Rent Marvel: Ultimate Alliance for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, GBA, Wii, Xbox, PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
7.1

7891 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best comic book game available!

posted by ECWcorey (WIRTZ, VA) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In my opinion Marvel: Ultimate Alliance is the best comic book game ever made and considering how many there have been over the years that is saying a lot. I love this game, i have got all of the characters to level 99 (without using any cheats) and i still play it from time to time. The game has 25 Marvel characters to play as (33 with download content) and many more make appearances as allies or villains. You can upgrade all the characters and they're powers as you play through the game so it gets better and better as you play it, after you have upgraded you're characters to higher levels and on easy or normal some of the characters can clear a hole room full of smaller villains with just the touch of a button, also most of the characters you can play as have 4 different outfits you can use so if you get tired of the 1980's outfit you can switch to a more modern one. If you're a fan of the Marvel comics, cartoons or movies this is the best game available for you, at least until Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 Fusion comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool game, but done before

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Nov 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

19 out of 26 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This is the typical X-Men Legends 1 or 2 gameplay with added character and ablities. That being said the game is still fun to play through and plays pretty smoothly, most of the time. The ability to switch between the characters is great but you may need to keep your party together a while to level up them to beat the harder nasties.

It would have been nice to have been able to pick the party before even begining the game, instead of the default 4 characters.

The game is a top down Action game with RPG added into the mix. It works well if you use it or you can simply just stick it on auto and it will upgrade the characters as they see fit.

If you are a comic book fan or like just beating down enemies then you should at least rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great for comic book fans

posted by expyeb (GARDENA, CA) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

If you like collecting coins and leveling up, you will probably enjoy this game. It plays like a dungeon crawler and has good graphics. The camera works pretty good except for certain areas, and then its a little wack. Some of the voice acting is good and the rest, well you judge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NUFF SAID!!

posted by W4RM4CHINE (MANSFIELD, TX) Oct 25, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

17 out of 26 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Just picked up and played Ultimate Alliance today, and all I can say is WOW! I am not a big RPG player, but I liked what X-Men Legends did and Ultimate Alliance takes it to the next level. You have control of a group of four Heroes to SMASH bad guys, and can freely take control of each of them and their powers. Graphics are AWESOME!! There is a plethora of Super Heroes to choose from in the beginning, plus more to unlock as the game rolls along. Game play is smooth and replay value is high, plus if you purchased your game from EB Games/Gamestop, it included a code to unlock the Silver Surfer as a playable character. NUFF SAID!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best games the Xbox 360 has to offer

posted by Roywill31 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Oct 30, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The newest entry in the lneup of quality Xbox 360 games is Marvel: Ultimate Alliance. In this game, you command a team of superheroes to try and thwart Dr. Doom's evil plans....that's how it always starts, huh?

Where Ultmiate Alliance succeeds is in its presentation and customization options. The game plays very much like X-Men Legends for the most part. The top-down camera view with the many RPG elements are very similar....except Ultimate Alliance is much sharper than the Legends games ever were.

The graphics on the 360 version are top notch. Everyone is well-detailed, the environments are well thought out, and the game runs very fluidly. On some forums, people have complained of slowdown and glitches, but I have noticed none at all.

Gameplay wise, it's very Baldurs Gate-like....collect items, coins, and orbs (to gain health and such), beat up and bad guys you come across, use your special powers, complete a puzzle here and there. It's very straightforward. But where UA really succeeds is in the character and customization department. You can choose from over 20 characters to form a party of four. All the well-knowns are here (Spidey, Captain America, Wolverine) and even the lesser-knowns (Moon Knight, Ms. Marvel, Luke Cage), which is really nice for Marvel fans. You can customize your characters abilities to your liking, while finding the party that best suits you.

There are plenty of missions to tackle in the game and bonus character missions where you can gain extra rewards and achievements. There is a lot to do in this game, and a lot of options....and playing online with (or against) your buddies is definitely a welcome addition...they can hop in or out of your game at any time.

All in all, a very good entry into the Xbox 360 line-up, and easily one of my favorite games this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best

posted by Pickleking (WARMINSTER, PA) Oct 30, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I beat this game with my bro. and it was one of the best games i played for 360,
alot of characters to choose, like Wolverine, spider man, Blade, DareDevil, iceman, storm Elektra, to Ms.Marvel. there are tons and you can unlock more of them as you go along.
alot of levels from water to forest to stark towers there's alot of places to play.
the graphics are really good not perfect but really good, the lighting makes it look even better, there is a few problems like getting stuck on walls and some others glitches, but very little. play trivia, and real life some of the old battles from comic books, cut scenes are amazing, and gameplay is very easy to get use to,
smooth and great action gameplay.
alot of powers you can get and unlock when you get level ups, and everyone has something different, Dialog for the game is ok nothing great thou, online play is so much fun play the whole game online with your friends or anyone,
and try arcade mode to see who does better each round. go pick this up instant fun right away,
play with 4 of your friends in co-op, or play by yourself, it's fun either way, create your own dream team with your own roster and team name and team logo, it is a amazing game go get it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just plain FUN!

posted by Chicken6 (PACOIMA, CA) Nov 2, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you are a Marvel fan or a fan of the X-men legelnds 1 or 2, then this is a no brainer. Its good old pick up and play type of fun. Switch characters on the go, type fun, beat 'em up and level up type of fun. Its a "find everything scattered through the levels" type of fun. It's also an "unlock everything" type of fun.

Pick your four-some and get to work. Its a very good game with solid visuals. The best system to play it on. It does suffer just a little from having to rotate the camera and stuff, but its minor. The other thing you will notice is that you really can't narrow it down to 4 characters at a time, especially when the roster of superstars is so HUGE. Play it through, then play it again with 4 other characters, etc.

Stop reading, buy it or rent it and start playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

140 characters x 3 avg costume changes per = WOW

posted by tmartin (MONTGOMERY, AL) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As most of you probably knew, there are unlockable characters, and there are unlockable outfits for each, I'll say an average of about 3, some have more, some have less. In my opinion, the default costumes you start out with (the Legend costumes) are the worst looking of the bunch. When I think of Thor, I wanna see what I remember reading when I was a kid, not some goofy looking guy with a shabby beard and a hammer it looks like he stole off a bob the builder display, LUCKILY, it was pretty easy to unlock the Classic Thor, so I have what I wanted.

Gameplay is pretty fun, all the characters have a variety of unique moves you can unlock as you level up. The camera angle is easily the worst aspect of the game IMO, as well as what most I have played online with said, seems everyone loves the game, cept the camera angles could be better, it is hard to see at times other than an almost overhead view, which doesn't leave much room to see what's coming.

Starting characters i was suprised to see you didn't have to unlock:
Deadpool
Colossus
Moon Knight
Marvel Girl
Spider GIRL

If you are a fan of Marvel comics, you'll have no problems enjoying this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nuff Said

posted by murphdawg (BUZZARDS BAY, MA) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Most fun I have had playing a game in years. Limitless list of characters and powers...killer story line and customizable characters awesome. Loved this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Button mashing fun

posted by OHmessenge (GROVE CITY, OH) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game isn't going to win any awards or anything like that, but it isn't too bad at what it does do. It basically reminds me of the multiplayer arcade games of 10-15 years ago where you'd run through just mashing the punch & kick buttons to take down the swarm of enemies. You have a few powerful moves and the story is pretty linear.

At the same time, it was cool to choose what character you wanted, choose which costume to wear as well as what abilities to equip. I enjoyed the co-op play on xbox live as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Characters look Great , but weak game play.

posted by rshivers (HIRAM, GA) Mar 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you like marvel comics, you will love the character selection but that's about as far as it goes. The game play basically amounts to button mashing and moving around in circles. The camera sucks because of the angle and how it makes you feel like you're playing inside of a tiny box. The look of the game is great, but the game play was a little too elementary for my taste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible

posted by araote (RAHWAY, NJ) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

12 out of 34 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

DO NOT RENT THIS GAME! Heres why:

Aright so its Christmas week and I waited longer than usual to receive this game... (due to postal delays and stuff) Anyways I pop the game into my 360, what do I see... sweet intro, got my hopes up big time. I begin playing the game and at first I figured the third person view with tiny characters was some kinda training mission but what do you know... the entire game plays the same.

Storyline is the worst one I've ever seen in any game... lets just say they shouldnt have even bothered with having a story. Levels are all too similar with all four super heros beating up the enemy. I was playing the game and my wife walks into the room, sits down for 15mins, gets up and says, "You must be out of your mind", "this is the dumbest game I've seen on a 360".

Lets just say this is not worth being an XBOX 360 game. XBOX maybe... graphics are way inferior to any Next Gen Game.

I normally never spend much time putting in a negative review for any game, but this one is special. Especially TERRIBLE I must say. I would have given this game a 1 = HORRIBLE rating but I wanted to be a little considerate for those weirdo's that think this game was worth their time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent

posted by HOzTIL3 (MANCHESTER, NH) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The only Faults I saw was the Camera Angles..t gets tough on some boss battles I found myself Lost trying to attack to realize im off the screen and my team was the ones who were doing most of the work...The Alternative Costumes were Half decent I liked how they brought Old style costumes back...but some had very little to no costume so they created them for the character...Some were bizarre that i did care for to much...Another thing is the difficulty.gives you Easy and Normal I quickly found I had no problems beating the game on normal and now that its beating and i have most unlocked characters minus silver surfer and Black Panther..I find the replay to be none...with co Op i have only played with one person once it was interesting..With up to four people i found myself telling that person to stay close or the camera backs off to a arial view in witch the level is hard to even see...Great moves and Great Specials as well..Could have been a bit better I rated it a 6 only because of the miner flaws the Outfits and the camera angles....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not impressed

posted by killacam81 (LAVALETTE, WV) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I sas a 7.6 customer review I thought that I would give this game a shot. It had to be better than xmen right? WRONG!

The camera angles are terrible. I feel like I'm playing from a blimp. You can zoom in some but you're still stuck with an aerial view so you cannot see anything in front of you. The fighting gets real hectic when there are two enemies and four characters for you to choose from that all fight. You hit your own guys more than the enemy. Gameplay overall is kind of lame. I put the game back in the box after the first three levels. I was waiting for some different views or maybe some one on one but it never happened.

The graphics are pretty good. Alot better than xmen and the characters mouths actually move in the cut scenes. Thats all this game has going for it. I must say I was really let down but maybe because I had such high expectations? I'll just keep dreaming of a game that I can control ONE character in first person view and kick booty

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game... No Question

posted by majorgamor (BOISE, ID) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Mar 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I was a kid I collected a little comics. Most of which were Image comics (it was brand new at the time) but the few Marvel that i collected were XMEN, Ghost Rider, Deadpool, Thor... almost every one of my favorites is in this game.
The greatest part of this game is the ability to constantly change your team. If you can't decide between Wolverine and Silver Surfer, you don't have to... you can play half the level and Silver Surfer, and half as Wolvie. That's the first great thing I noticed.
Then I noticed the MULTIPLE COSTUMES for each character that you can unlock... then I noticed the great levels and quests... The training levels that help you unlock different things, as well as gain experience points... The unique "My Team" feature which helps an entire team gain experience whenever they're together... The level up system that you can control or automize... on and on and on... I discover new things each time I play.
So, why a 9 and not a 10? It drives me crazy that X-Force isn't on the game, as well as I don't like that the villains talk and your characters don't for the most part you have to read what they say. Thats it. If their were a 9.8-9.9 i would take that.
Rent it, then choose keep it. It will easily be one of the best in your library!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is bad!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

6 out of 20 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Okay, this game is so bad, I just have to say something about it. Imagine this...You and your friend or brother or someone pop this game in the 360, expect a fun co-op game, and 10 minutes into it, you're severely disappointed... I've only played multiplayer, which is the same as one player, only easier, and I guess you could say funner (yet still very bad) since you're with someone else. The only thing I enjoyed about this game was making fun of it with the person I was playing. We hated it. It was horrible. First, the story went south. It is soooo boring!! The enemies are called "The Masters of Evil" and the leader is Dr. Doom. We skipped every cinematic and dialogue in this game after half of the first act... It is so boring. Second, this game gives pointless objectives such as "retrieve the orb of power" when all you have to do is defeat enemies by mashing A and B, and get from point A to point B. Yes, it's really bad.

Second, the fighting system, which is all you do in the game (fight, fight, fight) with bad storyline slapped right in the middle is beyond repetitive. There are 5 combinations. Jump + A or B; A A B; A B B; X +A or B; and A A A or B B B. That's it. Almost all the superheroes suck anyways... Spiderman is way weaker than he should be, and there are only a few good ones, the rest are ruined... Captain America, Thor, and maybe 5 others are good...

The sidequests and comic missions (20 minute objectives such as defusing bombs with one per character) I still haven't found out what they are for. Sure, you unlock some stuff such as items to make your super-hero stronger, but it's not really worth the time. The main story will drive you insane if you actually go through the dialogue, and 2 acts are devoted to Nightcrawler, who keeps sacrificing himself and coming back!!

I'm not a Marvel fanboy, so unless you LOVE superheroes, and loved games like X-Men Legends, then you'll love this game. 20 hours without sidequests.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

flashback

posted by RFitzmor (RIVERSIDE, RI) Nov 3, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 20 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I liked this game better twenty years ago when it was called Gauntlet. Boring unless you are interested in developing nerve damage in your hands.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN

posted by londonbroi (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

very repetative, a bit boring... level design all looks the same.... Spiderman sucks... fun for about 10 mins. sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MARVEL ULTIMTE ALLIANCE

posted by DXHHHHBK88 (APPOMATTOX, VA) Oct 30, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I think the game is real good for the 360. It looks great. I like the game play and the people you can you's in the game. It has a great season mode I might buy it from Gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Didn't like this one

posted by Huntress (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It's probably unfair of me to rate this game since it wasn't in the console more than 45 mins but it wasn't played longer than that. The camera angle is horrible! It's not exactly top down but it's close enough. I never discovered how to change it or even if it can be changed.

Also found the group of characters ganging up on the bad guys made it even more difficult to see what was happening.

This game reminded me of the action games of the 80's. Rather like the Ninja Turtles game play.

I rented this for my 5 year old grandson (he has had a birthday) and this little guy plays so well that he is invited to join the teens when they play. He had no problem with the controls, and I helped him find ways to open the doors when he couldn't but we just could not play the game.

Terrible camera angle, too many characters getting in the way and all trying to do the same thing. This one was a thumbs down for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ultimate Alliance 360

posted by sportsfan (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

To be honest with all of you, I did not know what to expect. There was some hype about its release and I heard numerous people talking about the game. Soon after I put the game on top of my gameQ. I had my doubts here and there, but since it was on short wait I thought the game was going to be good. Wrong! Let me start off by saying that the graphics look sensational, but what good are they when the game has dull camera angles. I tried to zoom in just a little because I was diggin' SpiderMan, but was left disapointed due to the fact of the crummy angles. Gameplay is similar, if not, close to Marvel Legends on the current gen X-Box. Which isnt that bad, but you expect more from a next gen console. Honestly I only played the game for just a couple of minutes. I just wasnt feeling it at all. Heck! I didnt feel the version for the X-Box either. The only good thing I can really say about it is the fact that you can chose from plenty of your favorite Marvel heroes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

JUST ENDLESS

posted by Outtellect (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SOOOO LONG!!! IT TOOK OVER 24 hours to complete and the levels seem endless and repetitive. After I beat it, I didn't even want to try to unlock more characters or get other achievements. I just wanted to send it back. The graphics are sooo PS2. But if your a comic fanatic you'll like the concept of an alliance and some of the visuals in this game. As a Doom fan I love the fact he destroys superheroes like the Hulk in one scene. The game is fair far from great and some of the stuff is just childish. For instance Murder world or whatever its called where you have to fight clowns and enter the pitfall game. FUNNY BUT LAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING

posted by floackle (ALTON, NH) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Now everyone's heard how Dynasty warriors is the king of button mashers. Well move over DW because Marvel takes the cake. Now when you can play a whole level in one of these type of games by mashing 'A' and jumping a few times without ever having to use a super power or changing character, you can tell there's something wrong in the formula. Only by playing on 'hard' is there a challenge and then at that point it's too hard anyway. The graphics at times seem that they could be outdone by ps1 games, especially the first boss. Avoid this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't even rent it!

posted by Avery2300 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Apr 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The game is fun for about an hour, because by then you have notice the horrible game play and repetitive style. Sure, it fun to try to collect the characters and their suits, but notice I used the word "try". The best part about this game is easy and fast Achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Why the Hype?

posted by danesmith (CANTON, OH) Jan 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Ultimate Alliance has a lot of characters and I really enjoyed being able to be them but besides that its dull. The battle system is confusing and easy to lose who you are. It's not the worst Marvel game, but not even close to the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse