Rent Medal of Honor Warfighter for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Medal of Honor Warfighter

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.4

3110 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely worth a play, try it!

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

26 out of 34 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

With how the first Medal of Honor revemp flopped, it is easy to see how some would avoid this game, but they are wrong. This is what the other MoH should have been. Ignore the fanboys who are always going to compare this game to CoD or BF3, because this game is not either of those.
So let's get to it:

The Good:
- The graphics and the sounds are both amazing on the Frostbite 2 engine
- Multiplayer is much better thought out than it was in the other one
- Good campaign missions
- Amazing gun customization possibilities in multiplayer

The Meh:
- The campaign was good, but it was very short (surprise surprise)
- Every once in a while it would glitch out, never freezing, but other things, like sound disappearing for a few seconds

The Bad:
- The menu setup and class customization menus are horrible for the multiplayer part

And it is an EA game, so be ready for the online pass. But that doesn't make the count for this game, because let's be honest, it's EA and we should be used to it by now. Can't complain about what you already know is coming.

Long Story Short:
It is a very good game. Does it beat BF3 or CoD? No. Is it worth playing? Absolutely. Don't listen to the fanboys and don't hate the game because of the online pass, at least give it a chance and you'll be pleased.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great game but renter beware.

posted by Broncosdude94 (HOLTSVILLE, NY) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

26 out of 35 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I bought this game but I'd like to let all the renters out there to know this.
This game is a really good.
Single player is a great experience but its only 4 1/2 hours long.
Multiplayer is very good, but you need an online pass to play(like every ea game)

It's a great game, but unless you plan on buying the online pass to play multiplayer I'm not sure if its worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Why did you change?

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Oct 27, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

18 out of 25 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

First, let me say, this is a great rent. Great way to kill an afternoon(yes the campaign is that short, maybe 5 hours). Great story, graphics, especially the fmv, are stunning. I found the gamma way too dark, jack it up some. The controls are not broken, unfortunately the ai is. The first 3/4 of the game the ai could be downright stupid at times. The last 2 missions the ai seems to get it's act together though. That all being said, I am very disappointed though....

The previous game, was far superior to this iteration. Warfighter has nothing that made the previous game so great. They hyped it as being a true representation of the tier 1 operators, and they made you feel like a total killing machine. Warfighter unfortunately does not. It a a mediocre shooter with a cool story. They really dropped the ball. If they had continued where MoH left off and made some small improvements, Warfighter could have been A GotY contender.

I think what they did was put too much emphasis on the multiplayer. It's a shame, I waited for 2 years for this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

REALLY GREAT GAME!!!

posted by BuFfAlO18141990 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

You want a game that is shoot them up? This game is good for that. The new feature, peek and lean, helps out greatly when you are in a sticky situation. Unlocking different breach options is cool! This games was beaten in 4 hrs. The only thing is that it needed to be longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A solid FPS

posted by trueblue72 (HORN LAKE, MS) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I will keep this short its much better than the 2010 installment. i did not find any problems with the singleplayer as far a bugs or glitches and for the people who cant get pass the sniping part early in the game it game is like bf3 and uses bullet drop so you have to aim a bit above their head for it to count. the story was better than any cod game to date and better than bf3s.there is a online pass so beware if you are renting for multiplayer i had a option for a 2 day trial i have yet to use.all and all a very good singleplayer game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

EA and Danger Close should be ashamed...

posted by cyberevolution (BELMONT, CA) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I rarely write reviews, but felt compelled to write one for this game. The game itself is average at best, but the thing that really makes it terrible is that it's super buggy. Where do I even start - between getting actually "stuck" with no way to progress unless you restart from the savepoint, to enemies just spawning out of thin air right in front of you or guns floating in mid-air after you've shot someone, this game is just untested.
The last MOH was bad and this one is even worse. They should just stop this franchise altogether and save everyone time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What happened to this franchise?

posted by jgarbuz (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I don't know what happened to MOH!?
One of my favorite military shooters of all times was MOH Airborne, a game which I own, and that also takes a mere few hours to play through, but is so immensely replayable that I have replayed it literally almost 100 times. For me it's just that good. Unfortunately, I really haven't enjoyed an MOH title since, and this one is no exception. I am disappointed. This one is just another uninspiring shooter, and nothing more than that. A rental at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

focused on the realism

posted by isuzuman (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Dec 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

so i have always been more on the side of the call of duty franchise because its so simple to just pick up and play. the MOH games and the Battlefield games tend to focus more on the realism of the game which at times makes it not as fun to play. MOH always has a great story during the game play you feel for the characters where you have to know what happens and if it doesn't go their way then you feel sad for them or vise versa. so i didn't rate this game as high as some might argue but it did have a very good story line and i think that if they can patch a few of the broken things in the game then it would be much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad military shooter

posted by EAGLESWhit (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It's sad when a military shooter's best feature was it's spy car mission. The storyline is almost absent as it is so difficult to understand. There are too many breaching of doors and the graphics dip in multiplayer even with the HD graphics upgrade download.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A couple things that set it apart...

posted by tactsims (BASTIAN, VA) Oct 25, 2012

Member since May 2006

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

1: White knuckle, meat and potatoes gameplay that sets it apart from the more polished and over the top shooters like COD (which is the cotton candy of shooters).

2(and the biggest reason for 1): They brought back the fluid lean/peek from Airborne! It was a revelation then and I missed it dearly since. I wish every FPS would take this and run with it. Better than any wall-sticking cover system (in 3rd or 1st person). LOVE IT! Perfect! It's how a lean/peek should be done. You throw it together with the toggling of your sights/optics and your rate of fire and every piece of cover can become an intense mini-game unto itself (with a little practice). I fear most who play this will never mess with it enough to see it as anything special. It is.

I'm giving it a 9 (and not a 10) because it's a little buggy, I don't care for regen health (especially in a game trying so hard to be realistic in other ways), the same for the infinite ammo on secondary weapons and friendly AI can be a pain. I still think what this game does right is so special that I can't go lower than a 9 despite its flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ugh why do I bother..

posted by DragoonGamer (CONNELLSVILLE, PA) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

Well Here we go again with Medal Of honor...And sorry to say its nothing but a polished off copy of Battlefield 3 Yet the main differnce is well no vehicles to Jump in and fight over yet everything else is kinda the same. Plus Big surprise From EA yet again with an online pass yet its not really worth Buying with Much MUCH better games comming around the line in not even a few weeks.

The only reason I gave it a 6 outa 10 well the single player was at least better then Battlefield and keeps you guessing with a bit more gritty feel of what Our Boys go through over there and what we don't hear about all the time. All in all its OK at best. If your looking for a good shooter well try it out yeah but its not gonna last long let alone be in your Q by the time the others come back out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing Special

posted by DWigs (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I could hardly even finish it. By the third mission I could see that this was just your typical 1st person shooter. Run through this building, kill all the terrorists, breach a door, and a slow motion explosion. There you go, that's the whole thing in one sentence. Only fun part was a driving level in the beginning the rest was painfully boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

M O H War Fighter

posted by shasta (EASTLAKE, OH) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just a bad game. Everything works fine, just not fun. Can't figure where to go when chasing things. You would think they would incorporate a time limit, if you don't get it after 20 tries, maybe a little help, but no. Game is not even worth renting.Take my word, if you enjoy first person shooters, you play this for about an hour and send it back. Not haphpy at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ugh.....

posted by whatisthis (KALAMAZOO, MI) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hit detection in this game SUCKS! First part with the sniper, shooting right/left of target gets a headshot but a headshot gets you jack(?)! It makes no sense at all. Screw this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

MH Warfighter

posted by maxfurian (MONTEVALLO, AL) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

graphics bad. too dark couldnt see the enemies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Came up Short.... AGAIN

posted by StoryMode (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I know. For a reviewer called StoryMode, maybe I shouldn't have picked this up. But I do enjoy FPS games. I still play BF3 regularly. CoD... ugh once in a while.

But Medal of Honor just did not arrive to the party. The campaign mode falls into the same genre as battlefield. It's over dramatic, I don't feel compelled or attached to the characters. It just falls short.

If you buy this game it's for the multiplayer which also is a disappointment. The game looks really great. It has a similar graphic style as battlefield, but without the same team based gameplay and that is its downfall. I set up a class and try to capture an objective with a team only to feel a disconnect. It just seems like everyone is running aimlessly around with no real purpose.

It's really too bad for Medal of Honor fans. FPS players have this period of downtime before Black ops II and Halo 4 hit the street. Warfighter had a chance to capture all those players with this early release, but they did not make a good game and will not gain many followers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dissapointed

posted by diegoliath (LONG ISLAND CITY, NY) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wanted this game to be good but its not. I would give it a rent but get ready to ship it back a day later as there's nothing new here. It's just plain boring. I don't see anyone playing this with Halo 4 / Blackops coming out in about a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It was enjoyable, but still not that good....

posted by themerc (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I actually enjoyed this game, worth a rent, not buy.

Pros:
New double zoom game mechanic, w/ new easy controls.
Headshot indicators, became a little addicting to see it pop-up.
New door breach game mechanics, again a little addicting to get h.s.'s to unlock cooler breaches.
DRIVING LEVELS, these were awesome, probably the best driving lvls I've played, driving feels real, the lvls are epic (driving through a sandstorm), actual usable car mirrors, really fun scenarios (stealth driving lvl).
New game mechanic of getting ammo from allies
More fun good lvls than bad.
Story is bland, and not rlly convincing, but still gives you a good enough idea of what everyone goes through, ending was sad.
Easy campaign achievements
Not a lot of ridiculous cod explosions
Graphics look rlly nice

Cons
Typical mw shooter, move to icon, linear lvls., short ~7hr campaign
Copy paste slo-mo door breaches
Typical mw story, kill some terrorist, etc
AI isn't too good all around
When you pick up an enemy gun and switch to pistol you drop the gun.
The later lvls I found to have poor lvl design
One of the worst parts of mw shooters is the invisible trigger line, once crossed enemies stop spawning, this game is terribly guilty of that.
Bad scripted events, walk to this point to trigger scene, kill these guys and run past invisible to line for guy your chasing to keep running.
Instead of chasing a guy, you can just shoot him in the leg and be done.
Poor non-scope aiming, apparently zooming also makes your bullets go straighter.
No customization in mp, also typical unbalanced no skill involved mw mp (watched gameplay).
Lvl destruction with the Frostbite engine could've been Alot better.
Small glitches of sorts, guns floating, enemies floating, etc.

Mp, if I purchased this game, I'd REALLY angry, in order to play the mp you have to sign up for origin to play it, I wont attach my gamertag to that malware service and never be able to get it off. Pnts deducted cause of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Makes You Believe

posted by Natedawg007 (REDINGTON SHORES, FL) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I admit I rented MoH Warfighter on a whim. I began playing the single player, not knowing what to expect. It was my first MoH game. After completing the campaign (yes it was very short), I felt uplifted. The story sucks you right in. I'm glad in some ways they basically make you watch the cut scenes. The game mechanics and graphics overall I would give a 7. However, the story bumps it up to a 9 for me realistically. I won't give too much away about it, but its one you can believe in since it happens in real life. It's honestly the best single player I think I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Medal of Really Bad Game

posted by Dealersong (MANSFIELD, PA) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Way too many glitches. Can't even advance through single player campaign past 2nd/3rd level. Game sucked! I see many have had same issues. Wish I would have known before putting it in GameQ

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Doesn't set itself apart...

posted by Gamble101 (STEWARTSTOWN, PA) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I am a huge FPS fan. I've played just about every CoD, Battlefield and MoH game ever released. I was a fan of the last MoH (single player that is) and couldn't wait for this release.

I wasn't impressed in the first few missions, but then again, that's usually when a gamer is given the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the game play mechanics. However, by the 4th & 5th missions, nothing had changed. A few rail sequences were sprinkled in, but the physics used in those scenarios are laughable at best.

I read that the campaign was short, so I wanted to push through hoping it would get better. But I honestly wasn't able to finish. I became extremely bored with not only the story line, but the poor enemy AI as well. It's the run-of-the-mill type of game play. The enemies just hide behind cover, peek out, take shots, duck back in and repeat.

The lean-out mechanic is actually a huge plus in this game however. I have missed this ability since I stopped playing computer based shooters. It is something I hope will catch on in future shooters on consoles.

I am not able to comment on the multiplayer experience since this is an EA game and requires an online pass. This does not affect my rating of the game, however. I understand the business aspect of EA's choice and knew it would be required before I even put the game in my queue.

All-in-all this game is lackluster and doesn't do anything to set itself apart from it's competition. I bought the last MoH from GameFly, but I will be sending this one back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A short, fun ride

posted by Markus1142 (SOMERVILLE, NJ) Nov 7, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Medal of Honor: Warfighter delivers a campaign that, while only a few hours long, is incredibly fun to play through, while also being based largely on real-life scenarios.

In addition to several globe-spanning missions such as hostage rescues or shutting down a terrorist training camp, Warfighter adds two driving missions to the mix. They seem out of place and don't flow well with the FPS portions of the game, although the idea of a mission where you need to evade pursuit instead of shooting your way out was well intentioned.

The multiplayer offers several interesting nuancs, like varying abilities and killstreak rewards for the different countries / classes you can play as. Unfortunately, the maps feel small, and often devolve into frantic, close-range shootouts that overshadow the tactical play that two-man fireteams should have offered.

Call of Duty fans may find more joy in the multiplayer (which requires an online pass to access,) however the campaign is fantastic, and despite its short length and awkward driving missions, is well worth playing through at least once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

multiplayer action = horrible

posted by SupaGreenAbo (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you're like me and grab games for multiplayer action like COD or BF then don't touch this. It takes 6-10 bullets to kill someone, hardcore mode is weak, and the graphics are comparable to PS2. I put down the controller after 3 hours of playing online and won't play this game again.

Danger Close go back to the drawing board, your game is weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Single player!

posted by hkymike (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Oct 27, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The online aspect is not great but the single player is AMAZING! The single player presentation and graphics are AMAZING! That said I enjoy this game very much and it is a definitely rent!

The single player story line so far is really entertaining and offers a lot of fun. I don't really play online much with this game because I rather play Battlefield online then this game. Not feeling the online aspect much.

With that said this is a great single player game where you can't go wrong with. Play through the single player first before approaching online because you might feel differently about this game then what you should.

I give this game a solid 9 out of 10 for the amazing single player. The online could have been better but maybe it's just not for me that's all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

shocked at how bad this game was.

posted by R3C0NXD45 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Oct 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I really had high hopes for this game and really, really wanted to like it. I think the aim/lean style was pretty cool and certainly a bit more interesting that GRFS' gears of war 3 style cover and peak shooting mechanics.

That being said the graphics are super dated, the AI is weak, the hit recognition sucks for you (all the AI are "great" (thanks a lot parental censors) snipers, well enemy AI anyways), and worst of all are the design decisions. Their nausea inducing battle bot with the 7.62 machine gun and 40mm grenade launcher was the worst. Not only does it make you sick but there was just a teeny tiny little track through a demolished building that you could actually travel on. Don't put me in a death machine that can't climb over a little rubble because you want me on rails. Let me get out there and wreck some stuff.

At any rate this shooter is weak and not that great. This review is purely based on the short single player campaign as after playing that there was NO WAY that I was going to PAY for a multiplayer pass. Rent this one at the very most and really only if you are a HUGE BF/MOH fan. It's not that great even for that.

I'll be honest, and oddly enough, probably get blasted for it, but I am a HUGE COD fan. I love BF, don't get me wrong, and I'm not a huge fan of the camp style MOH mp, so I'm not anti-BF/MOH or anything but take this into account when reading this review. I guess I'll wait till 11/13 for the real deal haha.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse