Rent Mass Effect 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Mass Effect 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

4302 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great untill the end than sucks.

posted by greyfoxisa (DENVER, CO) May 23, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

So the game was great. Loved ME2 But the end...

SPOILER

The end sucks. Shepard either dies in a incredibly stupid manner, and wins or lives and get indoctrinated and the reapers kill everyone. It had so much potential but leaves such a incredibly bad taste in my mouth i wish i had never played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOOOOOOOOORING!

posted by mongoslade (CHICAGO, IL) May 23, 2013

Member since Jun 2006

I sent this game back after playing for 3 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hi

posted by maruice1 (NEW BERN, NC) May 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

every game I get on my a game Q you sent me the wrong one that I didn't want right now in I am not happy with your right now I wanted NBA 2K13 & WWE13 in it take about 10 days to arrive to me and you'll see it take 2-4 business days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not playable

posted by 3stooges (BOCA RATON, FL) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

I was not able to play it because of the downloadable content error. I also got a disk read error and had to keep restarting my ps3. It looks like the downloadable content error is common for xbox and ps3 as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustrating

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

You start off with several firefights and then suddenly you are shown several hours of cutscenes and an open world -- with no clue whatsoever what to do. Boring. Confusing. I hated the first one. I skipped the second one. I abhor this one. But I guess in a world in which people actually like anime and "American Idol" ...this must be a good game. I hope ME fan girls enjoy it as much as I hated it. I will stick to Saint's Row, thank you very much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

story mode sucked.

posted by OnMyMind (DEERFIELD BEACH, FL) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

It started out good until you complete the first mission and once the Normandy docks, you get stuck in a tutorial that never ending. At this point its like a never ending maze of worthless chatter and wondering around aimlessly around the ship when you just want to play the freakin game. Its a bunch of bull. I sent this game right back in under 20 mins. No love for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by Frank12 (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Mar 31, 2012

Member since May 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

this game is wack

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What Happen???

posted by Kouno (AURORA, CO) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This is the first review I have ever wrote, but after playing this game, I knew I had to write one. I played Mass Effect 1 and 2, and loved them fully, but ME3? Starts off as strong as any game I have seen, but by the end I was left wishing the reapers would harvest me. The ending leaves more question then before and in the end your time on 1 and 2 does not matter. As for online play, well good if you want to spend real cash to buy the best weapons right away, but other wise just another lost. I mean, really unless you want to pay EA even more money for the best stuff, you can not do anything on MP. Just a full lost on a great series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Endings

posted by freedomchicken (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Until/if they fix the endings I have to give this game a 1 rating. The ending just ruins the whole series for me and gets rid of any replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad graphics

posted by kaponess96 (EVERETT, WA) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

the guy runs around like an action figure. Alright plot but seemed like I was playing a game for the 90's. Just seems they could have made his movements alittle more realistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mass Defect

posted by Everhate (LADYSMITH, WI) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

This game is not worth purchase, and probably not even worth renting. It is complete trash.
After playing ME2 (which I enjoyed greatly) ME3 was a slap in the face. From its meager game play to its lame cultural agenda it is something I could do without in my games.

In ME2 "Shepard" (selected female) plays a strong role, be it paragon or renegade, that has a great freelance RPG flow. While in ME3 "Shepard" is a complete Emo and spends the entire game on the verge of a break down as her biological clock races to its finish... much as I wish this game would have.

In ME2 "extra social activities" between cast members were part of a laundry list of possible things to do.
ME3 is more like SIMs in Space and you are pushed almost at the opening scene to deal directly with the subject throughout the game.

- Graphics actually looked a step backwards to me during scripted conversations.
- Game play remained similar
- No more mining of planets, which is a positive or negative depending on how you played ME2
- Expanded Character Skill System (yes, your maxed out BA from ME2 sucks again)
- AI is still mind numbing and squad mates have random "alistar moments"
- Dream sequences are lame
- Stop with pay to play your games online pass stuff, add that to having pay for DL content the day the game is released?
EA games , and others that are doing the same no mater how much I look forward to them, are just not going to make it to my purchase, or rent list anymore.

I would have given this game a 1 but gave it a 2 instead because I wanted to credit EA with such breakthroughs as, getting the name of the game right, allowing the import of characters, because it is Wednesday.

- an Alistar moment refers to the character Alistar in the game Dragon Age, who despite whatever setting you put his AI at, would charge to his death almost immediately once combat began.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

mass effect 3

posted by dlebeauf (FRISCO, TX) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

needs to have a option to just play more action and less dialogue. no option to skip through the dialogues. way too much dialogue. did I mention that there is a lot of dialogue. weapons were okay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

misleading

posted by pencek (ACWORTH, GA) Aug 5, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is a rpg, not a shooter. not by a long shot. i 'played' for an hour and had the controller in my hand for a total of 5 minutes. i dont see how anybody finds that entertaining. if i want to watch a show about aliens with a bad plot ill turn on TNT. F--- this game for wasting my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a fan

posted by QuasimodO (MIDDLETOWN, DE) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

Confusing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great gameplay, HORRIBLE ending.

posted by jonwilljon (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The gameplay, graphics, and controls for this game were almost flawless, leaving little to be desired, but the ending basically overshadowed all these positives brought to the game. No matter what choices you make or how you play the game, the end result is the same all across the board. Without inadvertently ruining the ending, however poor it may be, I will just stick with saying they are all major downers. All endings feel like you lose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is so broke on the PS3 Wait for a patch

posted by michaeljpitts (GAINESVILLE, FL) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 22 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I stupidly bought this game. Its a mess plain and simple. I got a new slim PS3 and it freezes quite a bit. Now If you're one of the new gen of gamers that is used to restarting your machine every hour or so its a cool game I guess. Hard to get into when your restarting your machine that much. I dont BS, And I love a lot of the new games. But this thing is broke! BUT you can download it via PSN. And I have heard threw the Hard drive you wont get the freezes. If you must have this I would go with the PSN download. And no I would not buy a 360 just for this game, stupid thought their.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much to start

posted by wallablue (SPARKS, NV) Dec 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

took tooo LONG too set up I just wanted to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great ...If you have online

posted by Plasmanoid3000 (MIAMI, FL) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I Love The ME series, the fact i bought all three should say enough, unfortunately people without online pass have too just deal with half of what we paid to Play.

... disappointment too the series. No loyal mission. Side mission barely, which too say it still part of the prior mission, just the fact if you want too complete it or not, Scanning the planet is just scanning No exploring. Big thumbs down, i cant believe i'am saying this But better expect Short game play with No Big Wow. Worth buying just too say i have it, and the fact it's the last part still, i recommend ME1 or ME 2 over this one.

... Lastly, i don't recall if the others had Vanguard class but the new power it comes with is fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mass Effect 3

posted by rgw100 (LAKELAND, FL) May 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

I tried Mass Effect 3 in the RPG option and was dissappointed with the amount of video you have to watch. I like RPGs that are mostly play time, and this one failed miserably.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Heads Up!!!

posted by cal_gamer (CEDAR RIDGE, CA) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

You better be ready to buy the online pass if you wanna play on the wire. Of course good game, from what I could tell, didn't finish it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More of the same.

posted by Bouncingsoul39 (GLENDALE, CA) Aug 4, 2012

Member since May 2011

Overrated. Bioware continues to pander to the masses with lumped in multiplayer and different play modes for casual gamers.
I found the story boring and repetitive. Not different enough story wise from number ME2.
The ending once again takes away from true RPG elements and provides only the illusion of choice.
The combat is lackluster and the cover system is garbage. I found myself rolling at cover over and over instead of sticking to it. You almost always get hit while in cover and the AI spams grenades like no tomorrow. Your squad is next to useless and will just stand there doing nothing half the time.
Little opportunity for true sniping or long range battles. All the levels are like this. You walk into a square or rectangular space with lots of low walls or taller crates, the enemy spaws in randomly and you kill them. Rinse and repeat.
There is a lot of glitches on the PS3 version. I had one boss battle that had to be done several times because the game glitched and wouldn't advance.
The trend in gaming lately is sad. Games like this and Skyrim that look great visually but have little depth or story with terrible combat. ME1 was the best in the series. Just like DA:o was also superior to its successors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

My thoughts so far with this game

posted by Zops_ps3 (GREAT FALLS, MT) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I have not beaten this game yet as I started playing this recently. So far though I am disappointed with the game. My reasons are the animations/graphics/how fluid the characters move. The first thing I noticed when playing the game on PS3 is the chopyness of cut scenes especially at the beginning. Then the next thing that irritated me was how Shepard moves with his arms out all the time in one movement. It looks completely fake. All the character and their movements are not very fluid with their animations. I guess recently I have had an eye for this since I've been playing Tomb Raider. I understand the graphics are poor due to making the games around the consoles then porting to pc but still could have added more settings for pc version. Also, I don't expect games that are developed recently to run good on ps3 or 360 as their graphic cards are 6 years old which is even amazing they can run recent games. Either way it definitely felt like the developers rushed development on the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dont get on Ps3

posted by sando (ALLENSTOWN, NH) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

If you have other options get it on pc or xbox both of those play smoother.. I'm talking pop in during cut scenes on ps3 i downloaded pc demo to see if it was the same it is alot better. If you only have ps3 then its probably fine but if your use to pc like i am this will be unenjoyable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was ok

posted by feverhost (LAKESIDE, CA) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Unfortunately, another game that didn't live up to the excellence of Far Cry 3. I'm still looking for a game that is as visually stunning; the search continues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse