Rent Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds for PS3
view large frontback

Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.0

5346 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Flashy, fun, and over the top.

posted by Guardian_Wolf (TRION, GA) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Marvel Vs Capcom 3 is a completely worthy installment in the Capcom Vs. franchise. It has a very worthy roster, though it is missing some of the big names like Gambit and Mega Man, and has character I personally feel were not as worthy of being there, but the choices were respectable none-the-less. The characters have a lot of variety, something for every player, and every one is flashy and fairly powerful, and I'm sure every character will have someone that loves to play as them.

The controls are also solid and wonderful. Incorporating fewer buttons for ease of combat and less useless normal attacks was a very welcome addition, and on top of that the 'simple mode' can really help newer players get into the game, learn how to chain together combos, and ready themselves for the full control scheme.

As a competitive fighting game, the big strength of this game for me is the Vs online play. It had very little lag on my connection, and was fun, though sadly a bit lacking. If there was an option to customize your lobby or games to any real extent, then I missed it. I didn't even see a way to turn off the timer, which I usually do for online fighting games.

Speaking of a lack of content, offline this game offers very little incentive to play, beyond the rather fun game play, which will certainly get boring after rounds and rounds of facing AI. There are rewards to unlock, but they are fairly bland. My favorite unlock-able was the character bio's, but it really wasn't worth going through the game nearly 40 times to unlock them all. I only did it for the characters I loved to play as, including Okami's Amaterasu and Street Fighter's Chun-li. Online profile unlock-ables are a bit better, titles and icons, but still turned out bland.

My biggest issue, like many competitive games, some people are perfectly content to not really even play the game, but rather sit in the corner spamming projectiles, just for the win. It's cheap, boring, cowardly, and no fun at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

brought me back

posted by Jburnualive (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

beat the game pretty fast, great simple gameplay, usually vs. games like this and mortal kombat need extensive combos for big moves which to me is annoying I want instant action in a vs. fighter and this delivered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not much different than MVC 2

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Feb 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 is one of my all time favorite fighting games. I loved the diversity in the roster, all the special moves, and crazy combos you can pull off. Naturally, when they announced MVC 3, I did my best Homer Simpson impersonation. Of course, I followed all the latest developments on the game, watched all the trailers, and have to say that I went in to playing this with low expectations. Only because half of the roster are characters I can care less about. But I knew that there will be enough diversity in the roster to make the game as epic as part 2 was. So after spending countless hours with the game, I have to say that I am a little disappointed in the final outcome. The game is great looking, very flashy, and all the characters signature moves just pop on screen. But in playing the game I didn't really feel challenged, since I pretty much mastered part 2, I was already kicking butt in part 3 and felt that there is no real room to grow. Plus the simple array of modes didn't make me feel confident enough to go out and purchase the game. Although downloadable content in the future will help, the initial offering is a lackluster at best. The great thing about this game is it is tons of fun, even if you never played the series before. The graphics look great, I love the cell shaded look. The moves are easy to execute, and the addition of a 3rd attack button adds a bit of flair to the combos. Online mode is fun, works well, and gives the game enough ooomf to stay fresh. The music is fast, fun, and the environments look awesome. I would wait to see whats on the horizon in terms of downloadable content before I commit to buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun

posted by lollollol85242 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is fun to play with freinds, becuase of all the characters, but the single-player and online sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

marvel vs capcom 3

posted by eeaabb (LAKEWOOD, CA) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

this game was a very entertaining and fun game. two player is a blast and arcade is fun, but after you unlock everybody, which is like only 4 guys gets kind of boring, but gets entertaing again. The worst thing is that theres no big roster. On the brightside it has a great lineup. It has great visual effects and sound effects. each character ending is great.
Visual effects: 10
Sound effects: 10
roster: 7
Play time: 9
arcade: 8
all in all : 8.9=9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Fate of Two Worlds rest in your hands!!!

posted by Chikage (COVINA, CA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

MVC3 is completely different to MVC2, but hey, I'm not complaining because this game has changed and is awesome!!!

Even though there are less fighters this game, each one is great to use and the combos that they can create will amaze you.

The offline mode grants you to play the Arcade Mode, Versus Mode, Training Mode, and the Mission Mode. The Online is where the action of players wanna battle each other online, and you can use 3 pre-created teams (a new feature in MVC3) if you don't wanna go to the Character Selection Screen.

The battles are a little bit different as the buttons are different. If anyone has played Tatsunoko Vs. Capcom on the Wii, then it'll be similar. Weak, Medium and Strong attacks while the 4th button is known as special. This usually grants the player to launch the opponent in the air and allow them to combo them. Some new features in this game are the X-Factor and the Team Aerial Combos help you create even more advanced combos to demolish your opponent.

This game is awesome, and I won't put this game down for a long time!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

so/so

posted by p3lover1 (ARVERNE, NY) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this was my first game in the marvel vs. capcom series and i really didnd like the controls for the special moves they were too dificult in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just Plain Bad

posted by Emmee (NAPA, CA) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy fighting games, you will not enjoy this one. Beyond the amazing graphics and idea of Marvel vs Capcom...the game was just a pure train wreck. I am hoping that SF vs Tekkon will be much better...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just OK

posted by Krazoom (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

These fighting games have never been my style but I love Marvel comics and Capcom holds a special place in my heart because of my memories from the 90's so I try to give these games a chance. I guess I just don't see much originality in it. I mean if you played one Capcom vs Marvel game then you've played them all. It's just a button mashing mess. You press a random order of buttons and hope that you land a shot. No real strategy in these types of games but hey to each their own.

I did like the sound effects and I loved ABSOLUTELY loved the option to not only choose between Japanese and English languages but to also individually choose the characters language. Don't know if that was a feature in past games but I really thought that was genius.

Even so, I just don't see the appeal in the types of games but I'm sure others do and for that reason I give it a 5. Not my style of game but I appreciate it either way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MVC3 is not MVC2

posted by mellowchillgpt (RIVERSIDE, CA) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

16 out of 27 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

This is a review for MVC3 for people who actually played MVC2.

This is a review for fighting game fan's.

Lets start on the Pro's
-Visuals are great
-New characters to play with ex. Zero, Phoenix, Wesker (from Resident Evil)
-If you are not good at fighting games this game will make you feel good about yourself.
-End Boss is cool, but cheap.

Cons

-Every move is the same for all characters which is a con for people who actually like a diverse move list.
- Limited moves since there are only two combinations either quarter circle forward or back and a attack button.
-Super moves are cheap since they take up the whole screen and sometimes the camera singles on the character who uses it. This leaves the opponent open for an attack.
-The end boss, is very cheap you will die a lot.
- Attack buttons have been streamlined into 3 buttons L, M, H attack and special which launches the opponent into the air.
- Endings are not worth it because they are only a single slide describing nothing because there is no story.
-Roster has been reduced from MVC2 which will probably be sold to the consumer at 5 dollars.

This review is for the hardcore MVC and fighting game fan, if you are new to fighting games or just want to fight Marvel characters vs Capcom characters then this games for you. If you are not you will probably be disappointed, don't slam me if you don't like my opinion since that is what it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Marvel vs Capcom 3..I waited this long for this??

posted by scottb826 (YULEE, FL) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

First off, let me say that I absolutely loved MCV2!! This one, not so much. Let me explain why...
First, the pros...
Easy to play...even if not an advent fighter for fighting games.
Combos are really simple to pull off.
The new characters are interesting.
Visual effects are cool!
Now for the cons...
Lousy voice over.
Same moves for almost every character it seems.
The last boss is cheap!!
The endings for each character are drab and lame!
Playability is so simple, it is boring.
Not enough characters
After all this time, I waited for them to finally make a stunning sequel with the capabilities of the PS3 and all I see is some slightly polished PS2 graphics and an even less thrilling combat system. I am a huge fan of both Capcom and Marvel characters, but this game seriously lacked the umph that should have been thrown into what could've been a masterpiece at hand. I am glad that I rented it instead of forking over $64 at Gamestop to buy it. This game should have had more invested technology involved into it instead of rushing an unpolished product just to make sales. Come on Capcom and Marvel...you need to step it up. The PS3 has alot more capabilities than you allowed it to utilize. Hope this helps. I know that this is just my opinion, so you can take it or try the game out for yourself...either way, I hope you like it better than I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What happened?

posted by batmanreturns (ZEBULON, NC) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would have been happier with a Marvel Vs Capcom 2 HD remix similar to how streetfighter 2 HD remix was done. I would have had my 56 characters and the better 2d animation and better voicework than what was delivered.

The wolverine voice sounds horrible. Why could they not have reused the voices from MVC2? Wolverine doesn't even sound like the one from the cartoon series anymore.

They had 10 years to work on this. They could have put every single character from part 2 in here and then some.

Instead they are gonna stretch it out with DLC every month and charge people an extra 50 dollars by the time its over with just to get the amount of characters already provided in MVC2.

They wont get another dime from me. Im going back to playing the marvel vs capcom 2 15 dollar downloadable game from PS3 network.

Much better value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pointless Waste

posted by MySTe12Y (NEWTON, NJ) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Over the years Capcom & Marvel have made some interesting games.
Thinking that MvC was gunna be crazy fun, it wasn't.

Graphics I will say are very impressive! also love the fast paced special effects moves.

I rated the game so low because the game is made for straight up BUTTON MASHING! you can be the worst fighter player in the world on PS3 n still beat professionals online.

Fun for a button masher but not worth the RENT for a gamer who likes and enjoys online competion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

In a word...

posted by SharkdrivR (CENTER POINT, AL) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MVC3 Finally HERE

posted by iAMReverse (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm going to keep this simple. If you enjoyed MVC 1 and 2 this latest addition will suit you. All of these negative comments and reviews, don't surprise with this generation of gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mavel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds

posted by fletcherman84 (FORT BRAGG, NC) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was a joke. If you just mash buttons then you'll probably beat it in like 25 minutes like I did.
Fletch

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but shallow for a single player

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Feb 17, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Having never played the first two games in this series, I really wasn't sure what I was in for with MvC3. But the trailers and the roster intrigued me, and I do enjoy a good, diverse fighter, so I decided to give this a try. While I know many are complaining about the smaller roster (36, down from the 56 in MvC2) I thought there was a good selection of characters to choose from. For the most part most of my faves from both universes were here, and they're well rendered and control smoothly. The graphics are bright and well detailed, and the controls are fairly easy to pick up and use. To get beyond button mashing you'll need to spend some time in the Training Mode, but it'll get you through the Arcade. And while this is fast, frantic, fun, for one who does not play online it ultimately becomes repetitive. Yes, there's an ending specific to each character to unlock, so if you're a completist you should be kept busy for a while getting all of the endings and other unlockables. If not, you may be more "Meh, it's fun, but I wish there was more." This could've benefited from a couple of more modes, like a good story mode for each character (ala "BlazBlue" or even like "Street Fighter IV") or a even a survival mode. For those who go online for matches or even play against someone else offline this game will be far more fun and you'll get more out of it for your money. For the single player, this is more a rental or a buy down the line when the price drops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decade too long.

posted by Gurubob (SHORELINE, WA) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Alright, first off I would like someone to please prove me wrong about this. Second I did like the game, just not love it. Third, many of my points have already been made, so I will spare repeating them.

The game roster is smaller then expected, I think by all of us. And while yes, they cut out a lot of unnecessary and rarely used characters, it was nice to see that the options were there. The list they presented is fine, I liked the characters, I was eagerly awaiting a chance to kick fools with Zero and Deadpool. What I have a problem with is that (Should you believe the internet...) they already have two characters announced as DLC. Shuma-Gorath and Jill Valentine. Meaning if we want the roster to be what we all thought it would be, we are going to have to pay, maybe a lot, maybe not, for it.

The last bit, while I did not play for very long, did it seem to anyone else that you always were fighting a Dante? I did not run across one team, aside from my own, that did not include him. And everyone used the same combo, every time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very fun, but flawed

posted by johnnywebb (YELM, WA) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ok, here's the gist from my point of view:

Pros: Great graphics
Insane action

Cons: No real training or tutorial to help you learn all the games nuances, and there are LOTS. This is a big con if you're new to this type of game.
Kind of a weak character roster. There are a lot of good ones, but a lot of B-list weaker characters too.
There should be more characters. Adding them via DLC is a little bit of a cop out.
At present, the online matchup system isn't working fully. Takes several tries to get a match sometimes.

I'm a vet from the Street Fighter 2 days, so give me Ryu and I'll still beat up on folks. But newcomers could be in for a rude awakening. Still very fun though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

happy=]

posted by dadatage18 (SANTA CLARA, CA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

this game is reall fun me and my buddy played it for hours.. i didnt rent it ... i made sure i bought it and u ask is it worth buying? and sir or ma'm it is i think best in its series.. level 3 ultras are sweet=]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

heh... it's just not like the arcade

posted by pickle430 (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

It's just don't feel the same as the arcade to me.But everyone else might like it.

5/10 rating for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MvC3 face in two palms

posted by Exoshinoizme (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I loved staying up and playing MvC2 all night long on my dreamcast and was actually excited about this game. So I wanted to rent it and check it out before I bought but from the 1st go through of the game I realized how actually over hyped the game really was.. let me explain.

PROS

-very flashy game with jiggle effects (i dislike the jiggle effects... I came to fight not to look for eye candy)

-very good characters to pick from

-stream lined for the casual player

CONS

- Computer AI is weak and cheap all it does is walk backwards from you and spam the trigger attacks.

-The graphics while visual eye candy are not next gen the cel-shaded came out last gen.

-lack of playable characters.

-no real story mode all you get is a crapy two paged comic at the end.

-the Computer AI can spam any attack.

-some characters are way over powered while some have very weak attacks.

-controls are way to streamlined for a hard core fighting fan to like. Most of the controls are the same for every character.

-nothing next gen about this game other than the price tag (if you buy it)

all and all if this came out on the ps2 or xbox i wouldn't have much to complain about but since this is a next gen they need to step it up a notch because if I'm to pay the next gen price tag they are going to need to make a game that doesn't look like it was for the ps2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but could be better

posted by bxqbcat83 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game is good, great graphics, nice sound, but it gets boring after you beat the game. I gave this game a 7 because some important people wasn't included, like KEN. what marvel game doesn't have ken, so sad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Marvel VS Capcom crash and burn

posted by Hays8168 (GIRARD, PA) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

First of all you would think that with the advances of technology a game such as this would be at least good, but NO. NOT AT ALL. I popped this horrible game into my PS3 and i thought my system was going to crash. The graphics are horrendous and the game play obsolete. This game was in and out of my system in less the 10 min. The first five however was downloading all the junk just to play. This game is not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Froze Every Time I Played

posted by chargerbrett (PIQUA, OH) May 1, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I tried playing the game a dozen times and ended up sending it back after one day because every time I tried playing it froze up on me. I couldn't even get to level 3 in the arcade. I was excited to play this game but ended up being a total waste of time. I don't know if it was just a bad copy or what but I'm really disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse