Rent Mercenaries 2: World in Flames for PS2
view large frontback

Mercenaries 2: World in Flames

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

1220 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

a decent game..

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Sep 5, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

24 out of 26 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

the good
-open world (so free to explore)
-can hijack cars, tanks, jeeps, etc..
-it's a nice run and gun game.

the bad..
-graphic and environment design is not that detailed
-loading can take some time
-AI is kind of stupid..or because technical problems?? because they shooting at you.. but the bullets don't seem to hit..
-if you die..you have to start the mission over again.. no checkpoint

it's worth a rental.. play it online it could be fun! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome but some problems

posted by cheetah94 (CYPRESS, CA) May 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is off the hook. the story is not bad and the lines are also good. you do missions and unlock all the stuff. the besrt vehcile in the game is the ambassaador and thats all you need. two airstrikes you need is carpet bomb and fuli-air bomb. the bad sides is it really does not have an ending. you get to the place, blow it up and done. you also get one nuke thats it. overall this game IS a GOOD game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SWEEEEEEEETTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by redvsblue (Rexville, NY) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was really awesome the graphics were alot better than the first one same with the weapons you have a bigger variety of vehicles instead of one car one bus and a different vehicle from each faction it has one car from each faction one boat fromeach faction helicopter and boat 5 civillainn cars and boats and i know what your thinking , BOAT??!!! and yes you can swim and instead of mafia theres pirates whith a base out on an island and i love the whole main base thing just absoluteky love and im not som 5 year old thinking i know some awesome games that are really stupid im a 13 year old halo freak!!!!!! and i know a good game if i play it i only gave it a nine cuz all the sweet mysterious islands are unocupied like the castle and you cant trade cars for money but all around better than the first if you like freeplay games you aint seen nothin until you played this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Grand Theft Auto - Explosives

posted by stone338 (JACKSON, GA) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not quite San Andreas, but if you like games like GTA, you'll like this. Pretty advanced, excellent role playing, cool missions. But if you get "off-mission," free-roaming just doesn't have much for you. If you feel like keeping a game for at least a couple weeks to get into it, this is probably gonna be something you spend a lot of time with. But for a quick weekend play with friends, not so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

finally a war game that's free play

posted by gurujones (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

man this game is better than the first one! the controls are easy to learn and the games graphics and story line is awesome! Mostly everything in the game is realistic game is a buyer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great

posted by nairbsemaj (FLORENCE, CO) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it was almost as good as the first one. my one complaint is it was too short. i beat it after two days of game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mercs 2 world in flames

posted by jonlee (JAY, FL) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What can i say. Mercs 2 was a boom boom have a nice day kind of game. the guns are heavy and the bombs are huge just my style and the levels were great and the bounty huter thing was totaly BRUTAL
only one thing.NEED MORE NUKES

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

first game and loved it

posted by adicted (BEND, OR) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i chose mercneres 2 for my first game at game fly and loved it but i think not much of a game with a lot of environment but its cool because you can walk around like grand theft At, best game ever the first one was good to1 that's wht i played the 2 one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as great as I had hoped

posted by DisDatDoze (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This one is a bit of a head-scratcher. LOVED the original. After waiting so long, I expected much more. For one, the story was more interesting and complex in the first one. There were MANY more targets to track down. You were forced to take on more missions with enemy groups to advance the plot. Here, it's almost optional. The "stockpile" just ended up being frustrating... once out of something, you had to drive all over to find the person who sells it. I liked the "website" concept of the first game. And when you're done... nothing really happens. You just kinda keep going. I expected a LOT MORE than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

so good that i wont give it back

posted by keysfam (BROOKSVILLE, FL) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

at the end of September i will have 32 dollars I'm keeping the game till then to buy it on my $5 a week allowance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mercenaries 2

posted by AZskates (VAIL, AZ) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fun. You have a huge map which keeps you occupied if you're not on a mission (gets innoying if you're mission requires going across the country!), you can blow up everything you can see, call airstrikes, supply drops, vehicles and more, lots of different guns, and a grappling hook to hijack helicopters. The graphics aren't really that great but i believe that this game doesnt need awesome graphics to make it fun. I'd say it's an impressive game for the ps2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Addicting

posted by Pupbrad (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

A tank in front of me? No problem! BANG! What about 2? BANG BANG! 5? Still no problem! Call in a gunship! This is the kind of power you get in the game. You can use any and every vehicle you see in the game if you can get to it! Tanks? Sure! Helicopters? Why not! Even gunboats? Do I even need to say yes? Enjoy almost completely destructible environments, freedom to explore a massive map with the only load time being before key missions, after dying, or when loading the game after turning it off, so many missions that you can spend a day before doing the next major mission, and the ability to make and destroy friends! The game handles for the most part well. Driving at high speeds can be a bit challenging, though. You can also spend a few days just looking for the people on the bounty list, and bringing them in alive can be near impossible at times, but is definitely much more rewarding both in money and satisfaction

Graphics are good, and the cut scenes look almost real at times! The being disguised in a vehicle if no one sees you getting in or being suspicious can save your life or your job, or just be a curse depending on what faction it is from and where you are.

The game does get repetitive, though. First you go and talk to a contact, then travel for a few minuets to get to the site of the job, then do the job and head back. The game is non stop action, and don't get me wrong, that is part of what makes this game great, but sometimes I yearn for the simpler pleasures of just exploring the world of the game without having a guy around every corner that shoots at you.

All in all, it's a very addictive game and be prepared to sit down and not get anything done for sometimes a day at a time. It is always fun to try to think of new ways to kill people in this game. Perhaps you will pick up a car with a chopper and drop it on someone. Or how about running them over with a boat on land if they are close enough to the water? You decide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by RPGrocks (CHATSWORTH, GA) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I would recommend this game to anybody. I can't find anything I didn't like about it, but what I did like the most was all the different types of vehicles we could use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mercenaroes 2: Worth the Time

posted by gamer211 (LEWISVILLE, TX) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was soooooo much better than the first one. Gameplay was smoother and the plot was more exciting. The problem I had with Mercenaries PoD was it was too long. Well Pandemic shortened it up, but alot. The only problem I have with WiF is that it is slightly too short. Graphics are excellent and majorly upgraded from the first one.

A recommended play for anyone. has easy as well as skilled missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

World Definetly in Flames

posted by mario1994 (ONTARIO, CA) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This Game Is way worth a Rent and Even Purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best FPS game for PS2 i have ever played!!!!!!

posted by Hounddogg (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I f you like destruction and yet a good challenge this is the best game to fit the category. Almost no boring objectives and A LOT of destructon, shooting, and weapons. Anything is BLOW-UP-ABLE and you get the special perk of bunker busting mini nukes!!!!! Awesome and call in an airstrike, monster truck or UAV. best game ever two thumbs up and 5 outa 5!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game rocks!!!!

posted by popien1 (NEWPORT CENTER, VT) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i hav woney the game so thes is a chete uuuuddrl ududrlrl

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEET GAME!!!!

posted by coolio2525 (WYLIE, TX) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WOW! This game was amazing. i spent most of my time playing this game. if u want to rent it but i recommend u buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mercenaries2

posted by harborpark (WEST SACRAMENTO, CA) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My son liked this game. It was exciting, and had a lot of action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ok.

posted by dontbehatn (TURTLE LAKE, WI) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i think this game is good but not much. I think they should make a 3rd mercs more like gta with cops. and put it that you can kill cavilaians hope they make one that way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game rockt

posted by TheSnake (CREWE, VA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is cool in a lot of ways, you got to play it to know it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

way too 2d

posted by hartmantc (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes coming into playing this game, but I was horribly mistaken. There's only one game mode to play and there's really only one path to take in that one mode. The graphics are sub-par and you, the mercenary, have basically the health to withstand 100 bullet wounds, while your opponents can be taken out with one good head-shot. Also, in between the missions that you have there are five minute videos of what has just happened and what is coming, which is completely unneccisary and annoying.
Now I must say that if you're into a big adventure type of game, you'll thinks this game is maybe average, but with the lack of playing options and poor objectives, you'll quickly be done with the game. I do not reccomend ANYONE to rent this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mercenaries 2: not as cool as they say

posted by gamerguy36 (WEST SALEM, WI) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty fun for the first hour or so but then it gets boring. it is pretty cool that you can blow up like anything. the graphics suck. they look like something from like 2000. the missions are ok but they get pretty repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mrcinaries2

posted by awsomejoey (MANHEIM, PA) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is awesome every body should rent or buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mercs 2

posted by nalo1995 (ANDOVER, NH) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very nice it was very fun i give it a ten for the overall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse