Rent Mega Man Maverick Hunter X for PSP Games
view large frontback

Mega Man Maverick Hunter X

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

GF Rating
7.4

738 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

excellent

posted by antgore06 (NEW HAVEN, CT) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this game has all the goodness as the classic snes title megaman x but wit impoverd visuals and an new playbul cariter i recomend this game for any hardcore megaman fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Slick remake of a classic game

posted by Orlando (SPRINGVILLE, UT) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Strangely enough, seeing it in beautiful 3D makes me wonder how awesome it could be in updated beautifully drawn 2D - since now the resolution and number of animations can also be better. Playing anime MegaMan would be awesome.

That said, this is a great remake. You can also save the game now as well.

Sweet remake of a great old game. Nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Megaman Ever!

posted by Walker (GAINESVILLE, FL) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have always been a megaman fan and was very excited to see my favorite megaman game remade. To start i thought it would be some what inferior to the old school Megaman X but i was very wrong. The graphics did not make it too complex and the theme of megaman destroying everything in his way remained. This game had quick load times, a new twist on the game, amazingly animated movies, detailed plot line, and many more fun things. Just when i was saddened by the end of the game nearing a new entire game popped up; when you beat sigma with X you can plan as Vile. Vile comes along with the ability to customize his weapons for location and preference. All the levels were also slightly changed to make it difficult yet able to be completed for Vile. Overall I loved this game and would highly suggest it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A solid game to waste your time on

posted by ocdog45 (STERLING, VA) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

mega man fan get ready to be happy. this game like the original is a fun and exciting game to play. and not entirely obvious. with some things moved around and character appearance changes, this game is a great way to start and end the weekend. this game should not take you no longer than 4 or 5 hours to beat so unless your a mega man fan, this a must rent. The remixes to the soundtrack add new flavor that make play levels just to hear the songs. Included in the game is a movie from the upcoming mega man movie and also a level of the new mega man game for psp, mega man power up. Not a fan of the original mega man games but some will have a kick out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is this really any better than the original...

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What was the point of this remake? The graphics are better in some ways but in other ways they are a lot worse. The gameplay is the exact same, and like the original, it's a very short game. Granted, you can play as Vile now but man, is he awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

i think i got the wrong disc

posted by kinlopunim (TUCUMCARI, NM) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

when i got the game, i put it in my psp and it showed up as Y's : something or other, i thought it was a minor glitch and tried playing anyway. it freezes as soon as the first name is shown. i never got to play mega man.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another mega man...

posted by XJet2025 (CONROE, TX) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this being the... billionth installment in the mega man series... it goes back to the roots of X and the mavericks.... blah blah blah yadda yadda yadda... same old story

This game plays EXACTLY like every other mega man the graphics are slightly better then the previous other ones that came out and well... the same bosses exact same strategy on beating them is still here as with every other mega man game. i was hoping for something new and refreshing with this one... but not really... same story, same concept, same deal as before. the game looks a bit prettier but not really worth rushing out to play this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Megaman FTW!

posted by spartanxxxx (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

A remake of a game that was already incredible? How could it get better? Well, by updating the graphics, adding some cool cutscenes, and a secret character after your first playthrough with X! Playing this game brought back fantastic childhood memories of playing the original Megaman X and that was awesome. So awesome, that I actually went back and replayed the original. Now I'm moving onto Megaman X2! Hahaha.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mega Man X for the win

posted by megaformer (ELK GROVE, CA) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

like megaman powered up this game is a remake of the origional MMX game (MM powerd up is a remake of the origional MegaMan) There are only a few key differences.
1.) there is more story asnd dialog
2.) you can play as vile
3.) the capsuls (excluding the haduken) are in digerent locations
One thing I do want to warn about is that you should only play as vile if you enjoy frustration

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but easy

posted by souldan (TUNNEL HILL, GA) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

this game is fun but it was way to easy even on hard mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The game that keeps drawing me back

posted by Greenstal (CLEVELAND, OH) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Visually stunning, addictive game play, This is a few ways for which I would describe the Megaman X experience. I enjoyed how capcom altered some of the game to give it that new feel. It takes me back to when I first played this game over 10 years ago and it is still one of the best games out there, tailor made for a hand held system. I wish capcom would continue with the rest of the Snes x series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Megaman Maverick Hunter X

posted by Eragon79 (ROANOKE, TX) Apr 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This Game Has Classic MegaMan Game Play With Some Very Cool Extras. The Weapon Menu Is By Far The Best Yet. The Only Bad Thing About The Game Is That It Has The Classic Quick Finish to It. I Did Like The Vile Version A Lot And Thought That It Was A Better Challenge That The Normal Game Play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mega Man Maverick Hunter X: A PSP Game To Remember

posted by GTA647 (BELL CITY, LA) Jan 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Mega Man Maverick Hunter X is one of the very few remakes that actually does what it is supossed to do: Take a great classic game and transform it for the 21st century. Mega Man Maverick Hunter X's story line is similar to the original, exept there are new characters, bosses, and twists to make it a little more interesting. Gameplay is smooth and fully customizeable controls are always good. And upon beating the game for the first time, you unlock a special movie and a new character, Vile! Graphics are a big winner in this game and I highly reccomend it. Besides some minor setbacks like annoying enemies and repedative gameply voicing from Mega Man And Vile, I highly reccomend this game to old fans and newcomers of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Remake

posted by randawg74 (BALTIMORE, MD) Oct 28, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

I'm giving this game an 8. It deserves this because of the great, intriguing graphics and sound. They adjusted the whole game's appearance and added better sound!
I've always been a Megaman fan and up-to-date on what future releases are near.
I would recommend renting this game. You will be satisfied...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

IF you like Mega MAn do itttt

posted by Josh342 (WESTBURY, NY) Aug 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

OK ok ok ok ok i always stunk at mega mans, so i kept to donkey kong but yooo! this looks way cooler then the other mega mans. But dont go crazy and buy this game cause theres only two ways of this game
1)Big mega-man fan...youll beat it in 2 days.

2)Mega mans cool i guess fan...youll suck and gets boring in 3 seconds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2 thumbs up or 5 stars, which ever u prefer!!

posted by SkaVeNgeR (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 14, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

Remaking a classic. The Mega Man X series is by far one of my favorites, but they took the classic Mega Man X and not only hyped up the look, they brought it into the 21st century bringing back another superstar name from the past.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but short

posted by Mike13 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 15, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

The game is very good but the game play is too short. It tries to make up for it by adding additional content like a full Mega man movie and demo level of mega man powered up. You also get a chance to replay the game as a different character. It has the classic mega man feel to it. Graphics are top notch and controls are very intuitive and responsive. There are only a few rare occasions where you feel like you can't do what you think you should be able to. All in all, this is a very good (but short) title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »