Rent Mass Effect 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Mass Effect 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.7

9227 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent

posted by rkirkland (BUFFALO, NY) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

Outstanding RPG/Shooter. Too bad Gamefly doesn't offer it for sale used, would have kept the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best That It Gets

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

This is one of those games you actually remember after you beat it, with plenty of side missions, upgrades, character development, choices, and solid missions with great dialogue and events you won't easily forget ME2. Worth a total buy to me, since you can play again and it has downloadable content to make it about a 60 hour game you will at least enjoy once....A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God made this...

posted by Plasmanoid3000 (MIAMI, FL) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The fact that the cover look's like a 1900's bad movie. And still be this Awesome No question asked God was the man who made this...oh yea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game i played in over a year

posted by bigboy145 (HILLSBOROUGH, NC) May 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

i was very loose with mass effect one worrying that i wont enjoy it cause i wont get it trust me you can and will get it trust me when i say its not the story mode that gets you its the side missions you do to recuit and gain the respect of your recuits i havent even finshed the game yet but every day i pour 5 to 6 hours into it with only like 4 hours into the story you will find alot to do here wheters its trying to romance a character or just making differnt choices than your previous ones mass effect 2 delivers dont worry about mass effect one if you never played it on the 360 you will feel right at home and not even caring about the old one cause you make new memorys and storys from the very start its a must buy and play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding

posted by Crimzon (PANAMA CITY, FL) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2009

This game was very nicely put together, the perfect blend of opened ended and story line based gaming I have ever played. I also love how the games tie together, I cant wait to play the 3 game of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Commander Shepard is THE MAN!!!

posted by go4italan (IRVINE, CA) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I played this game twice I loved it so much. On the PS3, the game includes some extra dlc and the comic of the first game, which just adds to the shear magnitude of this game. This game is just awwesome in every aspect. I really couldn't find a problem with it anywhere.

CAN'T WAIT FOR ME3!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Masterpiece

posted by Bg1904 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Funnest game I have ever played. If you like in depth rpg, shooters and running your own ship, this is the game for you. Ea and Bioware took Star Trek, Star Wars, The Sims, Halo and mashed them all together to make a perfect game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Massive Effect on me!!

posted by kellyeliz69 (METAIRIE, LA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

My first review.I cannot believe how good this game is...I love rpg/shooter hyrbrids ..I am age 41 and female so I know I am in a very small group of gamers but this game was a complete blast. A game like this used to "scare" me but I was completely wrong.
I like stories and I like characters that I can actually get attached too and I like lots to do ...and this has all of that.
Graphics are great..
Voice acting great..
Combat---its shooting and powers can't go wrong- with your buddies helping you kick butt- very nice!
There are plenty of side quests as well.
There is a unique mining system for upgrades.
Just the way they did the whole envirionment and the interactions was very smart.
Seriously the only thing that I didn't like about this game is that it ended.
I beat it and I almost couldn't bear sending it back to GF..I may just have to buy it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game has it All!!

posted by Muggrudd (GREENACRES, WA) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

In depth story line, jaw dropping graphics, awesome weapon and special abilty selection, tons of in depth charecters. IMMENSE background story and information. Space exploration, commercial mining, RPG choices, team tactical and first person shooter combat! This game doesn't miss anywhere.

Sometimes the storyline and background info can get a little long winded but it is worth it because you will be lost in this world. Only really disapointing thing is that the game ends. I coulda played forever. Must play for RPG or first person shooter players. Must play for sci-fi fans. Cannot wait until next installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mass effect 2

posted by frdtec (MAYVILLE, WI) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

wow if you dont rent this game your missing out! talk about an addicting game! its awesome well worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mass efect2

posted by drauwerda (BUNA, TX) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

this game is so frekin hard I never whant to see it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best RPG ever!!!!

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I loved the game it was awesome recruiting different aliens going to different planets. I loved the creativity to the game. I also liked the Normendi ship it had cool stuff. I also loved the fish u can buy so exotic colors. A great game!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioware's best game ever

posted by Starfoxstatic (ARNOLD, MD) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

When I first saw this I had second thoughts but then when played it my whole video game career changed. This game is amazing, the beginning is slow with cut-scenes, but once you create your character and pick up your first pistol your quest of addictive game play begins. You can be Mr. good guy with justice and all, or you can be a cold hard jerk. There is a good variety of weapons (military to alien weapons), and there's a choice wheel like Dragon Age 2, and have relationships with fellow teammates. I could have been playing final fantasy 13, but instead I took the time to write this review about Mass Effect 2 and tell how epic this game is. Click that keep button because you'll be making a lot of free time for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mass Effect 2 is a breath of fresh air...

posted by Invictus_B (PLOVER, WI) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I downloaded the demo at first, as I was bored and just figured I'd mess around checking out demo's for the night. Mass Effect 2 was quite a breath of fresh air. It is very innovative and has an engaging and captivating story plot, as well as an entertaining game play format. Needless to say, I loved it so much that the next day, I went and bought it, and still am not disappointed. I have even already pre-ordered Mass Effect 3 N7 Collector’s Edition already it was such an intriguing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mass effect 2

posted by hbo04 (HAYWARD, CA) Aug 31, 2011

Member since May 2011

best game ever a must play title love this rpg

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mass effect 2 "10...out of '10'...mir perfect

posted by jaybig22 (LINDENHURST, NY) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

I’ve always had a fascination for hi-fi space movies. from star wars, star track ext. so to have a game where I can depict the outcome of everything that I do with high graphics beautiful game play and intense story and dialogue is well worth a ten to me……mass effect 3 can’t wait…8)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Utter Perfection

posted by Hannibal2003 (CHARLESTON, SC) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

If you enjoy action this is the game for you. If you enjoy story telling, this is the game for you. If you enjoy role play/ customization, this is the game for you. There is a reason why Sony fought so hard to get this game even though it had been released on X-box almost 2 years earlier. The Mass Effect universe is so well thought out and developed it very easily rivals any other Sci-Fi saga out there, including the enormous Star Trek and Star Wars universes, in a video game. A must play for any gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Near Perfection

posted by RedRobin (CLEVELAND, GA) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

There is only one thing that could possibly be better than Mass Effect 2. And that would be the impending release of Mass Effect 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by drummer5257 (JACKSON, NJ) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is awesome and has so many different ways to play it, get it u wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mass Effect 2

posted by AzWildCatpjj (GILBERT, AZ) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is by far the best game I have played on the PS3. If you haven't played it you should, even if you don't really like RPG games like me. The blend of character interaction and shooting is excellent. The graphics, voice acting, music are all outstanding. Just a really fun game to play/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What an excellent game! An instant classic!

posted by cajunkonection (TUCSON, AZ) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This is the game that defines the "new" RPG genre. As much of a fan as I have always been of the turn based type of JRPGish games like Final Fantasy 6-12, Chrono Trigger, and Earthbound type of games that were easily 10's themselves, this game like Fallout 3 and a very few others have achieved what it is all the quote unqoute action RPG games have been for years trying to capture. The storyline, which is my personal favorite part of traditional RPG'S and the reason I have not seen a really good traditional RPG for some time, in this game is above excellent. I found myself feeling emotionally pulled in this way or another and often had to take quite a few minutes to decide on certain storyline branches. Which leads to the next reason the game is easily a 10. The choices I made actually made the game different instead of just changing a few dialog options. The action based gameplay was great, although it did seem a tad easy, and the playability was superb. I played through it once, then played through a second time to see the different effects my choices would make. The other day I wanted to rent it just to play through it once again, but to be honest I am totally satisfied with how my game ended, and really don't want to fool with it. I can't wait for Mass Effect 3, or better yet until tey re-relaese all three together as a package deal. If you haven't played this game, what off earth are you whating for!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For Those Who Havent Played It, You Need To.

posted by Quest1844 (SOUTH CHICAGO HEIGHTS, IL) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

Let me start by saying that I have played the original Mass Effect on the Xbox and Mass Effect 2 at least 12 times each prior to playing Mass Effect 2 on the PS3 version. I have also unlocked every achievement and trophy possible, so needless to say I have had a lot of experience playing this. You need to understand that this game is the PERFECT blend of shooter and RPG. Its becomes extrememly addictive and more than likely due to the ridiculous amount of variables created by mixing and matching choices you can easily do numerous playthroughs and still not have seen everything. You can customize your Hero Shepard to be a male/female, black/white, bignose/small nose, etc. Which is a very nice feature to add to the game being given a more personal feel. This is a third person shooter also. If anyone who have played the Xbox 360's "Gears of War", combat plays very similar. You can control your squadmates to a point. You can tell them where to go, what powers to use and when and to direct fire at a particular enemy. This comes in handy if you playing on harder difficulties and is an absolute Necessity when attempting to play on "INSANE" the games hardest difficulty. The squad members you will recruit are great and very diverse in abilities and personalities. By talking to each of them inbetween Main/Side mission you gain valuable information and can even romance one or more squad mates given the right conditions. The last thing i will say is, this game (as well as Mass Effect 1) has one of the most EPIC endings in any game ever, period! You will more than likely get goosebumps. And the experience is even more enhanced because the decisions you've made throughout the entire game (positive/negative) can have a masssive impact on who lives and dies at the end. Good luck! Get this game! And I hope this helps any of you who are on the fence about playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest game ever!

posted by usagoalie (FORT COLLINS, CO) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This was seriously one of the best games i have ever played. The free rooming capability is awesome, the story line is sweet and the customization is incredible. Every move you make helps to decide what happens in the end of the game. and will tie to what happens in mass effect 3. I cannot wait for me3. I highly recommend this game, you will not regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mass Effect 2 is AWESOME!

posted by RevzXVX (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Being a DragonAge fan I was naturally interested in the Mass Effect series. The only thing that kept me from getting it right away is that it is a shooter (I normally don't care for shooters much). However, after seeing all the high scores it got in reviews and the fact my friends were raving how good it was I decided to GameFly it before making a purchase...

About 1 hr after receiving the disc from GameFly I promptly headed out to the store and picked it up, and tossed GameFly's disc in the mail to get the next game in my queue.

This game is the real deal, the critic reviews are not just hype. If you are a shooter AND/OR a fan of well done interactive stories do yourself a favor and go pick it up, you won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mass Effect 2 ROCKS!!!

posted by damianv1 (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since May 2011

Best game I've played in a looooong time! We need more games like this! The bar has been raised peeps!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse