Rent Medal of Honor: Airborne for PS3
view large frontback

Medal of Honor: Airborne

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.3

2820 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Turned Out To Be A Very Fun Game

posted by Sony4life1 (GASTON, SC) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

27 out of 29 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

At first this was a bit under par, somewhat boring, and lacked good graphics. The reason being is i played Call Of Duty 4 before playing this. Otherwise after playing through the game, this Medal of Honor i have to say is very good.

Graphics- nowhere as good as call of duty but not bad either.

Sound- Good overall.

Gameplay- Very fun, i love the fact of a sort of freeroam that allows you to land anywhere on the huge map and do whichever objectives you want to first. The best part of the game to me is this feature. Also a good choice of weapons.

Game Length- Missions tend to be fairly long which i like. Lot of different objectives. Havent yet beat the game but have done a ton of long missions and still going.

Overall this game is a must rent, in myself would not buy this. The game is no where close to Call of Duty 4 but its hard to compare them as Call Of duty 4 is todays modern warfare and medal of honor is world war 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't Hate On WWII Shooters!!!

posted by PS3Gamer (GREENSBORO, NC) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

25 out of 27 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I get it. I really do! Too many gamers have become exhausted with WWII shooters. My take on it is - it was a long war, keep the games coming!

In Medal of Honor Airborne, EA decided to change things up a little, especially the repetative nature of a few previous Medal of Honor installments.

The gameplay is pretty much the same as it always has been. Very easy to understand and after only a few minutes of playing you'll have the controls down to a science.

The story-line is unique and unlike what you've seen before. Instead of just starting each level on your feet, you'll actually jump out of an airplane. Once you're falling through the sky, parachute whistling above you, it is left upon you to control your drop, being sure to land safely and on your feet within certain drop-points highlighted by green flares. This ensures that you'll be standing and ready to go, next to your fellow war-buddies.

The graphics, in my opinion, use up the available power the Playstation 3 dishes out. Each level is dark and highly detailed making you feel as if you've really landed yourself in the Devil's playground!

Maybe I'm a little partial to the MOH series because I've been playing them for so long - even to include the highly popular PC renditions "Medal of Honor: Allied Assualt" and its' expansion "Spearhead."

I haven't experienced the multiplayer yet available within this game but I intend to immediately. I am so wrapped up with the single-player mode that I haven't given the online mode much thought.

I hope this BOOK of a review is helpful. I've read through pages upon pages of reviews for this game and decided that a DETAILED and WELL-WRITTEN one was MUCH needed.

See you on the battlefield =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is not for everyone

posted by larafan70 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Dec 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a challenge for the expert gamer who is used to in tense situations, and can be quick on their feet, run, like the devil was after them, and stay alive long enough to finish the level, but it's not for someone who can't do more than a few things at once. The easiest level was hard enough, but when you get to the next level up, it becomes excruciating. Especially when you're in Holland on the battle that could have shortened the war. Not only am I getting rockets in the face, I'm getting nailed by Nazis with Stormgawehrsor, or the mp44, from the sides or behind. That, and the scope got too blurry to see through at times, and almost impossible to aim and fire.

If you were trying to aim at the machine gun nest, by the time you pressed r 1 and zeroed in on the soldier, you would be hosed by bullets and game over. It ceased to be fun after a while. I loved the grenades and the chance to jump into exciting locations. and pour lead on the Nazis, but sometimes the cover wasn't high enough, and the bullets still hit you and sometimes it wasn't clear where they were. This would be slightly easier to beat if the targeting systems were user friendly. Hard enough to be thirsty for more yet not too easy and not be a challenge at all. This is more for the person who has more time to spare.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Too short to be amazing but it's still a fun trip

posted by Solrina (CANDLER, NC) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I always liked the Medal of Honor series, but to be honest they got a bit stale. This was another fun entry, but not exactly a groundbreaking World War II shooter.

You take the role of a paratrooper in the famed 82nd Airborne Division as you take part in various WW2 missions. Some of these include landing in Italy, The Netherlands during Operation: Market Garden, and taking out one heck of a flak tower in Germany.

There is a lot about this game to love. Since the character design is meant to be authentic, it can come off a little bland. That's forgivable since the graphics presentation is great. Everything looks crisp. The score is amazing, and even the cheesy dialogue is at least delivered with gusto. The guns, which were upgradable, felt great to use, despite a good deal of recoil on the automatics. Though I didn't use them much myself. The controls were spot-on for a shooter.

A great feature was the non-linear storytelling. While you still had certain missions to complete, since you parachute in, where you land has a lot to do with what order you will attempt said missions. This added a fun element missing from many shooters of the day. There were a few "oh wow" moments during the levels...what few levels there were.

Several issues hurt this game for me. First of all, the parachuting concept was neat, but never fully utilized. Then there is the very short campaign. Even though there was a lot to do in each level it was disappointing to have only six of them to explore. Sure it's fun enough to play through at least twice, but we all know it's not the same the second time around. The worst for me is the utter lack of any real plot. There is no story here, no characters to pull for. Your name might as well be John Doe. Some could care less, but for me it's a major flaw.

The game is worth playing for the intense action, it's just too bad they couldn't have given us some semblance of a story or some characters worth remembering.

7 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MOH Shows Signs of Life

posted by REVJR1 (ROANOKE, VA) Jan 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

18 out of 21 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I was ready to write off this franchise after its last forgettable outing, European Assault, but Airborne ended up being solidly entertaining.

No, the graphics are not up to PS3 levels, but neither are the visuals for most of the PS3 titles released last year. The textures could have been more crisp and vibrant, but that never stopped us from playing MOH before, right?
A lot of your time is spent in night missions where you're not lingering to admire any well-lit features of the landscape, anyway. The variety of the mission locales is strong enough to keep you interested.

Character animation is good. Finally, there's realism to enemy movements, and a strong AI keeps you on your toes--for the most part, they're not going to rush you like a bunch of idiots. You also get some blood in an MOH title at last, and there are plenty of occasions for intense melee attacks. Bodies crumple and collapse in an authentic manner, and the fluid, chaotic pace of combat reminds you of the best moments in earlier MOH and COD titles.

Audio is competent, with a couple repetitive moments. Ex., in one "kill the sniper" section, a comrade repeats unhelpfully, like a demented parrot, "It's just like in basic, squeeze the trigger, don't pull it" so many times that you're about ready to waste him instead. Some of the German dialogue sounds a bit overacted, and you'll hear plenty of MOH's patented "Amerikaner!" throughout the game.

The parachute drops themselves are fairly entertaining, although it seems botched landings are more frequent than perfect ones. It's also nice to have the expansive levels to maneuver around in. Weapon selection is okay, nothing new, though - the same MP40s, Thompsons, and your trusty Garands return for action.

Best thing is the tense atmosphere-landing alone, hearing the scattered cries of comrades echo in the dark distance-definitely gets you moving.

So I played out of loyalty, and was pleasantly surprised. The old MOH soundtrack always gets me right here!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better that it's rating

posted by megadeath (CLEARFIELD, UT) Sep 29, 2009

Member since May 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is way better than it's rating and in some ways better than call of duty 5 due to the features, and the graphics are also very good, getting used to the controlls can be quite difficult though, This game was one of the funnest games i've played in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Medal of Honor: Airborne Review

posted by Danson94 (BRAINTREE, MA) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First of all, i would like to say the controls for this game are terrible. The controls will first be confusing and when u get in close combat, you'll become very frustrated. Not to mention, the controls of usual FPSs will confuse you. The new idea of starting a level wherever u want is great. The graphics cant match the Next gen but is still a great game. the guns and weps are fun to use. The story line is sketchy but its a good game to have. For me, this game is worth about 13$ currently so its a small price for an alright game. Rent it first and try it, if u like it buy it. but once the story line is over, there not much to do but online. the online isnt very good either. Try it. Maybe buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very good

posted by beltboy (LINDEN, MI) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

over all i am very happy with this game the only thing that gaot this a 9 and not a 1o is you ran out of ammo quick is a very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An FPS that could have been good

posted by MarsUltor (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Aug 21, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Medal of Honor series has been a decent series, giving us somewhat decent WWII based shooters. This could have been one of them, but was plagued by so many issues.

The premise of the game is that you play as a WWII paratrooper, fighting off Nazis as you move up Italy and into France and Germany. The main feature of the game is that you are a paratrooper, starting every mission in the air; you then control your parachute to any landing zone on the map. Some landing zones are safe, others strewn with enemies, and yet others put you into a clear tactical advantage over your foes. This concept was the only shining light in an otherwise dark tunnel. Aside from the novel parachuting portion of the game, the only other neat aspect was kill based weapon upgrades (although some better than others), and a decent selection of both allied and axis weapons.

Now, the reason this game deserves a 6/10. First off, the graphics were no better than PS2 quality with numerous stutters and tearing. Another aspect was the very poor AI, I found it ridiculous that enemy soldiers would prefer to run in and hit you with a rifle instead of hold position and fire on you. In addition to this, they had borderline precognition; what I mean is, I would be behind an enemy, who is firing on a squadmate, and the moment i pop my head out to ascertain the situation, he is already lining up for a head shot on me. The enemy also never stopped moving, sure moving targets are hard to hit, but in real warfare one does not run back and forth in the middle of crossfire. This brings me to my next point, awful collision detection: I would fire a sniper shot square in the middle of an enemy's chest, and it passes right through him; but when i fire a shot just off his shoulder, not only does he die in one shot, but he get projected back by the bullet impact. Although there are several other issues I have with the game, they are not as major as those listed above.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I agree with the professional critics.

posted by JCLjockey (DIMONDALE, MI) Dec 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the best Medal game in a while. It is fast-paced and fun. Multi-player is ho-hum, but it is a fun game. It still comes way short in comparison to R:FOM. I still liked it and do not regret renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Simply not fun.

posted by kdogkdog (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You think that since you can chute into the action, it would add alot of variety to the game. Not so. There's really not too many choices.

As far as game play, please explain why the AI enemies move about 3 times faster than your character. You're on regular speed and they are on fast forward 3x. Weapons are boring, targeting on guns is inaccurate, reaction from AI is inconsistent. The game does not have a real feel to it all.

Of course, in my humble opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yet another WWII shooter

posted by JackBauer (FOSTER CITY, CA) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Maybe I'm just tired of WWII shooters, but this game lasted all of 5 minutes in my PS3 before I decided to ship it back. The parachuting start to each mission was cool at first, until you realize it affects the overall mission very little where you end up landing...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Repatative

posted by Zademan22 (MILFORD, MI) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At a first glance this game is quite good. But once you get more in depth, you start to relise that jumping out of an airplane isn't really that fun after you've done it 200+ times!

Pros:
-Good Long Campaign Missions
-Landing chosses path of mission
-Decent Sound & Graphics

Cons:
-Very Repatative
-Poor Multiplayer
-After completetion of game, not much left to do

Zademan22

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lacking

posted by battlebox (RESEDA, CA) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The details and the missions were good. But the constant flashing everytime you got hit with a bullet when there were like 10 guys shooting at you blurring the screen became really annoying. The actual dropping out of a helicopter was a good idea, but didn't really feel like the main highlight of the game. Although I did like the blurring when ever you would turn camera angles. Lastly the game its self was to short, and the multiplayer wasn't really fun either. The game had alot of potential but came out weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Medal of Honor AIRBORNE

posted by TrueGame (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game. i just have one problem the game is not realistic enough and needs to be improved on the landings and killins. it takes alot to kill someone and less to kill you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very Average

posted by Draven26 (HERMON, ME) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Medal of Honor Airborne is an average game that seems like it just wasnt thought through very well. FIrst off the game is short, most FPS fans could probably beat it within 6-8 hours easily. Secondly the aiming and accuracy of the weapons is horrendous, it got to the point where i would pick a shotgun just for the spread of the shot. Graphics are average at best. Story is almost non existent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EA how could you?

posted by VoltesV (DUMONT, NJ) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

WWII shooters are not terrible in general. But this MOH installment is probably the worst of them all. Graphics are terrible... I mean grenades explode like artillery shells and with the same ugly animation even when it goes off in mid air! I mean come on! The weapons handle and sound really bad!!! What kind of a new game is this?!? This is the age of hi-def next generation gaming! If you can't release a game that can take advantage if not maximize the potential of the PS3, or put in enough talent and dedication in the development of a game, please just don't do it! I have always been a fan of WWII shooters. I mean the developers of CoD did a heck of a job... EA why can't you? This is one disappointed WWII FPS fan, that's all ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yet another bad WWII game.

posted by RobinSage (KILLEEN, TX) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Okay, honestly what would you expect to see with this game? It's another WWII shooter. And it's Medal of Honor....again. This series hasn't changed much from the very first game. Next gen is no exception. The graphics are okay, they're not pushing any envelopes here. The gameplay is horrid. There wasn't much room for gameplay when your in-game radar takes up almost 1/4 of the screen, and on the other side your weapon takes up another 1/4. Not much room to actually see the bad guys you're supposed to kill. Aside from that this shooter is clunky. The controls I found were more complex than they needed to be, and it had you carrying at least one too many weapons. My rating was a 2/10 because I have extremely high standards in games, and if I can't play a game longer than 30 minutes because it makes me mad to play it...then I can't rate it any higher than a 2. Same Medal of Honor, same bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Medal of honor airbourne

posted by 506657 (Spring, TX) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the disc wont work. why is this?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BAD

posted by xAMPEDx (HANOVER, IN) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is one of the worst games i have played. i know its been out for a while but dang i thought it would be better. it remind me of the very first call of dutys that came out of the very first x box.

i give this game a very bad 4 out of 10

ps thanks gamefly for leting me try this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst WW2 Game Ever!!!!!!!

posted by LarrySafar (CLEARWATER, FL) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Medal of Honor Airborne at no point fools you on how awful it really is. From the opening act to the end its one of the most disappointing games available for the current generation of gaming. I must say I really enjoy WW2 games (owning COD 3&5, and also Hells Highway and was truly looking forward to Airborne, but to my surprise it was more dutiful than entertaining. It doesnt even look that good for an EA game either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game rocks!!!

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) May 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, I love how if you don't go out the plane when your supposed to, one of the others like kicks you off. Because sure enough i tried to stay and i got a boot in the butt and that made me go. It was freakin' hilarios.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The shortest war game i have ever played

posted by stott863 (COLUMBUS, NC) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is what Gamefly is about. I would have been so mad if i had spent the money to buy this game. This game took me 14 hrs to beat. I am no where near as good at these type of games as some of you are. It would take a good gamer less than 10 Hrs. The only reason i didn't give it a 1 is because it has good graphics, and the game helps you to get through all the objectives on the levels. It doesn't make you walk around looking for that one thing you haven't done yet. What ever you do don't buy this game. It is a good game to rent, but put it toward the bottom of your list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a let down

posted by WolfBrotha (MELBOURNE, FL) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was pumped to play this game, it ended up falling short in almost every way. The graphics first off, were not too impressive. They weren't as bad as some I've seen, but not up to the standards for the time period when it came out. Second, the controls are choppy and even when you tweak them in the options menu, they don't quite work out like they should. Running makes the screen blur. Leaning out from behind cover makes it difficult to put your iron site on your enemy. Enemies and allies will run back and forth in the open during battles. The controls need to be more run and gun friendly for that kind of design. The sound is actually pretty good. Compared to the rest of the game it almost seems out of place at the quality. The story seems weak, at best. All in all, the game has a great concept that just doesn't live up to its possibilities. If you want a good FPS, this isn't it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good

posted by mellowman (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is bad but if you like WWII games give it a try the graphics are like ps2 :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse