Rent Medieval Games for Wii
view large frontback

Medieval Games

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.3

158 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Always read the reviews first!

posted by MissAmy (ROANOKE, VA) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awful for SO many reasons. The worst part is how it doesn't sync up with the controllers properly, so it's incredibly slow and choppy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

for the kids

posted by phoenix122 (UNIONVILLE, MO) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

because i love almost everything about the medival era but the only fun i could find in this game was jousting it was kinda fun but the board game is repetive and boring if i knew it was a board game i wouldnt have even rented it but i think the game might be fun for 5-9 year olds who like knights and castles and things of that nature but because they are not always judgemental about gifts but if they play more mature games (parents you should be ashamed) then they will be bored within minutes not to mention you can beat the whole game in less than 3 hours i was very dissapointed just felt like a very bad rip off of mario party that isnt fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game was horrible would give it a-1

posted by Elaine (BRADFORD, RI) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the reason I joined Gamefly!!! If I had purchased it I would have traded it in at game stop after an hour of play. (I returned it two days after I got it only because I was sick and could not get to the post office to return it.)

The controls were awful, It took forever for the games to load and I had problems with the remotes not responding. The directions on how to play the games were terrible, by the time I figured out how to fence my opponent they had already killed me four times.

I got so annoyed with watching and waiting for the other players to play before I could take my turn and waiting for the game to load I just took the game out after an hour. My advice save your rental fee for another game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

OMG, This Game is Bad!

posted by Sherimar (TAMPA, FL) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this thinking that Medieval style mini-games would be fun. They are, but the interface that you must endure to play the games is unbearable. Three main things I don't like about this game are the problem with recognizing wii-motes for multiple players, the SLOW response to inputs that the game has, and the fact that you must play with the computer player(s) unless you have four people playing.

We had three people attempting to play the game. One of them quit in the frustration of trying to get Medieval Games to recognize the wi-motes. We had fully-charged wii-motes that work perfectly well for other games. We had to leave the Medieval Games game to get all the wii-motes to be recognized by the system, then when we re-entered the game -- one wii-mote stopped responding during the game. When we went back to the wii menu, it worked fine. This was very weird. I have never had a game behave like this before. We even tried restarting the Wii, but this did not resolve the issue.

When we were playing the game, the response-time for selecting an option seemed really SLOW. We measured delays of 3 seconds. This does not seem like much, but over a whole game this amounts to 1 minute and 36 seconds of just waiting for the game to accept your inputs. It gets boring to wait.

Along these same lines is the fact that you cannot elect to play a full game without computer players unless there are four human players. Add to the pain that the computer characters normally EXCEL at every mini-game and you can feel the fun slipping away.

I hoped that this game would be good. I wanted this game to be good. Unfortunately this game has flaws that make it bad. I do not recommend that anyone get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Put This Game In The Iron Maiden And Execute It!

posted by RetroNerd (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Medieval Games, like other unfortunate Wii titles, has a great concept in mind, but is poorly executed. I rented this game expecting a nice party game that combined the flavor of a renaissance fair with a large number of mini-games most Wii titles are known for. Unfortunately, what we found was a game with sluggish controls, an AI that steals the fun, and a design obviously lifted from Super Mario 8.
GRAPHICS: OK. Granted, most owners didn't purchase a Wii for the graphics, but other games have been developed for the fun factor and still have decent graphics. MG is not one of those games. Choppy cutscenes and blocky characters make MG look like a klunky Gamecube title.
AUDIO: OK. I didn't come expecting to be wowed by the audio in MG, but at least it was more inviting than the graphics. The voices provided a sense of being surrounded by actors in a faire (although the red witch sounded alot like Magicka from DuckTales). That being said, there were many times when the voices did not coincide with some of the animatronic-like characters and the cutscenes were rather droll and made me want to skip them each time.
CONTROLS: TERRIBLE. The controls in MG are perhaps the worst I've experienced in a Wii game. Extremely sluggish, the controls are often unresponsive and sometimes complicated for younger kids. Catapults: overly complicated and difficult to control. Chickenfight: you'll never know how to hold your wiimote til the game starts. Jousting: jittery. Fighting the Black Knight was the worst, even for a veteran gamer like me.
GAMEPLAY: TERRIBLE. If you must play MG, be sure to play with 4 players. MG requires 4 players at all times, whether they be human or AI. That wouldn't be too much of a problem if it weren't for the fact that AI players are cheating knaves and there's no way to change the difficulty level. Add the fact that you're playing a cheap version of Mario Party 8, and you'll soon be asking yourself "Why am I playing this?"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This Game Needs Fixing

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Mario and his friends and enemies are off to a fantasy kingdom where… wait a second, this isn’t the latest Mario Party game.
Medieval Kingdom plays a lot like Mario Party. You pick the three opponents (player and/or AI) and go off on three boards. Your task is to get to the squares where you can obtain stars - I mean magical treasures.
Along the way, you play mini games against the opponents, gaining gold for every mini game won. Other spaces give you gold, take gold away from you, give you treasure, or move you to another spot on the game board.
The first two boards are good for a set number of turns. Whoever gets the most items wins. If there’s a tie, whoever has the most gold wins.
The third board requires you to obtain three magical objects (treasures) and move to a certain space to fight off a dragon in a (guess what) mini game.
Now, there’s nothing about this that I find wrong (I would’ve liked more boards). However, there are a vast number of minor issues when it comes to playing the mini games.
There are archery games that require you to hold the A and B button down just to see your crosshairs.
There are fighting games with overly simplistic and sloppily implemented controls. Several times I wanted to do a low attack, but the game has me doing a high attack instead.
There are games where you fire a catapult. But these controls are needlessly complex; you have to hold the Wiimote in the vertical position to get the furthest shot. It would be much simpler if you just hold the B button a short time for short shots or longer for deeper shots.
These small tech issues really ruin the compilation. Even the option of playing the games solo or as part of a mini tournament doesn’t help.
Medieval Games could’ve been a great cheap alternative to Mario Party, but control issues ruin it. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dubious Distinction

posted by kahlan1227 (TYLER, TX) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game i have EVER seen. after ten minutes (most of which was spent waiting on other "players" to take their turn, and losing mini games due to an impossible to read font, poor instructions and terrible controls) I took the game out, repacked it and sent it back. I was absolutely shocked at how badly done this game is. So, it has the dubious honor of being the absolute WORST game i have ever put in ANY game system. Wow. That's a pretty hard thing to do.
TERRIBLE GAME!!
If i had bought this game, i would have microwaved it. The three seconds of colors and sparks would have been more entertaining that ANY amount of time spent playing this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »