Rent Marvel vs Capcom 2 for PS2
view large frontback

Marvel vs Capcom 2

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
9.0

1016 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best 2D Fighter of All Time

posted by Gedaman (PORT MURRAY, NJ) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game so much funn! It was the last good 2D Arcade Fighting Game to come to the U.S. and now it is nearly impossible to get on a home console. It plays a little different from Marvel vs. Capcom with new mechanincs and a helluva lot more characters. 3 on 3 tag-team fighting kicks! The only bad part of this game is the limited availability. Buy a copy if you can for sure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Step In To Variety

posted by TheMonk (RIVERSIDE, CA) Nov 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Marvel Vs. Capcom 2, the sequel to Marvel Vs. Capcom, brings to the table what many in it's genre have tried to accomplish for a long time, and to this day continue to do so, variety. Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 features all of your favorite super heroes, along with your beloved Capcom characters, allowing you to pit them against one another, which is a dream come true for any fan of comic books, video games, or both. The gamer without a doubt, is delivered the best of both worlds in this title, and it's no wonder that after nearly four years of it's release, the game is still even difficult to acquire via GameFly. This game is a definite diamond in the rough, and any gamer/comic book fan would be lucky to stumble upon this gem in your typical gamestore. The bottom line is, Capcom brought it to the table with this title, and it's a definite buy or rent, granted that you can get your mitts on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

T H E B E S T F I G H T I N G G A M E E V E R

posted by graydon (WEST JORDAN, UT) Sep 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

So, yea, basically. This is Most Definetly the BEST FIGHTING GAME EVER; as my title stated. The first time i played this was in an arcade a year ago. I was blown away. So i tracked it down on Ebay (this game is no longer in production) and got a copy. Since then, i have been playing this game as much as i can, and let me tell you. This game has some insane replay value. I never get bored or tired with it unless that is i have stayed up until 2:30 in the morning again reworking character lineups. With over 50 playable characters, most of which are infamous video game and comic characters, who wouldn't love this type of game. The combos are pretty solid, theres plenty of room for differing strategies, and the special move sequences are just bad A S S.
Whether you are and expert fighting game player or just someone who likes the idea of pitting a team of X-Men (I like Wolverine, Cyclops, and the Sentinel) Vs. the street fighter characters. I highly recommend this game. It is definetly worth the wait, time, money, and energy.
A truly amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Capcomfan1

posted by wacoffin (DURHAM, NC) May 3, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This Game is one of the Best Fighting games ever in Fighting game history it is totally awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Fighting game ever created thanks Capcom

posted by chewbacca (TAMPA, FL) Jun 1, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

greatest fighting game allive you dont know fighting games unless you try this i wish Capcom will make morre copies of this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Always awasome

posted by Myrkul (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Its sad how you can never find a copy of this game but when you do have its pure Gold. One of the best fighting games played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Ultimate Showdown.

posted by GameBo1 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Capcom is the king of fighting games ever since Street Fighter II hit arcades and home consoles, Capcom has made sequels and other fighting game licenses ever since the success of Street Fighter II. Capcom also aquired the rights from Marvel to make Marvel and X-Men fighting games in the early ninties, and also three Capcom and Marvel crossover, with "X-Men vs Street Fighter" in 1996, "Marvel Super Heroes vs. Street Fighter" in 1997, and "Marvel vs. Capcom" in 1998. Gamers referred these games as some of the best 2D/crossover fighters in history, however in 2000, Capcom and Marvel's next sequel would shock and excite millions everywhere..... "Marvel vs. Capcom 2: New Age of Heroes". Now on to the review....

Story: Very thin, but not important. A pirate, Ruby Heart, needs stop an evil being known as Abyss, to stop the Earth from dying off. She summons the worlds greatest warriors on her airship to stop and destroy Abyss.

Gameplay: I'll be honest, gameplay is a little broken(very), but it doesn't ruin the experience. MvC games usually range from a little under or over 20 characters, but MvC2 has a large roster of 56 characters, and rather than having a 2 Man team, its now 3. With 56 fighters, and a team of 3, combination possibilities are endless.

Audio: Fighting games and Lounge Jazz do not mix. The music sucks except for Abyss' stage, and the creepy clown stage, they're ok. Better grab your iPod and speaker.

Graphics: For 2000, its pretty awesome. Although I would prefer the 2D backgrounds from earlier games, these are cool. Today, they still stand as amazing for the old-school 3D stage, and the classic, smooth 2D sprite charecters.

Overall: Marvel vs. Capcom 2 is amazing. One of the best fighting games ever to be made, and a hit in the arcades, Dreamcast, PS2 and XBOX. Recently, it has been ported on PS3(I own), and XBOX 360, with HD support, along with online play, one of the best fighting games ever just got better.

Score: A perfect 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Willz916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

this is really one of my favs of all time i just finally picked it back up since back in the day right now u can get if for about 100 and up lol but i just paid 55 dollars i like using ryu and akuma graphicly its still great im hearing they might do an hd remix to it they have the lic. to do it and capcom may also be in the makes of a part 3 to the vs sceries hope this helps people out its not so much of a review but info for people who want this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Fighting Game that's NEVER AVAILABLE!!!

posted by CloudRULZ (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Feb 2004

I love this game when i had dreamcast. Now I have PS2 but CAPCOM stopped making the games which explains the LOW AVAILABILITY!!! Oh sure you can get it on eBay for only about 80+ bucks!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favourite fighter of all time

posted by jamirokev (MAMARONECK, NY) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

While there are quite a few fighters out there and my review may be out dated I feel as if I still need to give credit to this title. I bought this game when it first came out and I can honestly say that I still play it. On the PS2 platform it flows very well when there is alot of chaos on the screen. If you have never ever in your life played a fighter pick this one up. Its easy to learn and alot of fun with a friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

top fighting game of all time DUH

posted by moneymaka (CEDAR PARK, TX) Apr 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

this game is one of the greatest fighting games ever. i mean it has all the greats all wrapped up in one disc. the only way to make this game any better is that you would have to sub D.C. comics for those capcom idiots. who doesn't want to see the hulk and spiderman against the flash and venom?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »