Rent Medal of Honor for PS3
view large frontback

Medal of Honor

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

8837 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

glitchy but fun game

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

52 out of 59 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Overview
================
This game is really two separate games (5-6 hour campaign written by Danger Close) & multi-player by DICE. Yes, the game is glitchy. The the on-line is just like Battlefield Bad Company 2 (since same engine & developer). That being said I think this game is very fun (if you don't get hung up on the glitches) and is very comparable to Modern Warfare 2.

Another inaccurate complaint about the game is you can't play on-line without buying a code (which either comes with purchase or buying the code on-line). This is COMPLETELY WRONG. You can cancel entering the code and then proceed to play on-line. You just don't get some of the perks of the code (extra maps & guns). People should really figure out what they are talking about before making themselves look stupid by writing a dumb and inaccurate review.

Campaign
==========
Things are glitchy (you will likely get stuck on the ATV section). You will see some framerate issues & hear odd voice breaks. There is no doubt things were put out slightly too early. That being said all of this can be fixed by software updates in the near future.

Online
===========
People complain there aren't a lot of weapons and maps. There is truth to this. However, DICE is very good about supporting their games and you can fully expect more of everything added later as downloadable add-ons.

People don't like the look of the maps. Frankly I like them better than Battlefield Bad Company 2 (don't have all of the turrets, helicoptors, tanks, etc.).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Medal of Honor

posted by sanoussy98 (JAMAICA, NY) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, i really like, its good game but there should be the unlimited edition. And I can wait to play the medal of honor Warfighter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not enough of a good thing...

posted by desertfox171 (ABERDEEN, SD) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game's grittiness. My all time favorite shooters are tactical simulations like the Rainbow Six series and (for the old-schoolers) Hidden and Dangerous 1&2. Though not tactical by definition, MoH has some qualities of "smart shooters"; the action in this game feels like it has consequences - where you want to do things right the first time, every time.

My main gripe is (gasp) the brevity of single-player campaign. If feels like the MoH developers were obligated to put a campaign together but knew people would focus on multiplayer. I'm in the minority that thinks of campaign modes as movies you get to act out. The quality of the missions are good, just too few of them.

If you are over the plastic facade of CoD, MoH may be a little more your style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Awesome

posted by SuperKabo (ELMHURST, NY) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty awesome,i never try it before,but now that i did,i loved it....i dont know about the online gaming,but the campaing or story mode its pretty cool...ill recomend it to anyone that likes first person shooters..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING CAMPAIN AND MUTLIPLAYER

posted by rayraykay24 (BRONX, NY) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I HAD HIGH HOPES FOR THIS GAME UTIL I PLAYED.......................FIRST OFF THE CAMERA IS AS HORRIBLE AS IT GETS, THE AREAS ARE ALL SO DAM DARK ALL THE TIME U HAVE 2 USE IGHTVISIO BASCIALLY ALL GAME LONG, AFTERAWHILE U WILL LOSE ITNREST IN THE GAME EARLY MISSIONS BCZ THERE IS NO HYPE WEAPONS ARE COOL BUT NOT ENOUGH 2 SAVE GAME.....................NOW MUTLIPLAYER BORING I MEAN ALL THEY DI IS GO ON THE ROOFTOPS AND SNIPE U DNT GET THIS GAME WAIT FOR SHOOTERS WORTH RENTING AND KEEPING LIKE BATTLEFIELD 3 AND MODERNWARFARE 3 TO COME OUT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Truly, an amazing game for FPS gamers

posted by whyrusoevil (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is probobaly in the top five games ive ever played in my entire life. The controls really flow in the singleplayer, even though the cover system takes a while to get used to. The campaign is action packed, has those jaw dropping moments like the COD series, weapon design like BFBC2, and a touching story. What else is there in a FPS? I think the game is very similar to Battlefield Bad Company 2 other than the cover system, and also, the damage in singleplayer and multiplayer are similar to BFBC2. Although the life regenerates, the game is very realistic, even more so than the Battlefields. Multiplayer is very challenging untill you play for at least four hours straight, and the controls are different than in the campaign. But, through and through, its a great game and i reccamend it for anyone who liked Battlefield Bad Company, or the
CODs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent but flawed shooter

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Oct 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

32 out of 38 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Moving the "Medal of Honor" series out of World War II seems like a no-brainer. After all, the "Battlefield" series and COD have all moved to the modern day, even if they are fictional countries. The 2010 iteration of MoH moves to the current war in Afghanistan, and it makes a good setting for the game. Mission objectives vary, from fall on firefights to stealth sniping to calling in airstrikes. The voice acting is good, and the chatter from your fellow soldiers has an authentic ring to it. Controls are your standard FPS setup, and for the most part they run smoothly. Sadly, not everything in this game does. The framerate drops on occassion, making things difficult. Backgrounds blur and don't always come into clear view (a real problem with the sniper missions). Enemy AI is nonexistent, as they often run right into fire or they take cover but fall into a pattern in sticking their heads out. For the most part you don't have to worry about being flanked, but invisible walls don't always let you flank either. Your squadmates AI isn't much better. They will often get in your line of fire, or simply refuse to follow. This makes for some frustration, particularily towards the end of the game. The game's 10 missions, while varied, will only take about 6-8 hours to complete, with no real reason to go back through. For those who go online there is a multiplayer, but I won't comment on that as I only play the singleplayer campaign. I hear most are enjoying it though, if that's any help. But if you're a single-player like myself, this is a rental only. It's a decent shooter, but it lacks some real "wow" moments, and you never really develop a connection to the characters. Still, it's worth playing, and for PS3 owners the Limited Edition has "Medal of Honor:Frontline" on the disc, so you can indulge in some nostalgic WWII action. Worth playing for shooter fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game... But.

posted by Soliaire (CINCINNATI, OH) Jan 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Great game if your into single player like I am. Only problem I have found with the game is at times you can get stuck waiting for the next trigger(checkpoint) to go through, but it doesn't and you have to reload and try again. Happened to me multiple times on the last mission, great game but the bugs really should have been fixed before shipping it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MW2 with some BC2 mixed in...

posted by L0STSA1NT (BRENHAM, TX) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

33 out of 46 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that I have read all the online reviews of this game and I feel like I am taking crazy pills!!! What the heck is going on with all of the bashing of this game? It reminds me of Darksiders in the sense that reviewers bashed it for not being as good as other blockbuster titles even though it was a great game.

>>> Single Player = 9/10 <<<

I feel like MoH has a better singleplayer experience than I got from MW, WaW, MW2, and BC2. Those other games felt like the story was fluff to give people someting to do while the servers were down. With MoH I finished the last mission and actually found myself moved by what I had played through. There have only been a handful of games that made me feel any emotion at all not to mention sadness that was grounded in the reality of the events that have taken place during the war in the recent years.

The only issues I ran into were...
1- Getting ahead of the squad mates voice acting
2- Grapic slow down in extreme action
3- Do not move while the game is "SAVING" let it run through the save before you continue

I can easily look past those issues because of the quality of game that MoH delievers is worth it!

>>> Multiplayer = 9.5/10 <<<

I have played about 6 hours of multiplayer and I had to force myself to go to bed last night. This game plays like BC2 in a MW2 arena. The maps are smaller like MW2, but they have the open feel of BC2 maps. There is plenty of cover to be found, but you do not have 2-3 choke points where very one gets bottled up like in MW2. I do not miss getting killed by helis, tanks, over-powered perks, knife runners, and noob tubers. For me this game is the perfect blend of MW2 and BC2 that I hoped it would be!

The character customization is broken into 3 classes. You have to unlock all the upgrades for those 3 classes over time similar to BC2. You start out basic, but once you start unlocking stuff the true character of the game shines through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is not an Arcade Game kids.

posted by Delusional (FRANKFORT, NY) Oct 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

After reading a majority of reviews it seems like everyone is just a mindless MW2 or Halo player who likes to run around dual-wielding shotguns while jumping in the air doing 360's and shooting people.

Medal of Honor brings you in to a realistic war scenario. You won't be able to blindly charge around killing everyone, you need to use cover, smoke grenades, or alternate paths, or you will be mowed down. Run and gun is extremely effective, but ONLY if you know the map well enough to avoid the crossfire and get picked off.

The gameplay is not as fast paced as a halo/MW2 player is used to, you can't be Rambo. You need to plan your route and use cover wisely enough to flank or otherwise surprise your enemies, or wait patiently for them to be foolish enough to blindly charge forward.

The only thing that disappointed me is sniping is a 1 shot one kill with the 2nd rifle/scope, if hit in the chest or above. This lead to me sitting behind cover and racking up ~30 kills in about 5 minutes, as my enemies blindly charged the small corridor as if playing Halo. As aiming isn't too difficult and the controls are smooth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome but short

posted by bal0717 (LUSBY, MD) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game was awesome. The graphics and story lines were very very real. The one and only problem I had with this game is that is was to short. It's didn't take very long to beat but I would still recommend this game to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MOH Ps3

posted by Viper561 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pros:
The campaign is the key to this game. Very realistic surroundings and actions of the enemies and teammates. Controls are simple to learn especially if you've played Battlefield Bad Company 2. Weapons look amazing and sound effects make it seem your really in the war zone. Multiplayer is just like BFBC 2 so nothing new there. The addition of Tier 1 mode is interesting which forces you to think and act quick. Trophies/achievemens are pretty easy to obtain.

Cons:
The online still doesn't compete with action shooter games like Call of Duty or Halo as far as fan favorites concern. The ending of the game seems anti-climactic like the other previous medal of honor, not to mention the game can be finished in 4 to 5 hrs tops. No co-op mode again was a questionable choice since your always almost with a group or pairs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Why the crummy rating?

posted by Cable79 (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent shooter in story mode. Graphics and gameplay are top notch... there are a few clitches where you have to figure out where to walk to get to the next checkpoint but other than that its a fantastic shooter. I actually like it a lot better than Black Ops although I've yet to play online multiplayer. Definitely worth renting if you're a fan of FPS's. Really confused as to why this was given a 7 by the game critics....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MW2's Mature Brother

posted by Jonas104 (SANTA ANA, CA) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I'm going to skip the single player because in my opinion it was up to par with the other games out there and nothing new to report. It felt like a Medal of Honor game, and I'm glad that's what they stuck with.

First and foremost, forget what all the big reviewer companies have been saying, they seem to all be in an extremely biased brain wash of requiring the game to be like MW2.

Multiplayer is MOH's version of multiplayer, and it's great. It gets rid of all the annoying perks and useless chaos of MW2. It's a clean refreshing feel to a modern warfare game. The presentation has crisp graphics that lead to less distracting fire fights. Even though there is as much firing and grenades being tossed as MW2, it's not as overwhelming.

Another key thing is the simplicity of the maps, they are NOT boring. They get back to the core of multiplayer games instead of confusing the player with too many options and decisions.

I can see myself easily playing this game in an addictive manner for a while. I am currently unemployed so if you need a good teammate, my PS3 ID is Jonas104.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great

posted by hunter86 (MACOMB, IL) May 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

One of the better Modren War games I've played loved the ending, how they creaters remembered to thank the soilders. and remember that this was real live for a few.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wayyyy better than Black Ops !!

posted by DrewBrit (MIAMI, FL) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

How anyone could rate Black Ops above this game is frankly beyond me...This has better, more current and realistic storyline, way better sound...better graphics , oh and better weapons...nuff said...!! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

poor multiplayer

posted by mrman1234 (LITTLE FALLS, NJ) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

13 out of 22 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

single campaign might be ok, but if you are looking for online then DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.

3 reasons why;

1, character customizing sucks, you basically get three guns in each of the 3 classes and the choices for the ammo perk are pointless/ lame. The barrel selection is also fairly boring and none of the sights are anything special. Past this, you can't do anything with your character, hence, no reason to want to level up.

2, killstreaks "support actions", The idea behind defense ones is nice, but it doesn't make the game much more enjoyable. Giving teammates flak jackets and extra ammo do not matter much since people die so fast no matter what. All the offense "support actions" are basically the same, you pull out goggles and aim an air strike, this gets boring. '

3. Maps, you only get like 4 maps for team assault and they all look very similar and are structure very similar (small with choke points where all dying happens). The maps biggest problem is that due to there small size and spawning system, spawn camping is going to be very prevelant, very soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Medal of Honor Multiplayer is Garbage

posted by SUKMYTURBA (VAN NUYS, CA) Oct 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

19 out of 33 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

It seems that the people praising this game haven't the slightest idea of what quality means now days. I think the COD sheeple have been thoroughly brainwashed. If you're idea of competitive gaming is "find a spot to hide and snipe" for hours at a time, then you've found your niche with MOH.
This game runs as smooth as sandpaper, the game is plagued with snipers EVERWHERE, the party system and communication was designed overnight by a chimp, and the people who play it don't care one iota about any kind of objective. All they care about is their kill to death ratio period. Teamwork doesn't exist and isn't required in this game.

Theres only a handful of guns in this game, and I mean that literally. Almost every map feels exactly the same, only somebody rearranged the buildings to give it a different feel. Recoil doesn't exist in this game so anybody with thumbs can achieve a well placed snipe shot, and trust me they do.

On every level, the multiplayer experience with MOH is as refreshing as taking a bath in stagnant sewer sludge. No way no how should this game get a 8.1 rating. This game should be rated L for lame...Booooooooooo....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Surreal shooter

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 14, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Simply impressive, this surreal shooter bring a sense of realism, but still holds a tight grasp of team initiative combat scenarios. Numerous of reviews do not hold very true information. Control scheme runs a lot like Modern warfare--having prone-able/lieing down stances. However, unlike modern warfare, the game has more -realistic- warfare interactions. My favorite is the new covering system -- You are able to peek around the corners to get a glance of the surroundings to estimate what lies ahead. You can also, run and slide to cover -- Awesome.

You assume as the operative, alias:Rabbit -- A part of the Elite co-vert operations, known as the top-class, Tier 1 squad.
Rabbit is currently operating in, Present-time, Afghan. Eliminating any collative leader, that poses a threat, by any means necessary: is the goal.

Pristine graphics, and a impressive surreal game interactions -- DICE and EA have made Medal of Honor, beautifully. There isn't any cliché perks, that made Modern Warfare unrealistic. Instead you can outfit your guns the way you would in a real war-zone... Adjusting the Sights of the gun; Adjustable muzzle(barrel) of the gun; Adjustable magazine(clip) of the gun -- All customizations which give the Gun difference in performance, while in a specific battle...

24 player - multiplayer with 5 modes of gameplay. sadly, no deathmatch... :(

A brilliant story line

Grade A tactical shooter...

This game has the best aspects of Modern Warfare and Battlefield tied into Medal of Honor. If you love tactical shooters, get a kick out of out smarting the competition, or if you just like shooting stuff...

This game is definitely a rent and purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Crazy!!!

posted by grimreapr2 (AUGUSTA, KS) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

As soon as I saw the trailer for this game, I was amazed. I thought that it was the most realistic FPS game I'd seen. Yes, it is a lot like Call of Duty and Battlefield mixed together. The multiplayer is done by DICE and the Campaign is done by EA. Two completely different experiences. Campaign is a bit short but worth playing a few times. Multiplayer is the star of this game. To start, I'd say I've put in about 20 hours in already. It's very addicting and always will be. But like every multiplayer game, it gets old and boring. This game has a lot of potential and will continue to be played for years to come. The sound is amazing, the graphics are very realistic, and the EA server actually fixes flaws in the multiplayer on a daily basis. I'd recommend this game to anyone who likes battlefield or any modern warfare shooter. I immediately bought this game and haven't taken it out of my PS3 yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but Short

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2005

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Ok game, fun to play, but the story mode is too short. Graphics are good, sometimes glichy. Online play lacks features. Worth a rent if you dont have anything else in your Q. Would NOT purchase. Plain and simple "Fun but Short".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game.

posted by andrepadua (IRVINE, CA) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The storyline was good which concentrated in Afghanistan ...somehow like Modern Warfare..hte game is generally good but considering the hype presented before te release, I was really expecting more than that. Now I am looking forward to play the BLACK OPS..most probably the makers of the Modern Warfare will see what is lacking on tis game and will surely be given in their game. Nevertheless...the game is a must play as well. TIER 1 Mode is nice and exciting..the Main campaign mode is quite short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

MOH...meh

posted by williemcge (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Reviewing multiplayer, b/c that is what most people care about with these FPS games.

Short Recommendation: just wait for the new COD.

Graphics are pretty horrible, even on the ps3 with hdmi. we're talking ps2/ogxbox type graphics. we're talking soldier of fortune 2 type graphics. if you move at all, you can't see anything and the other players are practically invisible unless they are right in front of you. And if they were going to skimp on the graphics quality, they could have at least made the gameplay/moving around smoother. you will get stuck in weird spots when moving, usually resulting in your death.

Not realistic bullet damage. too many snipers covering the spawns. can't go prone. limited weapons and customization. limited maps (quantity and quality).

overall just kinda boring and frustrating MP. I'll give the game a tentative 5 as it can be somewhat entertaining since it is a FPS, but if i was buying something, i'd wait for the next COD b/c even MW2 was/is a better MP experience than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Medal of Honor

posted by Jawsfan (CLERMONT, FL) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

My initial review is based on the single player only as I can't access the multiplayer content without purchasing the code! EA have certainlly dropped a clanger in doing this, if I can't access the online game to try before I buy then this single player game will have to do until Black Ops comes out. The single player has fair graphics, chunky in places but poor cutscenes. This is a Modern Warfare wannabe, but poorly executed. AI seems to take 2 hits to kill. This is a rental only for sure due to the EA code fiasco. Hopefully other developers will stay away from this code option as it will certainly hurt the sales of games. What could have been a buy for me is now just an adequate rental......roll on Black Ops!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't bother

posted by treeski (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

13 out of 25 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

-The spawn system is not good at all. Basically, each map has two main spawn points that teams will spawn at pretty much all the time (they can spawn at other places, but this usually only happens after extensive spawn killing has taken place - and I mean EXTENSIVE). Because of this, it is not uncommon to spawn and immediately have artillery dropped on you, or have a guy already shooting an LMG at the spawn, killing you instantly. Also, if you are on a bad team, there is a good chance that the enemy will be waiting right outside of your spawn point for another instant death.

-SNIPERS, SNIPERS, and MORE SNIPERS. Seriously, every other person runs the Sniper kit on this game. The default sniper setup has "Battle Rifles" with Red Dot Sights, and these guns are basically semi-automatic assault rifles that kill in one shot if they hit you in the right spot. This is not a good combo, considering that they can aim down their sight directly at your spawn and wait for you to round the corner.

-Very clunky movement. This game does not have a smooth flow like Call of Duty and Halo games have, and even seems to be clunkier than Battlefield. It seems that I always have a problem with running into random objects, getting stuck on the sides of stairs, rocks, etc. Also, you can't smoothly strafe. What I mean by this is that the strafe controls don't seem to be pressure sensitive. Your character seems to move in blocks, so if you want to move two inches to the right, chances are he'll leap a foot instead. It's also not uncommon to be shooting a target on the move and watch him skip up and down over objects (I don't know a better word than "skip" but it basically looks like MW2 lag, except vertical instead of horizontal).

-There is so much more that is bad about this game that I couldn't fit half of everything in here. Don't bother with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse