Rent Medal of Honor: Airborne for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Medal of Honor: Airborne

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.9

10101 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Airborne is perfect for renting

posted by Vykor81 (FEDERAL WAY, WA) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

52 out of 54 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

This is another one of those games that are perfect for renting but not exactly worth shelling out $60 for - unless you enjoy multiplayer over XBL. The campaign is fun and thrilling as is par for the MoH franchise, but this installment is just another installment.

Obviously, what sets this apart from the others is the ability to choose where you want to start in a level by dropping in from an airplane and completing objectives in any order you choose. Navigation is a cinch as the compass employs yellow arrows to guide you to known objectives throughout the level (including when you are parachuting down, which is very handy).

I enjoyed being able to choose where to begin. If I felt like going Rambo on the Nazis, I could, or if I wanted to play a more tactical role and stay with my unit, I could do that too. I also sometimes would drop nearby my squad but not immediately with them to try and flank the initial wave of baddies that my team encountered. If you like tactical warfare action, then this provides some degree of freedom - though nowhere near the complexity of a game like GRAW.

The visuals are expectable and very nice - but nothing to win an award with. The audio is steller as always - that's always a highlight of any MoH game in my opinion. The controls feel pretty good, and they give you a few options in terms of button layouts, but no custom ability. Load times are average for a game like this. Dying is no big deal because you'll just start at the last checkpoint (or drop again if you die near the beginning). The problem here being that you have to wait for the slightly annoying load time to pass EVERY time you respawn.

Multiplayer definitely gives a reason to own the game if you are into that, but it faces some pretty steep competition in that realm of gameplay (you may have heard of Halo 3...).

All in all, this is fun for one playthrough unless you love WWII multiplayer over XBL. The game will only last you 6-10 hours depending on your skill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but Short.

posted by munkey (Wolfe City, TX) Sep 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

33 out of 37 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

It's a great rent anytime, especially while waiting for Halo 3 and the other big hitters later this fall.

The AI is aggressive and somewhat smart, which keeps the combat fast and intense.
They will duck back into cover if you shoot near them, and if you miss an opening sniper shot before they see you, they will scatter for cover and locate you.

There's about a dozen different enemies, but most are just meaner versions of their level one counterparts, which unfortunately can make things a tad monotonous at times.
Basically you have soldiers, snipers, rockets and robo-cops.

The graphics are nice, but jaggies and minor DoF blur and color issues when scoped keep it from being exceptional.

Never the less the sight of all the planes and paratroopers in the air is pretty breathtaking.
I thought the Holland and Flak Tower missions looked very nice in particular.

The missions are fairly linear, you get objectives and you complete them. However you get to land almost anywhere on the map and work your way through as you wish.

The weapons upgrade as you use them, it's all good except that in the later missions you really need your upgraded weapons, so you end up using the same 2 or 3 guns the whole game. (i'm not sure if the upgrades follow you if you replay the campaign or not)

The campaign is pretty much your typical WWII game as far as the story goes. There's some interesting bits though, like D-Day from the Airborne's perspective, behind the Germans rather than landing on the beach.

The only bug I found, if you can call it a bug, was that the Storm Elites (robo-cops) would occasionally get stop moving/firing if you got in an akward spot and they couldn't pathfind to you.
It's actually a bit of a blessing though, since they're tough as nails.

I haven't played the MP yet so I won't comment on it, though I haven't heard good things.

Overall it's good, but the campaign is short. On casual it took me about 5-6hrs.

Still, for an EA game, I'm pleasantly impressed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

call of duty can suck it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Halofan117 (GREEN BAY, WI) Jul 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

when I first rented this game i thought wow this game is amazing. it has everthing. it has great graphics. great gameplay(much better than call of duty 1-3). and a great storyline, and the good part is its rated teen. this game also is great because it adds a whole new factor of gameplay by letting the player decide where they land after they jump out of the airplane, creating somewhat of a different story each time you play. if you are thinking ablout renting this game I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WWII game for snipers

posted by Gamr4Life (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Aug 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I you like FPS, WWII games, or the sniping scenes from the movie Saving Private Ryan, your going to like this game. There was one play moment where my heart was beating from all the action going around me, and at the same time I'm trying get five sniper head shots in a row. That was fun. The graphics, and sound are good. The AI is above average, but what makes the game is the action, and weapons. I know there's people who played the first level of this game then got online and gave it poor review, but trust me, stick with it. Learn the game physics, get familiar with how to land your parachute jump wherever you want, learn how to upgrade your weapons because it gets intense. Here's a gaming tip to get you started, 1. land on an elevated position
2. thin out the enemy troops from above
3. then do a frontal assault with a thompson or B.A.R or do a flanking maneuver with the M1 Garand, your squad mates will keep them busy while you do this. Oh and don't forget throwing cooked grenades before you move forward. Again fun game, use tactics, and enjoy the action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Death From Above

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Oct 19, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

44 out of 58 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

There is not a more hack cliche thing to do than to comment on the glut of WW II FPS out there.

Well, I'll say this much --- there are a lot as most tend to be really, really good. WW II is quite compelling and has served as an outstanding backdrop for some classic titles.

The big gimmick for the game is that you're an airborne soldier. You can literally jump anywhere on the map and tackle any objective you wish to. If you wish to take the chance and land in the midst of German or Italian soldiers, you can do it. You won't last long, usually, but it's your option.

The usual weaponry is on display here and the gameplay is tight and compelling. The levels, honestly, are insanely long (while it's only 6 chapters long, they tend to last 1-2 hrs each in my playthru on normal) and not easy by any stretch. Enemies have few qualms unleashing numerous grenades to flush you out where they can pick you apart --- and, yes, they will pick you apart ruthlessly.

The AI is quite good here, too. Enemies take cover. They flank you. They try to flush you into firing lines for others to take you out. It's several steps below a human opponent, but to pretend it's not difficult is to lie.

Multiplayer is good, but a little unbalanced. Sure, Germans can shoot you out of the air while you jump, but your advantage in sheer mobility and to jump behind the enemy kinda makes the battle a little unfair to me.

The biggest qualm for me is that towards the end, they introduce "elite" soldiers who are basically superhuman. It takes roughly 12-14 rounds from a machine gun to take one down --- and they are armed with extremely fast machine guns that chew you up mercilessly.

Overall, it's a really good game. It's out, sadly, in a time with a litany of better games (Bioshock, Half-Life 2, Halo 3, CoD 4 is coming soon) and will, probably, be lost in the shuffle. However, it is a game that is pretty fun to play and will not be an easy victory for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent, but not great

posted by MikeF73 (NORWALK, CT) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the first two thirds of this rather short game. The maps are good with a lot of detail, and there are multiple objectives on each that you can take in whatever order you want. The parachuting is fun, and you can really change your plan of attack by dropping into strategic locations.

The enemy AI is pretty good, and they'll flank or overrun you if you're not careful. Friendly AI isn't great and you'll find yourself playing solo a lot of the time with nobody watching your back.

But the game really falls apart in the last two missions (out of 6 total). To make things harder, the game introduces an "elite" enemy. In a typical WWII shooter I'd expect this to be an enemy who is a particularly good shot or who is smarter than others. But in this case, it's a "boss" that takes around 20 shots or two rockets to bring down and who is carrying something that looks like a modern-day minigun with infinite ammo. This is not something you'd normally see outside of a sci-fi game, and it really came across as a cop-out on the part of the designers. The AI for these guys is even cheap - they always seem to know where you are and target you specifically as opposed to your AI teammates.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Professional gamers....

posted by MoSkillz (DETROIT, MI) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Professional gamers, meaning those gamers that get a new game, set on the hardest level. And then go on to play the game to completion. These types of gamers bring down the rating of games. Where as a bad game is obvious to everybody. My point is that as a average player. I get a game set it on normal and try my hand at it. If that level is to hard, I try again on easy. If i find a game so difficult that its easy level is too much for me then I will begrudgingly give up on it ( cursing the maker of the game all the while). But as long as I honestly try my best, then i'm fine with it. Medal of Honor Airborne is a very very good game. And if it wasn't for the over used WWII formula, it would be a excellent game. That and the fact that it was kinda short. Medal of Honor Airborne is a good shooter to use to train with. Even for you professional gamers ( try playing it in one shot one kill mode Mr Tough Guy).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Medal Of Honor? Definitely honorable.

posted by RogueGuy23 (ROSEVILLE, CA) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Medal of Honor Airborne:

This game really is the same old Medal of Honor that we've all seen in the past. Now don't get me wrong, the gameplay is fun, very fun actually, and the airborne division is a brilliant idea, although there are minor flaws.

I have noticed, even on Normal difficulty, the enemies have dead aim, or in other words, never seem to miss you. Your health is constantly dropping, but hey, that's pretty realistic right?

Parachuting and landing anywhere to start your fight is pretty cool, you can land on roofs and everything, no real problems with that feature.

Multiplayer is fun, but in my opinion extremely unbalanced! The airborne division gets to parachute down and land wherever they want, while the Germans are stuck on the ground. You will find yourself constantly looking up to try to spot them.

Overall great game, I had fun with it, definitely a must-rent if you like first person shooters, or WWII games. 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rent Only

posted by pennsyboy (FAIRCHILD AIR FORCE BASE, WA) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Let me say I am a big fan of the MOH series, but this game falls short in a shooting game. The graphics are amazing, the controls are easy to understand and use, but the game lacks one important aspect. When aiming at the enemies they are difficult to hit and several times you will be forced to fire 5 times to hit the enemy. This destroy's the game, don't buy this game, rent only

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

MoA:A Lacks Mechanics

posted by LstPhalanx (STERLING, VA) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

While this game has some good visuals and sound effects its game play will leave you feeling that something is missing.

MoA:A provides an excellent concept, being able to drop into a map at any point you wish. In practice this concept turns into little more than a marketing tool. When attempting to land, if you land to far away from your "safe zones" you will not last long. Dropping into the game creates the false impression of an open game when in reality it is a linear game.

The game play mechanics are stuck in the last gen. There is no cover system at all (Play Rainbow Six Vegas). When zooming down your iron sights or scope you cannot walk. Rather you can only move your head up/down or left/right. In multiple player this makes it almost impossible to zoom in long enough to take out a well positioned sniper.

The most frustrating part of this game is your inability to determine the aiming mechanics on each gun when looking down the iron sights. Some guns require you to aim a little higher or lower than others. Combine this lack of consistency with the fact that it takes 3-5 shots to take down some enemies, if you miss the head shot, and your left feeling frustrated and unrewarded.

The health system is another last gen design. The health system provides no way to regenerate your 4 units of health. Instead you need to find med packs on the ground. When you try to run and gun like an arcade shooter, which this games gives you a sense that it might be, you are easily taken down by enemy machine gun nests (MG42s) or snipers.

In the end your time will be better spent playing Call of Duty 3, Rainbow Six Vegas, or if your lucky enough try playing Call of Duty 4 Beta. This games gets a 3 out of 10 rating. Hopefully Brothers in Arms: HH will get us excited about World War II again. Otherwise an era of gaming may be coming to an end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the best MOH in years...but still an average FPS

posted by imperial (WILLIAMSVILLE, VT) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First of all, I loved Allied Assault and as far as I'm concerned that remains the best MOH game yet. However that is not to say that MOHAB is not a good shooter in deserve of recognition. It just isn't a great shooter, in fact as you play through, the game gets quite stale to the point where you might just shelf it and forget about it. And if it wasn't for the absolutely gorgeous graphics,production values and "good" online play that is exactly what you would do after the first three hours of this eight hour FPS. But instead you should rather beat this game at least twice to smell the roses and enjoy the replay ability of dropping in wherever you want to in a level. Even if the open concept is more of a gimmicky illusion due to linear design. But this game is a drop dead 'bute and the controls aren't horrible but they sure ain't great. Beside from the SPC there is an above average MP function which saves this game from a tired 7/10. If you give it a chance you will find yourself playing deathmatch for hours on end, sniping with pin-accurate rifles and getting in close with run and gun SMG action. The maps are fun and balanced as are the weapons choices but there is a lag problem with some servers which again is why this gets an 8/10. The storyline in MOHAB is virtually non existent as is the case with most WW2 shooters so don't expect to be dazzled by narrative prowess here and don't expect to be playing too long either because as I had stated this is an eight hour quickie at best. MOHAB improves upon and sets the standard for new MOH games but doesn't raise the bar anywhere else because at the end of the day MOHAB is still another average shooter.
BUY/RENT:RENT
GAMEPLAY:7.5
PRODUCTION VALUES:8.0
MULTIPLAYER:7.5
GRAPHICS:9.0
CONTROLS:7.5
ENEMY AI:8.0
CHALLENGE LEVEL:MEDIUM(AI is very clever in this one, watch out they work together)
INTERFACE:8.0
FUN FACTOR:8.0-This game really is fun if you don't play too long in one sitting
OVERALL:8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great story bad player!

posted by Dirtyz (MIAMI, FL) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I just like the story so much but I think as usual with medal of honor, story is good the game is just done wrong, AI for some reason has an amazing aiming, while my dude has the worst even when I know I hit the guy straight in the head! Sniping soldiers on the run is impossible, meanwhile they hit from everywhere when you are running!!!! I just got tired of landing in zones where is usually safe (green smoke) and get my a.. shot so many times!!! Arrgh!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I mean, it is still WWII

posted by gorgeousp (HAMPTON, VA) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

19 out of 39 gamers (49%) found this review helpful

What the fixation with WWII games is beyond my comprehension (off course the fixation with war "period" is beyond my comprehension lol) but hey violence is America's #1 pasttime. Enough of my political commentary, on to the game.

Like your typical WWII FPS you are back to taking out disgusting Nazis, this time from the air as well as the ground, nice add in the air assualt but land in the wrong zone and you will bie before your feet touch the ground so parachute control is a trial and error deal. The objectives are more spread out rather than you going straight forward in a predetermined direction, in other words if you get 3 objectives you can choose which to do first instead of the computer already assigning your first target automatically. As with COD3 close quarters situations will force you to fight with button combos (while the computer bashes your head in)

Gameplay- Typical FPS, controls are a bit wacky but you can change your control scheme. Aiming and shooting is a pain, by the time you get 2 shots off you have already taken 10 yourself.
Graphics- Dark and grimmy (in a good way, hey its war)
Buy/Rent?- If you're an online junkie, buy. If you grew tired of BIOSHOCK then def rent this, its a beat it then shelve it (or trade) type game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

it was.... different

posted by Glitch78 (INDIO, CA) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hey guys Glitch here and talking about the new Medal of Honor: Airborne. We all know that the medal of Honor series has taken the wrong path on certain games and always intends to fix it in the next game, with that having the right idea but it doesn't have the right design. But this hopes to change that. It has the right idea and sweet visuals. If you have played Call of Duty 2 you will feel right at home with Airborne. It has balanced weapon's you know like, infinite pistol ammo, (No I'm not a cheater, hacker, haxor, and as some people put it, Warthog fuel. not my idea) you seriously come with it. You can upgrade every weapon in the game, very cool character design. But there are also faults with the game, such as (and this has haunted me for so long) you can't shoot out a light bulb! The enemy AI is about toddler smart, they will come rushing at you for no reason in the middle of a fire fight and when he gets to a certain spot he just stands there blowing off rounds with no urge to take cover. There is blood but not much, you can't see you're hands when you are climbing up a ladder, but thats about it. And it has an awesome saving system. Well what are you waiting for? rent it!

From fellow gamer,
Glitch78

gamer notes

Well how do you like my review? There is a button up there that says "did this review seem helpful to you?" Or something like that, well could you click yes for me? I'd like to be top 10 reviewer for once please?

I was listening to "Gears of War- mad world (Extended version) on YouTube. Also look on Gametrailers website and type in Battlefield: Bad company. Then click on Bad World. Funny.

I might be getting Xbox live in a few days or so. So look for me.

And this is for my fith grade teacher Mr. Sakimi, it's me, Nick. Can you tell me you're Gamer Tag?

Don't try to make a review that will be bashing me or my other reviews please. I get enough of that on Quake 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty cool game

posted by tc3332 (GARDENDALE, AL) May 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a fun game. It does have things that could be worked on but overall it's pretty fun. My favorite part is the gun upgrades.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great WW2 Game

posted by Gamer718 (ROCHESTER, NY) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For most people, Call of Duty is the measure by which all WW2 games are measured. Granted, except for the last one, I would agree that COD is one of the best WW2 shooter franchises. However, Medal of Honors seem to be more fun and interesting in my opinion. Good graphics, good sound, all in all it's good fun. Not only that, but considering it's got a little rpg element with leveling up weapons as you become more proficient, it rocks. I love that you get to jump out of an airplane and choose how you want to attack a board. YOU DON'T HAVE TO LAND IN THE GREEN SMOKE, sometimes it's more interesting and challenging if you don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Medal of Honor game yet

posted by zman2231 (KATY, TX) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Medal of Honor makes a great 360 debut. You play as a paratrooper in WWII (obvious). You actually get to jump out of the airplane and pick any spot on the map. You also get to do the objectives in any order. The graphics are pretty good. As for gameplay it is still kinda the same except that each enemy you take out will help you upgrade your weapon. 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Disappointed

posted by Scorpio515 (ROCKY POINT, NY) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was waiting all year to see what the MOH series would look like on the XBox 360.Well,it looks just like the rest of the series,only marginally better on this platform.I also cannot understand why they make a game on based on a WORLD WAR and yet you keep fighting Nazis over and over again.Didn't we declare war on Japan and Italy too?Where is the follow up to "RISING SUN", that ended with a cliffhanger?As far as "AIRBORNE"goes,the aiming is terrible and makes the game frustrating,especially as the enemy troops become harder in later levels.The original MOH on Playstation and "FRONTLINE" on PLaystation 2 are two of my all time favorite games.But if EA cannot do something to improve this series, they might as well end it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What was the point of making this?

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Just played Medal of Honor: Airborne campaign. It didn't quite suck but it wasn't any good either. The shooting felt off and the game was simply boring. I kept wondering why they even bothered making this game since there was absolutely nothing to distinguish it from the previous version. I wouldn't recommend it unless you're very bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better Than I Thought

posted by denny417 (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ah the good old Medal Of Honor Series had been mostly on the allies side for the war games until the unbelievably good cod series came out and medal of honor was now on the axis side for a while. Sorry Folks but as soon as cod 4 comes out medal of honor is gonna be placed axis again.

something they will never get right is the single player i always hated the medal of honor series for i was not an online guy back then. yea if you have always hated the gameplay of the single player its not the big difference it should be also i have one questions fore the makers of this game..what is with the controls and aiming in this game? of course the controls can be changed to however you please but i hate the aiming in real life it doesn't take but to just point a gun at somone and shoot well in this you can get maybe a shot or two off while you have been shot at about 10 times. With only 6 levels doesn't seem like much but they do take awhile to beat and please do me a favor people please keep playing the game past the 3rd level for the first 3 levels really do suck but they next three are pretty good

now for you guys im have been on xbox live for awhile now being able to tell you about the multiplayer. I thinks its pretty good if you just plain like cod and moh its the second type of multiplayer to hit the stores since cod 3(worst one of the series by the way there is proof :)
it is a tad odd since this is airborne and yet you play on the ground but anyways you will really like the multiplayer it will last you awhile

buy if you are the online no single player those who dont have live still rent but please dont buy save the money for halo 3 or cod 4 thank you!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is a new low.

posted by poketummy (ASHFORD, WA) May 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a one for a few different reasons. The first is that the shootouts in this game are ridiculous because your weapons are so far off target no matter how accurate it may seem there are no exceptions. Another is that the AI is also ridiculously dumb they will quite literally shoot walls instead of at you or your team mates. This game has one thing I have not experienced in any other game and that's the airdrops, they could have really made the game unique instead they gave it one unique quality and then the same old Medal of Honor game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad game play for the past 6-7 years? Why?

posted by johnka07 (COLUMBIA, MO) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Why won’t EA update the game play for Metal of Honor? What the heck? MoH: Frontline for the Xbox was a good game in 2002, but the using the same everything in 2008 on the 360 is ridiculous! I mean the enemies all die the same way, hid behind barriers the same (oh, and why can’t the players hid behind anything and peek out?), and they all run like idiots. The stages all feel similar (I know there are only so many battles in WWII; all the more reason to pick a new arena for a FPS), there is no innovation with the guns, and almost everything else is an exact copy of something in another MoH game. With every new MoH I keep hoping something will change, and the only thing so far is the stupid parachuting. Anyway, why play this game when you can play Call of Duty online? Bottom line, EA has been disappointing me for a while (outside of Skate which dominates any Tony Hawk game) and this game caps it off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's no COD

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 23, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

For me medal of honor takes 3rd place. If you want to play a good world war 2 game stick with COD or BROTHERS IN ARMS. Medal of honor is fun to a certain extent, once you've completed an objective finding the next objective is a pain in the neck(gamefly woundn't let me use the (A) word) you'll spend most of the time wondering around, the mapping system sucks. The story is good, but the game play is weak. If you die you'll have to start over again meaning you'll have jump from the air plane over and over. And if you land in a hot DZ it takes time for you draw your weapon, so you'll be dead from enemy fire, this happened to me a few times. Just rent, don't buy this game, I'll be sending my copy back soon, I hate jumping from plane over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's no Cod 3

posted by mbezlr (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

What happens when you take Call of Duty 3, add 10 months of delays, make every gun inaccurate, arbitrarily rotate the face buttons, throw in a gimmicky parachuting and choice of where to go initially? Well Medal of Honor comes out the other side of all that. Call of Duty 3 was not that great a game. Played out, repetitive, and gimmicky are the direction that series went. So imagine my disappointment at Medal of Honor, which takes some interesting concepts, and puts it into a mediocre game. Still a mediocre game, with frustrating, but not challenging moments and a lot of scripted sequences that you will roll your eyes at if you haven't been hiding in a videogaming cave the past 5 years.
The guns get slight improvements after you kill enough nazis with them, like less recoil, bigger clips, or a bayonet. This is essentially irrelevant because the guns are no fun no mater how much they are shot or improved. The iron sights are about as inaccurate as the free aim, and with default controls, you are unable to move and aim at the same time, only lean.
It is still fun fighting nazis in spite of my german heritage and all these years, but there are better games to do it with. Don't compare this to 2007's great shooters, this doesn't even come close, but it beats hour of victory and would have looked a lot better by juxtaposition if it had come out last year.
You guys have very low standards for 8s.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Time Passer

posted by killr0y31 (HAHIRA, GA) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Its just alright.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse