Rent Marvel: Ultimate Alliance for Xbox
view large frontback

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

842 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

The Ultimate Team

posted by Harrdcore4 (WAYNESBORO, PA) Nov 17, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game definitely keeps true to X-Men Legends 1 and 2, which isn't a bad thing.
It is a plus that you have so many comic legends to your arsenal, but they are not all very useful. Even worse is the fact that the first few you work so hard to unlock, aren't even worth it.
Once I found my core team, I only exchanged them for one or two bench players time to time.
The game play is fun but gets repetitive, especially only after an hour of play.
In conclusion, Marvel keeps true to their word on playable characters, you just have to unlock half of them.
If you got the time and patience, This just might be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh...

posted by Clipped (ONTARIO, CA) Feb 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly like 'Justice League Heros' (I don't know who ripped off who), and much like 'Justice League Heros' I didn't care for it at all. The characters are small and shot from overhead (I swear it almost felt like I was playing an old SNES game). Weak gameplay, it's very tedious and every stage is like a darn maze (you run around like a chicken with it's head cut off the entire game!) However the game is pretty fun with xbox live, but I don't think that's enough to salvage the game. This game is just not for me. But if you like the old style of games like 'Gauntlet' or 'Ikari Warriors' then I recommend it for you, but if your like me and prefer more of the Next Gen style of games then you'd better avoid this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Marvel learns "If it ain't broke, don't fix it."

posted by TigerStorm (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

From comics to television shows, both animated and live-action, (I still remember the old Spider-Man theme song) and the movies that have come out in the past few years, I've enjoyed the Marvel franchise as long as I can remember. Their games, however, have always been a roller coaster ride for me. It seemed that there would be a really good Marvel game (in both story and game play), and then, they would simply drop the ball and a game would come out which lacked in both areas. But, nevertheless, we would march forward with our heads held high and rent the next game only to be surprised at how things had turned around. Well, after years of waiting for it to happen, Marvel games are now on a roll. X-Men Legends was a great game; as was its sequel. And, while Marvel: Ultimate Alliance looked to be just a re-hash of XML with new characters in the previews, I was pleasantly surprised when I actually sat down and played it.
If you enjoyed XML I&II, then you'll like MUA for the same reasons: options, options, and more options. The game fits well in the "hack and slash" style while still requiring some level of strategy in choosing powers and when to use them, so a new player could sit down next to a seasoned veteran and be just as useful. Also, the "support characters" have been given some good "front line" abilities. You don't have to resort to fighting over who gets to play Wolverine just because "he hits hard". Any character, when built correctly, can take that spot on the team. The flexibility of the characters really lets you create your "Dream Team" of the Marvel universe.
A few things have been simplified to let you get back to the game sooner such as health and energy packs. They've been eliminated and replaced with orbs that are used immediately as you defeat enemies. No more wasting time wondering if you should spend your last bit on that health pack.
All-in-all, Marvel: Ultimate Alliance has something for new and old fans, alike. So, bring a friend.

~T.S.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Should be turn based

posted by JadeChaos (PALMYRA, VA) Apr 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think this type of game should not be made. It's very boring and repetitive. If this were to be turn based with nice cut scenes it would be a lot better. Why not Final Fantasy it? Just a thought... My rating is a four as it is WEAK!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is boring

posted by theuncanny (IRVINE, CA) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If I were stuck on a desert island with this game I'd probably just count sand. All the enemies are the same. The buttons to beat the enemies are the same . AAAAAA. The dialog was uninteresting and the responses that you could choose were predictable and linear. I'll be honest lost patience quick and didn't really give it a fair shot, but all told it got sent back the same day. It would probably be good for like a seven or eight year old. And that's not being condescending it's just too simplistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Call it X-Men Legends 3

posted by GameGeezer (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As with many of the other reviewers, I would agree that MUA is very similar to X-Men Legends. To that end, MUA is a good game and fun to play. The number of characters that can be played and the amount of items that can be collected during the adventure is enormous. This time around, the cut scene animations are highly engaging and rendered nicely. Having a friend pick up the second controller makes the game even more fun. Albeit confusing at times, the character building aspect of the game can be daunting but offers a great variety of customization. If you liked X-Men Legends, you will probably like MUA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Marvel superheroes... collect them all!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Dec 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance takes over 20 superheroes from the comic book pages to the console so they can fight... Dr. Doom? Okay, there are a few problems with this game, but it's a comic book junky's dream come true. The story takes our heroes all over the Marvel Universe, from Atlantis to Murderworld to Mephisto's Realm to Asgard to the Skrull home planet to basically everywhere else. And along the way you'll fight big bad enemies like Ymir, Mandarin, Galactus and Loki, as well as less intimidating enemies like Shocker and Rhino and even lesser enemies like the third Arcade Clown from the right. Gameplay is ripped straight from the X-Men Legends top-down four-character beat-em-up mold. In fact, slap a prettier coat of paint on it and change the characters and this could be X-Men Legends 2. The powers, combos and levels are very similar, but there are a few differences: you can only use one piece of equipment per hero, extreme powers are activated simultaneously and alternative costumes offer different advantages when you sink some money into them. While almost all the greats are here, there are some notable absences from the Punisher and the Hulk and some characters like Colossus are next-gen only. But the great reason to play Ultimate Alliance, besides being a lot of fun, is that someone who has no experience with these characters can get a virtual compendium of the personal biographies and mythologies on them. It's a great game for comic book fans and a fun distraction for the Diablo II set.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good game.

posted by LambOfGod (ANAHEIM, CA) Nov 20, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

i gave this game an 8 out of 10 because it reminded me a lot of x-men legends 1 and 2. other than that flaw, this game is pretty cool. you get to make up your own team or really cool super heroes, i mean come on, think about it. you can have spiderman, ghost rider, blade, and iron man all in your team, how awesome is that? ok, so gameplay, this game plays a lot like x-men legends, so you have your little ramdom problems like in x-men legends. like the camera angle, sometimes the camera gets stucked behind wall and stuff. what i really liked that they did in this game is all the little minigames. specially in murderworld when you're giving chase to arcade, i wont ruin it for you, you will have to see for yourselfs. also it has a alot of pretty cool boss battles, a couple of puzzles that arent very hard but not too easy either. also if you are playing by yourself when you do your special move, your A.I teamates also do their specials which is really cool cause you like destry everyone on screen. ok so im done, if you are a marvel fan in any kind of way rent this game, also watch out for any little side missions, you will see why when you beat the game.
-Adrian

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

soo much potential...so terribly done

posted by jhawk25 (Seattle, WA) Jan 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ever played xmen legends or xmen legends 2? then you've already played marvel: ultimate alliance. me and my roommate were looking forward to this game like none other, but were bored after playing this game for 10 minutes. the gameplay is exactly like xmen legends or pretty much any other 3rd person rpg. there is nothin new or special about this game. they made gaining experience no longer about killing people, but made the usual money system of breaking boxes to get money as the xp system, so i could be killing everyone on-screen while my partner breaks every box or breakable in the room and he ends up with all the experience to be gained. what a great concept! haha...no. if you've never played xmen legends or fantastic four, maybe you'll like this game since it might seem a little new to you, however you will probably still be extremely disapointed cuz this game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wow! Disapointing is an under statement.

posted by bac1551 (TEMECULA, CA) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I expected this game to be lot better than xmen legends but it was totally the same! The only new thing was that you could weild weapons. All the characters sucked, even with cheats! Please improve the sequel! If there is one...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Marvel Universe

posted by Ironcross (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Nov 4, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

While I find myself a fan of the marvel comics, i have trouble playing this game. lets start with the cover of the game, you can only use half of whose on there, the rest you can only achieve through unlockables, purchasing and beating a game in a certain mode of difficulty. now lets get to the game, while fun for a couple of hours the game tends to get repetitive, and boring quick. after each level you go back to tony starks building and get to ask questions to the people in the building, while a feel of being in line at universals spiderman ride. (if you been on the ride then you will see what i mean). all in all i will say the game is much better than Justice league hero's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Marvel Alliance: Suckiest Multiplayer ever

posted by Disconude (SYRACUSE, NY) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Marvel Alliance was a huge disappointment with what potential in the story and game elements they could have used. As for the game play, it's as old and arcade like as Gauntlet Legends with nothing new to offer the gaming world. Not even the exciting cast of characters and powers could save the horrific gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

marvel alliance

posted by gilster (CHOWCHILLA, CA) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definatly a try once game

posted by groveman (WOODS CROSS, UT) Nov 4, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I think it runs off the same engine as xmen legends I and II. So if you like those games this is a must have. Lots of characters, fun while it lasted but it kinda got old after long hours of hack 'n slash type game play. Sorry rpg fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun

posted by Quicksilver84 (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Jul 23, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

The Good: I have to admit, I enjoyed the storyline and loved the large variety of Super Heroes to choose from. I also loved that if you teamed up specific teams of four, you'd get bonuses. Very recommended.

The Bad: There were some very tough fights that were not always in your control and you could lose a companion. This was very frustrating, but made sense for how a fight with some of the world's greatest villains would be.

The Ugly: Trying to decide which costume would look best with which character. So many choices!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Ultimate Experience!

posted by 4815162342 (PEKIN, IN) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

What's better than seeing Iron Man, Spider-Man, Wolverine, and Cap'n America teaming together to fight evil? I can't think of too many things. This game brings them all together to fight against the egocentric Dr. Doom and his collected band of minions from all walks of Marvel cannon. The best part of this game is definately the FMV sequences which closely resemble a live-action movie. If you find this game isn't your cup of tea you will most definately enjoy the FMV sequences.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by saint661 (LANCASTER, CA) Aug 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I think it was a good game. It was a very good story line. it's got all the good characters like Silversufer,Spiderman,Tho- r,and Ironman. Alot of levels which evrey game should have the only disapontment was the camra angles. If your an Marvel fan you'll love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Blows!

posted by tekg80 (DALLAS, TX) Jun 17, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game straight up blows! Its a button masher and thats about it. run around mashing buttons the whole time in a melee of nonsense. The camera controls are terrible and the in game graphics arent so good. The characters are small and the action is all over the place and doesnt make much sense. I do have to say the the graphics for the different cinematics is pretty cool. The voiceovers ruin it tho. They are terrible too. Skip this one for sure. Im sending mine back after not even one day. im not impressed...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by gangstamad (JAMAICA, NY) Jun 12, 2008

Member since May 2006

BEAUTIFUL!This game is better than Friend Or Foe!you can change your team,and if you beat alot of missions then you can make your own team!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Could not review, game was defective

posted by snoboardz (BROOMFIELD, CO) May 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

I would like to tell you how great this game was but unfortunately it did not work when I loaded it into my Xbox. This was the first rental I received as a new member to GameFly so this was not a good first impression. I'm sure that future games will perform as expected but it's just bad luck to have your first game be a dud. GameFly needs to devote some more resources to QC testing their games before shipping out.

Hopefully future games will not leave me disappointed as this one most certainly did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is perfect!!!!!

posted by kkhihi (LITTLETON, CO) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

i LOVE!!! this game it has twists turns! action i cannt beleave i beat all the levels!!!!!! ever since i playd this game i am ordering all! the superhero games! please make 1 just like this one. and not only for xbox360. i have an xbox. thanks for the awseme GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Decent Hack and Slash Game

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

This game was very entertaining for a long time. I appreciated the ability to level up skills and characters, as it added some depth without keeping it a hack and slash game.

The multiplayer is somewhat weak in my opinion and higher expectations from it. Overall, it's worth playing and trying, though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i agree with clipped!

posted by jpdude (SUNNYSIDE, NY) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

how can anyone find this game fun in any way.
its not like you can play as 100 diffrent characters you start with like 12 and by the time you get the other 8 you beat the game!
the characters are shot from above ..far far above you barely see them . it should be shot from an angle like in the punisher game or spider man 2 ( movie game)..story line is good but thats it fighting is a bunch of button smashing . and its like youre characters are traped in a box you can get any higher.. and one more thing why in would they put spider man and not give him the ability to climb walls!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Far from Ultimate

posted by SoberStone (PLANO, TX) Jun 14, 2007

Member since May 2007

Not that this is a bad game, but with all the characters good and evil to choose from in the Marvel Universe . . . I wish there could have been more in this game.

And its pretty basic for a console game: fight through the level, meet up with the end boss(es). The highlight, for me, are the little action sequences where you have to press a series of buttons to defeat some of the harder bosses.

One thing that nagged me through the game was the constant use of one or two lines that the heroes would use when fighting.

The graphics and sound are top notch and the best I've seen for the Xbox. The cut scenes are really cool too; however, the mission briefings are repetitive.

I recommend this game to rent, maybe not so much to buy. Try it, you'll like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More characters is fun, but

posted by Moufasa2 (MADISON, WI) Jun 8, 2007

Member since May 2007

It's the same fraking feel as the original X-Men. I haven't played Legends, but I've read the same criticism of that. So if you loved those games you'll love Ultimate Alliance. Otherwise, prepare to bore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse