Rent Medal of Honor: Vanguard for PS2
view large frontback

Medal of Honor: Vanguard

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
7.2

1157 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Im surprised, better than what the critics think

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Dec 1, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought medal of honor vanguard was a great game. It is better than what the critics think, also what others think. Im pretty surprised.

I think it is one of the best war games i have ever played. The game has some of the best sound you will ever hear in a video game, it is very loud. Its cool hearing bullets wizzing by and hearing bombs going off. It really feels like you are shooting people in the game, hearing the bullets hit everyone, and seeing your enemies flop around like rag dolls. And blood spurts quite a bit when you shoot people in the game, its pretty bloody and brutal for a teen rating. And the grenades are cool too, they kind of take care of business, and its cool using the bazooka's to blow away tanks and your enemies. The enviorments are not really destructable, but it is really cool shooting up the place. I love shooting at the walls and stuff, i love seeing the dust fly off of walls when you shoot at them, enemies hide behind things a lot. Its fun to shoot up the place in the game, and mow down a lot of enemies, there is lots of shooting. And you can even punch people too which is kind of funny. Enemies will fall off a lot of things, or be blown out of windows onto the street below.

The story really is not engaging, its just doing one mission after another, there are not really cinematics, just those things where it shows real war footage with the black and white picture, and a guy is narrating it. And it shows quotes and stuff before you start a mission. And it has moments where you jump out of airplanes and land on the ground, and you see many paratroopers and explosions in the air. There are many moments when you have to blast open doors with explosives and blow up anti aircraft guns.

The graphics are alright, but not great. I also like seeing your squad in the action, and seeing them shooting and all that.

I had a good time with the game, but it is pretty short, i had a good time with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just Like the Good Ol' Days

posted by Thechubby1 (SNOW CAMP, NC) Apr 1, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Finally, EA is back from their vacation. The last two showings in the Medal of Honor franchise were very dissapointing. While this game comes back with more of the same, Vanguard adds a new element to the mix, the 82nd Airborne Division. At the start of every campaign, you will be in the back of a transport plane. The parachute portions of the game are exhilerating but they are over in a matter of seconds. This game suffers from the shortness of European Assault but makes up for it with one long final campaign. It took me an hour to complete and I didn't die once. There are weapon ugrades on the battlefield that are difficult to get and can make things easier. The Thompson upgrade is a drum clip that holds 50 rounds. The M1 Garand's upgrade is a scope you can put on or take off at any time. The graphics are better than MOH:EA's and are pretty nice to look at. Sure this game is good, but I see it as a demo for Medal of Honor: Airborne, due to hit Xbox 360 and PS3 in November of this year. It will have the same elements but a free-roam mission area, well at least that's what the critics are saying. So if your looking for a decent game rent it, don't buy it, you can beat it in 3-4 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the same, but that aint a bad thing.

posted by JHaze1967 (LUNENBURG, MA) Mar 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This latest Electronic Arts WW2 first person shooter definitely has that "Been there, done that" feel to it. On the other hand its nice to be able to jump into a game without having a whole new control scheme over again. I haven't finished the game yet, but the levels I have played, I flew though without much trouble. The CPU's A.I. seems to be fixed at "Brainless". They do next to nothing to protect themselves. When the enemies duck behind or under something they always pop their heads out for an easy kill. The men in your troop are as equally brainless. They may be shooting, but at what? Im always finding I have to do all the clearing out of the baddies. I have seen my comrades in a fire fight with the enemy just feet away and neither hitting anything. The early levels are very dark, yeah they are night missions, but the lighting is poor. I often found myself walking into walls while thinking I was moving forward but wasn't. The sounds are what you would expect from a Medal of Honor game, spot on, with nice back ground music reflecting the mood of the environment. Graphics a tad shabby not on par with Call of Duty 3, but not awful either. The in game chatter is helpful in telling you where hidden enemies are. "Sniper!, 2nd story window!" - etc. There isn't much interaction with the environment. Some windows will break here and there but, wooden boxes are as good as walls for cover. Nothing much breaks. Well I think I've bashed the game enough, this game is still fun to play and is constant action throughout. Despite all the negatives this game is definitely worth a rental and guessing can be finished in about 4-6 hours based on difficulty settings and player skill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Where did the game go

posted by azreview (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Like most Medal of Honor games this one is no diffrent. The graphics are a little dated and do not stand up to COD 3. The airborne aspect is nothing but a let down, you drop down like a rock and get to do nothing with it. You can get a medal for it but thats it. With only 3 campaigns and maybe 3 or 2 levels per, its just not that good.

In the long run its good for an afternoon, and then thats it. If you play it straight threw, you'll be done in about 4-5 hours. I died once in the time it took me to beat it.

If you havce to buy a game, buy COD 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rent, but don't buy

posted by dusti39 (ABINGDON, MD) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game follows the same style and gameplay as the rest of the series, so if your a fan, you'll like it. However this game seemed very short to me. If you can get 4 people to do a deathmatch, it would probably have a little more replay value. Otherwise, I wouldn't suggust buying since you can probably beat the whole game in one sitting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What in the world happened?

posted by Thelink (PRAIRIEVILLE, LA) Jul 30, 2007

Member since Mar 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have always loved the Medal of Honor series as a whole. Played them all...loved most, but never really had a bad experience with any of them. Until now. I had heard bad things about this one, but as a fan of the series I thought I should check it out. First off...what happend to the graphics? I had to check to see if I had a PSone instead of the PS2. They are that bad. No detail. Blocky objects. Most of the time it was hard to tell what was what just because of the lack of detail. After stomaching the graphics and pushing myself to play it. I suddenly realized the gameplay and AI are not any better. The enemies would literally run back and forth in a designed path. Even if you were right next to them. Not shooting...just running and crouching over and over. Several times I would shoot an enemy from a short distance with the sniper rifle only to see him still stand there. This would happen with various types of weapons. The controls also felt akward. The PS2 is not user friendly for FPS's, but this one really pushed that point. So if you can deal with poor controls, PSone graphics, poor AI, poor collision detection. You will also have to deal with FPS 101. Everything is by the books. Enemies stationed at various points behind explosive objects. (genius game design)Buildings with enemies hanging out of them that you can not hit. In fact, it was easier to kill an enemy with the melee attack then with a bullet. I always thought Rising Sun was the worse of the PS2 Medal of Honors, but EA decided to change that with one more attempt. At least they succeeded with something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How can it get WORSE?!?!

posted by bigelliot (LAKEWOOD, WA) May 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Medal of Honor franchise blows my mind. Each game constatly gets worse. They try to be too much like Call of Duty and are biting everything about it. I dont want to aim down the darn sights when I play MOH!!! Also the way that they spliced all the wonderful music from previous games just sickeded me. Oh and the AI was pitiful. Youre so called allies just sit there when a german sits besisdes you and shoots you.
Why cant EA just use the platform from the first Medal of Honor for the PS2. That is the best WW2 game for the PS2 hands down.
This game sucks period. Dont waste your time even looking at the cover.
I want my three hours of life back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Medal of Honor:Vanguard

posted by Fryer123 (GAINESVILLE, FL) May 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was a disappointment It was just like European Assault except that it was way shorter .The only good thing about it was that the graphics were better than European Assault.What was even cheaper was that it still used the same weapons as European Assault there isn't even one new gun.This game is pretty bad! Do not rent it only if your life is on the line!!!!!1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MOH > COD

posted by Greg1980 (CANDLER, NC) Apr 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

MOH is a pretty good FPS, much better than CODIII, which was completely lame. The franticness of the battle seems to involve the player more than the COD series does. I would recommend this game any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is trippin

posted by ANDREW (CLEVELAND, OH) Mar 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

prolly the worst ps2 game ive ever played. basically looks like graphics of ps1. this game is incredibly dissapointing. dont get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

War!!!

posted by slicknick (Brooklyn, NY) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

This game was good,but short.I dont know why so many people wrote that it was too easy.its actually pretty hard and you die a lot unless you use cover.I made it to the end ,but the game froze and there was no way that I was gonna start over.worth a rental though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

medal of honor

posted by charlie3 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

this is the best game i have ever played i owned this game at one time but i played it so much it broke this game was the best i reccomend it to everybody out there who loves war games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Jeeze, Really ?

posted by femalepit (FRANKFORT, KY) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Less than 12 hours to beat (I have a lot of free time), no cheat codes that worked on my system; and it was back in the mailbox. The Medal Of Honor series really dropped the ball on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty good

posted by gameman247 (EL CAMPO, TX) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

i like this game becuase its so close to call of duty the controls are the same so if your a call of duty fan you should get this dang game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wow, Short War.

posted by Tarnished (DALLASTOWN, PA) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

I honestly had no idea WWII was that short. To give you an idea, on medium, this game was beaten within twenty four hours. And is hitting a mailbox soon as I finish writing this reveiw. Don't get me wrong, like all Medal games this one had very solid gameplay. My one and only complaint about it at all is it's incredably short. The parachute sequences I could've done without since you can't control where you land, only how quickly. But they could've made this one longer. If not by adding missions, then by making the ones they had longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Medal of honor. great game

posted by tootall (AURORA, CO) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

This game is so accurate. that my PTSD almost flaired up. Tank fire sounds real. Gun fire sounds real. the only draw back is that the game is to short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If ur a fan of WWII shooters you gotta play this!

posted by evlbuckeye (CARROLLTON, GA) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

I played this using my PS3 and it looked really good! The upconversion to 1080p definitely made a difference. The sound was outstanding if you have a home theater system. It also played in widescreen format and it didn't look stretched.

Each main mission gives you the chance to come in from above via parachute which was pretty cool. After you get the hang of the controls, it's pretty easy to land in the "green zones". It isn't necessary to do so but landing in them gives you a medal. There are weapon upgrades within the mission to enhance your abilities on the battlefield (sniper scope, larger ammo clip...). The sniper level where you crawl through a destroyed warehouse was crazy and the final level was tough too!

All in all it's definitely worth checking out. It's no CODMW2 or anything in terms of graphics but I gotta say, it looks pretty dang good for a PS2 game. This woulda been outstanding if they made it for the PS3.

I've heard people say that it's the same game/levels as MOH:Airborne for the PS3/360 but it's not. Totally different game. The only similarity is you jump outta planes and it's set in WWII.

Airborne sucked imo. This one was waaay better! So if you have the PS3 model that supports PS2 playback, check it out. Even if you're still rockin the PS2 it's definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad game

posted by 5Unknown5 (KYLE, TX) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

The game didnt even work. It freezes on one of the loading parts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

its not a good game

posted by crashwart (WATERBORO, ME) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

the action is okay. but here is the problem i have with this game first once you shot some one they die but if you hit them they may not die for whatever reason. if you hit the person they should die but they dont. the graphics are fair and you can only follow one path. thanks anyway but there are better games out there that have better reponse and game play. pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game just ends to fast

posted by WolFMan666 (MAHOPAC, NY) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

great game plan, like the game BLACK it just ends to fast but for the time playing its GREAT make sure you play it on medium or hard to truely enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great, but so short!

posted by TriggerCR (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I'm a huge MOH fan. Ever since the days of PS1 (which the original was a GREAT GAME).. but this one comes a bit short. The graphics are great, the game play is awesome, the downside? You can beat it within 2 hours of game play.. Maybe 4 on the hardest setting. This game is short lived and has little to no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GAME IS GOOD BUT TOO EASY

posted by deicide (SANDUSKY, OH) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I LIKED THE GAME BUT SOLVED IT IN 2 HOURS. THEY NEED TO MAKE THESE GAMES MORE HARDER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Medal of honor vanguard

posted by manderlee8 (INTERLAKEN, NY) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

this game didnt even play, its all scratched up. u guys should try cleaning them before you send them out. now my son who has autism waited patiently for this to arrive only to find out it doesnt work. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

these game is awesome

posted by daddyjssvo (Lancaster, CA) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

rising sun's game-play is second rate to this one, vanguard is second best to the first one which i don't remember the name but the last two levels of the first one are comparable to vanguard's first 3 levels. tough yet very fun and entertaining and easy to navigate buy it cuz if you rent it you will not beat it in a month unless you are a student who lives at home or a wealthy millionaire like Billy Madison with nothing better to do than play video games like war craft you need some time on this one brothers I mean come on this game is tough. really and i'm not even on the hardest setting. and if you think im lame cmon and try me brother on-line with this one or the next one on ps-3. I don't even know if i can play ps2 on-line or not but i would kick any body's azz in moh the first one anyway or fifa 02' for that matter dog. anyway buy moh vanguard or the 3pack like i did and start it up and have a blast for a month or two for cheap. Yeah dog what ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its kind of good

posted by ColHogan (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I personally do not like MOH but this one i liked, Historic Campaigns, Para drops all the time oh i love that, i also liked the fact that you had to travel on foot to your objective and you had to fight your way. But the upgrades sucked and some of the graphics sucked and the blood looked more like a spot on the character. Bottom line is if you like absolute COD quality realism then this isnt it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse