Rent Mega Man Star Force 3: Black Ace for DS
view large frontback

Mega Man Star Force 3: Black Ace

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

237 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of the 3

posted by danku186 (TURNERSVILLE, NJ) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Ok most people know by now that with megaman starforce 3 it will most likely be alot like the other 2. True it is but that is not a bad thing in this case. Starforce 2 was my least favorite but mainly because of the story, but in this the story is great. Of course the black ace form is incredible and the other changes are cool too. The online is alot of fun and the story after the game is amazing, hard incredibly hard, but amazing because it doesn't feel like you beat it so it can collect dust until you get another craving for it. Deffinitly at least give this game a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of the three

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok most people know by now that with megaman starforce 3 it will most likely be alot like the other 2. True it is but that is not a bad thing in this case. Starforce 2 was my least favorite but mainly because of the story, but in this the story is great. Of course the black ace form is incredible and the other changes are cool too. The online is alot of fun and the story after the game is amazing, hard incredibly hard, but amazing because it doesn't feel like you beat it so it can collect dust until you get another craving for it. Deffinitly at least give this game a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

megaman star force 3 black ace

posted by zack836 (LITTLE ELM, TX) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

i think this game is not what i expected and you should be able to shoot without in battle and the battle scene are horrible the only good part of the game to me is changing form.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

megaman starforce 3 black ace

posted by Lizzy (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

The original megaman battle network games were way better than the starforce games. Its pretty much over ones you complete the story. The battle chips in this game sucks only thing in the starforce games that i like is the automatic megabuster and the lock on feature that was only in megaman battle network 6 and the crummy system of where ur stuck in the back row i personaly think is stupid. all in all i think that they should of just stuck with the battle network games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could use some fine tuning.

posted by XeroAngel (COCOA, FL) Jan 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

When I first got my hands on this game I was like, "OMG A NEW MEGAMAN STARFORCE GAME!!" I started playing the game and fell in love with it for a while. I get further into the game and start to get impatient with when you get the Black Ace form(still have yet to unlock).

The boss battles are pretty fun and yet sometimes extremely annoying because of their unblockable attacks that you can barely dodge and the ridiculously powerful enemies that lower your health so much that one hit can kill you.
Probably because I couldn't get the L & R buttons to work at times.

BEWARE: To those of you whose L & R buttons are broken, this game will make u wanna slam ur head against a wall.

Pros:
Interesting story
fun gameplay
simple controls unless L & R are broken
epic looking form to use

Cons:
Real tough boss battles
Ridiculously powerful and annoying enemies
takes forever to get Black Ace form

Just to clear things up, if you liked the previous Megaman Starforce games then you'll like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I love anything megaman

posted by megaman99 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

i love this game the story is great but not as good as starforce 2. the story gets really sad later this game.this game is for people who know megaman series and all the hard tricks and riddles but for people who are new should start with starforce 1 so you know the characters and the story. all i could say is this is a hard tricky game be prepared to look almost every where for one certain item

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MegaMan is always fun, After Game is Best

posted by ichiji (OAKLAND, CA) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

Like most MegaMan BattleNetwork/StarForce titles, this installment offers colorful graphics, an engaging battle engine, and a story line in which a young boy manages to save the world a few times. And like most of the titles, the after game challenges of getting all the battle cards and fulfilling all the side quests is the best part.

Some detailed suggestions. The plus-sign controller of the DS makes it difficult to control the movement of the character in most non-battle environments, because most of the required movement is catercorner to the controller direction. It's irritating to die many deaths by falling off a cliff because the controller isn't responding. There should be more editable battle folders and they should be able to employ overlapping cards -- it's annoying to shuffle cards in and out to equip for different elemental foes, when it's not possible to get duplicates of many cards. There is way too much dialog in the basic game story line, and it's not very interesting. (Not even to a third grade audience. The game is ostensibly directed to children, but the aftergame play is difficult enough that I would not imagine most children would be interested in it. So the adults are paging through some very inane stuff.) Like most Megaman veterans I was trying to get to the after game as quickly as possible, and the endless insipid chatter was annoying. A place to write down the codes for the card store would have been helpful-- it's an easy feature to build into a DS game.

Oh, and as a public service, it's nearly impossible to get Malwizard 3 by fighting the virus of the same name. (It has 500HP and it's difficult to deliver the blow fast enough to get an S rating.) So don't waste your time like I did. But it can be found in the Black Hole server -- it came seemingly randomly while fighting other viruses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »