Rent Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne for PS2
view large frontback

Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.8

542 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, in some ways

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 17, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, max payne 2 is a good game, but its not as dark and creepy as the first one, at all. Not to mention, not as bloody. I really wasnt much for the mona sax relationship in the game, though the end of the relationship was a little depressing. I really like the rag doll effects in the game, but the effects arent too sensitive. I like how the game doesent have much of the comic book shots in the game, a lot of it is just moving, your not exacally looking for clues in this one, like the first max payne. I also thought the cartoony stuff in the game, dident work too well, not in max payne, but some of it was good. As in the transfer to the PS2, not to good, you have to keep going to the main menu to save, or start over.

Its very hard for me to say which max payne is better. The second max payne, is good in a lot of ways, as in some good gameplay. But, the first max payne has a better story, and better feel to it. Basically, they're the same taste, i think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

same as the first

posted by crazy8 (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Aug 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you liked the first Max payne you will like this one. It's not as bloody as Max payne 1 but outside of that its more of the same.My only complaint about this game is as with max 1 are the controls and the
camera.Inperticuler the camera it seems to have a mind of it's own at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good, but short

posted by Dukesfan (CYPRESS, TX) Jan 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

I loved the improved graphics, gameplay, physics, and story, but the game is short, but makes it fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Max in love

posted by slicknick (Brooklyn, NY) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

This game is more of the same.its exactly like Max payne but with a love story.its still cool to play although its pretty short.max is a cool character though.gotta loive it.worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautifully Written Fil Noir Classic

posted by 3rd_St_Saint (TERREBONNE, OR) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Such a Beautifully created game! I had my whole family spellbound playing through the levels as the cello-themed cutscenes drug you further into the dark, twisted reality that is Max Payne's life.

Epic firefights, slow-motions with diving and a free dive option, this game adds what the first game was missing and brings it together in a way that is beautifully familiar and warmly welcomed at the same time. No real hiccups in the game and with a nice, steady smooth pace, it's a warm, refreshing breeze from start to finish. A nice, even difficulty throughout, it is a must play title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Max Payne The Fall of Max Payne

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

What is better than one painfully fun game? Two painfully fun games! Remedy has thrown in their trump card. They have teamed up with bonifide badass game studio Rockstar Games to bring the highly anticipated sequel to life. Max Payne falls in love while taking out the bad guys again. The graphics are good as well as the story. Keep making Max do what he does best people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you Loved the first one...

posted by bgdg00 (RIALTO, CA) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

...then you'll love this one. Truly the one thing that set Max Payne apart from other cop games(if there ever was any) was how engrossing the story is. The sequel is no different. The first time I played it, I played for 5 hours straight! That's how much the story grabs you. Now truthfully, the graphics are not great at all and the controls seem a little dicey at first, after a while you get used to it and really begin to enjoy the story and the players. I really had a ball with this game. It is a solid rent and buy only if you are a die hard Max Payne fan. My only regret is that it's not better made. If it was put together with FFX or higher graphics, this game would have became legendary. Seriously, no lie. The story is there, just other keys aren't. Oh well...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »