Rent Mega Man ZX for DS
view large frontback

Mega Man ZX

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

569 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

its about time DS owners got a new megaman game!

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of platforming games, you will find satisfaction in this title. This game looks and feels very similar to the Zero games on the gba, and that is a good and bad thing. The graphics are almost the =exact= same, which is mildly disappointing - however like they say - if it aint broke, dont fix it. This title plays like a standard platformer, except it is a bit more fun than most. As far as DS platforming games are concerned, Castlevania DoS is a better title than this one (not by much), however this is definately the second best available on this system, and yes - it is better than New Super Mario Brothers. Capcom has made all nintendo fans wait for a new and great megaman title (it seems as if theyve exclusively focused on the PSP this year), however trust me when I say this game was well worth the wait. Excellent story, multiple characters to play, easy, normal, and (unlockable) hard modes give this game a lifespan that is unusual for a megaman title. The only downside, as I said earlier, is in the graphics department - but the gameplay makes up for it, as do the amazing (and thankfully subbed, not dubbed) anime scenes featuring X and Zeros new looks. Very fun, very entertaining, a must play for all Nintendo DS owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

super ultimate omega fantastic game

posted by mmzxfan (Ripley, WV) Sep 25, 2006

Member since May 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I honestly don't see how this game could not get anything other than 10\10 cause it is not just graphics it is the action that takes place throughout this intensifying game. The models and how to obtain depending on the number of times you hit the model on the boss totaly kicks butt. I also enjoy the fascinating fact of the 2 stories and how they can tell different things about the new zx story lines. So if you read this and did not rate it a 10 then you are either 1)stupid, 2)not a true megaman fan, or 3)you just play and rate it trying to be cool when you are undoubtly SICK.

thank you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This isn't better than Megaman Zero... it's worse!

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 4, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Megaman ZX is an action platformer in which you play as a boy (or girl) who finds an artifact which gives him the powers of Megaman X. Your character's boss finds the artifact to gain the powers of Zero. Unfortunately, this nostalgic redux of two of gaming's coolest heroes ends far too soon when early in the game, your character is given both artifacts and combines them to become "Megaman ZX". (Megaman ZX, oddly enough, is really just Zero, but not as cool looking.) As you progress through the game, you gain more artifacts and are able to turn into other superheroes.

The game's ultimate flaw is its structure. The game went for a "Metroidvania" approach, in which, instead of having multiple stages, the game is one very large stage comprised of smaller areas connected to each other. The problem is that there is no real map of the areas, just a misleading visual layout of all the areas by name and what areas they are adjacent to. Area A may be placed to the left of Area B, but that in no way means you would reach area A by going left -- the door can just as well be on the wrong side. Without a real map, it's hard to find your way around.

The other problem is that when you choose to take on a mission, the game leaves it to you to get to the area where the mission takes place.

Some of the missions are reduced to obscure scavenger hunts rather than action.

All in all, the game is barely playable without a guide.

The game doesn't attempt to create exciting or interesting gameplay scenarios as a good, focused action game should. The area layout doesn't allow for it... the stages are pretty underwhelming and for the most part are designed to be walked through. There really is no exploration, since you choose a mission out of a list and then have to find the designated area.

There's really not much here to be excited about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Doesn't come close to the SNES Classics

posted by bowsermason471 (SOMERSET, KY) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

If I had not been a Old School Gamer coming into this game I think maybe, possibly, I could have gotten 2 hours tops of enjoyment out of this game? It was quite repetitive with the same enemy characters everywhere and level design that looked like it was straight off some homemade tribute game made by beginning game programmers. All that said I came into it having played the classic MegaMans for SNES. I came into it with the memory of receiving a newly released Super Nintendo when I turned 10 years old. I immediately noticed how much smaller the characters were then the classic Mega Man games I played as a kid. The gameplay was choppy and glitchy, and the cutscenes were a snoozefest. I found myself fighting the same basic three or four characters every level....pew, pew, pew.........wow it just bored me to tears. Oh how the mighty Mega Man has fallen.

When it came time for bosses they at least tried to model them after the huge, colorful behemoths in the classic Mega Man games. I weep for kids today who play this game and think wow Mega Mans cool! I understand that it is an import. I understand that the original developers and creators have been at odds with Capcom. I get all that chaos and turmoil, and understand the effect it may have on this games developers being able to use the original graphics, music, and gameplay. That being said maybe I'm just not the right demographic for this game :( Who knows. I'll just re-buy the classics for the SNES I still own and play it the right way. I don't have a Wii U and won't buy one until it's the right price. I don't have my Wii connected to the Internet because I don't want to mess with the classic style of gameplay. Maybe one day I can play Mega Man 6 and some of the other new games Mega Man is being rumored to be featured in for Wii U and 3DS. But for now I'm gonna play the classics and play games that actually paste a huge idiot smile on your face instead of bore you to tears. Mega Fail :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

megaman zx

posted by 6scotty (SAINT CLAIR, MO) Jan 20, 2013

Member since May 2011

this game was disapointing totally different megaman ive played power ups are simple and same as each other and i almost fell asleep sorry this wasnt the game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Going the metriod route eh?

posted by Exchrystal (PITTSBURG, CA) May 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Well i'll start off by saying i'm an oldschool megaman fan. I havent had the pleasure of playing megaman zero (but i'm waiting for the collection to be released) so I gave the game a 7 for the effort. The big difference between this and the oldschool megaman games is how they went the metroid route which is just many rooms in one big level.

The mission system is pretty solid but one thing that bugged me was why didn't the letters go in alphabetical order? It was annoying to take a mission going to area F, follow thought area E, only to end up in area I because area F is near area B. There is no real indication where to go and you may end up just looking around needlessly.

The combat is quite fun as megaman games go, however there are a few gripes. The new suites you get are cool and all but I rarely found myself using them in actual bossfights instead of the standard ZX suite. This is also a petty gripe but the fact that when they merged X and Z together they ended up with pretty much all Z made me roll my eyes.

Aside from my petty gripes this game is quite fun and I would recommend people to rent it first before you buy it. I'd also like to state now that the length of the game is roughly short since it took me about 5 hours or so to beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rent if you like any megamanX or megaman Zero game

posted by AeroCruzzu (UXBRIDGE, MA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The good:
-Standard megaman action - run, gun, jump, and different powers (models).
- The story is good, but it was a little cut and dry for me.
- Thank Jebus they kept the Japanese sounds/voices.
- If u played megaman X, then the highway section of this game will give a good sense of nostalgia.
- Cool extra model (Ox) is available after you beat the game on normal or hard.

The bad:
- I found myself rarely using the other models, mostly because I could dish out the most damage with the Zx model. Yes, i know there were times when it was better to use the Hx model to air jump or Lx to swim, and Fx to break blocks, but other than those few instances, they were pretty useless.
- A map screen when selecting where to transport would be more than useful.
- The story could have used more twists and turns - or anything to make it more interesting. The megaman zx missions were much more interesting imo.
- The music was expected for a megaman game, but it nothing memorable.
- Little replay value unless you really want to challenge yourself on a higher difficulty.

Overall I would definitely recommend renting this game, but probably not buying it unless you are a die-hard megaman fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8 out of 10 for Megaman ZX

posted by JaiGuru (DANVILLE, PA) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Megaman ZX is a solid entry into the cannon of the main story line, picking up where Megaman Zero left off. The game play style is very similar and, while still plenty challenging, the difficulty has mercifully been pulled back from the brink of insanity found of the GBA titles.

The art style is nearly the same, offering hand drawn cutscenes and excellent use of color schemes. Long time Megaman fans will be glad for the ability to reassign the button scheme to match the controls of older X series games, making this title almost like playing something from the glory days of Capcom.

Among the only cons I have to offer are the fatally flawed map system. The level design often has several exits from each area with no marking system on the map and a haphazard system for naming the zones that makes the game difficult to navigate.

I gave this an 8 out of 10 for being one of the more solid Megaman titles to come around in quite some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its x! its zero! its megaman zx!

posted by mfan765 (MIAMI, FL) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

this game could be a good title it has everything return of x? check. return of zero? check. awsome forms? check. well there is one thing i don't agree about,the voice acting its good but on the english version theres the subtitles but the audio is in japenees

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than I expected

posted by speakerguy (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

It's very good has that old flavor, but also has a hint of something new. I like that fact that a girl is playing a leading role.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not like the orginal

posted by GBADSWii (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

It a great game not nothing like the original mega mans that everyone loves to play. Also in a way it a very easy game a bit to easy for a mega man game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mega Man ZX

posted by Cronoasb07 (MOUNT LAUREL, NJ) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Now I was really hyped for this game I played a little of the Zero games and didn't like them to much. So I had ok hopes for this game. So during the game you get these upgrades called bio metels some useful but the rest a waste of time. Mega Man ZX was wayyyy to easy I beat it in eight hours and the whole time wanting it to end or something really great to happen but it didn't. It's just ok at best. So there you go not bad but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

meh...

posted by Saberwolf (MIDLAND, TX) Jul 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Megaman ZX was a good game....the story was pretty much your average Megaman plot...someone trying to either take over, destroy, or create a new race of beings/mavericks/reploids for the world...I personally got bored with this game quite fast b/c it wasn't as appealing as other Megaman titles but over all the game was fun while it lasted and is fun for anyone who is a Megaman fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Mega Man game, plain and simple

posted by JonnyYeags (COLUMBUS, OH) May 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

The way to approach this game is that its a Mega Man game, plain and simple. If you like Mega Man, then you'll like this game (even though it takes a few liberties in the traditional Mega Man story with how things work).

This game is quite difficult, and the save system is a pain as you can set yourself pretty far back if you die - But overall this game is for MM fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not even close to the original Mega Man or the X

posted by Taulpaul (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Capcom just took a step for the worst. Mega Man is one of their famous franchises. They started out with the original Mega Man series(best one), then came the Mega Man X Series(just as good). Then they decided to go portable with Mega Man Zero(its not that good, but okay). Now,they decided to try out Mega Man ZX. I have to say getting from point A to point B got really annoying real fast. Storyline was awful, too many different armor upgrades. I hope Capcom stays away from this series for it may lead to the death of Mega Man.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The other side of the coin

posted by anewstereo (SAN GABRIEL, CA) Oct 26, 2006

Member since May 2006

This game seemed like a lot of fun when I first started to play it. I found a few bosses, started running around finding additional power ups and all the usual megaman fare, but when I started to do regular missions, finding how to get anywhere was a huge pain. Without a proper map system for this type of game, it's just hard to navigate. I also found that the usual megaman charm was completely missing from the boss characters. Fun and interesting has been replaced by that ohthatssosupercoolanimest- ylegenericmosterthing junk the kids like nowadays. Elemental weaknesses are there, but hardly enough to be worth much. I will say that the idea of giving megaman a new suit with fully different powersets instead of just a weapon is a great idea and should stay. Overall if you are a megaman fan that can put up with a terrible map/quest system, give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MegaMan ZX

posted by AntiDAD (YELM, WA) Oct 14, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

Awesome game, completely changed from the other MegaMan Zero titles. The Game play has been kinda upgraded, instead of using elemental chips or forms used in charging, you got 7 new people who control different elements and powers that you can play as. As long as you played MegaMan Zero 3 or 4, you should be able to understand this one.

What was great about this game was the character change mode where you could switch between 6 different M.E.G.A. men who are from the previous installments and they all have their own powers and abilities, like Model HX being able to hover and boost long distances or how Model LX can swim in the water rather than sink and it has a more open environment to explore with more people around.

Also! The game is !Extremely! difficult at times since they got rid of the cyber-elves so you better be skilled at playing this game or have a high tolerance for anger! Playing as the boy is a little easier than the girl's so it shouldn't be so hard if you start as him.

I highly doubt this will be the only Mega Man ZX on the DS, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't try it out. It's a really good game with a good plot and a lot of side quests that help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice!

posted by Shadow275 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 8, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

Nice! I liked it alot, better storyline, theres a city and a game shop. I beat the game and in Megaman 1,2,3,4 didn't had those.
I wonder what happened to Zero...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

another great megaman title

posted by mrreview22 (HOWELL, NJ) Oct 2, 2006

Member since May 2006

If you are a fan of the Megaman Zero series, then you will love this game as much as I did and I rather enjoyed the game. For those of you who are new to the series and want to get the full benefit of the game, then I suggest playing all the previous games because if you don't the story will get a little confusing. Other then that, it's just another cool Megaman, side scrolling hack-and-shoot game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »