one person plays 5 seconds of a game enjoys it greatley and spreads the word that its the greatest thing ever made. I ASSURE YOU THIS GAME IS BARELY MORE TOLERABLE THAN ARMY OF TWO! EA RUSHED PRODUCTION ON ANOTHER POSSIBLY GREAT GAME.

all in all this game feels very rushed, and first game was mature rating and now teen, what gives?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it was awesome

posted by CoD4AW (GOLDEN, CO) Jan 27, 2009

Member since May 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this game is realy awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The 1st one was better

posted by KMMETS (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The 1st one was better by far, more challenging and there was a point to the game. This one not so much. Big deal you are looking for SAlon. Atleast Mercs1 you were looking for the "deck of Cards" and trying to flush out the "Ace". They could have made this game better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

let's not get ahead of ourselves...

posted by DeavSiri (BERMUDA DUNES, CA) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

First things first... The game is cool. But it suffers from a lot of ill managed controls and Mediocre graphics. The missions are all about the same (tedious side missions easily get boring) and the A.I is ridiculous! What is the use of bringing an NPC to shoot the 50.cal while you're driving? No use at all! Most of the time these NPCs are non-responsive. It seems that it didn't help that this game was pushed back for "improvement" cause the graphics look like they used next gen on the character models (barely), and just lazily rendered the environments with the PS2 version. Most gamers get into a game not only for the game play, but for the story, and this game has a pretty lame one. However, this game is a heck of a lot better with a teammate. The online co-op is pretty neat. You can drop in and out of the host's match at anytime. As to what system you should rent or buy this game on? I would go with 360, cause at least you get some pretty awesome "achievements" while you endure the chaos. Sorry PS3, no trophies...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game.

posted by DJTEAZER (SANTA MARIA, CA) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I couldn't wait for this game to come out for PC. I read all the reviews saw it in PC Gamer, was so stoked to see it for the PS3.

Well, I rented it from Gamefly (Love you guys!)before I purchase, and thank god I didn't purchase this piece of trash, that this game is horrible.

The controls for it are wonky and the overall look of the game feels like it came out in the mid 90's.

I really think whomever made this game did a horrible job. Maybe it looks and plays better on PC? I really don't know.

I DO NOT recommend this game for the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect

posted by adminwendt (EASTON, PA) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game was challenging, the story was great! Had to do with fighting over resources (Oil). You get to use some amazing air strikes, vehicles, weapons. Really great game! I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Annoying

posted by realmwiz (Livonia, MI) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The 3rd mission is "go to point A, steal a truck full of guns, get to point B". The truck is a plain pick up truck that bounces around with terrible handling. Three turns into taking them to point B, the bad guys are everywhere. They have magic powers that allow them to identify you no matter where you are or what you're driving. They shot the truck, the tailgate slowly flopped down, and all the guns spilled out. I had an inkling that a lot of the game's missions would be like that, so gave up quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Next-generation or still living in the past?

posted by Shadowhax (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I remember the glory days. The days when making a game meant that you would try your hardest to please the consumer, whether it be in the most up-to-date graphics, a deep and involving storyline, or revolutionary game play.

After playing Mercs 2, I realize that those days might be over for some.

When I first booted the game up, I had high expectations. I had played the first Mercenaries, and I absolutely loved it. A brand-new concept, where you are rewarded for causing as much destruction as possible, running around doing various jobs as a gun for hire.

The game starts up, and my jaw drops. Not in a good way either. The very first thing I noticed was that the graphics look almost identical to the past game. I read about Mercs 2 in GI, and I was told that the graphics had a major face-lift (as many next-gen games have done) and that it would be much more of the same great stuff that Mercs 1 gave us. Let me tell you something, the graphics look like they belong on the PS2, not the PS3. I tore apart the first few missions without so much as a flick of my thumb and the press of a button, and I grew tired of it quickly. The voice acting was unbearably bad, and the storyline seemed as though it was put together by a choice group of preteen idiots.

Within the first two hours, I couldn't stand it anymore. I took the game out of my PS3, put it in the envelope, and sent it back the same day that I received it in the mail, wishing I had rented a different game that could satisfy my taste more than this pile.

Maybe next time, the developers of the Mercs series will put some thought into their game.

But to tell you the truth, I doubt it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mercenaries 2: World in Flames

posted by Dez1984 (OAKLAND, CA) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

As soon as I started the game up I went in without a whole lot expectations. Well, this went even lower than the low expectations I already had. Awful visuals, buggy, boring gameplay, and missions that have been done better in other games. This was not even worth my time for a rental. There are far better games in this genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just not my thing

posted by javier (BRONX, NY) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

The game is poorly done. The story line is rushed, the graphics look like disgusting for a next gen console game and the game play isn't something to go crazy about. I couldn't stand playing this game for the 15 minutes i had it in my game console. This game should have been made for the ps2 console instead, they prob would have made more money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Time to get MERKIN!!!!

posted by Gameics (VESTAVIA, AL) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

First off I gotta say way to go Pandemic. This game is amazing and the gameplay couldn't be better. Although I never played the first Mercenaries when I saw the first video for this I said that is a must play, and boy was I right. This game has a huge environment, great weapons, and insane transportation. My personal favorite is the motorcycle. Man that thing is fast.

If you love to destroy anything you see in a game then voila Mercs 2 is just the game for you. I thought they were kidding when they said complete destructible environment I was wrong. I seriously recommend buying this, but if you are skeptical rent it and I GUARANTEE you will buy it. Now I gotta go. Contracts to make and money to take happy hunting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Did not work

posted by jayhawk123 (DAGSBORO, DE) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

After waiting for this game I put it in my PS3 and guess what it froze up. After trying it again and again with the same result I returned it to Gamefly. Don't get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's Hard

posted by Squeegie (BELLINGHAM, WA) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game itself is kind of hard...but okay, I guess. I was mostly disappointed in the walkthrough, which didn't give enough specifics. There was a point in the game that the walkthrough didn't even cover!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mercy.....Mercy.....Mercy with Mercenaries2

posted by mikey2xs (HINSDALE, MA) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Ouch! What a complete waste of a good title.
After playing the first Mercenaries I couldn't wait for the next gen version. After playing Merc2, all I can say is that they seem to put more effort into the commercials than the game itself. Booooo! Nice one EA!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MERC2

posted by ps30wner (Bradenton, FL) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

8 out of 57 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game rocks! not eco friendly though it also uses ragdoll not like last game it rocks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

game does not work

posted by mlpnissa (PORT ORCHARD, WA) May 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

disk does not work !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse