Rent Mega Man X Collection for PS2
view large frontback

Mega Man X Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC
GF Rating
7.8

533 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Meg man x fans REJOICE!

posted by saintzFAN (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Jul 22, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you are a meg man fan, pick this up, if ur a meg man X fan, buy it!

those familiar w/ MMx: this chronicles the "better" part of the X series. X7 and X8 are not included (so that means X1 thru X6 are), but they are considered to be the "lesser" of the series.

those new to the X universe: this still stays on track w/ the classic side scrolling action that made meg man such a hit. however what is new here is that it's years from when the Meg man games left off and now the blue bomber has an updated look, and name: Meg man X (X, for short).

X has new friends (ie: Zero) and of course new enemies (ie: Sigma). some of the 'new' features to X is that he gains armor upgrades hidden in many levels that increase his fighting power, damage resistance and more. he can now charge up his x-buster (his arm gun) and also the 'slide' has been replaced by the more controlled 'dash'. also later on in the series u are able to play as Zero (as a temporary replacement, or thru the whole game separately).

As a collection of games this is great (6 games for 1 disc), and the emulation/convert to PS2 is flawless. However it is shy on the "unlock able" content (ie: rewards for beating one of the games and such). That's not to say there's nothing, but if that's ur reason for getting this game, it is a little slim. There is also one unlock able game, it's a 'Meg man Kart' game. It's nothing too exciting, but it's "different" for the MM world.

Overall this is an excellent game, especially if u were a fan of any of the X series on SNES or PS1. However be prepared for a lot of quick button mashing action. The difficulty is usually right on target, it's hard enough to make u feel accomplished for beating a stage/boss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome!

posted by megamanEP (CLERMONT, FL) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is great, if you like anything megaman, buy this game! each game is just like the original, exept the added cutscenes, I haven't got to play the bonus game yet but it should be good,all of the 2-D action is still there and the difficuly hasn't changed a bit, buy this game as soon as possible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!

posted by RikuMitsunari (PRINCETON, WV) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is definitely a game worth playing. If you played Meg Man before, then you're going to want this. It's good, classic, and it will keep you entertained. The only rough edges I have with this game, is that it can be a bit difficult, but that makes it all the more challenging! I even got so mad at this, I almost broke my friend's dresser! But I kept trying. That's the magic of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No balance

posted by skullY (RICHLAND, WA) May 12, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 18 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

Ah, Megaman. I remember begging my parents for a NES back in the day. It was a struggle to get them to buy many games for me, so I rented games a lot because that was easier. I probably spent enough on rental fees to buy a Megaman cart twice over that summer.

Sadly, the Megaman X series lost something crucial: the balance.

It's ridiculously easy to get through the levels to the main boss. If you can't get to the main boss of any level with at least 75% of your life remaining, return the game and fill your queue up from the children's section.

However, once you get to the end-level boss it's OMG PWNED time. In many cases getting hit by the enemy or their main weapon just once will kill you.

The high points of the game is that the music and characters are spot-on Megaman. The low point is the mind-numbingly easy levels followed by the really hard bosses.

If you're looking to torture yourself by repeatedly playing the same easy levels over and over again while you make your way to the boss for the 5,236,352th time in a row, this game is for you. If you're looking for nostalgia, grab the Mega Man Aniversary collection instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mega man x vs mega man

posted by Saint67 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jun 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

well to be honest i LOVED the x series then the original don't get me wrong the old mega man games are great its just tht i only like mega man because characters story levels music bosses and etc. you get awesome power ups not just the boss weapons but capsule tht give u awesome armor make u strong when u get it. so BUY THIS GAME NOW and oh yea this YEAH LEMONS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mega Man X Collection Review

posted by tammara (SAINT CHARLES, MO) May 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

Mega Man was a great NES game.Now when the SNES came out,Mega Man fans got something a little different in 1993.That was Mega Man X. It was so great.But I'm not reviewing that game.I'm reviewing the super rare,Mega Man X collection. It has X-X6.So I'm going to go over them in one sentence.X1 is my favorite.X2 is pretty good,not as good as X1.X3 was brutaly hard but it's a little less then X2.X4 is my 2nd favorite.X5 3rd favorite.X6 is ok,but some people hate it.Also,if your a rage quiter, don't get this game. It's pretty hard.Overall,this game get's an 8/10 with a title of AWESOME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A rare find and great game

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The Mega Man X series is definitely one of the series that help make Capcom what it is today. I was glad to find a compilation of Mega Man X through Mega Man X6 for the PS2, especially being that X4-X6 were originally for the Playstation so I never got to play them. I won't judge this game based upon how bad or good individual games are, just the fact they compiled 6 (plus one bonus game) onto one disc was amazing. I do wish they would of added more bonus content as their wasn't much of a reason not to, but overall a great game and rare! (Works on 1st generation PS3)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »