Rent Max Payne for PS2
view large frontback

Max Payne

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GBA, Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

484 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

creepy and cool

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 17, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very good. The controls are very straight forward, and repetitive, but has a good story and feel to it. I do like the film noir comic book style, very oldfashioned. The bullet time gameplay is pretty cool. I really like how bloody the game is, one of the bloodiest, i also love how dark and creepy the game is, it can be disturbing. Pretty much all you do in the game, is just look for a bunch of clues to progress the story. The game can really make you feel for max payne, and care for him. The game is pretty long, unless you know what your doing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

im pretty late to write a reveiw of this game!

posted by deathwish (ELGIN, SC) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is one of the best games of 2001 and of all
time!! you come home from work and you head up
stairs to see your baby and wife.when you open the
door to the babys room,you see a high crazy person
holding your dead baby.kill him.head up to your room.and you see your bloody wife on the bed.
i hadnt played this in so long! nothing shall stop you....buy this! and youll feel good ounce you play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the coolest action games available

posted by gamebuff (ANDOVER, MA) May 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Great graphics, game play, story and characters. Plays like a blockbuster action movie that would be released during the summer. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Most Outstanding

posted by switch043 (POTTSTOWN, PA) May 1, 2007

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Max Payne was an exilerating action game, its graphics and glitches were a little sketchy, but what can i say, its a PS2. The games plot is the most interesting part of the game. Max totally kicks goon-bootay and that look on his face is priceless. This game is a pure classic and very original and I recommend this as an 8 out of 10. I love bullet time, very rare in video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Of The Best

posted by vgfreak12 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was one of the best to me. The 1st time I played it, I was in shock. I love the bullet time and the guns and the awesome story. The game overall was fun, yet creepy and disturbing. This game reminds me alot of the Mad Max movie. But that's not the point. This whole game is great from beginning to end. I highly recommend this game. If you haven't played it yet, go out and get it now. Seriously, the game is that good.

PS If you get scared easily, you might not want to play this game at night by yourself when it comes to the dreams he has.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must play

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The inventer of bullet time for gaming. Not only was it big boost to the industry, it was really fun to play. So rent it for both the sake of history and because its a rockin good time.

Pros:
Introduction of bullet time.
Fast paced, fun gameplay.
Plenty of cool weapons.
Challenging, but not frustratingly so.

Cons:
Linear.
Short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i played it since was 5!

posted by Mgs4fan1 (ELKHART, IN) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i like this game far i can remember, i remember just doing the cheats with my dad and we would beat the game every time without knowing what we were just doing. Anyway graphics are really good surprisingly and the sequence & everything is just like that movie that came out on paper view max payne with mark wahlberg. GREAT actor!!!!!!
Its not always about the game, its usually how u play the game like GTA4 for example. you can do all kinds of stuff and yet the sequence will keep moving forward.
Hope u liked this review!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Dukesfan (CYPRESS, TX) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I loved the game, and also loved the epic explosion at the end. I thought some parts in the game were too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Max Payne is full of fun and action!!!

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Max Payne brings the player a mix of action with a good storyline to boot. The graphics may be a bit grainy given that the newest age of systems has better graphics. I'm sure when the third installment comes out this year it will be everything plus more. I really had a ball with Max Payne and I'm definitely putting Max Payne 2 on my Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Payneful

posted by KyngHalibytt (CABOT, AR) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is a well-written game with great voice acting. The story is good, but a little too dramatic. The graphics are dated, and the controls are hard to get used to. I encountered a few glitches. Max would run to the wrong area during a cut-scene, or the game wouldn't load. Also, the game is pretty difficult. In closing, the game is fun to play, but has a few issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

In a New York Minute

posted by shadowmove (ENDICOTT, NY) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Ok so, the realistic qualities of this game is amazing, but the aiming system in it really sucks. I have died time and time again because of the really poor targting/aiming system this has, you have to move the right joystick in order to aim at an enemie, I hate that. Another flaw is how you have all these physically impossible obstacles you have to get by as you get further in the game. Max Payne himself is very badass, and you get to see the side of New York noone even wants to mention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Max Pain!

posted by Skuzzlebut (VIDOR, TX) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Max Payne is a cliche comment game with a painfully broken control and camera system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Motion Sickness

posted by Corzy91 (WESTLAKE VILLAGE, CA) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I have played Max Payne on the computer before, but I wanted to play it again. Because I no longer have a computer, i decided to try it on the PS2. It is awful. I love the story, but the controls are sloppy, the graphics aren't very good, the camera is jerky, and the game gives me a headache. I can't play the game fore more than twenty minutes before I begin to get a headache and get sick. It took so much time for me to figure out exactly how I needed the controls so it would be easier to play. Not only is the camera jerky, but the movements are very jerky and the game occasionally lags. I absolutely love the story. It was well written and I like how they presented it in almost a comic book style in between levels, but I just can't deal with the rest. The game isn't really hard to play once you tweak the controls, but it's not exactly a good port. If you want to play this game then I recommend getting it for the computer. The PS2 version just isn't very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Below Average Conversion of a Great Game

posted by azjoe73 (MESA, AZ) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I played Max Payne way back when it premiered on the PC many years ago and loved it's style and fun gameplay. I thought it would be fun to take a stroll down memory lane. Unfortunately, this PS2 port of the PC game left much to be desired.

The first problem I had was the washed out graphics that loses much of the style and detail that made it some amazing on the PC many years ago. I can vividly remember the bullet time moments and watching bullets flying all around the room. These details have been removed in order to get the game to run on the PS2 but this leads to a loss of some of the style that made Max Payne so memorable.

Also a problem for me was the controls which I felt did were not as responsive as the keyboard and mouse I used years ago. I spent much of the first hour of game play tweaking the controls to find something comfortable.

So, this is a great game, but I would highly recommend that you play it on the PC or maybe even the Xbox if possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Stop running!

posted by digikill82 (HARLINGEN, TX) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Its not that May Payne is a bad game. It was just young and did not know any better. It got mixed up with the wrong crowd and just came out a bit bad that's all. I am of course referring to the lack of good shooting mechanics and poor platforming in this game. This would not be so bad if it was not for the fact that you need to shoot with near pinpoint accuracy in order to kill the enemies who seem to be able to hit you from across any distance even in some instances through doorways. Another thing this game got wrong is the lack of a walk feature. While some would question why a character would need to walk when being chased by enemies wielding dual Uzis the answer is very simple. There are some stages where you can not advance the story unless you precisely guide Max on top of beams that he barely fits on. One minor twitch in the controls and he falls to his death causing you to start the level over no matter how close you were to the checkpoint. This seems unnecessarily hard as any movement in any direction causes Max to sprint in full force so you can imagine how annoying and frustrating this can get.
Having said this, the story of Max Payne is superb. Even to today's standards it manages to pull you into the action and aside from some obligatory stereotypical bad guys or perhaps because of them it actually seems plausible. This is the only reason that this game gets such a high rating. Otherwise it would be curtains for Payne and then he would sleep with the fishes, capiche?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

?????????

posted by griffin090 (SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

i lost interest way too fast! i couldnt beat it without cheats, and the controls are broken! especially the jumping! the story is just way too repetetive infact i got bored after the 2nd level! at first i thought i picked up a great game! but instead i beat it in 45 minutes! no joke! this game is just boring as heck, and i guess im going to have to see the movie thats coming out next year to actually see something cool. the gameplay got boring after 30 minutes! the ending was just pure nothingness! why is it that every game thats boring ends up getting great ratings??? i dont think ill like any highly rated game or movie!!!! max payne?? MAX POO!! im sending this back right now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »