Rent Medal of Honor: Vanguard for Wii
view large frontback

Medal of Honor: Vanguard

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.3

1029 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The game kicks!

posted by Unaboomer (STANCHFIELD, MN) Apr 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

By far the best FPS on the Wii(until Metroid maybe). The story is great, and the action is intense. There's not as much weapons as say Far Cry, or have sword fights like Red Steel, but it does have things the others don't. For one, you parachute a few times in the game, and you control yourself with the wii remote and nunchuck, very hard at first and it takes awhile to get used to. Then there's weapon upgrades, like a 50 round barrel clip for the Thompson, instead of the normal 20 or 30 round clip.

And it's the best FPS multiplayer also. CoD3 didn't even have one, Far Cry only can have two players and only two modes. While Red Steel can have four players, It only has four levels to play on, and all the skins you can pick from are all bright and easy to spot, making the challenge of finding your opponent nonexistent(espiecally for the screen watchers out there). Medal of Honor: Vanguard on the other hand, can have four players, has multiple game modes, and a great selection of levels.

So if you want a good FPS game, get MoH:V. If you want a game with an interesting story, get MoH:V. And if you want the best FPS multiplayer for the Wii, definitely get MoH:V.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

We're getting there.

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 30, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

26 out of 28 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game has shown one step closer to a better handling FPS. The controls this game are good, but are still pretty sloppy. It's an improvement from CoD3, and with the much needed multiplayer mode.

When compared to CoD3, this game is all around better. The controls work easier, and the camera is steady. The only problem I have had with the controls is doing the wrong thing, when you meant to do another. This is still pretty sloppy, and it makes the game play pretty difficult. After you master the fine movements, this game is pretty solid. The visuals are pretty decent, the sound quality is the standard war time explosions. Overall though, this game is pretty brief, I managed to finish it in two days, and I didn't spend all day playing it.

The multiplayer is the biggest, and probably the best shooter multiplayer for the Wii so far. There are many different modes you can play under allowing a much needed added replay value.

This game is a step in the right direction. The controls are slightly better than Call of Duty, but its still pretty sloppy and easy to do the wrong thing. And when you're in a fast paced game, it could be life or death. It's worth a rent, and it may be your type of game.

7.0/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than Call of Duty 3

posted by DaMoose (MIDLAND, TX) Apr 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Unlike CoD3, when you die in this game, you actually WANT to continue and try again. This game features a good story, great voice acting, great graphics and the controls are well done. There are some occasional times when you want to reload, you end up doing a couple of 180's, but thats about the only flaw I have discovered. Enemies are smart, allied AI is intelligent and, unlike CoD3's patented "Squad-Based" shooter, this game makes YOU the ultimate player. You are the one in charge. Yes, you allies help, but a FPS isnt really a FPS unless you are the main guy whoopin and stompin every baddie that floats your way. Overall: Excellent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ignore Critic Reviews

posted by volcomjerk (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Most of the critics are too... critical? This game is absolutely fun. It's not the best overall WWII game but it's not to be missed at all.

Pros:

- Best FPS on the Wii to date
- Controls are very fun
- Excellent graphics
- Iron sight is simply amazing and feels right
- Ability to somewhat customize gestures, controls, and turn rate
- Multi-player split screen
- Teammates are pretty verbally helpful (tell you to take cover, where fire is coming from etc.)

Cons:

- No online
- Some areas can be too dark
- enemy AI isn't the smartest
- Controls can feel a bit loose but you adjust
- The gestures tend to get in the way, i turn them off
- Some buttons could have been mapped better

Bottom line:
I am really glad I ignored the reviews and played the game anyway. It's brought back faith in what was my idle Wii for the past month.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than expected

posted by nintenfrek (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I think MoH games are ok, but this is my favorite one of them all. it is really similar to call of duty 3 for the wii,except that theres multiplayer for it including free battle, capture the flag, scavenger hunt, and king of the hill.

cons: alot like call of duty 3, besides snipers most guns are really bad at long range shots, and kind of a dark screen when not in iron sights.

pros: pretty good graphics(not that i really care), fun multiplayer, not really really long levels, good voice acting, and if you start at the first level its pretty easy to get the hang of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Much of Things already done

posted by RKDynamic (PLANO, IL) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to the Wii addition to the MoH series. I had it sent to me by Gamefly almost as soon as it was available, and I was extremely excited. When I got it, I popped it in, and I was very disappointed in what I found.

The first thing I noticed was how poor the controls responded. Maybe I twitch too much or something, but I often found myself standing up when I wanted to remain crouched or lying down. And attempts at reloading my weapon yielded about a 25% success rate... the other 3/4 of the time I "accidentally" executed the "180 degree turn" gesture, I guess, because I spun around rather than reloading the weapon.

That aside, I didn't personally care for aiming & rotating my view with the wii-mote pointer. Adjusting my view felt slow & clunky, and I often found myself staring up at the sky (easily corrected by pressing the D-pad in the down direction... get used to that). Firing accuracy was horrible, and that detracted from the game.

Lastly, I really didn't get into the story here. Maybe it was me, or maybe I've played too many other WWII first person shooters, but it was an easy decision to return this game as quickly as I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

makes me feel like i went back in time

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ok the good the wii controls what holds up the game everything else is like its a game from the ps1. the graphics are very weak this is 2007 not 1997. dont see how the rest of you saying no big deal. the players looked washed out, and the enemy side is even worse. they die so fake. kind of looks like paste on men. if this is the best the wii can do with other titles. the wii remote is amazing. but they have a lot of work ahead in the graphics. at best this is a rent game for one weekend. i was hoping for a great game. i got a ps1 game with wii controlls. not enough to hold up the game. score 5. take off the wii controlls a score of 2. thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

About Face. Retreat.

posted by TimberWolf (SOUTH LYON, MI) Apr 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It's official. The WW2 franchise is dead, and Vanguard is the flag on the coffin.

Let's start with the most noticeable problem here: the graphics are in-your-face ugly. This game would have been barely acceptable as a PS2 launch title. Textures are bland and washed-out. Environments are muddy and empty. Jagged edges are more plentiful than German bullets and special effects are nearly absent. More often than not you'll have to wait for enemies to shoot at you first so you can spot them by their muzzle flash because it's impossible to discern one blob of indiscernible pixels from the next.

The controls barely work; quickly turning and getting the cursor where you need it to go requires mastering the game's monumental learning curve. Massive tweaking of the game's controls will earn better results, but only just barely. The motion-sensitive commands are also busted, since i often found myself crouching when i wanted to reload, jumping when i wanted to do a 180 turn, and other various frustrations.

Laughable AI is also rampant. Enemies prefer to sit down in one spot and occasionally pop out to send a few rounds your way until you manage to pick them off. A delay between your bullets hitting them and when they actually react makes for embarrassingly unrealistic combat. Bang! 1...2...3... ouch!

Maybe the biggest disappointment here is that the presentation is painfully derivative and cliched. If you've EVER played a WW2 game or watched a WW2 movie before, prepare to be bored to tears. How many times must we see the same bright-eyed country boys, hard-skinned sergeants, and gruff-but-caring generals? Originality has been scalped by a German sniper round, and the gaming community as a whole suffers.

Gameplay mechanics are also ripped and torn from other popular shooters like Call of Duty, but aren't faithfully executed in any competent fashion.

A once-great series has found itself at the bottom of the bargain bin. Let's try to remember that it's 2007, not 1999.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better then call of duty 3

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

so much better then call of duty 3 (wii)
it has far more better movments the swinging you arm out to do a melee is terrific trowing frags is good to on call of duty 3 trowing the frag was hard to do I whould allways blow myself up another thing is you hold the "A" button then shift with the control stick left right etc... call of duty you had to rotate you arm and that was hard to do I felt like I had to get handcuffs of my arms medal of honor has allways made good game's that's why I am giving it a 9 it whould have got a ten if there wernt bugs and the grafix was'nt blah

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A MUST BUY GAME WITH AWESOME MISSIONS AND GUNS

posted by coddude57 (FARMINGTON, MN) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I got this game a couple of months ago. It is a little short, but I am known to beat games quickly, I just got COD 4 Modern Warfare and love that one too (its fron infinity ward and activision, not EA though) if youre one of those people who dont like crazy bloody games or a kid who cant play M rated games you should try this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

perfect

posted by sportsoldier99 (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I liked this game a whole lot is was a great game for two players and also a great game for when your bored so i would definitally recomend this game for anyone who likes war games from ww2. but i have to give this game nine stars because its your using a wii controller so its sometimes hard to shoot someone and that can be frustuarting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game did not work for me

posted by coolstick1 (FARMINGDALE, NY) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

when i put this game in to my wii it didnt even work!!!!!!!!! i tried every thing!!!!!!!!! i say that thins game probaly sucks!!!!!!!! it was a waste of my time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sluggish controls and horrible graphics

posted by octopon (SAN MARCOS, CA) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

Look, I know it's the Wii, and the Wii isn't known for it's horsepower in terms of graphics, but honestly....this thing looked like a launch title for the original xbox.

The real problem with this game is the use of motion controls to try and play this thing. There is about 15 frame delay (in terms of video speed, not game speed) from when I move the Wii remote to when it actually moves on screen. This makes for an unplayable game. Plus, the controller doesn't always point where it is supposed to. Sometimes it would just point up to the sky. I checked the calibration and made sure the sensor bar was in full view of the Wii remote, but still it was like trying to move through molasses. I was so frustrated and disappointed that I couldn't even play through the first mission.

I have to say, with a few exceptions, I'm used to EA putting out sub-standard games, so I shouldn't be surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Controlls are annoying

posted by Pmbumfoi1 (VANCOUVER, WA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

The control function of the game is annoying. All I can say is sometimes you have a red, or locked target, and you do not hit your enemy. Also the slightest movement of your controller sends your aim all over the place. It made the playing unfun. Besides that it is a good storyline and enjoyable if you want a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Medal Of Honor Vanguard

posted by dragonswar (RIO RANCHO, NM) May 5, 2009

Member since May 2009

this game was ok but it was too short the other games in the series were about 10 levels long this was 4 levels long the other side though is that it had fairly good graphics and was firly decent with keeping the controls simple and to the point

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome

posted by zack21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

this game is a great game. very fun. it could use some better controls, though.... but this game just never gets old....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by netties (FESSENDEN, ND) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

My husband played this game everyday he likes shooting games and this was a excellent game I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad Controlling Issues!!!!

posted by LinuxWiz83 (HOLDER, FL) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This could be a good game but it seems that you get stuck on one viewing position all to often in which seems to get u killed or have to wait in a safe zone in tell u get it to move the right way. I am not a big time gamer bc i just started getting in to the game systems again but i am good what many considered a computer geek.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is awsome great graphics it's real nice.

posted by creator (KILLEEN, TX) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game is awesome! It has real environments, guns, and people. This game is way better than other WW2 games. So don't listen to people who gave it a 5, they don't know what their talking about! Why don't they get a life and stop being so mean!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game but need imprvd graphics & more level

posted by GtrGmr (AURORA, CO) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

The game was fun and pretty realistic but when in a tunnel or a darkened area thr screen would become black so it was easy to get turned around. I liked the challenge of each level, but feel that there should be more levels to the game. Also don't like the fact that when you reach a checkpoint and you either die or choose to end the game, you are not taken back to the last checkpoint. Otherwise, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

VERY REALISTIC!!!

posted by mememememe (KINGSBURG, CA) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Ok so i see this game and think "o its going to be another MOH game but i was proved wrong. The guns are very realistic, they name the mission's, great graphics and FINALLY they have a paratrooper game! I love the idea! but what if you added tanks? =D-that would be really cool! And if you want realistic check out the MOH World At War game coming out cant wait to get my hands on that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better than the all of medal of honors

posted by Matter (SANTA ROSA, CA) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This game was hard for me in the begging because i thought that aiming the remote at the person was hard but when you completed operation husky i got used to the controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Aug 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

OK. I don't usually like war games, but this one was great! The thing is it only has 4 levels so it isn't worth it to buy it. Rent it or don't get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoy it!

posted by gaiazelda (Kent, OH) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

It took me a while to get the hang of it. I just got my Wii recently and quite a different experience than other systems! As for the storyline; I like it! Crisp picture! This game is good for WWII gamers. I'm looking forward to the next one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Truly shocked by the not so excellent reviews

posted by Jakentink (OSKALOOSA, IA) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

My husband LOVES this game, unfortunately he's a busy guy and doesn't get much time to play it, especially since I wont let him play it when our kids are present. Although I don't typically play this kind of game, because I always die, its a lot of fun to watch, and he has a blast. Hes a pretty good shot, makes some pretty gutsy moves on this, and maybe b/c he plays a lot of war games he rarely dies. We rented this first, and I got it for him, and he was pretty happy about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse