Rent Mayhem 3D for PS3
view large frontback

Mayhem 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.7

271 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

It wasn't that bad...

posted by Robscott21 (WILMINGTON, NC) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To be honest this game was rather fun, seeing as they don't make many racing games now-a-days and if the do its either too serious or not very fun like the new NFS The RUN. You probably won't see another game that offers arcade fun like this. Although, the graphics such and the gameplay is really dated, I still had some fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Gameplay but Graphic Style Soaks up the Fun

posted by BigD2009 (WEST SACRAMENTO, CA) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Review of Mayhem 3D:

Graphics: 4/10
Sound: 8/10
Gameplay: 9/10
Presentation: 6/10
Overall: 6/10

Description:

From the company that brought you "MadWorld" for the Wii comes this awesome racing game with destruction derby, elimination races and banger races. It has a great deal of cars and tracks to choose from, tons of fun action and gameplay, multiplayer (which I didn't try) and Career mode which is done in the style of a comic book. There is only one MAJOR problem: the graphics.

This game has a lot of class with the great gameplay mechanics and wealth of modes, options, unlockables and just overall content. However, it is ruined by the graphics. If you've seen MadWorld for the Wii then you've seen this game's graphics.

While I applaud the innovation in art style and the studio's efforts at trying something new...this style just does NOT work for a racing game. About 10 seconds into my first (and only) demolition derby, my eyes began to be bothered quite a bit actually. They were watery and burning a little and as I played everything just kind of blurred together. I didn't know where the cars were and where the sides of the arena track were.

This doesn't even go to say how horrid the contrast with the red sky can be and doesn't begin to scratch the surface of the annoying white outline around the screen. I get it, they were going for a comic book look like you were playing on the page but a white border around black and white graphics and red contrast just doesn't work for me at all! No, just no.

The art-style was intended for 3D glasses which come with the game if you buy it, but since I rented via gamefly I did not get to experience the 3D. However, everyone has said that the 3D effect sucks, not to mention if my eyes were bugging me this bad in 2D...I can only imagine how they'd feel in 3D!

Overall: There is a great racer here and graphics don't make a game, gameplay does. But when the graphics distract from the gameplay, there is a MAJOR flaw.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

way easy

posted by dragonstooth (SEASIDE, OR) May 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

if your looking for a game that has easy trophys then play this game beat the game in under 2 hrs and got all the trophys in under 3 but other then that not worth playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MAYHEM 3D

posted by BULLYDOG69 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game was one of the most boring games i have ever played. The graphics of this game were terrible. I do not recommend renting or even buying this game. If you do happen to rent it or buy it, just know it was a waste of your money and a waste of your time waiting for it to arrive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by driverbb (DANVILLE, PA) May 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

wow played about 5 mins of this game wanted to throw it out the window

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

mayhem

posted by myersfrost (EAST PALESTINE, OH) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

unless you have 3d glasses dont get this game its a waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

More like a download title

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 20, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

I saw this game drop to $20 in the store so I said I'll give it a try now. Glad I did because this game is not worth the full price it was when released. Not saying its horrible but it is very short. So its more like a download title. Here's my feedback on Mayhem.

The career mode is very short like I said, there's 9-10 chapters each having 4-6 races and its pretty much doing the exact same race in the same order each time only on a different track and sometimes certain cars are restricted. The one thing I do like is the huge line up of cars, mostly its different paint jobs but there are a few different bodies that unlock. It also doesn't matter which one in each class you choose because the stats for the cars are all the same for their class. You know trucks will be stronger and compact cars will be faster.

The Black, White and Red color theme can get eye straining at times but I think they did a good job evening out the tones across the track to highlight all the bumps and objects on the track.

The physics part of the gameplay lacks. All cars seem to go faster than you and everyone goes at the same speed at times. When your car spins out and you hammer on the gas while turning, once you let go of the wheel your car will continue to turn for another second. This gets frustrating when your trying to even out and get back in the race. Instead you slam back into the wall.

This game is also VERY EASY. Most of the demo races the AI doesn't really care about you. If your a trophy person then this should be an easy Platinum to get if you can find people playing online.

In terms of audio, the menu music gets real annoying for me. Nothing really stands out except for the sfx the cars make when hitting and boosting.

I'm not going to say don't get this game but don't expect it to be big. This is all my oppinion anyway, you may have a completely different experience.

A rent game for sure if you want a little destruction derby action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So much potential...

posted by ResidentGamer (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Mayhem 3D had so much potential but much of what it has going for it is lost on the black and white presentation. Mayhem is a driving game that blends racing with the occasional focus on destroying opposing racers. It's very much like the Flatout series in the sense that destroying other cars while racing is acceptable and encouraged. The game offers your standard race mode and career mode, while also including a destruction derby mode for those who are only interested in the destruction of other vehicles and being the last driver standing. The exhibition races/events are standard fare. Select a race type and try to finish first, whether this is placing first after completing a series of laps or being the last car standing. In destruction derby mode, inflict as much damage as possible to every one else's vehicle while trying to minimize the damage to yours. Again, it's all pretty basic but thankfully playable.

The game plays well and cars are responsive, so control will likely not be an issue. Where the game falters is in its presentation. The black and white (with the occasional splotches of red) scheme does not work, which is sad because a game with so much destruction could have been a particularly colorful one when you factor in explosions and a flurry of car parts flying through the air when cars collide. The lack of color just looks plain lazy, like adding color to this game might have taken way too much effort. In Mayhem, the skies are red, which I suppose might add to the game's destructive atmosphere, but I would much rather have the rest of the game be as colorful. Black, white, and red might work for a game like MadWorld on the Wii but for a driving game, I couldn't help but feel like so much potential was lost. It really is like playing a black and white version of Flatout.

Even at budget pricing, it's hard to recommend this game. Sure, it plays well but it's hard to look at. Very hard to look at.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So so

posted by leecoffey75 (LAKE WORTH, FL) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game was ok, but the black and white graphics got boring quickley. Im not sure if this was aimed to make the game unique or the designers just got really freaking lazy. If color graphics were added this game would be much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks!

posted by lars24 (DEFUNIAK SPRINGS, FL) May 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is the worst game ever! no two players, and since when games are cartoon looking

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mayhem Trioscopic 3D?

posted by djaidyn (BENTON, TN) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

First off this game is actually ok. When I started the game up, I put on my Sony 3D glasses I use for games like Killzone 3, Gran Tursimo 5, Socom 4. They didn't work lol. The 3D is the old Trioscopic 3D, so I played the game in 2D. I played through the first 3 scenarios and turned the game off. You gain boost by hitting other cars (original lol)? The damage was cool and the feeling of speed was kinda there, but the announcer said maybe 3 different things the whole race or derby and the soundtrack sucks.......bad. For lack of want to play this game I gave it a 3, but for the 30mins of gameplay I made myself sit through, there were some fun factors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mayhem 3d

posted by no7h1ng (MANCHESTER, NH) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game was alright it's nothing graphically to look at, but it was entertaining for the 3 hours it took me to play thru it. If you're looking for a game that is easy to get all the trophies on this is it. The hardest ones to get were the online ones cause there wasn't too many people playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »