Rent Megamind - Ultimate Showdown for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Megamind - Ultimate Showdown

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3, Wii, DS
GF Rating
5.4

493 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

excellent game for the younger crowd

posted by PoppaDukes (SPRING LAKE, NJ) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

simple simple simple playthrough. the story uses 3 buttons! Thats it! Cartoon violence, if you can call it that, was very tame. Great game for little kids or achievement hunters. I played it for the achievements which can easily get you the full 1000 in about 3 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

You don't need a mega mind to beat this one

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jan 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Megamind was one of the easiest games I've ever played. It took only 4 hours to complete and there is zero replay value post-completion. As someone else mentioned, anyone older than 10 would likely get bored in a few hours. This is the perfect game for any achievement hunter, as there are only 23 achievements for 1000G, and they can all be gained with only 5 hours of play time.

This budget title was pumped out in a few months to hit near the movie premiere; everything is amazingly simple that you're seriously waiting for a puzzle/challenge...and then the game ends. The A button is jump (and if you tap it twice you can even double jump!! no way!), X is the blue laser gun (which auto aims at every target), and B button interacts. A buddy of yours narrates your levels, who also tells AND SHOWS you exactly what to do and where to go. If you get lost in this game, you should return your 360 and go buy a Wii. The only difficulty is default and set to 'comfortably numb.'

The graphics, sound, voice overs, and level design are kiddie and what you'd expect. I never saw the movie, but other than the characters and some references, I do not think this directly follows it, but do you really care?

I can't believe I've written this much, but I can't help myself. I almost felt guilty getting the achievements because you don't even really earn them. If you an achievement hunter, this is what you've been waiting for, otherwise, any other person would be better off renting another kiddie cartoon game like Toy Story 3.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fine game, just not for anyone over 10

posted by Steevo (WATERFORD, CT) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is well executed in its simplicity and visuals. It is not bad by any means.

The one qualification I would apply is that only children would be entertained by the game play and storyline. Anyone over the age of 10 will become quickly bored.

Unless you are a GamerScore hound or have children in the house, you may want to ignore this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Megamind

posted by DrPatch (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Megamind was a real good game for kids pretty short my son beat it in 2 gameplays but overall it was fun for him thats good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easy 1000

posted by Aeternox (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game took only 3 hours for me to complete and no collectables made this game very enjoyable, I recommend this title to anyone out there who wants to boost up their gamer score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Freezes and is Horrible!

posted by longdillon (MERCED, CA) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I played the game and every level but 4,7,8 froze numerous times. Level 6 froze 8+ times resulting in another playthrough. This game is quite fun and enjoyable and could easily be beaten within 1-2 hours. But with the freezing it makes the game an absolute nightmare. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE UNTIL IT IS PATCHED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

movie good game bad

posted by naruto90 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

look at the red head fat guy hes halrious on the cover

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A must rent for achievement hunters!

posted by ritamosuno (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Never saw this movie, and I'm not a kid, so I don't care about it as a game, but for anyone who wants a quick and easy 100% 1000 gamerscore, rent this! You can get the full 1000 points in about 2-3 hours with little to no skill required.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun To Play, Easy To Beat

posted by Ynk4202 (GEORGETOWN, TX) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game was linear and repetitive, but it was fun to play. It took me about 3.5 hours to complete and receive 1000G. There are challenges that you unlock, but if you're just playing for the gamerpoints, they aren't necessary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Megamind

posted by gamesrme67 (YUCCA VALLEY, CA) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

This was a fun game and would be great for gradeschool kids. It was easy to beat. I enjoyed it though. I am an older player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not worth 25.00...

posted by Chaos5282 (YUBA CITY, CA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This isn't worth 25.00...
I beat it in mabe 3 hours, it was too easy.
The gameplay was supposed to be easy for kids, that I know.
It does have easy achievements, witch is why I rented it.
You can get them all in 1 playthrough and if not then it has level select.

Just rent it if you like the achievements but don't waste 25.00 for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Easiest 1000 GS Since Avatar TBE

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Aug 28, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

2 to 3 hours is all you need to get the 1000 easy gamer score out of this game. The camera positioning is pretty bad on the platforming sections so I didn't even let my 7 year old try the game before sending it back.

Game play is ok and mercifully, there are no collection achievements in this game. A great one day rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy 1000G

posted by Brodieking (LIVERPOOL, NY) Aug 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is incredibly short - can be beaten in less than 4 hours for a full 1000G. Very worth a weekend play for a good score boost!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

easy 1000g

posted by wlanedbz (HATTIESBURG, MS) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

terrible game but easy easy achievements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It all Depends

posted by adiopro (CEDAR FALLS, IA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

While megamin showed charasmatic character similarities from the movie it shows to be a low level enthusiasm based game. Now if you happen to enjoy slow paced games that dont test your abilities but allows you to use them to find hidden items then you would truly enjoy this game. But if you are above 14 years old and are in to shooters or fast paced adventures this is not the game for you. Megamind is a clever game that allows first timers to go on an adventure to save the city and reclaim what is rightfully yours while staying in tuned with the movie itself. But I would not recomend this game for those in favor of first person shooters. Overall witty, funny, not very captavating. I give this game a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

2 Hours and 13 Minutes - Session

posted by Frazzleberry (FREEVILLE, NY) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

Megamind is a simplistic platformer, there were only a couple puzzles that took longer then a a minute but usually they were around combat so you would have to clear the area first.

Every level plays the same for the most part, the only thing that really changes are your weapons and the level design. Controls are also extremely basic, essentially you have your jump, attack and activate button.

In the end though its a short fun platformer that would be perfect for children or the gamerscore hunting crowd.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Movie game

posted by noobgoo (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This is a really well put together kids movie game, just dont be upset that they couldnt use wil ferrell for the voice of megamind. The only real complaints i had with the game were.....
1. Too short, only takes 3 1/2hrs to complete. Fun, but short. Kids will enjoy.
2. Never allowed to use/drive his car
3. No achievements for playing the mini games that need to be unlocked by completing levels.
In essence, kids will have a blast if they saw the movie. And most importantly, a fast 1000 achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »