Rent Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.0

7573 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A review by a non-fighting-game player.

posted by EmoChips (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

33 out of 39 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Let me say this right now: I am not an avid fighting game player. Every time I try, I end up with my figurative knickers in a twist as I, to put it lightly, suck at them. But Marvel vs Capcom has always held a special place in my heart since I owned it for the PS1. So this is a review by somebody who is not by all means a fighting game expert.

The Good:
- It's Marvel vs Capcom. I realize the series is held in a special place inside the heart of gamers.

- The graphics: Even though we're in the 3d era, it was nice to see that MvC3 tried to stay as close as possible to its sprite roots. What we have is a beautiful cell-shaded game that definitely stands out among the other fighters [except for the recent street fighter and tatsunoko vs capcom].

-The fast paced action: MvC has always been known for the fast paced action. Usually I get too bored of fighters as they are all about the timing of combos and blocking. For somebody who likes action, this is no good for me [which goes to next point]

-The Simple Mode: I think this right here is the definitive reason why people like me should pick this up. I am not about to memorize a list of combos for a bunch of characters to stand a chance. Simple mode gives you basic fancy moves to the face buttons with the ability to do special combos by the press/pull of a button/trigger.

-I'm gonna take you for a ride: 'nuff said.

The bad:

-Short/crouching characters: I'm sure this is a problem for other fighters. Many fighters here have tall attacks and when you fight said short characters they have a TOTAL advantage.

- The game types: not very many. Only the basics truly. Arcade mode seems not as fun as the first or second one [nostalgia though].

The Ugly:
-Character selection: Some characters were omitted in favor of newer Capcom/Marvel ones. I miss Captain Commando and Megaman. And Tron Bonne? Seriously? You kept her? Over Venom?!

Final score: 8/10. Definitely a great game.

Buy/Rent: Buy if you want a nostalgic multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Comboriffic arcade fun

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Feb 20, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Marvel vs Capcom 3 brought me back to the days of pumping quarters into the original MvC in the arcade at Enchanted Castle. Not since Killer Instinct have I seen such ludicrous combos. Capcom did a great job in designing the game to allow for a ridiculous amount of unlockables, art work, characters, titles, and gamer icons. So there's plenty of depth both offline and online to keep you coming around for 2nds and 3rds.

I gotta say I was most excited about the hype over the online multiplayer. It's set up so beautifully, yet I always had a hard time finding people to play with. I don't get it, because I know there are tons of people playing online. I'm not sure if it's a server issue or I had consistently bad timing.

Obviously this game is all about picking an awesome 3-person team to simply destroy your opponent with brutal combos and smart teamwork. There's close to 50 different characters to choose from, so the possibilities are vast in terms of how creative you can be with your 3some. Haven't you always wanted a really good 3some? Now you can have hundreds.

You'll see new Marvel and Capcom characters you'll recognize instantly. With offline modes such as arcade, versus, and mission mode, you can play for 50+ hours Han-solo. They are incredibly difficult though, and require the most precise finger manipulations. You must be crazy good at fighting games to beat some of the missions. There are over 300 mini missions, which involve completing wicked combinations on the dummy player with each character. Arcade mode is short and sweet. Every character has a short unique ending.

I think they delivered except for the sketchy online play I experienced. Other than that, if you love this fighting genre, you won't be disappointed. Send me an invite if you want to play to get achievements online.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but...

posted by Haloman5 (PERRY, IA) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Marvel vs. Capcom 3 is the first MvC game I have ever played, and I have to say I enjoy playing it! The controls are easy, the characters are nice, and the stages are incredible! But with good there is bad...

First of all there are too many exploits that characters have that will leave you running from people that use them because you will be too afraid of have a missile shot at you in a corner and not being able to move the whole match. Thats my least favorite thing. The second thing is the online really needs to be patched up. Matches are terribly hard to find and if you don't find a match you are kicked back to the title screen. :(

I would really like to give this a higher rating but I will have to give it a 6. With exploits like the one I mentioned I wouldn't give this a buy. Rent it and if you like it buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WOW

posted by ill937 (FAIRBORN, OH) Feb 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

1st thing this game gets a 10 for gameplay the characters that they have are very detailed chris has all of his RE5 weapons.

2nd for the roster compared to marvel vs capcom 2 this game gets a 2 no mega man no venoim no guile no ken no gambit no cyclops no cable no juggernaut no charlie no street fighters other than ryu chun li no x-men except wolverine storm pheonix no fantastic 4 period no ghost rider no punisher no blade the new characters are M.O.D.O.K and a bunch of weak characters nobody wants trish c viper arthur. i have a feeling they will try and sell each character the left out for 400msp a piece either way the roster is as charles barkley would say turrible

3rd everything outside of fighting is bad for example party lobbies there is no more spectator mode like MVC2 so instead of watching the 2 people on deck fight you now get to watch their license cards bang into each other untill you are up. this game is trash im glad i have game fly so i could rent it because if i didn't have gamefly i would of bought it and been even more disappointed. this game is a 6 only because of the fighting being so good but everything else is horrible bad job capcom

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pay to Play

posted by TokenTaker (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Why should we have to pay for more guys. We just paid 60 dollars (if you bought it like many of my friend did) for the game. This could be for 2 stupid reasons or a combo of both. Either or both is basically telling the people who bought the game "thanks for your money, here is a half finished product, and if you want the full game you will have to pay extra money for all the characters"

1. the game might have come out early just so they could make quick buck or

2. The game was put out right when they meant to put it out and they want us to pay 120 dollars for a full game.

Thank GOD i got this on game fly, i will not spend extra money just on principle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK.......

posted by reumax (PUEBLO, CO) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Having fifteen plus years of fighting game experience i actually prefer Marvel vs. Capcom 2 still, with the time it took to develop this game i was expecting more. First the roster of characters should be more like 2 if not greater. the shading on this game really cut into the visual aspect as it's too dark. With the xbox 360's superiority i'm actually sad to say i would rather be playing Tatsunoko vs. Capcom on my Wii simply because its funner!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lost the appeal of MvC2

posted by KrakenGrey (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I may be a jaded reviewer... I used to love fighting games. I just don't see the point anymore. Maybe because I remember arcades to vividly. Console fighters aren't the same, even with online.

Anyway, its not an awful game. I'm sure fighting fans will love it. For me, it's to simplified. Three attack buttons and a dedicated launch attack button? Where's the skill and strategy there?

This doesn't feel like a MvC2 followup, it feels like a SF4 expansion game. MvC never felt like SF, so why the change?

Graphics are beautiful, character animations are nice. Gameplay options are limited, and endings suck. SF4 got full animated endings. Its is an upgrade from mvc2 endings, but still feels rushed.

Anyway, I was disappointed. However, playing as Taskmaster and Deadpool was fun while it lasted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No skill required.

posted by Junkie22 (JACKSON HEIGHTS, NY) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

The novelty of pitting your favorite video characters against some of the Marvel heroes in an epic battle of supper powers wares of really fast when,

-lacking in playable heroes
-unbalanced heroes small vs large will favor the smaller hero.
-simple control scheme that promotes cheesing over skill
-really fast game play witch allows any button smashing combination to be considered a combo if the attack lands
-a small amount of attacks and specials to pull off.
- you have to pay for the addition of characters wt! capcom !

i was a huge fan of marvel vs capcom 2 and taking into consideration that certain things are supposed to improve over time marvel vs capcom 3 is far from it. marvel vs capcom 3 is less than half the game 2 was.

The Good points of this game are, anyone can pick this game up learn the simple button scheme and have fun. the effects are enjoyable and the house music sound track gives the game a better feel than the last.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decade To Perfection

posted by GreenThumb (SUMMERFIELD, NC) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

When I played Marvel Vs. Capcom 2, I never got bored of it. From the first hour of playing this game I knew I would never get bored. The game play is extraordinary. Has very smooth character designs and the characters themselves are cool. Competitive Multi-player. The combos that you can link together will leave you in your seat screaming WOAH! One of the greatest fighting games to hit the consoles. Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 is a great rent and buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth Waiting for

posted by rbishop (FENTRESS, TX) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

To put it simply, after hopes of a third installment. Waiting a decade for this game was worth it. Anybody who was a fan of the xmen vs street fighter or marvel vs capcom franchise or just any one who likes 2D fighting games will love this game. Its also very Newbie freindly as well as Veteran satisfactory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dissapointment

posted by SuperMeat0417 (WARREN, OH) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

10 out of 29 gamers (34%) found this review helpful

If it was the first installment in the series i would be ok with if. I burned up 2 of the first gen xbox on Marvel vs. Capcom 2. I am just glad i use Gamefly and don't buy games until I LOVE them. Thank You Game fly for saving me from buying this pile. I just wish they would work out the bugs in the Downloadable M vs C 2. I played it for an hour then back to the mailbox it went

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Expect more for a 2010 fighting game

posted by Exchrystal (PITTSBURG, CA) May 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Story: 1/10

There is no story and when you beat the boss you get to watch a lackluster still of a vague ending.

The Gameplay: 6/10

This is where I expected the game to shine. In comparison with other fighting games such as MK(reboot) and SSFIV this game is sadly lacking. Very few modes, online is sub par compared to SF (no replay channel), and the roster is pathetic. I can understand trimming down the roster if you were going to keep all the really good characters but when I see obscure and worthless characters like tron bone from Megaman legend instead of megaman himself I know there were some bad decisions aboard.

Replay Value: 4/10

I gave it 3 points only for the online sake. If you were just to play without online this game would take about 2 hours to get boring due to the lackluster roster and lack of challenge modes.

Overall 4/10

For a game in 2010 I expect more content than its 10+ year old previous title than less. Unless you can find this game for 30 bucks or less I recommend you rent it. I'm glad I waited.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

overly hyped

posted by shidowdawg (PORTAGE, IN) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

sorry this game don't do it for me ive played it for one night already im waiting for something else Mvc2 was and is still better heck some old king of fighter is still better than this I even liked tatsunoko vs capcom
over this. btw were is mega man or X,jill, captain commando. its like capcom love taking two steps back or a scheme to pay for downloadable characters not gonna happen.

graphic: awesome
controls : great although the charters don't move as fast as MvC2
music : it ok
worth buying: yeah when it hit the bargain bin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by biglsuka (CRESTVIEW, FL) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

its a great game just half of the characters in it you dont even want to play graphics are pretty kool but it gets kind of old and ive only had it for one day so far and im already puting something else in my xbox but its still a good game if it did not have RYU or AKUMA i would say dont even waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game!

posted by iceman0912 (FORT GEORGE G MEADE, MD) Feb 15, 2011

Member since May 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you like fighters, then you will love this game. If you don't like fighters, you might still like this game.
Due to a new mode which gives users the ability to press single buttons for combos, the prospects for new players or less hardcore gamers to enjoy this are greatly increased.
I think this is a great game and does justice to the previous titles in the series.

There are only a few recommendations that I can think of to improve this game.
-More characters, include characters from the previous title
-More game modes

Both of these will add to the replay value a great deal.

I find it unfortunate but I am positive more characters will be released but as DLC. Lets hope they don't charge an exorbitant amount for it...

Overall, this game is a solid 8. Less than 10 because it lacks the solid replay value of the previous title and needs more characters and game modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MvC2 > MvC3

posted by Jdigi (WHEATON, IL) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

8 out of 38 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

good game.... only has half the number of characters (32) .... needs more characters worth playing... most characters are not worth using... get MvC2....better all around game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mildly Amusing but...

posted by Servas (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

seriously lacking.

I've been a fan of the series, as much as many of you who may read this have been, but I just can't get into it. Sure, it is fun for a bit but it gets old fast. There is no plot to the arcade, you go through like six random battles and OH! THERE'S GALACTUS! How does that make any sense at all, you ask? I don't know either. There is absolutely no explanation on what's going on, all you get after beating it with a character is two pictures with a few sentences regarding what happens a bit after the fight.

I mean, honestly, would it really be so hard to make a simple story to go with this game? Something like, "Galactus has gathered many warriors from these two worlds in order to pit them against each other to find the greatest challenger for him." I don't care, something is better than nothing.

The controls are simplistic, a simple roll of the stick and a press of the button does a special attack for most every character...roll the stick and press two buttons and you have a super attack. I mean, a little depth might be nice.

Some characters are extremely overpowered and others are just simply weaklings. Phoenix, one of my favorite characters, dies in one super attack...how is that fair? She doesn't do a grotesque amount of damage to make up for this weakness, so why is she so fragile? Taskmaster, an unlockable character, is tough as nails and hits hard to boot. He isn't slow, either...so where is his drawback?

I played this game for about two hours and became fed up with it, I'll be sending it back soon. If you love a mindless 2-d fighting game with no story and fewer characters than the previous game, then this is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds

posted by insaitiableONE (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 24 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

I tried this one today. To say in one sentence.

Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds, this has to be just about the worst game ever.

There is no plot, there is no campaign, there is nothing more than just a ramped up version of the late 70's style Atari/Nintendo lateral left/right only movement.
It has decent graphics, that does not allow for the mass amount of characters not to reproduce the same moves as in their respective game. Ive played them.

This is a POOR version of Mortal Kombat, only difference is I would actually play Mortal Kombat.

I do not see how the guys at Gamespot, Gammespy, & especially IGN gave a great review for this ???

I do not see this being entertaining even to a nine year old.

THIS GAME IS NOT EVEN WORTH A PLAYTHROUGH.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Marvel Vs Capcom done right

posted by SaicaFox (DUBUQUE, IA) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

First of all let me say that I never play fighting games. The last one i played was soul caliber 4. But this game has my attention and is actually fun and has lots of depth.

Gameplay- Controls are simple and intuitive. Yeah there is a simple mode i have never used it but herd it makes the game way to easy. I see no need in using it since normal is just as easy if not easier. With normal mode you have way more control over what your character does. The animations and effects looks so good. Not to mention the the backgrounds of every level are alive and moving. Visually i think this game is beautiful. Yeah the character models are lacking detail a bit but I think the reason is because of the art design used to make them. They are like cell shaded graphics. Game runs super smooth. It does lack in game modes but makes up for it with a player card that tracks all your progess unlocks and statitics. You can even customize the card a bit with titles and pictures.

Repeatability- This game is as repayable as you make it. Play to beat the arcade once and congrats you just spent 60$ on a game that takes 20 minutes to beat. Try to beat arcade with all the characters and improve in training and compete on xbox live and the game lasts for about 300 hours. With plenty of unlocks earned by gaining PP points. Your effort goes to something.

Overall- I really dont like fighting games but this one is very good. Each character is unique and plays differently. It takes alot to master each on and all the game mechanics. Its easy for newcomers but deep and complex for veterans. Sure the game only has 36 characters but that's still a good amount. And yes some are really dumb and you would probably never use them but oh well. I think the good characters out weigh the boring or useless. Oh and the voice acting is superb especially dead pool. Its a slick and smooth game that is very fun and offers just the right challenge. overall i give it a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GaMBIT!!

posted by tallestdav (POMONA, CA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since May 2010

2 out of 20 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

wheeerrrreesss gambbitt!!?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HEY TULLER

posted by IKLONDIKEI (PORTERSVILLE, PA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

WHERE IS JINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

poopgame

posted by coolbeans2009 (MODESTO, CA) Jul 24, 2013

Member since May 2011

bad game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

more

posted by Lastat27 (BEATRICE, NE) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

really good on all aspects but needs more charecters and game content

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tyrese pickett nekhi

posted by Tynekhi (NEWARK, NJ) Jan 19, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

100!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

balance game but

posted by frostmare (INTERLAKEN, NY) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

MvsC has come fun factors however the elements of the game itself needs some work. half of the time the AI all ways has an advantage over you in range wise. there is no story elements and few roster characters to chose compared to MvsC 2. its a fair rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse