Rent Megamind - Ultimate Showdown for PS3
view large frontback

Megamind - Ultimate Showdown

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

522 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rated a 10 If You're a Trophy Hunter

posted by droolster (SOUTHBURY, CT) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

23 out of 25 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

It took me a little under 4 hours to Platinum this game, making this the easiest Platinum yet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy Trophies

posted by cdztoybox (HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY) May 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not bad game very repetitive. 5 hrs and you'll earn all trophies and get a platinum. If you want that this is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Super Easy Platinum

posted by vkarthik (HILLSBORO, OR) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This is a kids game and is ridiculously easy to finish. But they have a platinum trophy! This is the easiest platinum I've made, took me about 3.5 hrs, one playthrough and no revisits.

Game play is quite straight forward, you just need to navigate around doing what they say. Boss fights are really really easy. Controls were OK, but I had minor trouble controlling Megamind while jumping on floating crates. Also felt that the viewing angle was a bit awkward at times. But for that, there is nothing bad about this game; although it is just not worth paying for and owning. Renting would be the best option.

If you are just looking for a few hours of fun or for a trouble-free platinum trophy, you can't ask for a better deal. I have to say that gamefly's turnaround time of 7-8 days is a lot, given that you play this game only for a few hours. A friend of mine rented it from Redbox for 2 bucks and I would've done the same if I had known ... and used gamefly for a different game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Game for Kids

posted by dollyruth (LANSDALE, PA) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is a very short, easily played game. Very good for the 12 and under set. Adults will find it too fast and easy. That said, the graphics, voice acting and plotline are all very good. It makes a nice sequel to the movie, just coming out now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

2-3 hours to platinum

posted by CognacRhino800 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Fun, short game and a very easy platinum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Megamind

posted by onmars (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it was a awesome Game that i play ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Game for Kids... and Trophy Hunters

posted by wolfpearl (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 3, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This is the easiest Platinum trophy I've earned. I did it in just under three hours, and I'm by no means an A-list gamer. You can get it with one play through, just make sure and beat all of the bosses without dying. That said, you can die right before you begin your boss fight to get full health.

The game play is decent. My main complaint is about the jumping mechanics. Most of my deaths in this game were due to some sort of jumping obstacle. Whether it's jumping from sinking crate to sinking crate or from a platform to a parking garage, there's something off. It's almost like doing the double jump stalls your momentum.

I can see kids enjoying the storyline. I've never seen the movie but I'm sure seeing it only adds to the fun. I would definitely suggest this game to all trophy hunters. All and all, it's a fairly fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Uninspired Movie Tie in Garbage

posted by Patrick_Regan (SAN JOSE, CA) May 11, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Though easy to platinum this is the definition of movie tie-in. Don't play this even if your a kid. You can get more fun out of almost any other game out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ATTENTION PLATINUM TROPHY HUNTERS...

posted by chimommy23 (PLATTSBURGH, NY) Apr 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

If you want the easiest, fastest platinum trophy ever(with a side bonus of several gold and silvers), RENT THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

megamind

posted by ARAD1 (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

very easy platinum i heard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Esgar23 (BUENA PARK, CA) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

A must have for Trophy Hunters like me. Great for the family and a very easy platinum. Maximum 4 hours to pass it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Movie Humor.

posted by CyrahOmega (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game is just as humorous as the movie. His line "Watch the paint on my invisible car" is classic. I wish he did the ending dance though, that "dougie" was on point to BAD (and the reject). Not to mention this game is an easy platinum!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Easy Plat

posted by rabidjedipigion (LEVELLAND, TX) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

THis was one of my most simple platnum trophies. Only to be out done by Hannah Montanna for ease of platnum, one playthrough was all it took. Hardest part of the game is levels 4 - 6 and the crates in the sewers. It is hard to get Megamind to land correctly on the floating crates. This is a game that I let my six year old help me platnum it was a little hard for her but an all round easy trophy list to finish.
Picks up where the movie ended and creates a bridge for another movie later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy Platinum

posted by Shadowr_Runner (SHELTON, CT) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Not a bad game at all. Extremely easy to beat and the Platinum trophy can be obtained in about two hours. Great game for all you trophy hunters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy Platinum Trophy

posted by invzim4515 (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Aug 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

Game has some minor errors, jumping is the most annoying part. Either way it takes 1 play through at around 4 hours to platinum!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy and fun Platinum

posted by phoenixfirexine (DEERFIELD BEACH, FL) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The game was kidish but suprisingly good graphics and kinda fun, you can breeze through it, read the trophy guides online for the bosses and don't bother collecting B.I.N.K.E.Y, its worthess, just speed through the game. Upgrades for the weapons do nothing really

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blaze's Review

posted by Leo_the_Lion25 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Rented this game only for ps3trophies.orrg's THL event. The trophies are all easy as it only takes 2h 30m to platinum this game. Plus it shipped/arrived fast right after i sent Captain America back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great game to Platinum easily...that's about it

posted by gatorbear (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2006

read above

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as bad as I thought. (Trophy Hunters game)

posted by MarkyMark5 (VANCLEAVE, MS) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Megamind is a very easy game. It's actually pretty fun even though it has absolutely no storyline.If you want a platinum, this is probably the easiest platinum ever. It has Minigames but I didn't play any of them because none of the trophies require you too. You can upgrade your weapons and stuff with this energy called B.I.N.K.E.Y. Not that you'll need to upgrade. Every enemy in this game is very easy to kill. No variety in enemies either you'll fight four bosses and their goons which consists of two character models. So it does get a little old killing the same guys every five seconds. All around though it was all right and I had fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Platinum collecters dream!

posted by Ambino (CRESCENT CITY, FL) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 hours and you are done! It's actually kind of a fun game to boot! If you are looking for easy trophies, this is it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For trophy hunters or young kids. Otherwise avoid.

posted by Grimfolse (SAN GERONIMO, CA) May 16, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is to date the easiest and quickest Platinum trophy available on the PS3. I finished it in 2 1/2 hours, but I've seen some people finish in less than 2.

The gameplay is stupid easy, meant for young children. The graphics and sound are acceptable, and some of that classic Megamind humor is present. The controls are very touchy, which is likely to cause a lot of frustrating falling deaths, especially in the sewer levels.

Really, if you're a trophy hunter or have young kids, Megamind's worth a rental. Otherwise, it's nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Trophy Hunters Only

posted by CE5k21 (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 12, 2012

Member since May 2011

This is a great game for a small child or trophy hunters. But, if you are over the age of 12, you will probably not enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Only recommended for trophy hoarders.

posted by Shatgan (SAN YSIDRO, CA) May 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Really short game, but veeery boring. The levels somehow felt really long, I just couldn't wait to finish the game and send it back. I took me about 3 hours to get the platinum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good game for kids(or easy 100%).

posted by getsuoni (FAIRBANKS, AK) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I played this with my 7 year old, he loved it. But to be frank this game has a ton of bugs that need worked out, we tried both copies on a 360 and PS3 both versions encountered the same Freeze up locations. However as stated in the title its a great game for kids, don't waste your time if you are an adult unless you are looking for easy Achievements or Trophy's, about 2 to 4 hours to 100%.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy Platformer, Movie Tie In

posted by triebs22 (WINFIELD, IL) Feb 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

If your kid was a huge fan of the movie, sure, buy it for them. If you want a quick 3- or 4- hour platinum trophy, it is a great rental. Otherwise, move along.
It is a very simple platformer with traditional controls and holds your hand every step of the way, even telling you what to do during the climactic boss fight. The storyline is unimportant to the game.
If your kid can play the simple levels of little big planet, they will be just fine with this game. Make sure, however, that you don't mind your child vaporizing some bad guys and rampaging through city streets. The violence is not very graphic, bad guys flash in x-ray style for a second or two before they go up in smoke.
Replay value is almost nil. There are some mini-games, but they are not tied in to the main story line and don't offer anything new to the mini game experience.
The visuals and sound are good, but nothing to write home about. The controls generally work well, but there are times where you need to jump over some crates in the water and this can be difficult to control, you tend to slide off of them. No worries, the game puts you right back where you were and helpfully refills your health bar.
Trophy hounds will love this one. I completed all trophies in one play of all levels with the exception of needing to replay one level to complete a boss fight without dying. I finished all trophies in a 3-hour sitting.
There is nothing wrong with this game, but also nothing to make it stand out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse