Rent Max Payne for Xbox
view large frontback

Max Payne

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GBA
GF Rating
8.0

628 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Max is still worth a play through.

posted by Longshot (STATE CENTER, IA) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well it’s been like 7 or so years since the world got its first taste of Max Payne. So how’s the old boy doing these days? Well some things about the game are just as good as ever, and some haven’t aged well at all.
Lets start with the bad. The graphics a horrible by today’s standards, the controls are starting to feel outdated, the IA is dumber then a doorknob. But it isn’t all bad, the story is still one of the best to be seen in a shooter or game for that matter, the voice acting is still top notch., the overall game play is still fun and bullet time is still as kick a%% as ever. If you can forgive the bad graphics, the starting to show their age controls and the rest of the things that haven’t aged so well with this game, I think you will find that this game is still a fun third person shooter with a great story to tell. This game did a lot for shooters back not so many years ago so if you want to see a real shooter classic in action, and you think you can put aside your need for top notch graphics, give this game a try I think you maybe surprised at how good it still is.

Be safe all and happy gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Max Payne

posted by SCjames (COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played Max Payne when it was first released and it blew me away, I loved every minute and played it over and over. Until just recently I hadn't played it in around 2 years. I figured it'd bring good memories but it wouldn't have the same effect. Man was I wrong. It's fast paced third person shooter action, with a comical twist her or there. The story is one of the most engaging in gaming history, you can't help but be sucked in. The gameplay is just as engaging. It'll provide hours of fun just finding different ways to kill the same guy. The only thing I find wrong are the graphics, not up to date with games even a year after it came out but who cares. Everything about this game still amazes me. You'd be stupid to turn this one down!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

stepping stone

posted by infanaz (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

max payne was the stepping stone in videogames using the "slo-mo" effect, every since this game released every game has tried to use it, most suck, but a few do it right, like the path of neo, the sequal to max payne and a few others. In max payne you assume the role of new york detective payne, who on his way to his wife and child, comes home to find hisa house broken into, on his way up the stairs, he hears the blood curdling screams of his family, then the gun shots. then silence,killed by junkies hooked on the drug called valkyr. Gone mad, max gets revenge on those responsible, during the game you will get a wide variety of weapons, from baseball bats to the 12 gauge pump action, the cutscenes in max payne are some of the finest games ever produced, it really grabs your attention and the voice of max payne actually makes you feel like your him. The game is gritty, its violent, and not for those who prefer "T" rated games, unlike upsetgamer, this game commands talent and skill, and its easy to enjoy, so if your interested, pick it up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cant agree with the rating at all

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Feb 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Why is it that Programers think the Majority of Gamers like to not be able to get into the game very far before they find out they cant get past a certain level because the programers thought it would be fun gaming to have to walk A red Line in a black room and if you misstep by a Nanometer you die and have to start all over again. If You Ask me it is just Lazy Programing and absolutly no idea what makes a "GOOD" game. I gave up on this game and Am sending it back after just a couple of days, i couldnt get past the Dream Sequence part where you have to follow the redline on the floor and cant tell where the floor is after an hour of continuos try i decided to quit thanks Lazy Programers for another game only about one in a Million people can play and finish

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love it!!!!!

posted by vadic06 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) May 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

ya know i havint played this game since i was 10 years old but when i played this game i got so amazed whos ever reading this seriously get the game so worth playing again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cool for an old game

posted by BioWarM (DENVER, CO) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The game is pretty cool Xbox Original game even for low effects graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dated, But Dateable

posted by Eschaton (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game is dated (its default stick setting is inverted), and the graphics are laughable, but the gameplay stands the test of time. Thank the gaming gods for putting a key binding system where you can edit the controls for EVERYTHING to your liking. Just set it up to be awesome, and it is awesome. Personally, I made "slow down time" to be left bumper, and "super slow down time dodge attack" to be right bumper. Everything else was roughly halo controls. Nice story, nice gunfights, nice experience. No graphical hiccups occur during the port to 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Max Payne

posted by Antico (WESTWEGO, LA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

For an regular xbox game max payne is a great classic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MAX PAYNE: Likes & Dislikes

posted by tonyk1 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

SYNOPSIS:
He was once a decent, gental, family man. Now, DEA agent/vigilante Max Payne is a man on a bloody mission to bring down everyone who was even remotely behind the brutal murders of his wife and child. He is half hard-boiled cop and half stone cold killer. And, he doesn’t discriminate when the bullets start flying. So, I suggest get the frack out of his way.

LIKES:
If you blink, you die. The action is very quick and in your face. You have to stay sharp throughout the game.

The film noir style dialog reminded me of those old dime store crime comics. Max isn’t the only quick wits in the game. But, he the best one.

The realism is also quite good. When you get shot, it starts to slow you down. You can get meds to heal. But, they are few and far between. So, you’ve got to ration them out. Ain’t nothing for free in this game.

DISLIKES:
Bullet time is a privilege not a right. This game is designed to make it a necessity WAY too often. Max doesn’t acquire armor through the game. So, they set him up to wear bullet time like a cheap leisure suit.

The trials are too trying. Figuring out what you have to do in a tough situation doesn’t give you any hints as to how to do it. I had to go online to find out that I was not only supposed to shoot the cables in the last scene, I had to shoot down the tower as well. You will know what I am talking about when you get there.

The story got too big. It was a decent mob story. But, about half way through, they switch things up. Suddenly, there a secret society to defeat. And, an evil woman trying to take over the world.

The dreamscapes are TERRIBLE. They are boring, nauseating, and annoying as all get out. And, worst of all, they don’t serve a purpose for the story or the gameplay.

I thought that the ending was rather unsatisfying, especially after all of the work you have to do to beat the game, while under a 1min countdown.

TIPS:
I’ve got two words for you. “Quick Save.” Use it often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Max Payne

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Oct 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

I'm sorry but by today's standards this game is pretty weak. I can appreciate that it was good back in the day, but it's hard to play now. The controls are very clunky, aiming is horrid (you get a tiny dot), so you get hit a lot, so you die a lot, and they don't give you many health packs. Health packs are dumb. Ever since Halo, I can't stand playing without them now.

If you want a current 'slow motion' game, play F.E.A.R. or Time Shift. The graphics are definitely dated and a couple controls are just backwards. For me to rent a game and play it all the way through it has to grab me and I just don't get that.

The one really good thing about this game is the story. It's told VERY WELL, makes you want to like it, but I think I caught this game too late. I'm told it's good on PC? Must be the mouse/controller issue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game but.....

posted by armydude (APO, AE) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game is a great game, but does not take a lot of time to complete it. I recommend this game to people who like action games. I hope that max payne 2 is as good as this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CRAZY GOOD

posted by dankgamer (WESTMINSTER, CA) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

prabably the best 3rd person story game.max payne is krazy cool weapons are tight bullit time slowmotion is dank and the hole game is just fun never get tired of it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

slow-mow son!

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

GAMEPLAY: 9
GRAPHICS: 9

This game that brought you the bullet-time made famous from the Matrix movies and put it into a format we can control. This game started the slow-mow revolution. A top notch, engrossing story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fast paced, good shooter.

posted by jgarbuz (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Aug 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

This is a fast-paced crime shooter you'll want to play more than once.
The controls and weapons are very nice too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »